Aurascan

Comparisons · October 29, 2026 · 9 min read

Which Has More Sodium, Goldfish or Annie's Bunnies?

Goldfish Cheddar lists 250 mg sodium per 55 pieces; Annie's Organic Cheddar Bunnies list 260 mg per 51 crackers. Both 140 calories and 0 g added sugar.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 29, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two small bowls of fish-shaped and bunny-shaped baked crackers beside a measuring spoon

Annie's Organic Cheddar Bunnies list more sodium than Goldfish Cheddar: 260 mg per 51-cracker serving versus 250 mg per 55-piece (30 g) serving. Neither label makes either snack better overall.

Both list 140 calories and 0 g added sugars per labeled serving, but they differ on sodium, ingredient order, flour type, oil listing, and organic status. This page places the label facts side by side and does not name a winner. The serving sizes also differ, with Goldfish listing 55 pieces (30 g) and Annie's listing 51 crackers, so the numbers are not a weight-matched comparison.

Key takeaways

  • Goldfish lists 140 kcal, 250 mg sodium, 0 g total sugars, and 0 g added sugars per 55-piece (30 g) serving.
  • Annie's lists 140 calories, 260 mg sodium (11% DV), 0 g total sugars, and 0 g added sugars per 51-cracker serving, and names Organic Cane Sugar in its ingredients.
  • Annie's lists sea salt third, ahead of its cheddar cheese. Goldfish lists cheddar cheese second and places salt in the 'contains 2 percent or less' group.
  • Goldfish uses enriched wheat flour and lists 0.6 mg iron per serving. Annie's uses organic wheat flour and lists 0 mg iron.

Goldfish Cheddar vs Annie's Organic Cheddar Bunnies: How Do the Labels Differ?

The labels differ on sodium, iron, ingredient order, flour and organic status, and they match on calories and added sugars. The sections below take those facts one at a time so you can see which ones matter for your situation.

Goldfish data comes from the Open Food Facts listing for Goldfish Cheddar. Annie's data comes from the brand's Organic Cheddar Bunnies product page. Packages and listings can change, so check the Nutrition Facts panel and ingredient list on the bag you buy.

The label facts do not establish that either snack is healthier overall. Both list 140 calories and 0 g added sugars per labeled serving, while sodium, iron, and ingredient order point in different directions. How either snack fits into a diet depends on the rest of what a person eats, which these labels cannot show.

For a related comparison of Goldfish with another snack, see Goldfish versus Cheez-Its, labels compared per 30 g.

At a Glance: Goldfish Cheddar and Annie's Cheddar Bunnies Label Values Side by Side

Goldfish's listed serving is 55 pieces (30 g), while Annie's lists 51 crackers and does not disclose the gram weight of that serving. The table shows each label value as published, so the columns are not weight-matched.

Label itemGoldfish CheddarAnnie's Organic Cheddar Bunnies
Serving size55 pieces (30 g)51 crackers (gram weight not disclosed)
Servings per containerNot disclosed7
Calories140140
Total fat5 g6 g (8% DV)
Saturated fat1 g1 g (4% DV)
Trans fat0 g0 g
Cholesterol5 mg0 mg
Sodium250 mg260 mg (11% DV)
Total carbohydrate20 g18 g (7% DV)
Dietary fiber1 gLess than 1 g (3% DV)
Total sugars0 g0 g
Added sugars0 g0 g (0% DV)
Protein3 g3 g
Iron0.6 mg0 mg
Calcium30 mg0 mg
Potassium50 mg0 mg

Goldfish %DV values are not disclosed in the data shown here, so the table lists amounts only for that brand.

Sodium: Which Has More, Goldfish or Annie's, and How Does Each Compare to the FDA DV?

Annie's Organic Cheddar Bunnies list more sodium, at 260 mg per 51-cracker serving, compared with 250 mg per 55-piece (30 g) serving of Goldfish Cheddar. The gap is 10 mg per listed serving, and the serving sizes differ.

The FDA sets the Daily Value for sodium at less than 2,300 milligrams per day, and the agency's sodium guidance explains how to use it. The agency considers 5% DV or less per serving low and 20% DV or more high. Annie's lists 11% DV per serving, which falls between those two thresholds. Goldfish's %DV was not disclosed, so it cannot be placed in either category from the data available.

Which has more sodium, Goldfish or Annie's bunnies?

Annie's has more sodium on its label: 260 mg per 51-cracker serving versus 250 mg per 55-piece serving of Goldfish. Because the serving counts differ and Annie's gram weight was not disclosed, the labels do not show which snack has more sodium per gram.

Are cheddar bunnies healthy for kids?

The labels do not give a child-specific sodium recommendation, so they cannot show whether either product suits a particular child. The FDA states that for children under age 14, recommended sodium limits are even lower than the adult Daily Value. Annie's 11% DV per serving is one number to consider alongside a child's full day of food, and a pediatric clinician can address individual needs.

Calories and Serving Size: Why Both List 140 Calories but Different Pieces?

Both products list 140 calories per labeled serving, but Goldfish's serving is 55 pieces (30 g) and Annie's serving is 51 crackers. Calorie counts compare directly only when the amount eaten is the same, so count pieces or check grams where the package provides them.

Fat is 6 g for Annie's and 5 g for Goldfish. Carbohydrate is 18 g and 20 g, fiber is less than 1 g and 1 g, and protein is 3 g for both. Annie's brand page lists 7 servings per container, while the number of servings in a Goldfish bag was not disclosed.

Added Sugar: Do Goldfish Cheddar or Annie's Cheddar Bunnies Contain Added Sugar?

Both labels list 0 g added sugars per labeled serving, but both ingredient lists name a sugar. Annie's names Organic Cane Sugar, and Goldfish lists sugar within its 'contains 2 percent or less' group.

A label can show 0 g added sugars while an ingredient list still names a sugar, and the ingredient list does not give exact amounts. Sugar in Goldfish's listing is one of the ingredients each present at 2 percent or less of the product by weight, so the list gives an upper limit, not an exact amount. Total sugars are also 0 g on both labels.

Oils and Fat: What Oils Are in Goldfish Cheddar vs Annie's Organic Cheddar Bunnies?

Annie's names Organic Expeller-Pressed Sunflower Oil; Goldfish lists canola and/or sunflower oils, with the exact blend not disclosed. The Goldfish wording leaves the blend and proportions unspecified.

Both labels show 1 g saturated fat and 0 g trans fat per serving. Total fat is 6 g for Annie's (8% DV) and 5 g for Goldfish. Whether the Goldfish oil blend changes by bag size or manufacturing plant was not disclosed.

An oil name on a label does not show how much of that oil is in the product or how it relates to any individual's needs.

Ingredient Order: Why Does Annie's List Salt Third While Goldfish Lists Cheddar Second?

Annie's lists sea salt third, ahead of its organic cheddar cheese, while Goldfish lists cheddar cheese second and places salt in its 'contains 2 percent or less' group. U.S. rules require ingredients to appear in descending order of predominance by weight, so the list order reflects relative weight rather than a percentage.

The order is a ranking, not a percentage. Because sea salt is listed ahead of cheese, the order indicates it is present in greater predominance by weight than the cheese. Goldfish's cheese is listed ahead of its salt. Both products also list salt inside their cheese ingredients: Annie's cheese includes salt in parentheses, and Goldfish's cheddar cheese entry reads cultured milk, salt, and enzymes. That shared detail does not imply equal salt totals, and the labels do not give the total salt in either product. Reading the full list gives a more complete picture than the first few names alone.

Organic and Flour: Is Annie's Bunnies Organic, and Is Goldfish Flour Enriched?

Annie's is labeled organic and uses organic wheat flour; Goldfish's organic status was not disclosed. Annie's product page says, "Certified organic always means no GMOs." Goldfish uses enriched wheat flour.

Enriched flour has nutrients added back during processing. Goldfish's ingredient text lists niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, and folic acid alongside the flour. Goldfish lists 0.6 mg iron per serving, while Annie's lists 0 mg. Annie's also lists 0 mg calcium and 0 mg potassium, compared with 30 mg and 50 mg for Goldfish.

The organic statement on Annie's page is the brand's own wording and does not describe every farming or certification detail.

Allergens and Dyes: What Do the Labels Say About Milk, Wheat, Soy, and Annatto?

Both labels list milk and wheat, Annie's adds that it may contain soy ingredients, and both use annatto for color. The Goldfish ingredient text ends with 'contains: wheat, milk' and does not mention soy.

The FDA names milk, wheat, and soybeans among the major food allergens under FALCPA, and sesame became the ninth major allergen effective January 1, 2023. The sesame status of either product was not disclosed in the data shown here. See the FDA's food allergy guidance for background. The label does not explain the basis for Annie's 'may contain' wording, so people with milk, wheat, or soy sensitivities should read the package allergen statement and follow their clinician's guidance.

Goldfish uses annatto within its cheddar cheese, and Annie's lists Organic Annatto (for color). Neither ingredient list names a synthetic dye in the text captured here.

Which Label Facts Matter Most for Your Snack Choice? Side-by-Side Takeaways

The clearest measurable gaps are sodium (250 mg vs 260 mg per listed serving), iron (0.6 mg vs 0 mg), and ingredient order. Calories and added sugars match at 140 and 0 g, and the organic and enriched flour statements differ.

Use this checklist when reading either package:

  • Confirm the serving size in pieces, crackers, or grams before comparing numbers.
  • Check the sodium %DV against the FDA's 5% low and 20% high thresholds.
  • Read the full ingredient list, since order shows weight ranking but the 2 percent group shows only an upper limit.
  • Look for milk, wheat, soy, and sesame statements, including any 'may contain' wording.
  • Note whether the package states organic or enriched status.

For another bunny-shaped snack comparison, see Teddy Grahams versus Bunny Grahams.

These values describe the listings and pages used here, not every bag, batch, or store version. Label data cannot show how either snack affects any individual, and this comparison does not cover people with specific medical conditions or long-term outcomes in children.

Scan the Goldfish or Annie's package yourself with the Aurascan app to see how each ingredient on its list reads.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Are Annie's Cheddar Bunnies healthier than Goldfish?
The label facts do not establish that either snack is healthier overall. Both list 140 calories and 0 g added sugars per labeled serving, while sodium (260 mg vs 250 mg), iron, and ingredient order differ.
Goldfish vs Annie's Cheddar Bunnies: what is the main label difference?
The main measurable differences are sodium (250 mg for Goldfish's 55-piece serving vs 260 mg for Annie's 51-cracker serving), iron (0.6 mg vs 0 mg), and ingredient order, with Annie's listing sea salt third and Goldfish listing cheddar cheese second.
Are Annie's bunnies vs Teddy Grahams a fair comparison?
This article does not include Teddy Grahams label data, so it makes no direct comparison between those two products. A separate comparison of Teddy Grahams and Bunny Grahams is available on the Aurascan blog.
Which has more sodium, Goldfish or Annie's cheddar bunnies?
Annie's Organic Cheddar Bunnies list more sodium, at 260 mg per 51-cracker serving, compared with 250 mg per 55-piece (30 g) serving of Goldfish Cheddar. Annie's lists 11% DV, while Goldfish's %DV was not disclosed.
Do Goldfish Cheddar or Annie's Cheddar Bunnies contain added sugar?
Both labels list 0 g added sugars per labeled serving. Annie's ingredients name Organic Cane Sugar, and Goldfish lists sugar within the group of ingredients each present at 2 percent or less.
Are Annie's Organic Cheddar Bunnies organic?
Annie's Organic Cheddar Bunnies are labeled organic and use organic wheat flour. The brand's product page states, Certified organic always means no GMOs.
Are cheddar bunnies healthy for kids?
The labels do not give a child-specific recommendation, so they cannot show whether either product suits a particular child. The FDA states that recommended sodium limits for children under age 14 are even lower than the adult Daily Value.
Is Goldfish Cheddar made with enriched flour?
Yes, the Goldfish ingredient list names enriched wheat flour, with niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, and folic acid listed in parentheses. The label lists 0.6 mg iron per serving.

Sources

  1. Changes to the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  2. Organic Cheddar Bunnies (annies.com)
  3. Goldfish Cheddar (Pepperidge Farm), Open Food Facts (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  4. Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
  5. Food Allergies: What You Need to Know (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy