Comparisons · October 17, 2026 · 10 min read
Oreo vs Chips Ahoy: Which Has More Sugar? 14 g vs 10 g
Three Oreo cookies list 14 g sugar and 130 mg sodium; three Chips Ahoy list 10 g and 105 mg. Both are 160 calories, but only Chips Ahoy contains milk.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 17, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Oreo and Chips Ahoy Original both list 160 calories per 3 cookies, but they differ on total sugars (14 g vs 10 g), sodium (130 mg vs 105 mg), and milk: Chips Ahoy declares milk, while the Oreo ingredient list has no milk ingredient and its allergen statement covers wheat and soy only. Both standard ingredient lists include high fructose corn syrup and palm oil. The facts below are laid out side by side so you can weigh them against your own needs.
Key takeaways:
- Per 3 cookies (Oreo 34 g; Chips Ahoy 33 g), both list 160 calories. Oreo lists 14 g total sugars (14 g added) and Chips Ahoy lists 10 g (10 g added), and Oreo lists 25 mg more sodium.
- Both standard ingredient lists include high fructose corn syrup and palm oil. Neither label shows the exact split between high fructose corn syrup and sugar.
- Chips Ahoy declares milk (nonfat milk in the chips). Oreo's ingredient list has no milk ingredient, and its allergen statement is wheat and soy only.
- FDA says it is not aware of evidence that foods with HFCS 42 or 55 differ in safety from foods with similar amounts of sucrose or honey, and the Dietary Guidelines advise limiting all added sugars, including HFCS.
Oreo vs Chips Ahoy at a Glance: Side-by-Side Label Comparison
This table compares the Nutrition Facts and allergen statements for Oreo Chocolate Sandwich Cookies (Family Size) and Chips Ahoy! Original Chocolate Chip Cookies (13 oz). Values are per serving as printed on each label.
| Label item | Oreo Chocolate Sandwich Cookies | Chips Ahoy! Original Chocolate Chip |
|---|---|---|
| Serving size | 3 cookies (34 g) | 3 cookies (33 g) |
| Calories | 160 | 160 |
| Total fat | 7 g | 8 g (10% DV) |
| Saturated fat | 2 g (10% DV) | 3 g (15% DV) |
| Trans fat | 0 g | 0 g |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 130 mg (6% DV) | 105 mg (5% DV) |
| Total carbohydrate | 25 g | 22 g |
| Dietary fiber | less than 1 g | less than 1 g |
| Total sugars | 14 g (14 g added, 28% DV) | 10 g (10 g added, 20% DV) |
| Protein | 1 g | 2 g |
| Iron | not disclosed on the label cited | 1.3 mg |
| Milk in allergen statement | Not declared | Declared |
| Wheat and soy in allergen statement | Declared | Declared |
The two labels are close on calories and differ most on sugar, sodium, saturated fat, and milk. Reading the table row by row is more useful than comparing a single headline number.
Ingredients: How the Two Cookie Lists Overlap and Differ
Both lists start with unbleached enriched flour and include sugar, palm oil, soybean and/or canola oil, high fructose corn syrup, salt, and soy lecithin. Both also use a leavening system, though the named agents differ. Oreo lists baking soda and/or calcium phosphate, while Chips Ahoy lists baking soda and ammonium phosphate.
The differences sit mostly in the chocolate and flavor components. Oreo lists cocoa processed with alkali, chocolate, and artificial flavor. Chips Ahoy uses semisweet chocolate chips made from sugar, chocolate, dextrose, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, natural flavor, and nonfat milk, and it also lists natural flavor and caramel color in the main ingredient list.
Chips Ahoy vs Oreo ingredients: what is different?
The clearest ingredient-level difference is nonfat milk, which appears inside Chips Ahoy's chocolate chips. Oreo's list has no milk ingredient. Chips Ahoy also lists caramel color, while Oreo lists artificial flavor. Cocoa is described differently on each label: Oreo states cocoa is processed with alkali, and no further cocoa percentage or sourcing detail is given on either label.
For a closer look at how a chip-style snack label is organized, see 5 Chips People Scan Most, and What Their Labels Say.
Sugar: 14 g vs 10 g Total Sugars per 3 Cookies, and the HFCS Question
Which has more sugar, Oreo or Chips Ahoy?
Oreo has more sugar per serving: 14 g of total sugars, all of it added, per 3 cookies (34 g), compared with 10 g of total sugars, all added, per 3 cookies (33 g) for Chips Ahoy. The Oreo figure is 4 g higher.
The added sugar figure for Oreo differs by source. The oreo.com label lists 14 g added sugars. The Open Food Facts record for the 13.29 oz Oreo pack lists 13 g added sugars for the same product. The label on the pack in hand is the reference for the current recipe.
The percent Daily Values printed on each label are 28% for Oreo's 14 g of added sugars and 20% for Chips Ahoy's 10 g of added sugars. Those percentages are as printed on each label. You can read more about how added sugars are shown on the label at FDA's added-sugars page.
Do Chips Ahoy have high fructose corn syrup?
Yes. The standard Chips Ahoy! Original Chocolate Chip ingredient list includes high fructose corn syrup. The label does not give the exact amount of high fructose corn syrup relative to sugar, so the split between the two sweeteners is not disclosed.
Does Oreo have high fructose corn syrup?
Yes. The Oreo Chocolate Sandwich Cookies ingredient list includes high fructose corn syrup; the exact amount relative to sugar is not disclosed.
FDA says it is not aware of evidence that foods with HFCS 42 or 55 differ in safety from foods with similar amounts of sucrose or honey. The Dietary Guidelines recommend limiting all added sugars, including HFCS. Source: FDA's high fructose corn syrup questions and answers.
Dairy and Milk: Why Chips Ahoy Declares Milk and Oreo Does Not
Does Oreo have dairy?
No milk ingredient or milk allergen declaration appears on the Oreo label. The Oreo product page does not provide a vegan statement or a cross-contact statement for the Original cookie, so whether these cookies are made on lines shared with milk products is not disclosed. The allergen statement lists wheat and soy only.
Does Chips Ahoy have milk?
Yes. The Chips Ahoy! Original ingredient list includes nonfat milk within its semisweet chocolate chips, and the allergen statement declares milk, wheat, and soy. FDA's food allergies guidance lists milk among the major food allergens.
For readers avoiding dairy for any reason, the milk declaration on the Chips Ahoy label is the most direct label fact. The Oreo label does not declare milk, but the absence of a milk ingredient on a list is not the same as a guarantee about shared equipment, which the label does not address.
Allergens: Wheat and Soy Shared, Milk Declared Only on Chips Ahoy
Both labels declare wheat and soy, so the shared declaration is the same on each package. The two labels differ in the milk declaration.
A tree nut or peanut statement is not disclosed on the labels cited in this article for either product. Check the Contains line and any may-contain wording on the package you have.
A practical label check for allergens includes these points:
- Read the Contains statement first, then the full ingredient list for ingredients such as milk, whey, or casein.
- Look for may-contain or made-in-a-facility wording, which can appear outside the ingredient list.
- Compare the package you hold with the label cited here, because recipes and labels can change.
People managing wheat, soy, or milk allergies should follow medical advice from their own clinicians. A label can show declared ingredients, but it cannot show how any individual will respond.
Fat, Saturated Fat and Sodium Per Serving, Side by Side
Oreo vs Chips Ahoy calories per serving
Both list 160 calories per 3 cookies (Oreo 34 g; Chips Ahoy 33 g).
Chips Ahoy lists 8 g of total fat and 3 g of saturated fat per 3 cookies, compared with 7 g of total fat and 2 g of saturated fat for Oreo. Chips Ahoy lists 105 mg of sodium per serving, and Oreo lists 130 mg, so Oreo has 25 mg more. Oreo lists 25 g of total carbohydrate and Chips Ahoy lists 22 g. Chips Ahoy lists 2 g of protein and Oreo lists 1 g.
For a sodium comparison of two other snack labels, see Cheez-It vs Goldfish: Ingredients, Sodium and Calories. Per-serving values are a starting point, since how much of a product a person eats changes the total intake.
Colors and Flavors: Artificial Flavor vs Natural Flavor and Caramel Color
Oreo lists artificial flavor in its ingredient list. The current Chips Ahoy Original ingredient list shows natural flavor in two places and caramel color. Neither label lists a certified FD&C dye.
FDA lists caramel among the color additives exempt from batch certification. That is a regulatory classification, and it does not by itself describe the color's effect on any individual.
Some older Open Food Facts records for Chips Ahoy still show artificial flavor and canola oil. The brand's current ingredient list is the reference used in this article. The date when Chips Ahoy changed its flavor wording is not disclosed.
What FDA Says About HFCS, Caramel Color and Allergens
Neither cookie's current ingredient list includes a certified FD&C dye, so the federal debate over synthetic dyes does not touch either label shown here.
For high fructose corn syrup, FDA states that it is not aware of evidence that foods with HFCS 42 or 55 differ in safety from foods with similar amounts of sucrose or honey. The Dietary Guidelines recommend limiting all added sugars, which includes HFCS.
FDA's allergen guidance lists milk, wheat, and soy among the major food allergens, which is why these declarations appear on both labels. The allergen rules are about disclosure, not about how any person will react.
What Is Not Disclosed: Gaps in the Data for These Two Cookies
Several details are not available from the labels and product pages cited in this article:
- Whether Original Oreo is certified vegan or made on lines shared with milk products.
- The exact amount of high fructose corn syrup compared with sugar in either cookie.
- Cocoa percentage or cocoa source details beyond the statement that Oreo cocoa is processed with alkali.
- When Chips Ahoy changed from artificial to natural flavor wording.
- Sugar per serving beyond the Nutrition Facts panels cited here, and the added sugar difference between the oreo.com label and the Open Food Facts record.
- Any recent study specific to these two products.
The evidence here cannot establish how any individual will respond to these ingredients, and it does not cover every population, including young children or people with specific medical conditions. Research on added sugar and sweeteners in general does not isolate these two cookies, so readers should treat the label facts as descriptions of the products, not as findings about health outcomes.
How to Check Each Label Yourself Before You Buy
The label in your hand is the best source for the current version of either product. A short checklist helps make the comparison concrete:
- Confirm the serving size and compare values per the same serving.
- Read the full ingredient list, including items nested in parentheses, such as the chocolate chip ingredients in Chips Ahoy.
- Check the Contains statement for milk, wheat, soy, and any other listed allergen.
- Look for may-contain or shared-facility wording.
- Find high fructose corn syrup, palm oil, and any color or flavor terms, and note which version of the product you are looking at.
- Compare the sugar line with the added sugar line and the Daily Value.
Want to check the pack in your own pantry? Scan either package with the Aurascan app to see each ingredient explained one by one, with cited evidence.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Which has more sugar, Oreo or Chips Ahoy?
- Oreo has more. Per 3 cookies, Oreo lists 14 g of total sugars, all added, while Chips Ahoy Original lists 10 g of total sugars, all added.
- Does Oreo have dairy?
- No milk ingredient or milk allergen declaration appears on the Oreo label. Whether the cookies are made on lines shared with milk products is not disclosed on the product page.
- Do Chips Ahoy have high fructose corn syrup?
- Yes, the standard Chips Ahoy! Original Chocolate Chip ingredient list includes high fructose corn syrup. The exact amount relative to sugar is not disclosed.
- Are Oreo and Chips Ahoy calories the same?
- Both list 160 calories per 3 cookies (Oreo 34 g; Chips Ahoy 33 g).
- Does Chips Ahoy contain milk?
- Yes. Chips Ahoy declares milk in the allergen statement, and the nonfat milk is listed as part of the semisweet chocolate chips.
- Do Oreo and Chips Ahoy contain artificial flavor?
- Oreo lists artificial flavor. Current Chips Ahoy Original lists natural flavor and caramel color, and neither label lists a certified FD&C dye.
- Does FDA say high fructose corn syrup is unsafe?
- FDA says it is not aware of evidence that foods with HFCS 42 or 55 differ in safety from foods with similar amounts of sucrose or honey. The Dietary Guidelines recommend limiting all added sugars, including HFCS.
- Are Oreo cookies vegan?
- The Oreo product page does not provide a vegan statement for the Original cookie, so vegan status is not disclosed on the labels cited in this article.
Sources
- Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, Family Size (oreo.com)
- Chips Ahoy! Original Chocolate Chip Cookies, 13 oz (snackworks.com)
- Oreo Chocolate Sandwich Cookies 13.29 oz, Open Food Facts (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- High Fructose Corn Syrup: Questions and Answers (fda.gov)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Food Allergies (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Cheez-It vs Goldfish: Ingredients, Sodium and CaloriesGuide
Jif vs Skippy: Ingredients, Sugar and Oil ComparedGuide
5 Chips and Popcorns Scanned for Seed OilsGuide
5 Lunchbox Snacks Scanned: String Cheese to Fig BarsGuide
5 Grocery Staples With the Shortest Labels, ScannedGuide
5 Chips People Scan Most, and What Their Labels Say
Related guides
Comparisons
Nutri-Grain vs Nature's Bakery: Both 14 g Added SugarNutri-Grain Apple Cinnamon (44g) and Nature's Bakery Apple Cinnamon Fig Bar (57g) both list 14g added sugars, 28% DV. Calories, fiber, sodium and ingredients compared.
Comparisons
Which Has More Sodium, Goldfish or Annie's Bunnies?Goldfish Cheddar lists 250 mg sodium per 55 pieces; Annie's Organic Cheddar Bunnies list 260 mg per 51 crackers. Both 140 calories and 0 g added sugar.
Comparisons
How Much Added Sugar Is in Reese's vs Justin's? 21g vs 16gPer pack, Reese's (42g) lists 21g added sugar, 42% DV; Justin's milk chocolate cups (40g) list 16g, 32% DV. Full ingredient lists side by side.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy