Aurascan

Comparisons · October 25, 2026 · 8 min read

Is Honest Kids Healthier Than Capri Sun? 0 g vs 8 g Added Sugar

Capri Sun Fruit Punch lists 50 calories, 11 g sugar and 8 g added sugar per 6 fl oz pouch; Honest Kids Super Fruit Punch lists 35, 8 g and 0 g added.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 26, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of a squeezable juice pouch beside a small juice box with straws

Per 6 fl oz, the Honest Kids Organic Super Fruit Punch box lists 35 calories and 0 g added sugar, while the Capri Sun Fruit Punch pouch lists 50 calories and 8 g added sugar.

The two labels differ most on calories, added sugar and sweetener sources: sugar is the second ingredient in Capri Sun Fruit Punch, which also lists monk fruit concentrate, while Honest Kids lists no sugar, only juice concentrates.

Key takeaways

  • Per 6 fl oz, Capri Sun Fruit Punch lists 50 calories, 11 g total sugar and 8 g added sugar (16% DV). Honest Kids Organic Super Fruit Punch lists 35 calories, 8 g total sugar and 0 g added sugar (0% DV).
  • Sugar is the second ingredient in the Capri Sun Fruit Punch listing. The Honest Kids listing names juice concentrates and no added sugar.
  • Capri Sun Fruit Punch also lists monk fruit concentrate, a plant-based high-intensity sweetener; the amount is not disclosed.
  • Neither ingredient list contains a synthetic color such as Red 40.
  • The FDA added-sugar Daily Value is 50 g per day on a 2,000-calorie diet. The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend less than 10% of daily calories from added sugars.

How many calories does each 6 fl oz kids drink list?

The Honest Kids Organic Super Fruit Punch box lists 35 calories per 6 fl oz box, and the Capri Sun Fruit Punch pouch lists 50 calories per 6 fl oz pouch, according to the Honest Kids retailer listing and the Capri Sun retailer listing.

Both labels list 0 g fat and 15 mg sodium per serving. Total carbohydrates differ: Capri Sun lists 12 g and Honest Kids lists 8 g. The Capri Sun figures come from a ten-pack of 6 fl oz pouches. A separate 6.75 fl oz pouch is a different package with different numbers, and it is not covered here.

How much total and added sugar does each 6 fl oz kids drink list?

Capri Sun Fruit Punch lists 11 g total sugar and 8 g added sugar (16% DV) per pouch. Honest Kids Organic Super Fruit Punch lists 8 g total sugar and 0 g added sugar (0% DV) per box.

Total sugar is the full sugar figure on the panel, while added sugar is the portion the label counts separately. Capri Sun shows 3 g more total sugar per serving than Honest Kids. For added sugar, Honest Kids lists 0 g, while Capri Sun lists 8 g.

The FDA Daily Value for added sugars is 50 g per day on a 2,000-calorie diet, so the 8 g in one Capri Sun pouch is 16% of that figure, which matches the listed percentage. The FDA added sugars page explains how the label presents this line.

Is Honest Kids juice healthy?

The listing does not rate Honest Kids as healthy or unhealthy, and this article does not either. Per box, the label lists 35 calories, 8 g total sugar, 0 g added sugar (0% DV), 70% DV vitamin C and 60 mg potassium.

The listing also states 'No added sugar*', 'No artificial sweeteners' and 'No high fructose corn syrup.' The footnote behind the asterisk is not reproduced here. A 0% DV added sugar figure does not mean the box has no sugar, because the label still shows 8 g total sugar.

Does Capri Sun Fruit Punch contain monk fruit?

Yes, the Capri Sun Fruit Punch listing names monk fruit concentrate as an ingredient and says "Capri Sun uses all natural sweeteners, including monk fruit." Sugar is also listed, as the second ingredient.

The verbatim ingredient list reads: "Filtered Water; Sugar; Pear, Grape And Orange Juice Concentrates; Citric Acid; Monk Fruit Concentrate; Apple And Pineapple Juice Concentrates; Natural Flavor; Mushroom Extract (to Protect Quality)." Monk fruit concentrate appears fifth and sugar appears second. The amount of monk fruit is not disclosed.

The FDA sweetener reference lists monk fruit (Siraitia grosvenorii Swingle fruit extract, also known as Luo Han Guo) among the plant and fruit-based high-intensity sweeteners for which it has evaluated GRAS notices and has no questions about the GRAS conclusions. That concerns the regulatory conclusion for the ingredient, not any specific drink.

For how other sweetener systems are compared, see Oikos Triple Zero vs Chobani Zero Sugar: Stevia or Allulose?.

How much juice is in Capri Sun Fruit Punch vs Honest Kids Organic?

Juice percentage is not disclosed for either Honest Kids Organic Super Fruit Punch or Capri Sun Fruit Punch.

The Honest Kids ingredients, verbatim, are: "Filtered Water, Organic Apple Juice From Concentrate, Organic White Grape Juice From Concentrate, Organic Strawberry Juice From Concentrate, Organic Cranberry Juice From Concentrate, Organic Natural Flavors, Vitamin C (Ascorbic Acid), Citric Acid (Provides Tartness)." The listing describes the product as 'Juice drink from concentrate' and carries a 'USDA Organic' claim.

The Capri Sun Fruit Punch ingredients list juice concentrates from pear, grape, orange, apple and pineapple after sugar, with monk fruit concentrate listed separately. The listing describes the product as a 'Fruit punch flavored juice drink blend.'

Is Capri Sun 100 juice?

No, the listing does not describe Capri Sun Fruit Punch as 100% juice. It calls the product a 'Fruit punch flavored juice drink blend,' and its ingredient list also includes sugar and monk fruit concentrate alongside the juice concentrates.

Is Honest Kids 100 juice?

The listing does not state 100% juice for Honest Kids Organic Super Fruit Punch. It calls the product a 'Juice drink from concentrate,' and its ingredients are filtered water, four organic juice concentrates, organic natural flavors, vitamin C and citric acid.

Do Capri Sun Fruit Punch or Honest Kids Organic contain synthetic dyes?

Neither ingredient list contains a synthetic color such as Red 40. The Capri Sun listing states 'No artificial colors, flavors or preservatives,' and the Honest Kids ingredient list names only juice concentrates, organic natural flavors, vitamin C and citric acid.

Does Capri Sun have Red 40?

No Red 40 appears in the Capri Sun Fruit Punch ingredient list, and the listing states it has no artificial colors. Packaging can differ from online listings, so shoppers can confirm this on the package.

What do added-sugar guidelines mean for a 6 fl oz kids drink?

One Capri Sun Fruit Punch pouch provides 8 g added sugar, which the label puts at 16% DV, while the Honest Kids box lists 0 g added sugar (0% DV).

The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend limiting added sugars to less than 10% of daily calories. The FDA identifies sugar-sweetened beverages, baked goods, desserts and sweets as major sources of added sugars for most Americans.

The Daily Value of 50 g is written for a 2,000-calorie diet and is not a children's limit. This article does not give age-based limits for children, and pediatric juice guidance is outside its scope. A pediatrician or other clinician can address a specific child's needs.

At-a-glance table: Capri Sun pouch vs Honest Kids box per 6 fl oz

Per 6 fl oz serving, the two labels differ most on added sugar, sweetener sources and total sugar.

Label detail (per serving)Capri Sun Fruit Punch pouchHonest Kids Organic Super Fruit Punch box
Serving1 pouch (6 fl oz)1 drink box (6 fl oz)
Calories5035
Total fat0 g0 g
Sodium15 mg15 mg
Total carbohydrates12 g8 g
Total sugar11 g8 g
Added sugar8 g (16% DV)0 g (0% DV)
Protein0 gNot disclosed
Vitamin CNot disclosed70% DV
PotassiumNot disclosed60 mg
Sugar in ingredient listYes, second ingredientNo
Monk fruit in ingredient listYes (fifth ingredient), amount not disclosedNot listed
Juice percentageNot disclosedNot disclosed
Synthetic colors in ingredient listNone listedNone listed

Which label details are not disclosed, and how should shoppers check?

The juice percentage for either drink is not disclosed, and the amount of monk fruit in Capri Sun is not disclosed. The Honest Kids box is listed as '6 oz boxes,' and no further fluid ounce detail is given.

A quick label check for either product:

  • Confirm the serving size and calories on the package's Nutrition Facts panel.
  • Compare the total sugar and added sugar lines separately.
  • Check whether sugar appears in the ingredient list, and where monk fruit or other sweeteners appear.
  • Look for a juice percentage on the package, since the listings here do not provide one.
  • Scan the ingredient list for color names.
  • Note that a 6.75 fl oz pouch is a different package with different numbers.

Price, brand ownership and market position are not covered, and this article does not address other Capri Sun or Honest Kids flavors. The evidence here cannot establish how any individual child or adult responds to these drinks, and it does not address specific medical conditions. For the same added-sugar check on a breakfast cereal, see Cheerios vs Honey Nut Cheerios: How Much Sugar?.

You can scan either product's label yourself with the Aurascan food label scanner.

For how those grams compare with daily limits by age, see How Much Added Sugar Should Kids Have a Day? By Age, in Grams.

Related reading: for lunchbox milk, see Does fairlife Chocolate Milk Have Sucralose? fairlife vs Horizon.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Is Capri Sun healthy?
The label facts alone do not settle whether Capri Sun is healthy, and this article does not rate it. Per 6 fl oz pouch, the Capri Sun Fruit Punch listing shows 50 calories, 11 g total sugar and 8 g added sugar (16% DV).
Is Capri Sun bad for you?
This article does not judge whether Capri Sun is bad for you, and the evidence does not address specific health conditions. The listed added sugar is 8 g per pouch, which is 16% of the FDA Daily Value of 50 g per day on a 2,000-calorie diet.
Does Capri Sun Fruit Punch contain monk fruit?
Yes, the Capri Sun Fruit Punch ingredient list names monk fruit concentrate, listed fifth after filtered water, sugar, juice concentrates and citric acid. The amount of monk fruit is not disclosed.
Is Capri Sun 100 juice?
No, the listing does not describe Capri Sun Fruit Punch as 100% juice. It calls the product a 'Fruit punch flavored juice drink blend,' and its juice percentage is not disclosed.
Does Capri Sun have Red 40?
No Red 40 appears in the Capri Sun Fruit Punch ingredient list, and the listing states it has no artificial colors.
Is Honest Kids juice healthy?
The listing does not rate Honest Kids Organic Super Fruit Punch as healthy or unhealthy. Per 6 fl oz box, it lists 35 calories, 8 g total sugar and 0 g added sugar (0% DV).
Is Honest Kids 100 juice?
The listing does not state 100% juice for Honest Kids Organic Super Fruit Punch. It calls the product a 'Juice drink from concentrate,' and its ingredients are filtered water, four organic juice concentrates, organic natural flavors, vitamin C and citric acid.

Sources

  1. Capri Sun All Natural Fruit Punch Juice Drink Pouches, 10 pk, 6 oz pouches (giantfoodstores.com)
  2. Honest Kids Organic Super Fruit Punch Juice Drink Boxes, 8 pk, 6 oz boxes (stopandshop.com)
  3. Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  4. Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy