Product Education · October 12, 2026 · 9 min read
Baked Lay's Ingredients: Are Baked Lays Healthy? Label Read
Baked Lay's Original now lists olive oil, not corn oil. Ingredients, 150-calorie bag nutrition, gluten-free claim and FDA's acrylamide facts.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 12, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Baked Lay's Original now lists olive oil: the current Frito-Lay SmartLabel for UPC 028400071888 says olive oil, while older SmartLabel version 0015 and some listings still say corn oil. The current panel shows 150 calories, 5 g total fat, 150 mg sodium, and 2 g added sugars for one 1 1/8 oz (31.8 g) package. The bag carries a Gluten Free claim and a soy allergen statement, and FDA says baking can form acrylamide, so 'baked' does not mean acrylamide-free. Whether this snack fits your needs depends on your own diet and health situation.
Key takeaways
- The current SmartLabel (version 0017, updated 06-Dec-2025) lists olive oil. Version 0015 and Open Food Facts' ingredient text list corn oil, so older comparisons may be out of date.
- Added sugar is 2 g per 31.8 g package (4% DV of 50 g).
- The 150-calorie figure is for the current SmartLabel's 31.8 g package. The older corn-oil panel listed 140 calories.
- The Gluten Free and Made with Olive Oil claims appear on current packaging.
- FDA says acrylamide can form in baked foods. The only FDA figure for this product is a 2002 sample, which is historical and not a current measurement.
Why people buy it
People usually reach for Baked Lay's Original because it is a familiar potato chip with a 'Baked, Not Fried' front label. Many common searches around this product ask whether it is healthy, gluten free, or better than regular chips, and whether the recipe has changed.
The bag is a single-serve 1 1/8 oz package, a format many shoppers use for portion control, lunch boxes, or grab-and-go snacking. Front-of-bag claims on current packaging, as shown in a 2026 Open Food Facts photo of the bag, include 'Made with Olive Oil,' 'Gluten Free,' 'No Artificial Flavors,' 'No Colors from Artificial Sources,' and '0g Trans Fat.'
Scan preview

Lay's
Lay's Oven Baked Potato Crisps, Original, 1.125 Oz
Dried Potatoes · Corn Starch · Corn Oil
Analysis by Aurascan. The app shows the full breakdown and its sources.
Baked Lay's Original ingredients, one by one
The current SmartLabel lists eight ingredients: dried potatoes, olive oil, corn starch, sugar, sea salt, soy lecithin, dextrose, and annatto extract (color). The notes below describe each added ingredient and what regulators say about it.
Olive oil, the fat that replaced corn oil
The current SmartLabel lists 'Olive Oil' without specifying whether it is extra-virgin or refined. The percentage of olive oil in the chip is not disclosed. Olive oil is the second ingredient on the current list, after dried potatoes.
Corn starch
Corn starch appears in both the older corn-oil list and the current olive-oil list. Its share of the finished chip is not disclosed.
Sugar and dextrose
The ingredient list names two added sugars: 'Sugar' (4th ingredient) and 'Dextrose' (7th ingredient). No artificial sweeteners are listed. The panel shows 2 g of added sugars per package, which is 4% of the 50 g Daily Value FDA uses for added sugars.
Soy lecithin
Soy lecithin is listed on the ingredient list. Under 21 CFR 184.1400, lecithin is a substance generally recognized as safe and may be used in food 'with no limitation other than current good manufacturing practice.' Commercial lecithin is isolated from 'soy, safflower, or corn oils.' The bag and the SmartLabel allergens tab both flag soy, so this ingredient matters most for people with soy allergy.
Annatto extract
The bag lists annatto extract as a color. Under 21 CFR 73.30, annatto may be used 'for coloring foods generally, in amounts consistent with good manufacturing practice,' and its batches are exempt from certification requirements. Annatto comes from the seed of the Bixa orellana plant, so it is a plant-based color rather than a certified synthetic dye.
What to look for on the label
Use these checks on any bag of Baked Lay's, including older or differently sized packages:
- Compare the oil line. The current SmartLabel says Olive Oil. Older bags and listings say Corn Oil.
- Read the serving size first. The panel is based on one package per container.
- Find the added sugars line. Here it reads 2 g, 4% Daily Value.
- Check sodium. The panel shows 150 mg, which is 7% of the 2,300 mg Daily Value.
- Look for the allergen statement. The bag reads 'CONTAINS SOY INGREDIENTS.'
- Read front-of-bag claims side by side with the panel. The fat claim is worded differently across sources.
- If you need gluten-free food, look for the claim and understand what it means under FDA rules.
Is Baked Lay's Original still made with corn oil or olive oil?
The current Frito-Lay SmartLabel for UPC 028400071888 (version 0017, updated 06-Dec-2025) lists olive oil, and version 0016 (updated 24-Oct-2025) has the same list. Older SmartLabel version 0015 (updated 27-Apr-2024) lists corn oil. The SmartLabel versions show a recipe change.
Open Food Facts' ingredient text still matches the old corn-oil recipe, but its nutrition photo of the newer bag, uploaded in 2026, shows olive oil. The text field appears to be stale. Some older comparisons, including the Baked Lay's vs Doritos and Baked Lay's vs Pringles Hot Honey pages, describe the corn-oil list, so read them with this update in mind.
The date the olive-oil recipe reached shelves is not disclosed. The SmartLabel versions place the change somewhere between April 2024 and October 2025. It is also not disclosed whether other Baked Lay's sizes and flavors changed, or whether the olive oil is extra-virgin or refined. These points apply to this UPC only.
Quiz
Baked not fried, now with olive oil, 150 calories a bag. How do you think a full scan rates Baked Lay's Original?
Guess before you scroll.
Reveal Aurascan's verdict
Aurascan says: Mixed
The main flag is Dried Potatoes.
How many calories are in a bag of Baked Lay's?
A 1 1/8 oz (31.8 g) bag of Baked Lay's Original has 150 calories on the current SmartLabel, which treats the whole package as one serving. Other bag sizes carry their own panels, so check the serving size on your own package.
The older corn-oil version (SmartLabel 0015) listed 140 calories per package. Comparing the two SmartLabel panels per package shows these changes:
- Calories: 140 to 150 (+10)
- Total fat: 4 g to 5 g (+1 g)
- Saturated fat: 0.5 g to 1 g
- Monounsaturated fat: 1 g to 3.5 g
- Polyunsaturated fat: 2 g to 0.5 g
- Total carbohydrate: 24 g to 22 g
- Dietary fiber: 2 g to 1 g
- Sodium: 150 mg in both versions
For the current package, the SmartLabel shows 150 calories, 5 g total fat (7% Daily Value), 1 g saturated fat (4%), 0 g trans fat, 0 mg cholesterol, 22 g total carbohydrate (8%), 1 g fiber (5%), 2 g total sugars, 2 g protein, and 280 mg potassium (4%).
Front-of-bag fat claims also differ by source. The 2025 bag says '50% Less Fat than regular potato chips,' while Frito-Lay's product page says baked snacks offer '65% less fat than regular potato chips.' Both are attributed here, and the Nutrition Facts panel is the figure to check against your own comparison.
Is Baked Lay's Original safe for people who need gluten-free food?
The bag prints a 'Gluten Free' claim. FDA says a food labeled gluten-free 'must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten,' and FDA describes the claim as voluntary. The claim is therefore a statement about gluten level under FDA's definition, not a medical guarantee for every person.
Information on lot-by-lot testing and shared-equipment practices is not disclosed. People with celiac disease can ask their clinician how to use this claim.
What does FDA say about acrylamide in baked potato chips?
FDA says acrylamide 'can form in some foods during high-temperature cooking processes, such as frying, roasting, and baking.' It forms from sugars and an amino acid called asparagine, and FDA says it is found mainly in plant-based foods, including potato products. Baking is named alongside frying, so 'baked, not fried' does not mean the chip is acrylamide-free.
FDA notes that acrylamide caused cancer in animals in studies where they were exposed to very high doses. FDA also says people should not stop eating fried, roasted, or baked foods, and it recommends a healthy overall eating plan.
Do Baked Lay's chips have acrylamide?
No current acrylamide result for Baked Lay's Original is disclosed. The only FDA figure for this product comes from its Survey Data on Acrylamide in Food, where a 2002 table lists 'Baked! Lay's Original Naturally Baked Potato Crisps' at 1096 ppb in one sample. The same table lists Lay's Classic Potato Chips samples at 249 to 549 ppb. FDA cautions that these data 'generally do not address unit to unit variation or lot to lot variation' and 'should not be taken as an indicator of food product choices by consumers.' FDA's later 2011 to 2015 sampling showed 'significant decreases in acrylamide concentrations in potato chips and crackers,' but that 2002 sample predates both that survey and the current olive-oil recipe, so it should be read as history only.
Who should be cautious with this bag?
Several groups may want to read the label closely before choosing this snack:
- People with soy allergy, since the bag and SmartLabel both flag soy.
- People with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, since the gluten-free claim is voluntary and lot-level testing is not disclosed.
- People tracking added sugar, since the panel lists 2 g per package from sugar and dextrose.
- People watching sodium, since each package contains 150 mg, or 7% of the Daily Value.
- People comparing fat content across products, since the fat claims on the bag and the product page differ.
Questions such as whether Baked Lay's suits people with diabetes, supports weight loss, or fits a low FODMAP plan are outside what the label can answer. No study on this specific product's health outcomes was identified. The label cannot establish how this bag affects any individual, so those questions are best taken to a clinician or dietitian who knows your history.
How to read the Baked Lay's Original label yourself
Are Baked Lays healthy?
Whether this snack is healthy depends on the rest of your diet and your health needs. The label facts are 150 calories, 5 g total fat, 1 g saturated fat, 150 mg sodium, 22 g carbohydrate, 1 g fiber, 2 g added sugar, and 2 g protein per package. The label alone does not make a general health judgment about the product.
Is Baked Lay's vegan or kosher?
No vegan or kosher certification was found on the SmartLabel or the bag photo. The listed ingredients include no animal-derived ingredient, but this article does not call the product certified vegan or kosher.
To check your own bag, start with the ingredient list and the Nutrition Facts panel, then compare the serving size to the amount you actually eat. Look up the SmartLabel for the exact UPC on your package, since sizes and flavors may differ. Scan the barcode with the Aurascan app to see each ingredient explained with its cited evidence. The app shows verdicts per ingredient as Clean, Mixed, or Flagged rather than a single numeric score. For more label comparisons, see Is SkinnyPop Clean? Three Ingredients, Scanned or Are Stacy's Pita Chips Clean? Every Ingredient, Scanned.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Did Baked Lay's Original switch from corn oil to olive oil?
- The current Frito-Lay SmartLabel for UPC 028400071888 (version 0017, updated 06-Dec-2025) lists olive oil. Older SmartLabel version 0015 lists corn oil. The date the change reached shelves is not disclosed, and it is not disclosed whether all sizes and flavors changed.
- How many calories are in a bag of Baked Lay's Original?
- The current SmartLabel lists 150 calories for one 1 1/8 oz (31.8 g) package.
- Are Baked Lay's Original gluten free?
- The bag prints a Gluten Free claim. FDA says a gluten-free food must contain less than 20 ppm of gluten and calls the claim voluntary. Lot-level testing and shared-equipment practices are not disclosed.
- Do Baked Lay's have acrylamide?
- No current acrylamide measurement for this product is disclosed. FDA's only published figure is a 2002 sample at 1096 ppb, which is historical, predates the current recipe, and comes with FDA's caveats about variation and consumer choice.
- Is Baked Lay's Original healthy?
- Whether it is healthy depends on your overall diet and needs. The label lists 150 calories, 5 g total fat, 150 mg sodium, and 2 g added sugars per package, and the label alone does not make a general health judgment.
- Does FDA say baked chips are free of acrylamide?
- No. FDA says acrylamide can form during frying, roasting, and baking, and it is found mainly in plant-based foods such as potato products. FDA also says people should not stop eating baked foods and recommends a healthy overall eating plan.
- Are Baked Lay's Original vegan or kosher?
- No vegan or kosher certification was found on the SmartLabel or the bag photo. The ingredient list shows no animal-derived ingredient, but the product is not called certified vegan or kosher here.
Sources
- Lay's Baked Original Potato Crisps, PepsiCo SmartLabel (version 0017) (smartlabel.pepsico.info)
- Lay's Baked Original Potato Crisps, PepsiCo SmartLabel (version 0015) (smartlabel.pepsico.info)
- Lay's Baked Original Potato Crisps product page (fritolay.com)
- Open Food Facts product record for UPC 028400071888 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Acrylamide: Questions and Answers (fda.gov)
- Survey Data on Acrylamide in Food (fda.gov)
- Gluten and Food Labeling (fda.gov)
- Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
- 21 CFR 73.30 Annatto extract (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 184.1400 Lecithin (ecfr.gov)
In this series
Guide
Are Stacy's Pita Chips Clean? Every Ingredient, ScannedGuide
Is Frigo String Cheese Clean? Four Ingredients, ScannedGuide
Is the Nature's Bakery Fig Bar Clean? Every Ingredient, ScannedGuide
Is Tillamook Cookie Dough Ice Cream Clean? 25 Ingredients, ScannedGuide
Is SkinnyPop Clean? Three Ingredients, ScannedGuide
Is Häagen-Dazs Chocolate Clean? Five Ingredients, Scanned
Related guides
Comparisons
Which Has More Sugar, Jell-O or Snack Pack? 17 g vs 12 gJell-O lists 17 g added sugar and artificial color per 110 g cup; Snack Pack Chocolate lists 12 g per 92 g cup and no added color.
Comparisons
Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Tortillas: 17 g vs 12 g FiberMission Carb Balance vs Olé Xtreme Wellness: 17 g vs 12 g fiber per tortilla, steviol glycosides vs allulose, and the sulfite in Olé's list.
Comparisons
Does Prego Have Added Sugar? Yes, 4 g vs Ragú's <1 gPrego Traditional lists 4 g added sugar per 1/2 cup; Ragú Old World Style Traditional lists under 1 g. Sodium, oil and ingredient order compared.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy