Comparisons · October 4, 2026 · 7 min read
Baked Lay's vs Pringles Hot Honey: Two Dried-Potato Crisps
Both list dried potatoes first. We compare oils, sugars, emulsifiers and the plant-derived colors (annatto vs paprika) in Baked Lay's and Pringles Hot Honey.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 4, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Baked Lay's Original and Pringles Hot Honey both start with dried potatoes, but their ingredient lists split fast after that. Baked Lay's lists 8 ingredients with one named oil. Pringles Hot Honey lists roughly 18 named ingredients, an and/or blend of four oils, five sugars and sweet carbohydrates, and milk and wheat ingredients. This is a label-reading comparison, not a verdict on which snack is healthier.
Key takeaways
- Both products start with dried potatoes as their primary base and use the term 'crisps' rather than traditional potato chips.
- Baked Lay's Original features a short 8-ingredient list with single-source corn oil, corn starch, and soy lecithin, without an unranked 'contains 2% or less' section.
- Pringles Hot Honey uses an 'and/or' vegetable oil blend alongside several flours and starches, mono- and diglycerides, and five sugars and sweet carbohydrates.
- The Pringles Hot Honey listing ends with 'CONTAINS MILK AND WHEAT INGREDIENTS' (whey and wheat starch), while the Baked Lay's listing names soy lecithin and no milk or wheat ingredient.
Quick Summary: How the Two Ingredient Lists Differ
Choosing between Lay's Oven Baked Potato Crisps Original and Pringles Hot Honey Potato Crisps comes down to your own ingredient priorities. Both list dried potatoes first, but the formulas diverge sharply once you read past the first ingredient.
Baked Lay's lists eight ingredients. It names a single oil (corn oil), two sugars (sugar and dextrose) and sea salt. Because it has no 'contains 2% or less' statement, every ingredient appears in descending order by weight. It contains soy from soy lecithin and lists no wheat or milk ingredients.
Pringles Hot Honey has a much longer list: roughly 18 named ingredients, plus sub-ingredients. It includes an and/or vegetable oil blend, several flours and starches, a different emulsifier, and five sugars and sweet carbohydrates spread across the main list and a 'contains 2% or less' tail. It also states that it contains milk and wheat ingredients.
Quiz
Both start with dried potatoes. Which one names a single oil instead of an and/or list of four?
Guess before you scroll.
Reveal Aurascan's verdict
Aurascan says: It's a tie
At-a-Glance Comparison: Baked Lay's vs Pringles Hot Honey
The table below compares the two using each product's Open Food Facts listing.
| Attribute | Lay's Oven Baked Original | Pringles Hot Honey |
|---|---|---|
| Product Name | Lay's Oven Baked Potato Crisps Original | Pringles Hot Honey Potato Crisps |
| Primary Base | Dried potatoes | DRIED POTATOES |
| Cooking Oils | Corn oil (single source) | Vegetable oil (corn, cottonseed, high oleic soybean, and/or sunflower) |
| Flours & Starches | Corn starch | Degerminated yellow corn flour, cornstarch, rice flour, wheat starch |
| Sugars & sweet carbs | Sugar, dextrose | Sugar, maltodextrin, fructose, honey, molasses |
| Emulsifier | Soy lecithin | Mono- and diglycerides |
| Color Additives | Annatto extracts | Paprika extract color |
| Allergen-relevant ingredients | Soy (soy lecithin) | Milk and wheat (whey, wheat starch) |
| Formula Structure | 8 items, no 2% statement | ~18 items, includes 'CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF' section |
Scan preview

Lay's
Lay's Oven Baked Potato Crisps, Original, 1.125 Oz
Dried Potatoes · Corn Starch · Corn Oil
Standout ingredient: Corn Starch
Analysis by Aurascan. The app shows the full breakdown and its sources.
The Base Ingredient: Dried Potatoes and the Word 'Crisps'
Neither product calls itself 'potato chips' in its product name. A federal rule, 21 CFR 102.41, covers this kind of snack: a food that resembles and is of the same composition as potato chips, except that it is made from dehydrated potatoes (buds, flakes, granules or other forms), must use the common or usual name 'potato chips made from dried potatoes.'
Both products list dried potatoes first in their Open Food Facts listings, and both are sold as 'potato crisps' ('Lay's Oven Baked Potato Crisps' and 'Pringles Potato Crisps'). Why either brand chose the word 'crisps' is not disclosed in the sources reviewed here.
Oils and Flexibility: Single-Source Corn Oil vs 'And/Or' Blends
Fat sources differ between the two crisps. In Baked Lay's Original, corn oil is the only oil, listed third, so the listing tells you which oil is in the bag.
Pringles Hot Honey uses a different labeling option. The Open Food Facts listing shows its second ingredient as 'VEGETABLE OIL (CORN, COTTONSEED, H OLEIC SOYBEAN, AND/OR SUNFLOWER)' ('H OLEIC' means high oleic). Under 21 CFR 101.4(b)(14), fat and oil ingredients not present in the product may be listed if they may sometimes be used, as long as words such as 'or' or 'and/or' show they may not be present.
Because of this provision, a shopper cannot tell from the listing which of those four oils, or which mix of them, is in a given can of Pringles Hot Honey. To see how other scanned snacks list their oils, read our scan of chips and popcorn for seed oils.
Scan preview

Pringles
Pringles Potato Crisps Chips, Hot Honey 5.5 Oz
Dried Potatoes · Cottonseed · Cornstarch
Standout ingredient: Sunflower
Analysis by Aurascan. The app shows the full breakdown and its sources.
Starches, Sugars, and Seasonings: Short List vs Long List
Beyond potatoes and oil, the starches and flours differ. Baked Lay's lists one: corn starch. Pringles Hot Honey lists degerminated yellow corn flour, cornstarch, rice flour and wheat starch.
The sugars show an even wider gap. Baked Lay's lists two: sugar and dextrose. Federal rules describe corn sugar as 'commonly called D-glucose or dextrose' (21 CFR 184.1857).
Pringles Hot Honey lists five sugars and sweet carbohydrates:
- Sugar (main list)
- Maltodextrin (main list)
- Fructose (2%-or-less group)
- Honey (2%-or-less group)
- Molasses (2%-or-less group)
Where these appear matters because of the 2% rule in 21 CFR 101.4(a)(2). Ingredients present at 2 percent or less by weight do not have to be listed in descending order when they follow an appropriate quantifying statement, and none of them may exceed the stated threshold. In Pringles Hot Honey, everything after 'CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF' (salt through wheat starch) is present at 2% or less by weight, and that group's order does not necessarily reflect relative amounts. Because honey sits in this group, it is not the main sweet ingredient, even though it is in the flavor name.
Emulsifiers and Plant Colors: Soy Lecithin vs Mono- and Diglycerides
Each product lists one emulsifier. Baked Lay's uses soy lecithin, Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) under 21 CFR 184.1400, which says it is used in food with no limitation other than current good manufacturing practice.
Pringles Hot Honey uses mono- and diglycerides, GRAS under 21 CFR 184.1505 with the same good-manufacturing-practice wording. For more on this ingredient, read Mono- and Diglycerides: Hidden Trans Fat or Harmless Emulsifier?.
The colors differ too. Both use colors from natural sources that are exempt from batch certification; the FDA's color additive Q&A for consumers notes that exempt colors are still color additives that FDA must approve before use in foods, and the FDA's summary of color additives lists annatto extract, paprika and paprika oleoresin among them:
- Baked Lay's Original lists 'annatto extracts.' Under 21 CFR 73.30, annatto extract is prepared from annatto seed (Bixa orellana L.).
- Pringles Hot Honey lists 'PAPRIKA EXTRACT COLOR.' Paprika colors come from mild capsicum (Capsicum annuum L.). Under 21 CFR 101.22(k)(2), exempt colors may be declared as '____ color,' with the blank filled in with the name of the color additive, which explains this phrasing.
Neither listing discloses how much annatto or paprika color is used, and the Pringles listing does not say whether its color is paprika or paprika oleoresin under federal rules. Because it is listed as a color, it should not be read as a source of heat.
Allergen Disclosures: Wheat, Milk, and Soy Differences
The allergen-relevant ingredients differ:
- Baked Lay's Original: Lists soy lecithin (soy). It lists no milk or wheat ingredients.
- Pringles Hot Honey: The listing ends with 'CONTAINS MILK AND WHEAT INGREDIENTS,' matching the whey (a milk ingredient) and wheat starch in the list. For more on that dairy ingredient, read Whey on Food Labels: What It Is and Who Should Watch It.
If you avoid wheat or milk, the Pringles Hot Honey listing names both. Baked Lay's lists neither, but an ingredient list alone does not show whether a product is certified gluten-free or made on shared equipment, so check the package itself.
How to Choose Based on Your Ingredient Priorities
Neither snack is better for everyone. The choice depends on which ingredient factors you care about:
- Baked Lay's Original may suit you if: you prefer a shorter list (8 items), want one named oil instead of an and/or blend, need to avoid milk or wheat ingredients, or want fewer sugar-type ingredients.
- Pringles Hot Honey may suit you if: you want its sweet-and-spicy seasoning, which includes cayenne pepper sauce and honey, and milk, wheat and mono- and diglycerides are not a concern for you.
A limitation of comparing ingredient lists is that they do not disclose exact amounts in the 2%-or-less group, nor can they show how individual people respond to specific starches or emulsifiers. For calories, sodium and serving sizes, check the Nutrition Facts panel on the package. To read every ingredient in either bag explained one by one, scan it with the Aurascan app.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Why are Baked Lay's and Pringles called potato crisps instead of chips?
- Under 21 CFR 102.41, a food that resembles and has the same composition as potato chips, except that it is made from dehydrated potatoes, must be called 'potato chips made from dried potatoes.' Both brands use the word 'crisps' in their product names; why they chose it is not disclosed.
- Which vegetable oil is inside Pringles Hot Honey?
- The Open Food Facts listing states 'vegetable oil (corn, cottonseed, high oleic soybean, and/or sunflower)'. Under federal labeling rule 21 CFR 101.4(b)(14), fat and oil ingredients that may sometimes be used can be listed with 'and/or' wording. The exact oil used in an individual can is not disclosed.
- Does Pringles Hot Honey contain real honey?
- Yes, honey is listed on the ingredient panel, but it appears after the 'CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF' statement. This means honey is at most 2% of the product by weight; sugar appears earlier, in the main list.
- Are Baked Lay's Original dairy-free and wheat-free?
- The Open Food Facts listing for Baked Lay's Original contains dried potatoes, corn starch, corn oil, sugar, sea salt, soy lecithin, dextrose, and annatto extracts. It lists no milk or wheat ingredients, though it does contain soy. An ingredient list alone does not show whether a product is made on shared equipment.
- What is the difference between annatto extract and paprika extract color?
- Both are plant-derived colors exempt from FDA certification. Annatto extract (21 CFR 73.30) is prepared from annatto seed (Bixa orellana), and FDA lists it as a yellow color. Paprika colors come from mild capsicum (Capsicum annuum) peppers.
- What emulsifiers are used in Baked Lay's versus Pringles?
- Baked Lay's Original uses soy lecithin, regulated under 21 CFR 184.1400. Pringles Hot Honey uses mono- and diglycerides, regulated under 21 CFR 184.1505. Both are affirmed as GRAS, used with no limitation other than current good manufacturing practice.
Sources
- 21 CFR 102.41 Potato chips made from dried potatoes (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 101.4 Food; designation of ingredients (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 101.22 Foods; labeling of spices, flavorings, colorings and chemical preservatives (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 73.30 Annatto extract (ecfr.gov)
- Color Additives Questions and Answers for Consumers (fda.gov)
- Summary of Color Additives for Use in the United States in Foods, Drugs, Cosmetics, and Medical Devices (fda.gov)
- 21 CFR 184.1400 Lecithin (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 184.1505 Mono- and diglycerides (ecfr.gov)
In this series
Guide
Stacy's Pita Chips vs SkinnyPop: Ingredient Lists ComparedGuide
Nutri-Score 2023 tested on 408,399 EU food labelsGuide
KIND Bar vs SkinnyDipped Almonds: Two Nut Snack LabelsGuide
California Creates a 'Non-Ultraprocessed Certified' Food SealGuide
FDA Warns Seller Over 'Anti-Cancer' Goji and Cacao LabelsGuide
Food Gums on 6 Scanned Labels: From Five Thickeners to Zero
Related guides
Comparisons
Gatorade vs Powerade: Sugar, Sodium and ElectrolytesPer 12 fl oz Powerade lists 240mg sodium and 80mg potassium; Gatorade 160mg and 50mg. Compare sugars, HFCS vs sugar and dextrose, dyes and additives.
Comparisons
Chobani vs Fage Greek Yogurt: Protein, Sugar and CulturesChobani Nonfat Plain vs Fage Total 0% Greek yogurt: protein per 3/4 cup, sugar, sodium, live cultures and the one-line ingredient lists compared.
Comparisons
Fage Total 0% vs Core Power: Two Milk-Protein Labels ComparedBoth start with milk. Fage lists 2 ingredients, Core Power lists 13. We compare cultures vs lactase, four sweeteners, gums and what the US yogurt rule says.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy