Aurascan

Comparisons · October 28, 2026 · 8 min read

Nutri-Grain vs Nature's Bakery: Both 14 g Added Sugar

Nutri-Grain Apple Cinnamon (44g) and Nature's Bakery Apple Cinnamon Fig Bar (57g) both list 14g added sugars, 28% DV. Calories, fiber, sodium and ingredients compared.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 28, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two soft breakfast bars beside apple slices and a cinnamon stick

Both bars list 14 g of added sugar (28% DV) and 3 g of fiber per serving, but the serving sizes differ: Nutri-Grain's soft baked bar is 44 g and 150 calories, while Nature's Bakery's serving is 57 g and 200 calories. Nutri-Grain's label shows more sodium (135 mg versus 75 mg), lists carrageenan, whey, and soy lecithin, and names several added sweeteners, while Nature's Bakery's ingredient list names none of those three additives. This page puts the label facts side by side so you can see which differences matter for your own purchase decisions.

Key takeaways

  • Both bars list 14 g added sugar (28% DV) and 3 g fiber per serving, but the serving sizes differ (44 g and 150 calories versus 57 g and 200 calories), so per-bar and per-gram comparisons give different pictures.
  • Nutri-Grain lists carrageenan, guar gum, whey, and soy lecithin. Nature's Bakery's label lists none of these, and its sodium is 75 mg per serving versus 135 mg per Nutri-Grain bar.
  • Carrageenan is a permitted food additive in the U.S.: 21 CFR 172.620 says it 'may be safely used in food.'
  • The Nature's Bakery figures come from typed label data for its box product, so check the Nutrition Facts panel on the package you buy.

Same 14 g Added Sugar, Different Serving Sizes: How the Two Bars Compare Per Bar

Both labels list 14 g of added sugar per serving, which is 28% Daily Value, but Nutri-Grain's figure applies to a 44 g bar and Nature's Bakery's applies to a 57 g package. Because the serving sizes differ, the same amount of added sugar sits in different amounts of food. Figures come from the label photos on Open Food Facts for Nutri-Grain Apple Cinnamon and Nature's Bakery Apple Cinnamon Fig Bar.

Label itemNutri-Grain Apple Cinnamon Soft Baked BarNature's Bakery Apple Cinnamon Fig Bar
Serving size1 bar (44 g)1 package (57 g)
Calories150200
Total fat3.5 g (4% DV)5 g (6% DV)
Saturated fat0.5 g (3% DV)0 g (0% DV)
Trans fat0 g0 g
Cholesterol0 mg (0% DV)0 mg (0% DV)
Sodium135 mg (6% DV)75 mg (3% DV)
Total carbohydrate30 g (11% DV)38 g (14% DV)
Dietary fiber3 g (11% DV)3 g (11% DV)
Total sugars14 g19 g
Added sugars14 g (28% DV)14 g (28% DV)
Protein2 g3 g

The Nutri-Grain label also lists vitamin A and calcium at 10% DV each. The Nature's Bakery label lists vitamin D at 6%, calcium at 2%, iron at 6%, and potassium at 2%. Part of the Nutri-Grain label is hard to read in the photo, so its other vitamin and mineral percentages are not disclosed here.

Which bar has more sugar?

Nature's Bakery lists more total sugars, 19 g per 57 g serving compared with 14 g per 44 g Nutri-Grain bar, but both list 14 g of added sugars. The extra 5 g of total sugar is not counted as added sugar on the Nature's Bakery label. Because that package is larger, the same 14 g of added sugar is spread across more grams of food.

Are Nature's Bakery fig bars healthy?

This comparison does not assign a health verdict, but one 57 g serving lists 200 calories, 14 g added sugar (28% DV), 3 g fiber (11% DV), 75 mg sodium (3% DV), and 3 g protein. Whether those numbers fit a particular diet depends on the rest of the day's food and on individual needs, which a label cannot show.

Added Sugar: Which Sweeteners Each Label Lists and Where the Extra 5 g Comes From

Nutri-Grain names invert sugar, corn syrup, sugar, dextrose, and fructose as sweeteners. Nature's Bakery names cane sugar and brown rice syrup, plus naturally milled sugar inside its apple jam. Both labels count 14 g as added sugars.

The FDA defines added sugars to include sugars added during processing (such as sucrose or dextrose), sugars from syrups and honey, and sugars from concentrated fruit or vegetable juices. The FDA says added sugars do not include naturally occurring sugars in milk, fruits, and vegetables. That distinction explains why the Nature's Bakery total of 19 g is higher than its added figure of 14 g: the extra 5 g is counted in total sugars only, and the ingredient list includes fig paste and fruit.

The Daily Value for added sugars is 50 grams per day, so 14 g equals 28% DV on each label. An ingredient's presence does not settle the added-sugar number by itself. Nature's Bakery lists fruit juice 'for color,' and Nutri-Grain lists apple puree concentrate, but the label figure is the number to read.

For another example of how total and added sugar can be labeled differently, see Are Teddy Grahams Healthier Than Bunny Grahams? 7g vs 6g.

Fiber: Both Bars List 3 g, and Their Percent Daily Values Are Labeled Alike

Both bars list 3 g of dietary fiber per serving, which each label shows as 11% DV. The Nutri-Grain ingredient list includes soluble corn fiber, whole wheat flour, whole grain oats, and wheat bran. The Nature's Bakery list includes whole wheat flour and whole grain oats.

The labels do not split the 3 g by ingredient, so the exact fiber contribution of each ingredient is not disclosed. Soluble corn fiber is a fiber ingredient rather than a whole grain, so its presence on the list does not show how much of the total comes from whole grains.

Because both labels show the same 3 g and 11% DV, the difference on this measure comes from the serving size rather than the fiber number itself. The FDA explains how to read the Nutrition Facts label and %DV at How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label.

Sodium: Nutri-Grain Lists 135 mg per Bar and Nature's Bakery Lists 75 mg per Serving

Nutri-Grain's label shows 135 mg of sodium per 44 g bar (6% DV), and Nature's Bakery's label shows 75 mg per 57 g serving (3% DV). The per-serving difference is 60 mg, and the Nutri-Grain figure is the higher of the two.

The Nutri-Grain ingredient list includes salt, sodium alginate, and sodium citrate. The Nature's Bakery list includes sea salt and baking soda. Both labels report sodium per serving, so the mg and %DV on the panel are the figures to compare.

Because the serving sizes differ, a per-gram comparison and a per-package comparison can point in different directions. The FDA's guidance on sodium is at Sodium in Your Diet. People managing sodium intake with a clinician may want to bring the panel to that conversation, since this article cannot judge what level suits any individual.

Scan preview

Nature's Bakery Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Fig Bar

Nature's Bakery

Nature's Bakery Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Fig Bar

Concern

STONE GROUND WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR · DRIED CANE SUGAR · FIG PASTE

Standout ingredient: OAT FIBER

Analysis by Aurascan. The app shows the full breakdown and its sources.

Does Nutri-Grain Have Carrageenan? Yes; Nature's Bakery Doesn't List It

Carrageenan appears in the Nutri-Grain ingredient list and does not appear in the Nature's Bakery list. It is a permitted food additive in the U.S.

The federal regulation at 21 CFR 172.620 states that carrageenan 'may be safely used in food' and describes it as 'the refined hydrocolloid prepared by aqueous extraction from' listed red seaweeds.

The Nutri-Grain label also lists guar gum, sodium alginate, methylcellulose, and cellulose. Nature's Bakery's apple jam lists pectin and locust bean gum, which are different ingredients from carrageenan.

Neither label states how much carrageenan a bar contains.

Other Label Differences: Whey, Soy Lecithin, Protein, and Allergen Tags on Each Bar

Nutri-Grain lists whey and soy lecithin, and Open Food Facts tags milk, soybeans, and gluten as allergens for that bar. Nature's Bakery's ingredient list names none of those ingredients, and Open Food Facts tags gluten only.

The two bars also differ in fat and protein. Nutri-Grain shows 3.5 g total fat and 0.5 g saturated fat with 2 g protein. Nature's Bakery shows 5 g total fat and 0 g saturated fat with 3 g protein. Nutri-Grain lists soybean oil, while Nature's Bakery lists canola oil.

Allergen tags come from Open Food Facts and reflect the ingredient lists. They do not describe cross-contact in a factory, so the package's own allergen statement is the place to check that information. Brand claims such as vegan or non-GMO status are not covered by this label data and are not addressed here.

How to Check Added Sugar, Sodium, and Carrageenan on Any Breakfast Bar Label

Start with the serving size, since it sets the basis for every number on the panel. Then check the Added Sugars line, the Sodium line, and the ingredient list.

  • Serving size: confirm the grams and count per package before comparing. Nature's Bakery's panel lists 1 package (57 g), and the number of bars in that package is not disclosed.
  • Added Sugars: find the grams and %DV line, then scan the ingredients for sugar, cane sugar, corn syrup, invert sugar, dextrose, fructose, brown rice syrup, or any other syrup.
  • Total sugars versus added sugars: the difference reflects sugars the label does not count as added, such as those from fruit.
  • Sodium: compare mg and %DV on the same serving basis.
  • Gums and additives: look for carrageenan, guar gum, locust bean gum, pectin, and sodium alginate by name.
  • Dairy and soy: look for whey, milk, soy lecithin, and soybean oil.
  • Allergen statement: check the package for the manufacturer's allergen and cross-contact wording.

For a different snack category that uses the same added-sugar lens, see Pop-Tarts vs Toaster Strudel: 30 g vs 18 g Added Sugar?.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Are Nature's Bakery fig bars healthy?
This comparison does not assign a health verdict, but one 57 g serving of Nature's Bakery Apple Cinnamon Fig Bar lists 200 calories, 14 g added sugar (28% DV), 3 g fiber (11% DV), 75 mg sodium (3% DV), and 3 g protein.
Are Nature's Bakery fig bars healthy for toddlers?
The label data here does not include any guidance for toddlers, so it cannot answer that question; per 57 g package, the label lists 14 g added sugar (28% DV) and 75 mg sodium (3% DV), and a pediatric clinician can speak to a child's needs.
Are Nutri-Grain bars healthy?
Per 44 g Nutri-Grain Apple Cinnamon soft baked bar, the label lists 150 calories, 14 g added sugar (28% DV), 135 mg sodium (6% DV), 3 g fiber (11% DV), and 2 g protein, and those figures alone do not establish whether a bar is healthy for a given person.
Are Nutri-Grain bars healthier than Fig Newtons?
This comparison does not include Fig Newtons, so it cannot say; it compares the Nutri-Grain Apple Cinnamon soft baked bar with Nature's Bakery Apple Cinnamon Fig Bar side by side.
Are Nutri-Grain bars good for you?
Whether a food is good for you depends on the rest of a person's diet and needs, and this article does not assign that verdict; the Nutri-Grain label shows 14 g added sugar and 135 mg sodium per 44 g bar.
Which has more sugar, Nutri-Grain or Nature's Bakery?
Nature's Bakery has more total sugars, 19 g per 57 g serving versus 14 g per 44 g Nutri-Grain bar, while both labels list 14 g of added sugars.
Is carrageenan banned in the U.S.?
No. Carrageenan is a permitted food additive in the U.S.; 21 CFR 172.620 states that it 'may be safely used in food.'

Sources

  1. Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  2. 21 CFR 172.620 Carrageenan (ecfr.gov)
  3. KELLOGG'S NUTRI-GRAIN Soft Baked Breakfast Bars, Apple Cinnamon label data (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  4. NATURE'S BAKERY Fig Bar Apple Cinnamon label data (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  5. Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
  6. How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy