Comparisons · October 3, 2026 · 7 min read
Stacy's Pita Chips vs SkinnyPop: Ingredient Lists Compared
SkinnyPop lists three ingredients; Stacy's Parmesan pita chips list far more. We compare oils, 'and/or' wording, enriched flour and the two antioxidants.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 3, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

SkinnyPop Original's Open Food Facts listing names three ingredients and one oil. Stacy's Parmesan Garlic & Herb pita chips name 15 ingredients, two possible oils and two added antioxidants. This is not a verdict on which snack is healthier; it is a guide to what each line on these two ingredient lists means, and which FDA rules explain them.
Key takeaways:
- SkinnyPop Original lists three ingredients (popcorn, sunflower oil, salt) and names one oil, while Stacy's says "sunflower oil and/or canola oil," wording that 21 CFR 101.4(b)(14) allows, so a given bag may contain either oil or both.
- Stacy's first ingredient is enriched wheat flour; the standard in 21 CFR 137.165 sets amounts of thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, folic acid and iron per pound of flour.
- Stacy's lists rosemary extract and ascorbic acid, each tagged "(antioxidant)"; SkinnyPop's listing names no added antioxidant.
- Stacy's lists Parmesan cheese twice (with different sub-ingredients) and both "sea salt" and "salt"; one of each sits after a "less than 2% of the following" statement, which 21 CFR 101.4(a)(2) allows.
- Stacy's lists wheat and milk ingredients; SkinnyPop's listing names neither, though cross-contact information is not in the listing.
Quick answer: how the two labels differ
Choosing between these two snacks depends partly on the kind of ingredient list you prefer to read. SkinnyPop Original popcorn features a minimalist formula containing just popcorn, sunflower oil, and salt. Stacy's Parmesan Garlic & Herb pita chips lists 15 ingredients, including enriched flour, an "and/or" oil declaration, two Parmesan cheese entries and two antioxidants.
Neither product is inherently superior across every dietary context; instead, their differences illustrate standard regulatory labeling mechanisms under the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). For instance, understanding Seed Oils on a Label: What It Tells You, What It Doesn't helps clarify why manufacturing flexibility shapes ingredient text. Stacy's suits consumers looking for savory herb-and-cheese bakery crisps, provided wheat and dairy fit their needs. SkinnyPop suits shoppers who want a short list with one named oil.
Quiz
Before you scroll: which of these two snacks lists only three ingredients?
Guess before you scroll.
Reveal Aurascan's verdict
Aurascan says: It's a tie
Side-by-Side Comparison: Stacy's vs SkinnyPop at a Glance
The table below contrasts the ingredient statements taken directly from each product's Open Food Facts listing.
| Component | Stacy's Parmesan Garlic & Herb Pita Chips | SkinnyPop Original Popcorn |
|---|---|---|
| Open Food Facts Listing | Barcode 028400094498 | Barcode 850251004018 |
| First ingredient | Enriched wheat flour (thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, folic acid, iron added) | Popcorn |
| Oil Declaration | Sunflower oil and/or canola oil | Sunflower oil |
| Added Antioxidants | Rosemary extract (antioxidant), ascorbic acid (antioxidant) | None |
| Listed after "less than 2% of the following" | 11 items | None |
| Repeated Ingredients | Parmesan cheese (twice), salt / sea salt | None |
| Wheat or milk ingredients in the listing | Wheat, milk | None |
Scan preview

Stacy's
Stacy's Baked, Parmesan Garlic & Herb, Pita Chips
_wheat_ Flour · Niacin · Folic Acid
Standout ingredient: Ascorbic Acid
Analysis by Aurascan. The app shows the full breakdown and its sources.
Base ingredient: enriched wheat flour vs popcorn
The primary ingredient in Stacy's pita chips is enriched wheat flour. In the United States, enriched flour has a standard of identity codified under 21 CFR 137.165. Under that standard, each pound of enriched flour contains 2.9 milligrams of thiamin, 1.8 milligrams of riboflavin, 24 milligrams of niacin, 0.7 milligrams of folic acid, and 20 milligrams of iron.
Those amounts are per pound of flour, not per serving of chips. Stacy's secondary grain inclusion, whole wheat flour, appears much further down the statement, within the sub-2% threshold. To explore how synthetic and added micronutrients are labeled across everyday groceries, see our guide on Niacinamide, Cyanocobalamin: Vitamin Names on Labels Decoded.
SkinnyPop's first ingredient is simply "popcorn." It is not flour, so the enriched-flour standard does not apply, and the listing names no added vitamins or minerals.
The oil rule: one named oil vs "and/or"
A noticeable divergence between the two listings is how each manufacturer discloses cooking fats. SkinnyPop lists a single, unambiguous fat: "sunflower oil." Stacy's, however, states "sunflower oil and/or canola oil."
This flexible language is explicitly authorized under 21 CFR 101.4(b)(14). The regulation states that fat or oil ingredients not present in the finished food may be listed if they are sometimes used, provided they are identified by phrasing such as "or," "and/or," or "contains one or more of the following." In practice, a bag of Stacy's may contain sunflower oil, canola oil, or both. FDA's Food Labeling Guide adds that this "and/or" labeling is permitted only in foods where added fats or oils are not the predominant ingredient, and "only if the manufacturer is unable to predict which fat or oil ingredient will be used."
From the Open Food Facts listing alone, it is not disclosed which specific oil is present inside any particular bag of Stacy's, nor whether the bag contains an equal or unequal blend of the two. Furthermore, the oil processing methods, such as expeller-pressed versus solvent-extracted, are not disclosed for either brand.
Scan preview

Skinny Pop
Skinny Pop Original Popcorn 100 Calorie Bag, 0.65 Oz
SUNFLOWER OIL · SALT · POPCORN
Standout ingredient: POPCORN
Analysis by Aurascan. The app shows the full breakdown and its sources.
Antioxidants: what the "(antioxidant)" tags mean
Stacy's pita chips incorporates two specific additives tagged with a functional role: "rosemary extract (antioxidant)" and "ascorbic acid (antioxidant)." SkinnyPop's listing names none.
The parenthetical role tags trace back to 21 CFR 101.22(j). Under that rule, a food with an added chemical preservative must bear a label declaration stating both the common or usual name of the ingredient and a separate description of its function. That is why preservative-type ingredients often carry a role in parentheses. The listing does not explain why Stacy's tags each of these two ingredients the way it does. To understand the wider regulatory rules around shelf-life agents, see our overview on Preservatives on Ingredient Lists Explained: Benzoate to BHA.
Both substances maintain established regulatory statuses:
- Ascorbic acid is Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) under 21 CFR 182.3013 when used in accordance with good manufacturing practice.
- Rosemary extract derives from Rosmarinus officinalis L., an herb recognized as GRAS under 21 CFR 182.20 for natural extractives.
The amounts of rosemary extract and ascorbic acid in Stacy's are not disclosed. SkinnyPop's listing names no added antioxidant.
The 2% statement: why Parmesan and salt appear twice
Stacy's lists some ingredients more than once. Specifically, the Open Food Facts listing shows "Parmesan cheese (Pasteurized cow's milk, cheese cultures, salt, enzymes)" near the start of the list, and a secondary declaration of "Parmesan cheese (part-skim milk, cheese cultures, salt, enzymes)" later on. Similarly, "sea salt" appears early, while standard "salt" appears further down.
This structure reflects the regulatory mechanics of 21 CFR 101.4(a)(2). Under federal rules, ingredients must typically appear in descending order of predominance by weight. However, that descending-order mandate does not apply to ingredients present at amounts of 2 percent or less by weight, provided they follow an appropriate quantifying statement such as "less than 2% of the following:" and are placed at the end of the statement.
In Stacy's listing, the first Parmesan entry and "sea salt" come before the 2% statement. The second Parmesan entry, "salt," dried garlic, organic cane sugar, yeast, parsley and the other items after it are each present at 2 percent or less by weight. The two Parmesan entries have different sub-ingredients (pasteurized cow's milk in one, part-skim milk in the other), which is why they are declared separately. The listing does not say where in the recipe each one is used.
Under 21 CFR 101.4(a)(2), no ingredient placed after the 2% statement may exceed that threshold, but their internal order is not required to be strictly descending. The exact percentage of each item beneath the 2% cutoff is not disclosed.
Wheat and milk
The Open Food Facts listing marks wheat and milk in Stacy's Parmesan Garlic & Herb pita chips. Wheat comes from the enriched wheat flour and whole wheat flour; milk comes from the two Parmesan cheese entries. The list also includes malted barley flour.
SkinnyPop's listing names no wheat or milk ingredients. However, the Open Food Facts listing does not disclose facility-level cross-contact details or certifications regarding whether SkinnyPop is produced in a dedicated allergen-free or nut-free facility, nor does it assert gluten-free status on the ingredient line. People with food allergies should check the package itself for allergen and facility statements.
Evidence limitations: an ingredient list cannot tell you amounts, which oil is in a given bag of Stacy's, or how either brand's oil was processed. None of that is disclosed in these listings.
Which label fits what you look for?
Based only on the two ingredient lists:
Pick SkinnyPop Original popcorn if:
- You want an ultra-short, three-ingredient declaration containing only popcorn, sunflower oil, and salt.
- You avoid milk or wheat ingredients (check the bag for cross-contact statements).
- You prefer a single, defined vegetable oil over flexible "and/or" oil sourcing.
Pick Stacy's Parmesan Garlic & Herb pita chips if:
- You want a pita chip seasoned with Parmesan, garlic and herbs.
- You do not have dietary restrictions concerning gluten, wheat, or cow's milk.
- You are fine with enriched flour and an "and/or" oil declaration.
- You are fine with rosemary extract and ascorbic acid listed as antioxidants.
Ingredient lists only tell part of the story. Scan either bag with the Aurascan app to see each ingredient explained one by one, with its sources.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Quiz
Sunflower oil and/or canola oil, plus rosemary extract as an antioxidant. Would you still buy these pita chips?
Guess before you scroll.
Reveal Aurascan's verdict
Aurascan says: Flagged
The main flag is _wheat_ Flour.
Common questions
- Why does Stacy's list sunflower oil and/or canola oil?
- Under FDA regulation 21 CFR 101.4(b)(14), fat and oil ingredients that may sometimes be used can be listed with words such as 'or' or 'and/or'. A single bag may contain sunflower oil, canola oil, or both; the listing does not say which.
- What does enriched wheat flour mean in Stacy's pita chips?
- Under 21 CFR 137.165, enriched flour contains set amounts of thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, folic acid and iron per pound of flour (not per serving of chips).
- Why are rosemary extract and ascorbic acid labeled with '(antioxidant)'?
- FDA rule 21 CFR 101.22(j) requires a food with an added chemical preservative to declare both the ingredient's common name and a separate description of its function. That is why preservative-type ingredients often carry a role in parentheses, such as '(antioxidant)'.
- Why does Parmesan cheese appear twice in Stacy's ingredient list?
- The two entries have different sub-ingredients (pasteurized cow's milk vs part-skim milk), so they are declared separately. The second one sits after the 'less than 2% of the following' statement, which 21 CFR 101.4(a)(2) allows. The listing does not say where each is used.
- Does SkinnyPop Original contain any added preservatives?
- No. The Open Food Facts listing for SkinnyPop Original shows only popcorn, sunflower oil, and salt, with no added antioxidants, chemical preservatives, or enrichments.
- Are SkinnyPop and Stacy's suitable for dairy-free diets?
- SkinnyPop Original's listing names no dairy ingredients; check the bag for cross-contact statements. Stacy's Parmesan Garlic & Herb pita chips lists Parmesan cheese twice and contains milk as a declared allergen.
Sources
- 21 CFR 101.4 - Food; designation of ingredients (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 101.22 - Foods; labeling of spices, flavorings, colorings and chemical preservatives (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 137.165 - Enriched flour (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 182.3013 - Ascorbic acid (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 182.20 - Essential oils, oleoresins (solvent-free), and natural extractives (ecfr.gov)
- Guidance for Industry: Food Labeling Guide (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Nutri-Score 2023 tested on 408,399 EU food labelsGuide
KIND Bar vs SkinnyDipped Almonds: Two Nut Snack LabelsGuide
California Creates a 'Non-Ultraprocessed Certified' Food SealGuide
FDA Warns Seller Over 'Anti-Cancer' Goji and Cacao LabelsGuide
Food Gums on 6 Scanned Labels: From Five Thickeners to ZeroGuide
Whey on Food Labels: What It Is and Who Should Watch It
Related guides
Comparisons
Fage Total 0% vs Core Power: Two Milk-Protein Labels ComparedBoth start with milk. Fage lists 2 ingredients, Core Power lists 13. We compare cultures vs lactase, four sweeteners, gums and what the US yogurt rule says.
Comparisons
Gatorade vs Powerade: Sugar, Sodium and ElectrolytesPer 12 fl oz Powerade lists 240mg sodium and 80mg potassium; Gatorade 160mg and 50mg. Compare sugars, HFCS vs sugar and dextrose, dyes and additives.
Comparisons
Chobani vs Fage Greek Yogurt: Protein, Sugar and CulturesChobani Nonfat Plain vs Fage Total 0% Greek yogurt: protein per 3/4 cup, sugar, sodium, live cultures and the one-line ingredient lists compared.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy