Aurascan

Comparisons · October 26, 2026 · 7 min read

Does fairlife Chocolate Milk Have Sucralose? Horizon Doesn't

fairlife Chocolate lists sucralose and acesulfame potassium with 6g added sugar per cup; Horizon's organic box uses cane sugar, 10g added. Labels compared.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 26, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of Two gabled milk cartons beside a tall glass and cocoa beans

Yes, fairlife Chocolate 2% Ultra-Filtered Milk contains sucralose, and the Horizon chocolate box does not. fairlife's product page lists 6g of added sugars per 1 cup (12% DV), 13g of protein, and 380mg of calcium, and its ingredients include sucralose, acesulfame potassium, and carrageenan. Horizon Organic Lowfat (1%) Chocolate Milk Box lists 10g of added sugars per 8 oz container (20% DV), 8g of protein, and 290mg of calcium, with organic cane sugar and gellan gum in its ingredients. This side-by-side comparison sets the label facts for each product next to each other so you can weigh them against your own priorities. Label values can change, so confirm them on the package you buy.

Key takeaways

  • fairlife Chocolate 2% lists 6g added sugars per cup (12% DV), while the 8 oz Horizon box lists 10g (20% DV), which is the level FDA calls high.
  • fairlife provides 13g protein and 380mg calcium per cup; Horizon provides 8g protein and 290mg calcium per 8 oz container.
  • fairlife's ingredients include acesulfame potassium, sucralose, and carrageenan; Horizon's list includes organic cane sugar and gellan gum and no high-intensity sweeteners.

fairlife vs Horizon Chocolate Milk: Which Has More Sugar?

Horizon has more added sugar: one 8 oz box lists 10g added sugars, compared with 6g added sugars in one 1 cup (240 ml) serving of fairlife Chocolate 2%.

The total sugar figures follow the same pattern. fairlife lists 12g total sugars per cup, while the Horizon box lists 22g. FDA's added sugars line excludes sugars that occur naturally in milk, so the added figure is the one to compare when you are looking at sweetening rather than the milk itself. The Daily Value for added sugars is 50g per day, which puts fairlife at 12% DV and the Horizon box at 20% DV.

Serving sizes differ slightly, since fairlife's serving is 1 cup (240 ml) and Horizon's is one 8 oz container. fairlife's own product page compares its chocolate milk with 'regular chocolate milk,' listing 12g sugar for fairlife and 24g for the regular product. That comparison is the manufacturer's and does not include Horizon.

Does fairlife Chocolate Milk Have Artificial Sweeteners?

Yes, fairlife Chocolate 2% lists two non-nutritive sweeteners in its ingredients: sucralose and acesulfame potassium. FDA states that both are approved as food sweeteners.

FDA describes sucralose as about 600 times sweeter than table sugar and acesulfame potassium as about 200 times sweeter. On labels, acesulfame potassium may appear as acesulfame K, acesulfame potassium, or Ace-K, so shoppers scanning an ingredient list should look for all three names. The fairlife list also includes 'Natural And Artificial Flavors,' which is a separate item from the two sweeteners.

The grams of sucralose or acesulfame potassium per cup were not disclosed in the product information cited here, so the amount in each serving cannot be stated. The Horizon Chocolate box ingredients do not list sucralose or acesulfame potassium, and its sweetener is organic cane sugar.

Is Horizon Chocolate Milk Healthy for Kids?

One 8 oz Horizon Organic Lowfat (1%) Chocolate Milk Box lists 10g of added sugars (20% DV) and 8g of protein, and the brand's product page calls the boxes 'lunchbox superstars.' The label alone does not establish whether it is a suitable choice for any particular child.

FDA considers 20% DV or more per serving to be high, so the Horizon box sits at that threshold for added sugars. For more on daily limits by age, see How Much Added Sugar Should Kids Have a Day? By Age, in Grams.

Other label values for one container include 150 calories, 2.5g total fat, 180mg sodium, and 290mg calcium. The box contains milk, is Certified USDA Organic, and is shelf-stable.

Is Horizon organic chocolate milk good for kids?

The organic certification does not change the added sugar figure, which is 10g per 8 oz container (20% DV). Organic status describes how ingredients are produced and does not indicate a sugar level, so the Nutrition Facts panel is the place to check that.

Is fairlife Chocolate Milk Good for Kids?

fairlife Chocolate 2% lists 6g added sugars per 1 cup (12% DV) and 13g protein (26% DV), which are the figures to set against the Horizon box when comparing options for children. The label does not make a child-specific recommendation.

Per cup, the label also shows 140 calories, 4.5g total fat, 3g saturated fat, and 280mg sodium. The fairlife product page describes the milk as lactose free.

Is fairlife chocolate milk bad for you?

The label does not make that determination. One cup lists 140 calories, 6g added sugars, 13g protein, and two non-nutritive sweeteners, and the amount of each sweetener was not disclosed.

How Much Protein and Calcium Is in Each Chocolate Milk?

fairlife Chocolate 2% provides 13g protein (26% DV) and 380mg calcium (30% DV) per 1 cup, while the Horizon box provides 8g protein (16% DV) and 290mg calcium (20% DV) per 8 oz container. For comparison, the fairlife page lists 8g protein for regular chocolate milk.

  • Protein: fairlife 13g (26% DV); Horizon 8g (16% DV)
  • Calcium: fairlife 380mg (30% DV); Horizon 290mg (20% DV)
  • Vitamin D: fairlife 5mcg (25% DV); Horizon 2.5mcg (15% DV)
  • Potassium: fairlife 550mg (10% DV); Horizon 450mg (10% DV)
  • Iron: fairlife 1mg (6% DV); Horizon 0.6mg (4% DV)

Horizon's label also lists vitamin A (150mcg, 15% DV) and riboflavin (0.4mg, 30% DV). For fairlife, vitamin A appears in the ingredients, but a per-serving amount was not disclosed in the information cited here. These are label values that can differ by package, so check the Nutrition Facts panel you have.

What Is Gellan Gum in Horizon Chocolate Milk Used For?

Gellan gum is listed in the Horizon Chocolate box ingredients, but the label and product page cited here do not state what it does in this milk, so its purpose in the product was not disclosed. The full Horizon ingredient list reads: Grade A Lowfat Organic Milk, Organic Cane Sugar, Organic Cocoa (Processed with Alkali), Organic Cocoa, Gellan Gum, Organic Natural Flavor, Salt, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D3.

U.S. labels list ingredients in descending order by weight, so gellan gum's position in the Horizon list shows its relative amount compared with the other ingredients. Gellan gum does not appear in the fairlife list.

How Do the Sweeteners in fairlife Compare to Horizon's Sugar?

fairlife uses sucralose and acesulfame potassium alongside 6g added sugars per cup, while Horizon uses 10g of added organic cane sugar per 8 oz box. The two approaches deliver sweetness differently, and the label does not show how much of each sweetener fairlife contains.

Because sucralose and acesulfame potassium are far sweeter than sugar, small amounts can provide sweetness. FDA describes sucralose as about 600 times sweeter than table sugar and acesulfame potassium as about 200 times sweeter. This potency is one reason a sweetener can appear in small quantities on an ingredient list. For a comparison of other sweetener types, see Oikos Triple Zero vs Chobani Zero Sugar: Stevia or Allulose?, and for two products with sucralose labels, see Barebells vs Ryse Loaded Protein: Two Sucralose Labels Compared.

At-a-Glance Label Comparison: fairlife vs Horizon Chocolate Milk

The table compares per-serving label values, with fairlife per 1 cup (240 ml) and Horizon per 8 oz container.

Nutrientfairlife Chocolate 2% (1 cup, 240 ml)Horizon Organic Lowfat Chocolate Milk Box (8 oz)
Calories140150
Total fat4.5g (6% DV)2.5g (3% DV)
Saturated fat3g (15% DV)1.5g (8% DV)
Cholesterol20mg (7% DV)15mg (5% DV)
Sodium280mg (12% DV)180mg (8% DV)
Total carbohydrate13g (5% DV)23g (8% DV)
Dietary fiber1g (4% DV)0g
Total sugars12g22g
Added sugars6g (12% DV)10g (20% DV)
Protein13g (26% DV)8g (16% DV)
Vitamin D5mcg (25% DV)2.5mcg (15% DV)
Calcium380mg (30% DV)290mg (20% DV)
Iron1mg (6% DV)0.6mg (4% DV)
Potassium550mg (10% DV)450mg (10% DV)
Vitamin AListed in ingredients, amount not disclosed150mcg (15% DV)
RiboflavinNot listed0.4mg (30% DV)
Sweeteners listedSucralose, acesulfame potassiumNone (sweetened with organic cane sugar)
CarrageenanListedNot listed
Gellan gumNot listedListed

Serving sizes differ slightly, so compare the Daily Value percentages as well as the gram amounts. Label values can change, and the amount of sucralose and acesulfame potassium in fairlife was not disclosed, so check the Nutrition Facts panel on the package you buy.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Is Horizon chocolate milk healthy for kids?
The label does not make a health judgment, but one 8 oz Horizon box lists 10g added sugars (20% DV), which FDA considers high, along with 8g protein and 290mg calcium. How the box fits into a child's overall intake is a question the label cannot answer.
Is Horizon organic chocolate milk good for kids?
The organic certification does not change the label's added sugar figure of 10g per 8 oz container (20% DV). The box also lists 8g protein and 290mg calcium, and the label makes no claim about children's health. Read the Nutrition Facts panel and ingredient list on the package you buy.
Is fairlife chocolate milk bad for you?
The label does not make that determination. One 1 cup serving lists 140 calories, 6g added sugars (12% DV), 13g protein, and two non-nutritive sweeteners, sucralose and acesulfame potassium, though the amount of each was not disclosed.
Is chocolate milk good for kids?
Whether chocolate milk fits a child's diet depends on the specific product and the rest of the child's intake, which label facts alone cannot settle. For comparison, an 8 oz Horizon chocolate box lists 10g added sugars (20% DV) and a cup of fairlife Chocolate 2% lists 6g (12% DV).
Does fairlife chocolate milk have artificial sweeteners?
Yes, the fairlife Chocolate 2% ingredient list includes sucralose and acesulfame potassium, both of which FDA says are approved as food sweeteners. The amount of each per 1 cup serving was not disclosed.
Which has more sugar, fairlife or Horizon chocolate milk?
Horizon has more added sugar, at 10g per 8 oz box (20% DV), compared with 6g per 1 cup of fairlife Chocolate 2% (12% DV). Total sugars are 22g for the Horizon box and 12g for the fairlife cup.

Sources

  1. fairlife Chocolate Ultra-Filtered Milk (fairlife.com)
  2. Horizon Organic Shelf-Stable Chocolate 1% Milk (horizon.com)
  3. Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)
  4. Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  5. How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy