Aurascan

Comparisons · October 30, 2026 · 8 min read

Which Has More Sugar, Jell-O or Snack Pack? 17 g vs 12 g

Jell-O lists 17 g added sugar and artificial color per 110 g cup; Snack Pack Chocolate lists 12 g per 92 g cup and no added color.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 30, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two pudding cups with a spoon resting beside them

The Jell-O Original Chocolate Ready-to-Eat Pudding Snack Cup lists 17 g added sugar and 190 mg sodium per 110 g snack, while Snack Pack Chocolate Pudding lists 12 g added sugar and 125 mg sodium per 92 g cup. The two labels also differ on oils and on whether a color is named. The label facts below are set side by side, so the weight you give each detail is a personal call.

Key takeaways

  • Per serving, Jell-O Original Chocolate lists 17 g added sugar (33% DV) and 190 mg sodium (8% DV) per 110 g snack. Snack Pack Chocolate lists 12 g added sugar (24% DV) and 125 mg sodium (5% DV) per 92 g cup.
  • Jell-O Original Chocolate lists 'artificial color' without naming the color. Its Vanilla Swirls cup names Yellow 5 and Yellow 6. The Snack Pack Chocolate ingredient list includes no color additive.
  • Jell-O Original Chocolate's ingredient statement reads 'contains less than 1.5%' of hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernel oils). Snack Pack Chocolate lists palm oil.

Which Has More Added Sugar, Jell-O Original Chocolate or Snack Pack Chocolate Pudding?

Jell-O Original Chocolate lists more added sugar per cup: 17 g (33% Daily Value) per 110 g snack, compared with 12 g (24% DV) per 92 g Snack Pack Chocolate cup.

The ingredient statements begin differently. Snack Pack Chocolate lists water, then nonfat milk, then sugar. Jell-O Original Chocolate lists skim milk, then water. Total sugars are 19 g for the Jell-O snack and 13 g for the Snack Pack cup, so added sugar accounts for most of the total on both labels. The cups also differ in weight, so the per-cup figures are not a per-gram comparison. For scale, the FDA sets the Daily Value for added sugars at 50 g per day on a 2,000-calorie diet.

Which has more sugar, Jell-O or Snack Pack pudding?

Jell-O Original Chocolate has more total sugars (19 g) and more added sugar (17 g) per serving than Snack Pack Chocolate (13 g total and 12 g added), with serving sizes of 110 g and 92 g. A related Jell-O Original Chocolate Vanilla Swirls snack lists 16 g added sugar (32% DV) per 110 g serving, so the sugar line varies within the same brand. For background on age-based limits, see How Much Added Sugar Should Kids Have a Day? By Age, in Grams. Age-based limits are not printed on either label.

Does Jell-O Original Chocolate Pudding Have Dyes, and Is the Color Named on the Label?

The Jell-O Original Chocolate cup lists 'artificial color' in its ingredient statement but does not name the specific color. The label does not say which color is used, so that detail is not disclosed on the product listing.

The company's Original Chocolate Vanilla Swirls cup ends its ingredient list with 'ARTIFICIAL COLOR, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, YELLOW 5, YELLOW 6.' Under 21 CFR 101.22(k)(1), a color additive subject to certification must be declared by its listed name, such as Yellow 5, as the eCFR text of section 101.22 shows.

Does Jello pudding have dyes?

The Jell-O Original Chocolate ingredient statement includes 'artificial color' but does not name which color is used. The company's Vanilla Swirls cup in the same line names Yellow 5 and Yellow 6 in its list.

Does Snack Pack Chocolate Pudding Have Artificial Color?

The Snack Pack Chocolate ingredient list does not include a color additive. Its listed ingredients are water, nonfat milk, sugar, modified corn starch, palm oil, cocoa processed with alkali, salt, sodium stearoyl lactylate, and natural and artificial flavors.

Because no color additive is listed, there is no color name on this label to compare with the Jell-O cup. Both cups also list flavors: Jell-O as 'natural and artificial flavor' and Snack Pack as 'natural and artificial flavors.' The Snack Pack Chocolate page describes the cup as gluten-free and Kosher and made with real milk and no high-fructose corn syrup. Those are brand statements, separate from the ingredient list.

Which Pudding Cup Has More Sodium Per Serving?

Jell-O Original Chocolate has more sodium per serving: 190 mg (8% DV) per 110 g snack, compared with 125 mg (5% DV) per 92 g Snack Pack Chocolate cup.

Both ingredient statements name sodium-containing ingredients. The Jell-O list includes salt, sodium alginate, and sodium stearoyl lactylate, and the Snack Pack list includes salt and sodium stearoyl lactylate. The panel reports a single sodium total and does not break that total down by ingredient.

What Oils Are in Jell-O Original Chocolate and Snack Pack Chocolate Pudding?

Jell-O Original Chocolate's ingredient statement reads 'contains less than 1.5%' of hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernel oils). Snack Pack Chocolate lists palm oil, placed before a group of ingredients marked 'less than 2%,' and the exact amount of palm oil is not disclosed.

Both panels list 0 g trans fat. The Jell-O snack shows 1.5 g total fat and 1.5 g saturated fat per 110 g, while the Snack Pack cup shows 2.5 g total fat and 1.5 g saturated fat per 92 g. Whether the hydrogenated oil contains any trans fat beyond the labeled 0 g is not stated in the label facts above.

How Does Jell-O Original Chocolate Compare on Sugar, Sodium, and Fat?

Per serving, Jell-O Original Chocolate carries more added sugar (17 g) and more sodium (190 mg) than Snack Pack Chocolate, and less total fat (1.5 g vs 2.5 g). Those three measures point in different directions, so the cup is higher on two and lower on one.

Its calcium is 160 mg (10% DV) and its protein is 2 g per 110 g snack. A label cannot account for overall eating patterns, health conditions, or medical advice, so the panel numbers are the most specific guide for any individual decision.

What Does Snack Pack Chocolate Show on Sugar, Sodium, Fat, and Brand Claims?

Snack Pack Chocolate has less added sugar (12 g, 24% DV) and less sodium (125 mg, 5% DV) per cup than Jell-O Original Chocolate, but more total fat (2.5 g vs 1.5 g). The brand site and Chocolate SmartLabel do not match on calcium; this article does not rely on either.

The brand claims (gluten-free, Kosher, real milk, no high-fructose corn syrup) describe how the cup is made and sold. They are not a measure of sugar, sodium, or fat content, and they are separate from the panel numbers above.

How Do the Two Puddings Compare on Calories, Fat, and Protein Per Cup?

Per cup, Jell-O Original Chocolate lists 120 calories, 1.5 g total fat, and 2 g protein, while Snack Pack Chocolate lists 100 calories, 2.5 g total fat, and under 1 g protein. Calcium is not compared for Snack Pack because the brand site and SmartLabel do not match. The table below puts the Jell-O Original Chocolate panel and the Snack Pack Chocolate SmartLabel side by side at their listed serving sizes.

NutrientJell-O Original Chocolate (110 g snack)Snack Pack Chocolate (92 g cup)
Calories120100
Total fat1.5 g2.5 g
Saturated fat1.5 g (7% DV)1.5 g (8% DV)
Trans fat0 g0 g
Sodium190 mg (8% DV)125 mg (5% DV)
Total carbohydrate24 g19 g
Dietary fiber1 g1 g
Total sugars19 g13 g
Added sugars17 g (33% DV)12 g (24% DV)
Protein2 gLess than 1 g
Calcium160 mg (10% DV)Not compared (brand site and SmartLabel differ)
Oils listedHydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernel)Palm oil
Color named'Artificial color' (not named)No color additive listed

The two cups are not the same weight, so per-cup numbers reflect different portion sizes.

Which Pudding Cup Label Lines Should You Check First?

Start with the added sugars line, the sodium line, and the ingredient statement, because those are where these two cups differ most.

A practical label checklist for pudding cups:

  • Added sugars in grams and % DV on the Nutrition Facts panel, with the serving size printed on the same panel
  • Sodium in mg and % DV per serving
  • The full ingredient statement, including any color name such as Yellow 5 or Yellow 6
  • Fat sources, such as hydrogenated oil, palm oil, or other named oils
  • Calcium and protein per serving, since these vary between cups

For a related sugar comparison in another category, see Cheerios vs Honey Nut Cheerios: How Much Sugar? 2 g vs 12 g.

Which Label Terms Signal Added Sugar, Dyes, Oils, or Sodium in Pudding Cups?

Look for 'added sugars' on the panel, certified color names such as Yellow 5 in the ingredient list, and fat sources such as hydrogenated or palm oil. Sodium also appears in some ingredient names, but the panel reports only a total.

Terms to scan for:

  • Added sugars or sugar in the ingredient list, which is often listed by weight
  • Color additive names, or general terms such as 'artificial color' that do not name the color
  • Hydrogenated oil, palm oil, or palm kernel oil, along with any trans fat figure on the panel
  • Sodium-containing ingredients, such as salt, sodium alginate, or sodium stearoyl lactylate, alongside the sodium total

If a label names a color, the name can be checked against federal sources. If it does not, the company's customer contact may be the next place to look, because the label itself does not say which color is used.

The evidence in this article covers two product labels and one related Jell-O flavor. It cannot show how any individual body responds to sugar, sodium, or fat in these cups.

Want to see how a single label breaks down ingredient by ingredient? Scan the next pudding cup you pick up with the Aurascan app.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Is Snack Pack or Jell-O pudding better?
The label facts do not establish one cup as better overall. Jell-O Original Chocolate has more added sugar (17 g vs 12 g per cup) and sodium (190 mg vs 125 mg per serving), while Snack Pack Chocolate has more total fat per cup (2.5 g vs 1.5 g).
Is Snack Pack pudding healthy?
The Snack Pack Chocolate cup lists 100 calories, 12 g added sugar (24% DV), and 125 mg sodium (5% DV) per 92 g cup. Whether that fits a particular diet depends on overall intake and individual needs, which a label cannot determine.
Does Jello pudding have dairy?
Yes. Jell-O Original Chocolate lists skim milk as its first ingredient.
Is Jello pudding healthy?
Jell-O Original Chocolate lists 120 calories, 17 g added sugar (33% DV), 190 mg sodium (8% DV), 160 mg calcium (10% DV), and 2 g protein per 110 g snack. Whether that fits a given person's needs is not something a label can settle.
Does Jell-O Original Chocolate pudding have dyes?
Its ingredient statement lists 'artificial color' without naming the color. The company's Vanilla Swirls cup names Yellow 5 and Yellow 6 in its ingredient list.
Does Snack Pack Chocolate pudding have artificial color?
The Snack Pack Chocolate ingredient list does not include a color additive. It lists natural and artificial flavors.

Sources

  1. Jell-O Original Chocolate Ready-to-Eat Pudding Snack Cups (kraftheinz.com)
  2. Jell-O Original Chocolate Vanilla Swirls Ready-to-Eat Pudding Snack Cups (kraftheinz.com)
  3. Snack Pack Pudding, Chocolate SmartLabel (smartlabel.conagra.com)
  4. Snack Pack Chocolate (snackpack.com)
  5. Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  6. 21 CFR 101.22 Foods; declaration of ingredients (ecfr.gov)
  7. Color Additives Questions and Answers for Consumers (fda.gov)
  8. Tracking Food Industry Pledges to Remove Petroleum Based Food Dyes (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy