Aurascan

Comparisons · October 30, 2026 · 8 min read

Which Has More Sugar, SmartyPants or OLLY Kids? 3 g vs 2 g

SmartyPants Kids Plus Multi & Omegas lists 3 g added sugar per 2 gummies; OLLY Kids Multi & Probiotic lists 2 g. Colors, omega-3s, probiotic and ages compared.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 30, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two small heaps of chewy gummy vitamins beside a scoop of sugar cubes

The two labels differ on nearly every line parents check. Per the Supplement Facts panels, OLLY Kids Multi & Probiotic (Yum Berry Punch) lists 2 g added sugar per two gummies and a probiotic at 2 billion CFU, while SmartyPants Kids Plus Multi & Omegas lists 3 g added sugar per two gummies and 85 mg total omega-3 from algal oil. This article places those panels side by side and does not rank them, so readers can weigh the differences against their own needs.

Key takeaways

  • OLLY lists 2 g added sugar per two gummies (adults and children 4+) and 1 g added sugar per gummy for children 2-3. SmartyPants lists 3 g added sugar per two-gummy serving (5% DV).
  • Neither Other Ingredients list names an FD&C synthetic dye. OLLY's Other Ingredients reads 'Coloring from purple carrot juice,' and SmartyPants lists organic annatto extract, organic turmeric extract, and organic black carrot juice concentrate.
  • SmartyPants lists 85 mg total omega-3 (45 mg DHA, 23 mg EPA) per two gummies. OLLY's Supplement Facts panel lists no omega-3.
  • OLLY's panel lists Bacillus coagulans SNZ1969 at 2 billion CFU. SmartyPants' panel lists no probiotic.
  • Age guidance differs: OLLY is one gummy daily at ages 2-3 and two at 4+, while SmartyPants is two gummies daily at 4+ with a not-for-children-under-4 warning.

The table uses the figures printed on each Supplement Facts panel.

Label itemOLLY Kids Multi & Probiotic (Yum Berry Punch)SmartyPants Kids Plus Multi & Omegas
Serving size1 gummy (ages 2-3) or 2 gummies (ages 4+)2 gummies (30 servings per container)
Calories10 per 1 gummy; 15 per 2 gummies15 per 2 gummies
Added sugars1 g per gummy; 2 g per 2 gummies (4% DV, based on a 2,000-calorie diet)3 g per 2 gummies (5% DV, based on a 2,000-calorie diet)
Total carbohydrate2 g per gummy; 4 g per 2 gummies4 g per 2 gummies (1% DV)
ColorantsPurple carrot juiceOrganic annatto extract, organic turmeric extract, organic black carrot juice concentrate
Omega-3Not listed on panel85 mg total (45 mg DHA, 23 mg EPA) from 150 mg algal oil
ProbioticBacillus coagulans SNZ1969, 2 billion CFUNot listed on panel
IronNot listed on panelNot listed on panel
Age on labelAges 2-3: 1 gummy daily. Ages 4+: 2 gummies dailyAges 4+: 2 gummies daily. Not for children under 4

Which has more sugar, SmartyPants or OLLY Kids, per serving?

SmartyPants Kids Plus Multi & Omegas has 3 g added sugar per two gummies (5% DV), while OLLY Kids Multi & Probiotic has 2 g per two gummies (4% DV). On both panels, total sugars equal added sugars, so the added figure is the full sugar figure on each label.

The FDA sets the Daily Value for added sugars at 50 grams per day on a 2,000-calorie diet. The agency's general %DV guide describes 5% DV or less per serving as low and 20% DV or more as high.

For context on daily limits by age, see How Much Added Sugar Should Kids Have a Day? By Age, in Grams.

How much sugar is in each OLLY Kids gummy compared with SmartyPants?

OLLY lists 1 g added sugar per gummy for children 2-3; the sugar in one SmartyPants gummy is not disclosed because its label reports only the two-gummy serving.

The OLLY panel reports the following per serving:

  • One gummy (children 2-3 years): 10 calories, 2 g total carbohydrate, 1 g total sugars including 1 g added sugars.
  • Two gummies (adults and children 4+): 15 calories, 4 g total carbohydrate, 2 g total sugars including 2 g added sugars (4% DV).

The SmartyPants panel reports two gummies: 15 calories, 4 g total carbohydrate (1% DV), and 3 g total sugars including 3 g added sugars (5% DV). Because the serving sizes are not matched, comparing a single OLLY gummy with a single SmartyPants gummy is not possible from these labels.

Do OLLY Kids vitamins have sugar, and what kind?

Yes, OLLY Kids Multi & Probiotic lists 2 g added sugar per two gummies (4% DV). Its Other Ingredients list begins with 'Sugar' and 'Glucose Syrup,' followed by water, gelatin, and natural flavors.

The SmartyPants Other Ingredients list names 'Organic Cane Sugar' and 'Organic Tapioca Syrup' as its sweeteners. Neither panel breaks down the sugar types further, so the label does not show exactly how much of each sweetener is present.

For a comparison of how added sugar appears in another kids product, see Is Honest Kids Healthier Than Capri Sun? 0 g vs 8 g Added Sugar.

What colors are in OLLY Kids Yum Berry Punch and SmartyPants Kids Plus Multi & Omegas?

OLLY Yum Berry Punch is colored with purple carrot juice, listed on its Other Ingredients as 'Coloring from purple carrot juice.' SmartyPants uses organic annatto extract, organic turmeric extract, and organic black carrot juice concentrate.

Neither Other Ingredients list names an FD&C synthetic dye.

Which vitamins and minerals are listed on each label, and at what percent Daily Value?

Both panels list vitamin D at 20 mcg (800 IU, 100% DV), vitamin B12 at 2.4 mcg (100% DV), vitamin B6 at 1 mg (59% DV), and zinc, which is 1.5 mg (14% DV) on OLLY and 1.6 mg (15% DV) on SmartyPants. Neither Supplement Facts panel lists iron.

Listed only on OLLY's panel:

  • Vitamin A 300 mcg (33%), vitamin C 30 mg (33%), vitamin E 7.5 mg (50%)
  • Folate 200 mcg DFE, 120 mcg folic acid (50%), biotin 30 mcg (100%)
  • Pantothenic acid 5 mg (100%), choline 10 mg (2%), iodine 30 mcg (20%)

Listed only on SmartyPants' panel:

  • Vitamin A 180 mcg (20%), vitamin C 45 mg (50%), vitamin E 6.6 mg (44%)
  • Vitamin K 20 mcg (17%), thiamin 0.1 mg (8%), riboflavin 0.16 mg (12%)
  • Folate as calcium 5-methylfolate 250 mcg DFE (63%), biotin 16 mcg (53%), iodine 90 mcg (60%)
  • Sodium 10 mg (less than 1%) and inositol 2 mg

Percent Daily Values are a label reference, not an individual recommendation, and the labels do not state how they apply to any particular child.

How much omega-3 is in SmartyPants Kids Plus Multi & Omegas, and does OLLY list any?

SmartyPants lists 85 mg total omega-3 fatty acids per two gummies, derived from 150 mg of algal oil, including 45 mg DHA and 23 mg EPA. OLLY's Supplement Facts panel lists no omega-3.

The label does not describe what the omega-3 amount is intended to do, and this article does not describe a clinical effect of the DHA dose.

What probiotic does OLLY Kids Multi & Probiotic contain, and how many CFU?

OLLY's panel lists Bacillus coagulans SNZ1969 at 20 mg, stated as 2 billion CFU, in the two-gummy column. SmartyPants' panel lists no probiotic.

Readers should still check the bottle they hold. The per-gummy probiotic amount for children 2-3 is not separately stated. The label does not describe a health outcome for the probiotic, and no clinical benefit is established by the information available here.

What age is each gummy labeled for, and who is it not meant for?

OLLY is labeled for children 2-3 years at one gummy daily and for children 4 and older, along with adults, at two gummies daily. SmartyPants is labeled for children 4 and older at two gummies daily, and its back panel warns that it is not for children under 4 years of age.

No age below 2 years appears in the label information used here. Questions about a particular child, including any health condition or other supplements the child takes, are best taken to a pediatrician or pharmacist, since a label cannot assess individual needs.

Are these gummies regulated like drugs, and what must supplement labels show?

No. The FDA does not approve dietary supplements for safety and effectiveness, or approve their labeling, before they are sold. Supplement labels must carry a Supplement Facts label, which is why both products show one.

A Supplement Facts panel lists dietary ingredients per serving, and it is different from the Nutrition Facts panel on conventional foods. Reading it carefully is the main way to compare two supplements, because regulators do not confirm the claims before the product reaches the shelf.

How do you read the Supplement Facts and Other Ingredients panels to compare gummies?

Start with the serving size, then compare amounts on the same serving basis. OLLY lists both one gummy and two gummies, while SmartyPants lists only two, so matching the serving is the first step.

  • Check the serving size and the number of servings per container.
  • Compare added sugars in grams and %DV on the same serving.
  • Read the age line and any warning, such as the not-for-children-under-4 statement.
  • Look for omega-3 and probiotic lines. If a line is missing, the panel does not list it.
  • Scan the Other Ingredients list for sweeteners, colorants, and gelatin. Gelatin appears in both Other Ingredients lists, and this article makes no vegan-status claim for either gummy because the labels quoted here do not establish that.
  • Note items the panel does not list, such as iron on both products.

Retailer listings may show different bottle counts or claims. The bottle's own label and panel are the reference for comparison. To see what each ingredient in the bottle you hold does, scan its barcode with the Aurascan app.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Which has more sugar, SmartyPants or OLLY Kids?
SmartyPants Kids Plus Multi & Omegas has 3 g added sugar per two gummies (5% DV), compared with 2 g per two gummies (4% DV) for OLLY Kids Multi & Probiotic. The difference on the labels is 1 g per serving.
Do OLLY Kids vitamins have sugar?
Yes. OLLY Kids Multi & Probiotic lists 2 g added sugar per two gummies (4% DV), and 1 g added sugar per gummy for children 2-3, with sugar and glucose syrup as the first listed ingredients.
Is SmartyPants better than OLLY for kids?
This comparison does not declare a winner, because the labels answer different questions. OLLY lists a probiotic and no omega-3, SmartyPants lists 85 mg omega-3 and no probiotic, and the two products have different sugar amounts and age guidance.
Are OLLY kids vitamins safe for 2 year olds?
The OLLY label gives directions for children 2-3 years at one gummy daily, but the label does not establish safety for any individual child. The FDA does not approve supplements for safety before they are sold, so a pediatrician is the right person to ask about a specific child.
Do SmartyPants kids vitamins have artificial dyes?
The SmartyPants Other Ingredients list names organic annatto extract, organic turmeric extract, and organic black carrot juice concentrate as colorants, and it does not name an FD&C synthetic dye.
Does OLLY Kids Multi & Probiotic list iron?
No. The OLLY Supplement Facts panel does not list iron, and neither does the SmartyPants panel.
Is SmartyPants Kids Plus Multi & Omegas safe for children under 4?
The SmartyPants bottle back panel warns that it is not for children under 4 years of age, and its directions begin at 4 years old at two gummies daily.

Sources

  1. FDA 101: Dietary Supplements (fda.gov)
  2. Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  3. Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
  4. OLLY Kids Multi & Probiotic (olly.com)
  5. SmartyPants Kids Plus Multi & Omegas (smartypantsvitamins.com)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy