Comparisons · October 25, 2026 · Updated October 27, 2026 · 7 min read
Does Sweet Baby Ray's Have HFCS? Yes, and So Does Kraft
Sweet Baby Ray's and Kraft Original BBQ sauce both list high fructose corn syrup first. Compare added sugar, sodium and preservatives per 2 Tbsp.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 27, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

TL;DR: Yes, Sweet Baby Ray's Original has high fructose corn syrup, and so does Kraft Original: both list it first. Sweet Baby Ray's lists more added sugar (16 g vs 12 g per 2 tbsp); Kraft lists more sodium (350 mg vs 290 mg).
Key takeaways
- Both sauces list high fructose corn syrup first on their ingredient lists.
- Sweet Baby Ray's lists 16 g added sugar per 2 tbsp, compared with 12 g for Kraft.
- Kraft lists 350 mg sodium per 2 tbsp, compared with 290 mg for Sweet Baby Ray's, a 60 mg difference.
- The preservatives differ: sodium benzoate in Sweet Baby Ray's and potassium sorbate in Kraft.
Sweet Baby Ray's vs Kraft at a Glance: Per 2 Tbsp Label Table
The table shows the figures printed on the Sweet Baby Ray's Original product page and the Kraft Original Slow-Simmered product page for a 2 tablespoon (36 g) serving.
| Per 2 Tbsp (36 g) | Sweet Baby Ray's Original | Kraft Original Slow-Simmered |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 70 | 60 |
| Total fat | 0 g | 0 g |
| Sodium | 290 mg (13% DV) | 350 mg (15% DV) |
| Total carbohydrate | 18 g (7% DV) | 14 g (5% DV) |
| Total sugars | 17 g | 12 g |
| Added sugars | 16 g (32% DV) | 12 g (23% DV) |
| Fiber | 0 g | 0 g |
| Protein | 0 g | 0 g |
| First ingredient | High fructose corn syrup | High fructose corn syrup |
| Preservative listed | Sodium benzoate | Potassium sorbate |
| Servings per container | About 14 | Not disclosed |
| Allergen information | Gluten free and kosher flagged; egg, milk, sesame, soy and wheat flags false | 'Allergen Info Not Available' |
Sweet Baby Ray's lists about 14 servings per container. Servings per container for Kraft's 18, 28, 40 and 82.5 oz sizes is not disclosed on the brand page.
Which Sauce Has More Added Sugar, and How Much Is It?
Sweet Baby Ray's lists 16 g added sugar per 2 tablespoons (36 g), which is 32% of the Daily Value, while Kraft lists 12 g, or 23% of the Daily Value. That is a 4 g difference. Sweet Baby Ray's lists 70 calories versus Kraft's 60 per 2 tbsp.
Total sugars are 17 g for Sweet Baby Ray's and 12 g for Kraft. The Nutrition Facts panel shows added sugars on their own line, and FDA's Daily Value for added sugars is 50 g per day on a 2,000-calorie diet. FDA supports limiting all added sugars, and its added sugars label page covers how they appear on the label.
The labels do not show how the added sugar divides among sweeteners. Sweet Baby Ray's lists high fructose corn syrup, molasses, corn syrup, sugar and pineapple juice concentrate among its ingredients. Kraft's ingredient list names high fructose corn syrup and molasses as its sweeteners. Grams of high fructose corn syrup compared with other sugars in each sauce were not disclosed.
Readers who compare sugar sources on other labels may find 6 Scanned Labels That List Sugar More Than One Way useful. For another condiment comparison in this format, see Heinz vs Hunt's Ketchup: 4 g vs 3 g Added Sugar.
Sodium: Kraft's 350 mg Versus Sweet Baby Ray's 290 mg
Kraft lists 350 mg sodium per 2 tablespoons (36 g), or 15% DV, while Sweet Baby Ray's lists 290 mg, or 13% DV, a 60 mg difference. These are the exact figures printed on each brand page.
The ingredient wording offers some context without quantities. Kraft names SALT as an ingredient in its list. Sweet Baby Ray's label text reads 'Contains Less Than 2% Of Salt.' Neither label breaks sodium down by ingredient, and salt quantities were not disclosed.
FDA's Sodium in Your Diet page classifies 20% DV or more of sodium per serving as high and 5% DV or less as low. The Daily Value is based on less than 2,300 mg per day, so the percentage on each label applies to a full day's intake.
High Fructose Corn Syrup: Both Sauces List It First, So What Does FDA Say?
Both labels list high fructose corn syrup first in the ingredient list. The brand pages do not state which type of high fructose corn syrup either brand uses.
Does Kraft BBQ sauce have high fructose corn syrup?
Yes. The Kraft Original Slow-Simmered page lists HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP as its first ingredient. Sweet Baby Ray's lists high fructose corn syrup first as well.
FDA describes the most common forms of high fructose corn syrup as containing 42 or 55 percent fructose under 21 CFR 184.1866, with the rest glucose and water. FDA says it is 'not aware of any evidence' of a difference in safety between foods containing HFCS 42 or HFCS 55 and foods with similar amounts of other nutritive sweeteners such as sucrose or honey. The agency also supports limiting all added sugars, not only high fructose corn syrup.
Whether either brand uses HFCS 42 or HFCS 55 is not disclosed on these pages.
What Preservative Does Each Sauce Use: Sodium Benzoate vs Potassium Sorbate?
Sweet Baby Ray's lists sodium benzoate as its preservative, while Kraft lists potassium sorbate, which its label describes as 'to preserve freshness.' The amount of either preservative in each sauce is not disclosed.
On both labels the preservative sits in the part of the ingredient list each brand marks as less than 2% of the sauce.
Is High Fructose Corn Syrup Safe?
FDA's high fructose corn syrup questions and answers page describes HFCS 42 and HFCS 55 by reference to 21 CFR 184.1866. FDA's position is that it is not aware of evidence of a safety difference between HFCS and similar amounts of sucrose or honey, while still supporting limits on all added sugars.
Why Do the Ingredient Lists Differ Between Kraft Bottles and Brand Pages?
An Open Food Facts entry for Kraft Original BBQ 18 oz (UPC 0021000052288) shows a different ingredient list, including maltodextrin, paprika extract and stevia leaf extract. That entry reports the same 60 calories, 350 mg sodium and 12 g added sugar per 2 tablespoons (36 g) as the brand page. The reason for the difference in ingredient lists was not disclosed. Readers' bottles may differ from the brand page, so the label on the bottle in hand is the most direct check (Open Food Facts entry).
Is Sweet Baby Ray's gluten free?
The Sweet Baby Ray's brand page flags the sauce as gluten free and kosher, and its allergen flags for eggs, milk, sesame, soy and wheat are all false. Kraft's allergen field reads 'Allergen Info Not Available,' so its gluten-free status is not disclosed.
How to Spot HFCS, Added Sugar, Sodium, and Preservatives on These Labels
Start with the first ingredient, since both brand pages list high fructose corn syrup first and your bottle may be formulated differently. A practical checklist for these labels includes:
- Scan the full ingredient list for other sweeteners, such as corn syrup, sugar, molasses or fruit juice concentrates.
- Read the Added Sugars line in grams and as a percent Daily Value. On these brand pages, 16 g equals 32% DV for Sweet Baby Ray's and 12 g equals 23% DV for Kraft.
- Compare sodium in milligrams per serving, using FDA's markers of 5% DV or less for low and 20% DV or more for high.
- Find the preservative name, such as Sodium Benzoate (Preservative) or Potassium Sorbate (To Preserve Freshness).
- Confirm the serving size before comparing, because all figures in this article are per 2 tablespoons (36 g).
- Check the allergen or gluten statement printed on the bottle, since online product pages may differ.
Label rules can change, so the figures on a bottle you buy are the most current information about that product. The label facts above are a starting point rather than a complete picture. You can scan your own bottle with the Aurascan app, which explains each ingredient one by one with cited evidence instead of giving a single score.
This article is not medical advice; ingredient evidence has limitations and individual tolerance varies.
Related reading: for the cookout side dish, see What's in Bush's vs B&M Baked Beans?.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Sweet Baby Ray's Original BBQ sauce have high fructose corn syrup?
- Yes. Sweet Baby Ray's Original lists high fructose corn syrup as its first ingredient on the brand page. The percentage of the sauce it makes up, and the type used, are not disclosed.
- Does Kraft Original Slow-Simmered BBQ sauce have high fructose corn syrup?
- Yes. The Kraft Original Slow-Simmered Barbecue Sauce brand page lists high fructose corn syrup as its first ingredient. The brand page does not state whether it is HFCS 42 or HFCS 55.
- Which BBQ sauce has more added sugar, Sweet Baby Ray's or Kraft?
- Per 2 tablespoons (36 g), Sweet Baby Ray's lists 16 g added sugar (32% DV) and Kraft lists 12 g added sugar (23% DV). The difference is 4 g per serving on the brand pages.
- Which has more sodium, Sweet Baby Ray's or Kraft Original BBQ sauce?
- Kraft lists 350 mg sodium per 2 tablespoons (15% DV), compared with 290 mg (13% DV) for Sweet Baby Ray's. The difference is 60 mg per serving.
- Is Sweet Baby Ray's Original gluten free?
- The Sweet Baby Ray's brand page flags the sauce as gluten free and kosher. Kraft's allergen field reads 'Allergen Info Not Available,' so its gluten-free status is not disclosed.
- Why do Kraft BBQ sauce ingredient lists differ online?
- An Open Food Facts entry for Kraft Original BBQ 18 oz lists different ingredients, including maltodextrin, paprika extract and stevia leaf extract, but the same nutrition figures per 2 tablespoons. The reason for the difference is not disclosed, so the bottle label is the best check.
Sources
- Sweet Baby Ray's Original Barbecue Sauce (sweetbabyrays.com)
- Kraft Original Barbecue Sauce (kraftheinz.com)
- Kraft Original BBQ 18 oz (UPC 0021000052288) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- High Fructose Corn Syrup: Questions and Answers (fda.gov)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Oikos Triple Zero vs Chobani Zero Sugar: Stevia or Allulose?Guide
Heinz vs Hunt's Ketchup: 4 g vs 3 g Added SugarGuide
Cheerios vs Honey Nut Cheerios: How Much Sugar? 2 g vs 12 gGuide
Barebells vs Ryse Loaded Protein: Two Sucralose Labels ComparedGuide
Cyclamate Worsened Colitis in Mice, New Study ReportsGuide
Acesulfame K at High Doses Disrupts Zebrafish Larvae
Related guides
Comparisons
Does Prego Have Added Sugar? Yes, 4 g vs Ragú's <1 gPrego Traditional lists 4 g added sugar per 1/2 cup; Ragú Old World Style Traditional lists under 1 g. Sodium, oil and ingredient order compared.
Comparisons
Do Stauffer's Animal Crackers Have HFCS? Barnum's Don'tStauffer's Original Animal Crackers list high fructose corn syrup; Barnum's list sugar, dextrose and fructose. Both carry 7g added sugars per serving.
Comparisons
Which Has More Fiber, Metamucil or Benefiber? 6 g EachBoth labels list 6 g fiber per serving. Metamucil is psyllium (5 g soluble) with aspartame or 16 g sugar plus Yellow 6; Benefiber is just wheat dextrin (6 g soluble).
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy