Aurascan

Comparisons · October 29, 2026 · 10 min read

Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Tortillas: 17 g vs 12 g Fiber

Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Xtreme Wellness: 17 g vs 12 g fiber per tortilla, steviol glycosides vs allulose, and the sulfite in Olé's list.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 29, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two round soft tortillas side by side on a wooden cutting board

Mission Carb Balance lists more fiber per tortilla on its Nutrition Facts panel, 17 g against 12 g for Olé Xtreme Wellness. Olé's ingredient list names allulose, avocado oil and a sulfiting agent, while Mission's names steviol glycosides and hydrogenated soybean oils.

Mission Carb Balance and Olé Xtreme Wellness both sell low-carb soft taco tortillas, and their printed panels differ on fiber, sweeteners, oils, and sulfite-related ingredients. Per tortilla, Mission's panel lists 17 g of dietary fiber and 19 g of total carbohydrate, while Olé's panel lists 12 g and 13 g. Neither Nutrition Facts panel has a net-carb line. Olé's ZERO claim cannot be checked against the printed numbers because its calculation is not disclosed.

Key takeaways

  • Neither panel shows a net-carb line. Subtracting fiber from total carbohydrate gives Mission 2 g and Olé 1 g, and Olé does not explain how it reaches its ZERO claim.
  • Mission's panel lists 17 g of fiber, but its product page Highlights strip says 15 g. This comparison uses the panel figure and flags the conflict.
  • Mission's ingredient list includes steviol glycosides, and Olé's includes allulose. Neither ingredient list includes erythritol.
  • Olé's ingredient list includes sodium metabisulphite, a sulfiting agent, while Mission's lists interesterified and hydrogenated soybean oils. Under 21 CFR 101.100(a)(4), sulfites must be declared when present at 10 ppm or more in the finished food.

How Do Mission Carb Balance and Olé Xtreme Wellness Compare on Fiber and Total Carbs?

Per serving, Mission Carb Balance lists 17 g of dietary fiber (61% Daily Value) and 19 g of total carbohydrate, while Olé Xtreme Wellness lists 12 g of fiber (43% DV) and 13 g of total carbohydrate. Both panels list 8 servings per container, with a serving of one tortilla: 43 g for Mission and 42 g for Olé.

The Daily Value percentages use FDA's Daily Value of 28 g for dietary fiber. Mission's product page includes a 'Highlights' strip that says Fiber 15g, which conflicts with the 17 g printed on its Nutrition Facts panel. This comparison uses the panel figure. The page does not explain the difference, so shoppers should treat the panel printed on the package they hold as the reference.

Per serving (1 tortilla)Mission Carb BalanceOlé Xtreme Wellness
Serving size43 g42 g
Calories7060
Total fat3.5 g1.5 g
Saturated fat1.5 g (8% DV)0 g
Sodium330 mg (14% DV)320 mg (14% DV)
Total carbohydrate19 g13 g
Dietary fiber17 g (61% DV)12 g (43% DV)
Net carbs (label arithmetic)2 g1 g (front claim: ZERO)
Total sugars and added sugars0 g and 0 g0 g and 0 g
Protein6 g4 g
Sweetener named in ingredientsSteviol glycosidesAllulose
Oil named in ingredientsInteresterified and hydrogenated soybean oils (vegetable shortening)Avocado oil
Sulfiting agent named in ingredientsNone namedSodium metabisulphite

Which Low-Carb Tortilla Has the Most Fiber?

On the Nutrition Facts panels, Mission Carb Balance has more fiber per serving, at 17 g compared with 12 g for Olé Xtreme Wellness, based on one tortilla. That comparison uses the printed panel figures. Whether a fiber counts toward the panel depends on FDA's definition, which the fiber section below explains.

What Does the Net-Carb Math Show for Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Xtreme Wellness?

Subtracting dietary fiber from total carbohydrate gives 2 g for Mission Carb Balance (19 g minus 17 g) and 1 g for Olé Xtreme Wellness (13 g minus 12 g). Olé's front label claims ZERO net carbs, and its product page does not explain how it reaches that figure.

This subtraction is simple arithmetic on the panels, not a calculation printed by either company. Neither Nutrition Facts panel includes a net-carb line. Mission's page says 'Just 2g net carbs and zero grams of sugar per serving.' That is a front-of-pack marketing statement. It matches the panel arithmetic only when the 17 g panel fiber figure is used. If the 15 g fiber figure from the page's Highlights strip were used instead, the same subtraction would give 4 g.

Olé's claim leaves a gap. The page does not say which ingredients, if any, it subtracts from total carbohydrate. The ingredient list includes allulose and two resistant starches, resistant wheat starch and resistant potato starch, but the panel does not show how the company treats any of them in its carbohydrate figure. When a label does not show its calculation, the front-of-pack number is the company's claim, and the panel is the figure a shopper can check.

Is 'Net Carbs' on the Nutrition Facts Panel?

No, neither tortilla's Nutrition Facts panel has a net-carb line. Net-carb figures appear only in each company's front-of-pack and product-page wording, and neither panel shows how the company calculated its figure.

Shoppers should read a 'net carbs' number as a company statement. The Nutrition Facts panel lists total carbohydrate and dietary fiber, and those two lines are the figures a shopper can check. Mission's '2g net carbs' and Olé's 'ZERO Net Carbs' are both company claims printed outside the panel.

Which Fibers Are Used in Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Xtreme Wellness Tortillas?

Mission's ingredient list names cellulose gum, and Olé's names cellulose and guar gum, and FDA's dietary fiber questions and answers list cellulose and guar gum among fibers that meet its definition. Olé's list also includes resistant wheat starch, resistant potato starch, and ground flax seed, and the flax appears in the 2% or less group of its ingredient list. Olé's page advertises 'Flaxseed Added' and '12g of Fiber.' How much flax contributes to the 12 g panel figure is not disclosed.

The same FDA document names cross-linked phosphorylated RS4 and high amylose starch, which FDA calls resistant starch 2, among fibers the agency intends to propose adding. Olé's label does not say whether its resistant wheat starch or resistant potato starch is the RS4 type, so that detail is not disclosed.

The fiber numbers on these panels are what each company declared. They do not show how any given person digests these ingredients.

What Sweeteners Are in Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Xtreme Wellness Tortillas?

Mission's ingredient list includes steviol glycosides and no allulose, while Olé's ingredient list includes allulose and no steviol glycosides. Neither ingredient list includes erythritol.

Do Mission Carb Balance Tortillas Have Sweetener?

Yes, Mission's ingredient list includes steviol glycosides. Its panel shows 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars per tortilla. The amount of steviol glycosides in each tortilla is not disclosed.

Does Olé Xtreme Wellness Have Allulose?

Yes, Olé's ingredient list includes allulose, and its panel shows 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars per 42 g tortilla. FDA guidance says the agency exercises enforcement discretion to exclude allulose from total sugars and added sugars, and it allows 0.4 calories per gram for allulose. The grams of allulose per tortilla are not disclosed on the panel.

Which Oils Are in Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Xtreme Wellness Tortillas?

Mission lists vegetable shortening made from interesterified and hydrogenated soybean oils, while Olé lists avocado oil. Olé's page also says 'Made with avocado oil.'

Mission's panel shows 3.5 g total fat, 1.5 g saturated fat (8% DV), 0 g trans fat, 1.5 g polyunsaturated fat, and 0.5 g monounsaturated fat per tortilla. Olé's panel shows 1.5 g total fat, 0 g saturated fat, and 0 g trans fat. Olé's panel does not break its total fat into polyunsaturated and monounsaturated amounts.

The words 'interesterified' and 'hydrogenated' describe how the soybean oils were processed. Mission's panel reports 0 g trans fat, but its ingredient wording still names hydrogenated oil, so shoppers who track processing terms should read both places on the package. Oil wording on labels can change, so the current package is the reference. Labels cannot show how a particular oil affects an individual, and this comparison does not assess the health effects of either oil.

Do Mission Carb Balance and Olé Xtreme Wellness Tortillas Contain Sulfites?

Olé's ingredient list includes sodium metabisulphite, which is a sulfiting agent, while Mission's ingredient list does not name a sulfiting agent. Neither panel reports a sulfite level.

Under 21 CFR 101.100(a)(4), sulfites must be declared when present at 10 parts per million or more in the finished food. Olé's sulfite concentration is not disclosed, so the label does not show whether that threshold is met. The ingredient wording shows that a sulfiting agent was used, which is a different question from the level in the finished tortilla.

Both companies list calcium propionate and sorbic acid as preservatives, and neither of those is a sulfiting agent. In Olé's list, sodium metabisulphite appears inside the dough conditioner group, alongside fumaric acid and mono- and diglycerides.

People who need to avoid sulfites for medical reasons should follow their clinician's guidance and read the ingredient list, since neither panel shows sulfite levels.

How Do the Sodium, Calorie, and Fat Panels Differ Between the Two Tortillas?

Both panels list 14% Daily Value for sodium per serving, at 330 mg for Mission and 320 mg for Olé. Mission lists 70 calories per tortilla and Olé lists 60.

  • Sodium: 330 mg (14% DV) for Mission; 320 mg (14% DV) for Olé.
  • Calories: 70 for Mission; 60 for Olé.
  • Total fat: 3.5 g (4% DV) for Mission; 1.5 g (2% DV) for Olé.
  • Saturated fat: 1.5 g (8% DV) for Mission; 0 g for Olé.
  • Protein: 6 g for Mission; 4 g for Olé.
  • Calcium: 70 mg (6%) for Mission; 66 mg (6%) for Olé.
  • Potassium: 10 mg (0%) for Mission; 9 mg (0%) for Olé.
  • Cholesterol: 0 mg on both panels.

Because the serving sizes are 43 g and 42 g, the per-serving figures are a reasonable side-by-side comparison. Mission's page also says 'GLP-1 Friendly and Keto Certified,' and Olé's page says 'Keto Certified.' These are company claims. The Nutrition Facts panels do not show glycemic or GLP-1 effects, and this comparison does not assess those claims.

What Should Shoppers Check on Tortilla Labels Before Buying?

Start with the Nutrition Facts panel for serving size, total carbohydrate, and dietary fiber, then read the ingredient list for sweeteners, oils, and sulfiting agents. Front-of-pack phrases such as 'net carbs' or 'keto' are company statements and do not replace the panel.

  • Confirm the serving size in grams, since Mission's is 43 g and Olé's is 42 g.
  • Subtract fiber from total carbohydrate yourself, and check whether the package explains how it reached any net figure.
  • Compare the fiber figure on the panel with any fiber number on the product page or elsewhere on the package.
  • Look for steviol glycosides, allulose, erythritol, or other sweeteners in the ingredient list.
  • Look for sulfiting agents such as sodium metabisulphite.
  • Read the oil wording, including terms such as interesterified or hydrogenated.

For the individual ingredients on these lists, see Is Carboxymethylcellulose (Cellulose Gum, E466) Safe? for the cellulose gum and CMC both tortillas list, What Are Steviol Glycosides? Uses, Safety, and Labels for Mission's sweetener, and Are Sulfites Safe? Wine, Dried Fruit, Asthma, and Labels for the sulfiting agent in Olé's list.

The evidence here cannot establish how a specific person will respond to fiber, sweeteners, or oils, and this comparison does not test either product in a study. The printed panels do not disclose Olé's sulfite level, allulose grams, or the flax contribution to its fiber figure. A label is a starting point for reading, not a conclusion. Check the package you hold, since label wording can change.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Which low carb tortilla has the most fiber?
On the printed Nutrition Facts panels, Mission Carb Balance has more fiber per serving, at 17 g compared with 12 g for Olé Xtreme Wellness, based on one tortilla (43 g for Mission and 42 g for Olé).
Are Mission Carb Balance tortillas keto?
Mission's product page says the tortillas are 'Keto Certified,' which is a company claim that this comparison does not assess. The Nutrition Facts panel does not state a diet category.
What sweetener is in Olé Xtreme Wellness tortillas?
Olé's ingredient list includes allulose, and its panel reports 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars per 42 g tortilla. The grams of allulose per tortilla are not disclosed.
Does Mission Carb Balance have sweetener?
Yes, Mission's ingredient list includes steviol glycosides, and its panel reports 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars per 43 g tortilla. The amount of steviol glycosides is not disclosed.
Is 'net carbs' on the Nutrition Facts panel?
No, neither Nutrition Facts panel includes a net-carb line. Mission's '2g net carbs' and Olé's 'ZERO Net Carbs' are company claims printed outside the panel.
How do you get the net carbs for Olé Xtreme Wellness tortillas?
Subtracting the panel's 12 g of dietary fiber from its 13 g of total carbohydrate gives 1 g, but the package's 'ZERO Net Carbs' claim is not explained, and the page does not say which ingredients it subtracts.
Do Mission Carb Balance or Olé Xtreme Wellness tortillas contain sulfites?
Olé's ingredient list includes sodium metabisulphite, a sulfiting agent, while Mission's ingredient list does not name one. Neither panel reports a sulfite level, and sulfites must be declared at 10 ppm or more in the finished food.

Sources

  1. Mission Carb Balance Soft Taco Flour Tortillas product page (missionfoods.com)
  2. Questions and Answers on Dietary Fiber (fda.gov)
  3. Guidance for Industry: Declaration of Allulose and Calories From Allulose on Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
  4. Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
  5. 21 CFR 101.100 Exemptions from labeling requirements (sulfiting agents) (ecfr.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy