Comparisons · October 8, 2026 · Updated October 29, 2026 · 5 min read
Are Goldfish Healthier Than Cheez-Its? Labels Compared per 30 g
Goldfish Cheddar vs Cheez-It Original per 30 g: calories, fat, sodium and protein side by side, plus which one uses TBHQ and how each colors its crackers.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 29, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Per 30 g serving, Cheez-It Original has 150 calories and 8 g of fat, and Goldfish Cheddar has 140 calories and 5 g of fat. Goldfish has more sodium (250 mg vs 230 mg) and carbohydrate (20 g vs 17 g). Both have 3 g of protein. On the ingredient list, Cheez-It's oil includes TBHQ, which Goldfish does not list.
Key takeaways:
- At an identical 30-gram serving weight, Cheez-It contains 150 calories and 8 g of fat, while Goldfish contains 140 calories and 5 g of fat.
- Cheez-It uses TBHQ (tertiary butylhydroquinone) as an antioxidant preservative in its oil blend, whereas Goldfish does not list TBHQ.
- Goldfish delivers slightly more sodium (250 mg vs 230 mg) and carbohydrates (20 g vs 17 g) per 30-gram serving than Cheez-It.
- Both crackers contain 3 grams of protein and list annatto in their cheese; Cheez-It also lists soybean oil and soy lecithin.
Cheez-It vs Goldfish: The Short Answer
Are Cheez-Its or Goldfish healthier? Neither label wins on every line. Per 30 g, Goldfish Cheddar has fewer calories and less fat, while Cheez-It Original has less sodium and fewer carbohydrates. The clearest ingredient difference is TBHQ, which Cheez-It lists in its oil and Goldfish does not.
Nutrition Breakdown: Calories, Fat, and Carbs Side-by-Side
Cheez-It vs Goldfish nutrition comparisons reveal that Cheez-It has more calories, delivering 150 calories per 30-gram serving (27 crackers) compared to 140 calories in an identical 30-gram serving of Goldfish (55 pieces).
Cheez-It carries 8 grams of total fat per serving, including 1.5 grams of saturated fat. In contrast, Goldfish contains 5 grams of total fat, with 1 gram of saturated fat and 0 grams of trans fat.
On the carbohydrate side, Goldfish provides 20 grams of total carbohydrates (with less than 1 gram of dietary fiber and 0 grams of added sugars), while Cheez-It contains 17 grams of carbohydrates (with 1 gram of fiber and 0 grams of added sugars). Both snacks supply an identical 3 grams of protein per 30 grams. For shoppers tracking packaged snack profiles across categories, exploring 6 Snacks People Scan Most, and What Their Labels Say and 5 Lunchbox Snacks Scanned: String Cheese to Fig Bars provides broader context on everyday pantry staples.
Which Has More Sodium, Cheez-It or Goldfish?
Goldfish has more sodium than Cheez-It, containing 250 mg per 30-gram serving compared to 230 mg in an identical portion of Cheez-It.
Cheez-It vs Goldfish Nutrition Facts (30-Gram Serving)
| Nutrient / Metric | Cheez-It Original (27 crackers / 30 g) | Goldfish Cheddar (55 pieces / 30 g) |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 150 kcal | 140 kcal |
| Total Fat | 8 g | 5 g |
| Saturated Fat | 1.5 g | 1 g |
| Trans Fat | Not disclosed on listing | 0 g |
| Cholesterol | Not disclosed on listing | 5 mg |
| Sodium | 230 mg | 250 mg |
| Total Carbohydrate | 17 g | 20 g |
| Dietary Fiber | 1 g | <1 g |
| Total Sugars | Not disclosed on listing | 0 g |
| Added Sugars | 0 g | 0 g |
| Protein | 3 g | 3 g |
| Iron | Not disclosed on listing | 1.3 mg |
| Key Preservatives | TBHQ (in vegetable oil) | None listed |
| Major Allergens | Wheat, Milk, Soy | Wheat, Milk |
Cheez-It values come from its Open Food Facts listing. Goldfish values come from the Goldfish Cheddar product page.
Ingredients Compared: Real Cheese, Additives, and Flavorings
What are the ingredients in Goldfish vs Cheez-It? Both crackers start with enriched wheat flour and cheese, but Cheez-It includes soy lecithin, paprika extract color, and TBHQ, whereas Goldfish adds autolyzed yeast extract, onion powder, celery, and sugar at under 2%.
Cheez-It Original lists enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1, vitamin B2, folic acid), followed by vegetable oil (high oleic soybean, soybean, palm, and/or canola oil with TBHQ for freshness), cheese made with skim milk (skim milk, whey protein, salt, cheese cultures, enzymes, annatto extract color), salt, paprika, yeast, paprika extract color, and soy lecithin.
Goldfish Cheddar lists enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), cheddar cheese (cultured milk, salt, enzymes, annatto), and vegetable oil (canola, soybean, and/or sunflower). It contains 2% or less of yeast, sugar, autolyzed yeast extract, paprika, spices, celery, onion powder, and baking soda. The Goldfish product page also says "Always Baked" and "No Artificial Colors."
Do Goldfish have artificial colors? The Goldfish product page says "No Artificial Colors," and its ingredient list includes annatto (in the cheddar) and paprika. Under FDA 21 CFR 73.30, annatto extract is a listed color additive prepared from the seed of the annatto tree (Bixa orellana L.). Both Cheez-It and Goldfish list annatto in their cheese. For oil lists across other crunchy snacks, see 5 Chips and Popcorns Scanned for Seed Oils and 5 Chips People Scan Most, and What Their Labels Say.
TBHQ in Cheez-It: What It Is, Safety, and FDA Limits
Do Cheez-Its have TBHQ? Yes, Cheez-It lists TBHQ (tertiary butylhydroquinone) as an ingredient added to its vegetable oil blend to maintain freshness.
Under FDA regulation 21 CFR 172.185, TBHQ may be used as an antioxidant alone or in combination with BHA and/or BHT, provided the total antioxidant content does not exceed 0.02 percent (200 parts per million) of the oil or fat content of the food.
The listing does not say how much TBHQ Cheez-It contains; the only number available is that 0.02 percent legal ceiling. Goldfish does not list TBHQ or synthetic antioxidants in its vegetable oil blend.
Allergens and Label Transparency: Soy, Wheat, and Milk
Cheez-It's ingredient list includes soy (soybean oil and soy lecithin) alongside wheat and milk. The Goldfish product page's "Contains" statement lists wheat and milk.
The FDA recognizes nine major food allergens, which include milk, wheat, and soybeans. Goldfish lists canola, soybean, and/or sunflower oil and does not list soy lecithin.
Both products list cheese, but neither brand discloses the precise percentage of real cheese present in the finished cracker. Furthermore, neither product discloses the exact oil variety used in any specific production batch, since both use "and/or" oil lists. The specific blend of "spices" in Goldfish is also not disclosed on the ingredient statement.
Related reading: for Goldfish against an organic cheddar cracker, see Which Has More Sodium, Goldfish or Annie's Bunnies?.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Are Cheez-Its or Goldfish healthier?
- Neither wins on every line. Per 30 g, Goldfish has fewer calories (140 vs 150), less fat (5 g vs 8 g) and less saturated fat (1 g vs 1.5 g); Cheez-It has less sodium (230 mg vs 250 mg) and fewer carbohydrates (17 g vs 20 g). Cheez-It lists TBHQ; Goldfish does not.
- Cheez-It vs Goldfish nutrition: which has more calories?
- Cheez-It has more calories, offering 150 calories per 30-gram serving (27 crackers) compared to 140 calories in an equivalent 30-gram serving of Goldfish (55 crackers).
- Do Cheez-Its have TBHQ?
- Yes, Cheez-It's ingredient list says its vegetable oil contains TBHQ (tertiary butylhydroquinone) "for freshness." FDA caps total antioxidants at 0.02% of a food's fat content; the amount in Cheez-It is not disclosed.
- Which has more sodium, Cheez-It or Goldfish?
- Goldfish has more sodium, containing 250 mg per 30-gram serving compared to 230 mg in a 30-gram serving of Cheez-It.
- What are the ingredients in Goldfish vs Cheez-It?
- Both crackers contain enriched wheat flour, real cheese, vegetable oil, salt, and yeast. Cheez-It adds soy lecithin, paprika extract, and TBHQ, while Goldfish contains autolyzed yeast extract, sugar, onion powder, celery, and baking soda without TBHQ.
- Do Goldfish have artificial colors?
- The Goldfish product page says "No Artificial Colors." Its ingredient list includes annatto in the cheddar and paprika.
Sources
- Goldfish Cheddar Baked Snack Crackers (goldfishsmiles.com)
- Cheez-It Baked Snack Crackers Original (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- 21 CFR 172.185 - Tertiary butylhydroquinone (TBHQ) (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 73.30 - Annatto extract (ecfr.gov)
- Food Allergies (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
5 Chips and Popcorns Scanned for Seed OilsGuide
5 Lunchbox Snacks Scanned: String Cheese to Fig BarsGuide
5 Grocery Staples With the Shortest Labels, ScannedGuide
5 Chips People Scan Most, and What Their Labels SayGuide
Baked Lay's vs Doritos: Is the Baked Chip's Label Cleaner?Guide
6 Snacks People Scan Most, and What Their Labels Say
Related guides
Comparisons
How Much Added Sugar Is in Reese's vs Justin's? 21g vs 16gPer pack, Reese's (42g) lists 21g added sugar, 42% DV; Justin's milk chocolate cups (40g) list 16g, 32% DV. Full ingredient lists side by side.
Comparisons
Which Has More Sodium, Goldfish or Annie's Bunnies?Goldfish Cheddar lists 250 mg sodium per 55 pieces; Annie's Organic Cheddar Bunnies list 260 mg per 51 crackers. Both 140 calories and 0 g added sugar.
Comparisons
Nutri-Grain vs Nature's Bakery: Both 14 g Added SugarNutri-Grain Apple Cinnamon (44g) and Nature's Bakery Apple Cinnamon Fig Bar (57g) both list 14g added sugars, 28% DV. Calories, fiber, sodium and ingredients compared.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy