Aurascan

Comparisons · October 22, 2026 · Updated October 28, 2026 · 8 min read

Twix vs Snickers: What's the Difference? Sugar, Fat, Peanuts

Both list 250 calories, but Snickers has peanuts, 5 g protein and 4.5 g sat fat; Twix has wheat, PGPR, 2 g protein and 7 g sat fat per labeled serving.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 28, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two unwrapped chocolate candy bars side by side on a flat surface, with loose peanuts nearby

Twix and Snickers both list 250 calories per labeled serving, but they differ on added sugar, saturated fat, protein, wheat and PGPR, so the facts that matter most depend on whether sugar, allergens or the emulsifier is your main concern.

Key takeaways

  • Both labeled servings list 250 calories, but Snickers uses one 1.86 oz bar as its serving and Twix uses one 1.79 oz pack, which holds two bars.
  • Snickers lists 25 g added sugars and 27 g total sugars. Twix lists 23 g added sugars and 25 g total sugars per labeled serving.
  • Twix lists 7 g saturated fat (35% DV) and 2 g protein. Snickers lists 4.5 g saturated fat (23% DV) and 5 g protein.
  • Snickers contains peanuts and no wheat ingredient. Twix contains enriched wheat flour and carries a 'may contain peanuts' advisory.
  • Twix's milk chocolate lists PGPR. Snickers' milk chocolate does not.

Twix vs Snickers at a glance: which label facts differ?

Calories and total fat match on the two panels, while sugar, saturated fat, protein, sodium and allergen statements differ. The table below uses the figures printed on each brand's product page for a single labeled serving.

Label factSNICKERS Singles 1.86 oz (serving: 1 bar)TWIX Caramel 1.79 oz (serving: 1 pack, two bars)
Calories250250
Total fat12 g (15% DV)12 g (15% DV)
Saturated fat4.5 g (23% DV)7 g (35% DV)
Trans fat0 g0 g
Sodium130 mg (6% DV)105 mg (5% DV)
Total carbohydrate32 g34 g
Dietary fiber1 gNot listed
Total sugars27 g25 g
Added sugars25 g (50% DV)23 g (46% DV)
Protein5 g2 g
Calcium4% DV4% DV
Iron2% DV4% DV
Wheat ingredientNone listedEnriched wheat flour
PeanutsContains peanutsMay contain peanuts
PGPR in milk chocolateNot listedListed

The Snickers figures come from its Singles Size product page and the Twix figures from its Caramel Full Size page, so the two rows labeled per serving describe different package sizes.

Label figures can change when manufacturers reformulate, so confirm the printed panel on the package before relying on any number.

Calories: why both single servings list 250 calories

Both labeled servings list 250 calories, but the serving definitions are not the same. The Snickers panel covers one 1.86 oz bar. The Twix panel covers one 1.79 oz pack, and that pack holds two bars.

Because the Twix serving is the whole pack, the panel does not give a per-bar calorie figure. Reading the two panels side by side is accurate only if you keep the serving line in view. A reader who assumes the Twix figure applies to one bar may misread the comparison.

Sugar: how do added sugars and total sugars compare?

Snickers lists 50% DV of added sugars per labeled serving and Twix lists 46% DV. In grams, Snickers lists 25 g of added sugars and 27 g of total sugars per 1-bar serving, while Twix lists 23 g of added sugars and 25 g of total sugars per 1-pack serving. The FDA Daily Value for added sugars is 50 g.

The Twix page also lists a 3.02 oz share-size bar with a 22 g serving that shows 11 g total sugars and 10 g added sugars. That is a different serving, so it should not be placed in the same column as the 1.79 oz pack. For a sugar comparison between two peanut butters, see Jif vs Skippy: Ingredients, Sugar and Oil Compared.

Saturated fat: why Twix lists 7 g and Snickers lists 4.5 g

Twix lists 7 g of saturated fat (35% DV) per 1-pack serving, and Snickers lists 4.5 g (23% DV) per 1-bar serving. The FDA Daily Value for saturated fat is 20 g. Both panels show 12 g total fat and 0 g trans fat.

The panels do not explain the difference in saturated fat, and neither brand page breaks down which ingredient contributes it. Both ingredient lists include palm oil and milk-derived ingredients, so the label alone does not show the split. Comparing the two numbers is most useful when you also check the serving size.

Protein and sodium: 5 g vs 2 g protein and the sodium figures

Snickers lists 5 g of protein per 1-bar serving and Twix lists 2 g per 1-pack serving. The FDA Daily Value for protein is 50 g.

Sodium is 130 mg (6% DV) per 1-bar serving for Snickers and 105 mg (5% DV) per 1-pack serving for Twix. The FDA Daily Value for sodium is 2,300 mg.

Does Twix have caffeine?

Caffeine is not disclosed for Twix in its label information, so this comparison does not give a figure for it. Readers who need caffeine amounts should check the current package or the manufacturer directly.

Allergens: do Twix and Snickers differ on peanuts and wheat?

Yes. Snickers lists peanuts in its ingredients and contains no wheat ingredient, while Twix contains enriched wheat flour and carries a 'may contain peanuts' advisory. The FDA identifies nine major food allergens: milk, eggs, fish, Crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans and sesame. The FDA's Food Allergies guidance covers these in more detail.

Does Twix have peanuts?

Twix does not list peanuts as an ingredient; its advisory says it may contain peanuts. The brand page does not explain that advisory any further.

Does Twix have nuts?

Twix's only nut-related line is the advisory that it may contain peanuts. No tree-nut statement appears on the Twix page, so tree-nut status is not stated.

Does Snickers have peanuts?

Yes. Peanuts appear in the Snickers ingredient list, and the contains statement lists peanuts, milk, egg and soy. The statement also says it may contain tree nuts.

Does Twix have gluten?

Twix contains enriched wheat flour and its contains statement lists wheat. Gluten-free status is not disclosed on the page.

Does Snickers have gluten?

The Snickers ingredient list shows no wheat ingredient, but Mars does not make a gluten-free claim for the bar on the product page. Gluten-free status is not disclosed.

Does Snickers have eggs?

Yes. Egg whites are listed in the Snickers ingredients and named in its contains statement.

The FDA notes that advisory statements such as 'may contain' are not required by law. They may be used to address unavoidable cross-contact where good manufacturing practices are in place, and they must be truthful and not misleading. A 'may contain' line therefore signals a possibility, not a listed ingredient.

Is PGPR in Twix and not in Snickers, and what is PGPR used for?

Yes. The Twix milk chocolate ingredient list includes PGPR, and the Snickers milk chocolate list does not. PGPR stands for polyglycerol polyricinoleate, an emulsifier used in chocolate.

The FDA's GRAS Notice No. 9 describes an intended use in chocolate as an emulsifier at a level up to 0.3 percent. The exact amount of PGPR in the Twix chocolate is not disclosed. The Twix 3.02 oz share-size listing also names PGPR in its milk chocolate, which there also lists artificial flavors.

How do you spot PGPR, wheat and peanut statements on a candy label?

Most of the differences in this comparison can be found in three places on the package: the ingredient list, the contains statement and the advisory line. Checking each one in order makes side-by-side reading faster.

  • Find the sub-ingredients in parentheses, such as the milk chocolate list that includes PGPR on the Twix page.
  • Look for the bold contains statement, which lists milk, wheat, soy, peanuts or other major allergens.
  • Read any 'may contain' advisory as a cross-contact statement, not as an ingredient.
  • Check the serving size line before comparing calories, sugar or protein.
  • Compare the grams first, then the %DV, since the %DV uses a fixed reference amount.

For more snacks that shoppers check most often, see 6 Snacks People Scan Most, and What Their Labels Say.

Why serving sizes and bar weights (1.86 oz vs 1.79 oz) change the comparison

The two labels define a serving differently, so any side-by-side comparison has to start with the serving line. The Snickers Singles bar weighs 1.86 oz and its serving is one bar. The Twix Caramel pack weighs 1.79 oz, holds two bars and its serving is the full pack.

The Snickers gram weight beyond the 1.86 oz listing is not disclosed, so this article does not convert the panels to grams per bar. Using the figures as printed keeps each number tied to its label. Calories, sugar and protein should be compared only after you confirm the serving definition on each package.

Scan the Twix or Snickers package yourself with the Aurascan app to read each ingredient, including PGPR, wheat and peanuts, explained one by one with cited sources.

Related reading: for peanut butter candy label to label, see How Much Added Sugar Is in Reese's vs Justin's?.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Does Twix have peanuts?
Twix does not list peanuts as an ingredient. Its advisory says it may contain peanuts, and the brand page does not explain that advisory further.
Does Snickers have gluten?
The Snickers ingredient list shows no wheat ingredient, but Mars does not make a gluten-free claim on the product page, so gluten-free status is not disclosed.
Does Twix have caffeine?
Caffeine is not disclosed for Twix in its label information, so this comparison does not give a figure for it.
Does Snickers have protein?
Yes. The Snickers panel lists 5 g of protein per 1-bar serving, while the Twix panel lists 2 g per 1-pack serving.
Is PGPR banned in food?
Not in the U.S. FDA's response to GRAS Notice No. 9, which covers PGPR as an emulsifier in chocolate at up to 0.3 percent, was that it had no questions.
Which has more added sugar, Twix or Snickers?
Snickers lists 25 g of added sugars (50% DV) per 1-bar serving, and Twix lists 23 g (46% DV) per 1-pack serving. The two servings are defined differently.
Does Snickers have eggs?
Yes. Egg whites are listed in the Snickers ingredients and named in its contains statement.

Sources

  1. Food Allergies (fda.gov)
  2. GRAS Notice No. 9: Polyglycerol polyricinoleate (cfsanappsexternal.fda.gov)
  3. Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
  4. SNICKERS Singles Size Chocolate Candy Bar, 1.86 oz (snickers.com)
  5. TWIX Caramel Full Size Candy Bar, 1.79oz (twix.com)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy