Comparisons · October 8, 2026 · 6 min read
Chobani vs Fage Greek Yogurt: Protein, Sugar and Cultures
Chobani Nonfat Plain vs Fage Total 0% Greek yogurt: protein per 3/4 cup, sugar, sodium, live cultures and the one-line ingredient lists compared.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 8, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Fage Total 0% has more protein than Chobani Nonfat Plain: 18 grams versus 16 grams per 3/4-cup (170 g) serving, with 5 grams of total sugar versus Chobani's 6. Chobani names one more live culture (L. rhamnosus). Both plain nonfat yogurts list 90 calories, 65 milligrams of sodium and 0 grams of added sugar per serving.
Key takeaways:
- At an identical 90 calories and 65 mg of sodium per 170 g serving, Fage Total 0% edges out Chobani with 18 g of protein compared to Chobani's 16 g.
- Fage contains slightly less naturally occurring sugar (5 g vs 6 g per 170 g serving); neither brand contains added sugars or thickeners.
- Both brands deliver the standard yogurt cultures plus additional strains, with Chobani providing six distinct live cultures (including L. rhamnosus) compared to Fage's five.
- FDA yogurt standards (21 CFR 131.200) require specific starter cultures and pasteurization before culturing, but do not legally define the term 'Greek'.
Fage vs Chobani: The Short Answer
Per 170-gram serving, Fage Total 0% has 2 grams more protein (18 g vs 16 g) and 1 gram less sugar (5 g vs 6 g) than Chobani Nonfat Plain, at the same 90 calories.
Neither ingredient list includes gums, starches or sweeteners: Fage lists skimmed milk plus five named cultures, and Chobani lists cultured nonfat milk plus six named cultures.
Chobani's product page adds three statements Fage's page does not make: the yogurt is triple-strained, it has less than 5% lactose, and it is made with milk from cows not treated with rBST.
Scan preview

Fage
Fage Total All Natural Nonfat Plain Greek Strained Yogurt, 32 Oz
Grade A Pasteurized Skimmed Milk · L. Acidophilus · L. Casei
Standout ingredient: L. Casei
Analysis by Aurascan. The app shows the full breakdown and its sources.
At-a-Glance Comparison: Chobani vs Fage Nutrition and Facts
The table below contrasts the multi-serve tub panels for both products based on their standardized 3/4-cup (170 g) serving size.
| Metric | Fage Total 0% (Plain Nonfat) | Chobani Greek Nonfat Plain |
|---|---|---|
| Serving Size | 3/4 cup (170 g) | 3/4 cup (170 g) |
| Calories | 90 | 90 |
| Fat | 0 g | 0 g |
| Cholesterol | 10 mg | 10 mg |
| Sodium | 65 mg | 65 mg |
| Total Carbohydrate | 5 g | 6 g |
| Total Sugars | 5 g | 6 g |
| Added Sugars | 0 g | 0 g |
| Protein | 18 g | 16 g |
| Calcium | 200 mg | 15% Daily Value |
| Potassium | 260 mg | 6% Daily Value |
| Named Cultures | 5 strains | 6 strains |
| Stated Lactose Level | Not disclosed | Less than 5% lactose |
| Hormone Stance | Not disclosed | Milk from cows not treated with rBST |
Numbers come from each brand's product page (Fage Total 0%, Chobani Nonfat Plain). Fage Total 0% also goes up against a protein shake in Fage Total 0% vs Core Power.
Does Fage or Chobani Have More Protein?
Fage has more protein, providing 18 grams per 170-gram serving compared to 16 grams in Chobani Nonfat Plain.
Fage's smaller single cup (150 g) lists 16 grams of protein, 80 calories and 55 mg of sodium.
Neither ingredient list includes added protein such as whey concentrate or milk protein isolate, so all of the protein comes from the milk itself.
Does Chobani or Fage Plain Greek Yogurt Have Added Sugar?
Neither Chobani nor Fage plain nonfat Greek yogurt contains added sugar, listing 0 grams of added sugars on their Nutrition Facts panels.
Because both list 0 grams of added sugars, the total sugars on each label (5 grams per 170-gram serving for Fage and 6 grams for Chobani) come from the milk itself.
Chobani's product page states its nonfat plain yogurt has less than 5% lactose. Fage's page does not give a lactose figure, though its total sugar is 1 gram lower per serving. Neither lists syrup, cane sugar or a non-sugar sweetener.
Which Has More Live Cultures, Chobani or Fage?
Chobani lists more live active cultures by strain count, naming six cultures on its product page compared to Fage's five.
Fage Total 0% discloses five live active yogurt cultures:
- S. Thermophilus
- L. Bulgaricus
- L. Acidophilus
- Bifidus
- L. Casei
Chobani Greek Yogurt Nonfat Plain includes those exact five strains and adds a sixth:
- S. Thermophilus
- L. Bulgaricus
- L. Acidophilus
- Bifidus
- L. Casei
- L. Rhamnosus
While Chobani lists one additional strain, neither brand discloses the viable colony-forming units (CFU) present at the time of purchase or expiration. A higher strain count indicates taxonomic variety, but consumer labels do not state whether one tub contains more living bacterial cells overall than the other.
What Is the Difference Between Chobani and Fage?
The main differences are protein (Fage 18 g vs Chobani 16 g per 170 g), sugar (5 g vs 6 g), named cultures (five vs six) and the extra claims on Chobani's page; both are unsweetened, milk-plus-cultures products.
Fage lists its ingredients as Grade A Pasteurized Skimmed Milk followed directly by its five live active yogurt cultures. Chobani lists its sole ingredient line as Cultured nonfat milk, followed by an explicit breakdown of its six live and active cultures.
Chobani's product page says the yogurt is triple-strained. The brand also highlights that its dairy is made with milk from cows not treated with rBST, with a footnote that no significant difference has been shown between milk from rBST-treated and untreated cows. Fage does not disclose an rBST-free statement on its official product panel.
Neither manufacturer discloses the exact mechanical straining method, acid-whey volume generated per batch, or final lactose gram weights. Neither ingredient list includes a stabilizer or thickener such as pectin or gelatin. For the full Fage label on its own, see Fage Total 0% Greek Yogurt scanned.
Is There an FDA Standard for Greek Yogurt?
Under federal law (21 CFR 131.200), the FDA establishes a formal standard of identity for yogurt, but the regulation does not define the descriptor 'Greek'.
The standard requires that yogurt be produced by culturing dairy ingredients with a characterizing culture containing Lactobacillus delbrueckii subsp. bulgaricus and Streptococcus thermophilus. The dairy ingredients must be pasteurized or ultra-pasteurized before culturing. The final food must contain not less than 8.25% milk solids not fat and have a pH of 4.6 or lower. The standard allows yogurt to be heat-treated after culturing to extend shelf life, which inactivates viable microorganisms. Both Fage and Chobani list live and active cultures.
Chobani's product page also carries the qualified health claim about yogurt and type 2 diabetes. In March 2024, the FDA announced it would exercise enforcement discretion for the claim: Eating yogurt regularly, at least 2 cups (3 servings) per week, may reduce the risk of type 2 diabetes according to limited scientific evidence. The FDA considers 2 cups (3 servings) per week the minimum amount, and the association is based on yogurt as a food regardless of its fat or sugar content.
Is Fage or Chobani Healthier?
Neither is healthier across the board: both list 90 calories, 65 milligrams of sodium and 0 grams of added sugar per 170-gram serving, and neither lists a stabilizer or sweetener.
On the numbers, Fage has 2 grams more protein and 1 gram less sugar per 170 grams. Chobani names one extra culture (L. rhamnosus) and states its milk comes from cows not treated with rBST. To see how the tub in your fridge compares, scan it with the Aurascan app.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Is Fage or Chobani healthier?
- Neither is universally healthier, as both provide 90 calories and 65 mg of sodium per 170-gram serving without added sugars or thickeners, though Fage offers slightly more protein (18 g vs 16 g).
- Does Fage or Chobani have more protein?
- Fage has more protein, containing 18 g per 170-gram serving compared to 16 g in Chobani Nonfat Plain.
- What is the difference between Chobani and Fage?
- Per 170-gram serving, Fage has 18 g of protein and 5 g of natural sugars with 5 named live cultures, while Chobani has 16 g of protein, 6 g of natural sugars, and 6 named live cultures.
- Which has more live cultures, Chobani or Fage?
- Chobani names six live active cultures (including L. rhamnosus) on its label, whereas Fage names five, though neither brand discloses total live colony-forming unit (CFU) counts.
- Does Chobani or Fage plain Greek yogurt have added sugar?
- Neither brand contains added sugars; both list 0 grams of added sugars, with all reported sugars (5 g in Fage, 6 g in Chobani per 170 g) coming from the milk itself.
Sources
In this series
Guide
Sodium Beyond Salt: 6 Scanned Labels With Sodium AdditivesGuide
Fage Total 0% vs Core Power: Two Milk-Protein Labels ComparedGuide
Fruit on the Ingredient List: 5 Scanned Products, 5 Different JobsGuide
Ultra-Processed Food and Heart Risk: Waist Size Explains HalfGuide
Front-of-pack claims vs nutrition: 145,609 foods testedGuide
To Protect Taste: 6 Scanned Labels That Explain Their Ingredients
Related guides
Comparisons
Gatorade vs Powerade: Sugar, Sodium and ElectrolytesPer 12 fl oz Powerade lists 240mg sodium and 80mg potassium; Gatorade 160mg and 50mg. Compare sugars, HFCS vs sugar and dextrose, dyes and additives.
Guides
Sodium Beyond Salt: 6 Scanned Labels With Sodium AdditivesSprite lists no salt but two sodium compounds. How MSG, baking soda, sodium citrate and sodium benzoate show up on 6 scanned labels, and what FDA says.
Comparisons
Fage Total 0% vs Core Power: Two Milk-Protein Labels ComparedBoth start with milk. Fage lists 2 ingredients, Core Power lists 13. We compare cultures vs lactase, four sweeteners, gums and what the US yogurt rule says.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy