Aurascan

Comparisons · October 28, 2026 · 7 min read

Do Stauffer's Animal Crackers Have HFCS? Barnum's Don't

Stauffer's Original Animal Crackers list high fructose corn syrup; Barnum's list sugar, dextrose and fructose. Both carry 7g added sugars per serving.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 28, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two heaps of animal-shaped crackers beside a glass of milk

Do Stauffer's animal crackers have high fructose corn syrup? Yes: Stauffer's Original Animal Crackers list HFCS as the fourth ingredient, while Barnum's Animals Crackers from Nabisco list sugar, dextrose and fructose and no HFCS. Both list 120 calories and 7 g of added sugars per serving, and they differ on serving size, calcium, sodium and advisory allergen statements. Label figures here come from the label photos on Open Food Facts for Barnum's and Stauffer's, so the package in hand is the final reference.

Key takeaways

  • Barnum's label lists no HFCS. Its sweeteners are sugar, dextrose, and fructose. Stauffer's lists HFCS as the fourth ingredient.
  • Both list 120 calories and 7 g added sugars (14% DV) per serving. Serving sizes differ: 28 g (1 pack) for Barnum's and 30 g (16 crackers) for Stauffer's.
  • Barnum's shows 130 mg calcium (10% DV) from calcium carbonate. Stauffer's calcium value was not legible on the label photo.
  • Sodium is 85 mg (4% DV) for Barnum's and 105 mg (5% DV) for Stauffer's per serving.
  • Both contain wheat and soy. Stauffer's carries a 'may contain egg, milk' advisory, while the Barnum's label photo shows only 'Contains: wheat, soy.'

At a glance, per serving as printed on each label

Per servingBarnum's Animals Crackers (Nabisco)Stauffer's Original Animal Crackers
Serving size1 pack (28 g), 10 servings per container16 crackers (30 g)
Calories120120
HFCS in ingredientsNot listedListed as 4th ingredient
Added sugars7 g (14% DV)7 g (14% DV)
Sodium85 mg (4% DV)105 mg (5% DV)
Calcium130 mg (10% DV), from calcium carbonateNot legible on label photo
Total fat3.5 g (4% DV)2 g (3% DV)
Dietary fiber0 g1 g (4% DV)
ContainsWheat, soySoy, wheat
May containNot shown on label photoEgg, milk

Which Animal Cracker Has High Fructose Corn Syrup: Barnum's or Stauffer's?

Stauffer's Original Animal Crackers list high fructose corn syrup in their ingredients, while Barnum's Animals Crackers do not. Barnum's lists sugar, dextrose, and fructose as its sweeteners.

Stauffer's ingredients run: enriched flour, sugar, soybean oil, high fructose corn syrup, salt, baking soda, soy lecithin, natural flavor, and spice. US labels list ingredients in descending order by weight, so HFCS sits fourth. Neither label gives gram amounts for any sweetener.

Do Stauffer's Animal Crackers Have High Fructose Corn Syrup?

Yes. Both Stauffer's Original Animal Crackers entries on Open Food Facts list high fructose corn syrup in the ingredient statement, fourth after enriched flour, sugar and soybean oil. For a related HFCS label comparison, see Does Mrs. Butterworth's Have HFCS? Yes; Log Cabin Uses Corn Syrup.

How Much Added Sugar Is in Barnum's vs Stauffer's Animal Crackers Per Serving?

Each serving of both products lists 7 g of added sugars, which is 14% of the Daily Value. Barnum's serving is one 28 g pack, and Stauffer's serving is 16 crackers, or 30 g.

FDA counts sugars added during processing, such as sucrose or dextrose, and sugars from syrups. The Daily Value for added sugars is 50 grams per day, and FDA's added sugars guide uses 7 g as its own example of 14% of that value, the same figure printed on both labels.

Do Animal Crackers Have a Lot of Sugar?

Per serving, both labels show 7 g of added sugars, or 14% of the 50 g Daily Value. Whether that counts as a lot depends on how many servings are eaten and what else is eaten that day. The Dietary Guidelines, as cited by FDA, recommend that everyone limit all added sugars, including HFCS and sucrose. For age-based amounts, see How Much Added Sugar Should Kids Have a Day? By Age, in Grams.

How Much Calcium Is in Barnum's vs Stauffer's Animal Crackers Per Serving?

Barnum's lists 130 mg of calcium per serving, which is 10% of the Daily Value, from added calcium carbonate. Stauffer's calcium amount was not legible on the label photo.

Barnum's also lists 0.8 mg iron (4% DV), 20 mg potassium (0% DV), and 0 mcg vitamin D. Stauffer's iron and potassium values were too small to read, so they were not disclosed. A label value shows the amount per serving, not how much a person absorbs.

How Much Sodium Is in Barnum's vs Stauffer's Animal Crackers Per Serving?

Stauffer's lists 105 mg of sodium per 30 g serving (5% DV), and Barnum's lists 85 mg per 28 g serving (4% DV). That is a 20 mg gap per listed serving.

Which Allergens Are Listed on Barnum's vs Stauffer's Animal Crackers Labels?

Both labels name wheat and soy in their Contains statements. Stauffer's also carries a 'may contain egg, milk' advisory, and the Barnum's label photo shows no advisory.

FDA's nine major allergens are milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans, and sesame. FDA states that advisory statements such as 'may contain' are not required by law and address unavoidable cross-contact.

Are Barnum's Animal Crackers Dairy Free?

The Barnum's label does not list milk as an ingredient, but it does not state that the product is dairy free. Whether it is made on lines shared with milk products was not disclosed.

Are Stauffer's Animal Crackers Nut Free?

The Stauffer's labels provided do not list tree nuts or peanuts, and the advisory names only egg and milk. Neither label carries a nut-free claim, and nut handling at the plant was not disclosed.

Do Animal Crackers Have Eggs?

Neither label lists eggs as an ingredient. Stauffer's 'may contain egg' advisory signals possible cross-contact, and the Barnum's label photo shows no egg statement. Barnum's label also says 'CONTAINS A BIOENGINEERED FOOD INGREDIENT,' which the Stauffer's entries do not show.

Do Barnum's and Stauffer's Animal Crackers Differ in Serving Size and Calories?

Both list 120 calories, but Barnum's serving is one 28 g pack and Stauffer's is 16 crackers at 30 g. The same calorie figure therefore covers slightly different weights.

  • Barnum's: 3.5 g total fat (4% DV), 0.5 g saturated fat (3% DV), 22 g carbohydrate (8% DV), 0 g fiber, 2 g protein.
  • Stauffer's: 2 g total fat (3% DV), 0 g saturated fat, 24 g carbohydrate (9% DV), 1 g fiber (4% DV), 2 g protein.
  • Another Stauffer's entry lists 25 g carbohydrate, so carbohydrate figures vary across listings.

What Does FDA Say About HFCS in Stauffer's Animal Crackers?

FDA says it is not aware of evidence of a safety difference between foods containing HFCS 42 or HFCS 55 and foods containing similar amounts of other nutritive sweeteners with about equal glucose and fructose content, such as sucrose or honey. FDA's HFCS questions and answers note that the most common forms contain either 42 or 55 percent fructose, with the rest glucose and water, and that the Dietary Guidelines recommend limiting all added sugars, HFCS and sucrose included.

How Can You Check the Sweeteners on Your Own Animal Cracker Package?

The ingredient list on the package is the final reference, because label versions change and online photos may not match the box on the shelf.

  • Read the ingredient list on the physical package and find each sweetener name.
  • Confirm the serving size line, since 16 crackers and 1 pack use different weights.
  • Compare the Contains and May contain lines with your own allergy needs.
  • Treat online figures, including this article's, as secondary to the printed Nutrition Facts panel.

Who Should Pay Closest Attention to These Label Differences?

People with wheat, soy, egg, or milk allergies, and people tracking sodium or added sugar, may find these label details most relevant. Advisory statements are voluntary and do not confirm whether an allergen is present, and a clinician or allergist can advise on reading labels for a specific allergy.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Are Stauffer's animal crackers healthy?
The label facts do not establish whether either product is healthy for a given person. Each Stauffer's 30 g serving lists 120 calories, 7 g added sugars (14% DV), 105 mg sodium (5% DV), and 2 g protein, and Barnum's 28 g serving lists the same calories and added sugar with 85 mg sodium.
Are Barnum's animal crackers dairy free?
The Barnum's label does not list milk as an ingredient, but it does not state the product is dairy free. Whether it is made on lines shared with milk products was not disclosed.
Are Stauffer's animal crackers nut free?
The Stauffer's labels provided do not list tree nuts or peanuts, but they carry no nut-free claim. Nut handling at the plant was not disclosed.
Do animal crackers have a lot of sugar?
Per serving, both labeled products list 7 g of added sugars, which is 14% of the 50 g Daily Value. Whether that is a lot depends on serving size and total daily intake.
Do animal crackers have eggs?
Neither label lists eggs as an ingredient. Stauffer's carries a 'may contain egg, milk' advisory, and the Barnum's label photo shows no egg statement.
Does Stauffer's Original Animal Crackers have high fructose corn syrup?
Yes. Stauffer's Original Animal Crackers list high fructose corn syrup as the fourth ingredient, after enriched flour, sugar and soybean oil. Barnum's lists sugar, dextrose and fructose instead.

Sources

  1. Nabisco Barnum's Animals Crackers label data (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  2. Stauffer's Original Animal Crackers, 24 oz label data (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  3. High Fructose Corn Syrup: Questions and Answers (fda.gov)
  4. Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  5. Food Allergies (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy