Comparisons · October 29, 2026 · 9 min read
Is Ezekiel Bread Healthier Than Dave's Killer Bread?
Per slice: Ezekiel 4:9 lists 0 g sugar, 75 mg sodium, 4 g protein; Dave's 21 Whole Grains lists 4 g sugar, 170 mg sodium, 6 g protein. Labels compared.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 29, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

This page compares the per-slice label figures, ingredient lists and allergen statements of Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Whole Grain Bread and Dave's Killer Bread 21 Whole Grains and Seeds. Per slice, Ezekiel 4:9 lists less sugar and sodium, and Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds lists more protein, fiber and whole grains. Neither label settles which bread is better overall.
One 34 g slice of Ezekiel 4:9 lists 80 calories, 0 g total sugars, 75 mg sodium, 3 g fiber and 4 g protein. One 45 g slice of Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds lists 110 calories, 4 g sugars, 170 mg sodium, 4 g fiber and 6 g protein. Per slice, Ezekiel is lower in calories, sugars and sodium, and Dave's is higher in protein, fiber and carbohydrate.
Key takeaways
- Per-slice labels: Ezekiel 4:9 (34 g) lists 80 calories, 0 g sugars, 75 mg sodium, 3 g fiber and 4 g protein. Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds (45 g) lists 110 calories, 4 g sugars, 170 mg sodium, 4 g fiber and 6 g protein.
- Dave's loaf lists organic cane sugar as its third ingredient and 4 g of added sugars per slice. The listed ingredients for Ezekiel 4:9 include no sugar, and its panel shows 0 g added sugars.
- Dave's thin-sliced version (28 g) lists 60 calories, 3 g protein, 3 g fiber, 105 mg sodium and 3 g sugars per slice. Its ingredient list is not disclosed in this comparison.
- Both ingredient lists include wheat gluten. The only allergen information used here is the Contains line: Ezekiel 4:9 lists Contains: Wheat, Soy, Sesame, and Dave's lists Contains: Wheat.
Ezekiel 4:9 vs Dave's Killer Bread: What Is the Side-by-Side Label Summary?
The side-by-side label summary sets one 34 g slice of Ezekiel 4:9 (80 calories, 75 mg sodium, 0 g total sugars) against one 45 g slice of Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds (110 calories, 170 mg sodium, 4 g total sugars). Because the slices differ in weight by 11 g, the per-slice figures partly reflect size.
Is Ezekiel 4:9 healthier than Dave's Killer Bread?
Per slice, Ezekiel 4:9 lists 80 calories, 75 mg sodium and 0 g total sugars per 34 g slice, while Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds lists 110 calories, 170 mg sodium and 4 g total sugars per 45 g slice. The labels alone do not establish a health ranking, because each bread leads on different lines of the Nutrition Facts panel: Ezekiel on calories, total sugars and sodium, and Dave's on protein, fiber and total carbohydrate. Which profile fits depends on your own needs and overall diet, and a single slice label cannot show that.
| Label item | Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Whole Grain (1 slice, 34 g) | Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds (1 slice, 45 g) |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 80 | 110 |
| Total sugars | 0 g | 4 g |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 4 g (Open Food Facts listing) |
| Sodium | 75 mg (3% DV) | 170 mg (%DV not listed) |
| Dietary fiber | 3 g (11% DV) | 4 g |
| Protein | 4 g | 6 g |
| Total fat | 0.5 g (1% DV) | 1.5 g |
| Total carbohydrate | 15 g (5% DV) | 22 g |
| Whole grains | Not disclosed | 22 g |
| ALA omega-3 | Not disclosed | 130 mg |
| Allergen statement | Contains: Wheat, Soy, Sesame | Contains: Wheat |
The Ezekiel panel lists 20 servings per container, with one slice as the serving. Dave's brand table gives grams only for its nutrients, so no % Daily Value is shown for Dave's in this comparison. The Ezekiel allergen line appears on the Food For Life product page.
Which Bread Has More Sugar per Slice: Ezekiel 4:9 or Dave's Killer Bread?
Dave's Killer Bread 21 Whole Grains and Seeds lists 4 g of sugars per 45 g slice. Ezekiel 4:9 lists 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars per 34 g slice.
Does Dave's Killer Bread have added sugar?
Yes, according to the Open Food Facts entry for the 21 Whole Grains and Seeds loaf (barcode 0013764027053), which lists 4 g of added sugars per 1 slice (45 g). The brand ingredient list names organic cane sugar third, after whole wheat and water. The brand's own site does not disclose added sugar for this loaf, so the Open Food Facts figure is the basis for this answer. For how the FDA defines added sugars on the panel, see Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label.
Does Ezekiel 4:9 contain added sugar?
The Nutrition Facts panel on the Food For Life product page lists 0 g added sugars per 1 slice (34 g). The ingredient list reads: Organic Sprouted Wheat, Filtered Water, Organic Sprouted Barley, Organic Sprouted Millet, Organic Malted Barley, Organic Sprouted Lentils, Organic Sprouted Soybeans, Organic Sprouted Spelt, Organic Wheat Gluten, Yeast, Sea Salt. No sugar appears in that list as a separate ingredient.
The FDA Daily Value for added sugars is 50 grams per day on a 2,000 calorie diet, and added sugars include sugars added during processing. Total sugars and added sugars are separate lines on the panel, so check both. A gram count also does not describe how a food affects blood sugar, which this comparison does not measure.
For the thin-sliced Dave's version, the label lists 3 g of sugars per 28 g slice. Its ingredient list is not disclosed in this comparison, so check that package directly. For another packaged category where added sugar is compared line by line, see Which Has More Added Sugar, Go-Gurt or Danimals? 6g vs 5g.
Is Ezekiel 4:9 Sodium Lower Than Dave's Killer Bread 21 Whole Grains and Seeds?
Yes, on these labels Ezekiel 4:9 lists 75 mg of sodium per 34 g slice, while Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds lists 170 mg per 45 g slice. The FDA guidance on sodium describes the reference of less than 2,300 mg per day, and the Ezekiel panel shows 3% DV for its slice.
The thin-sliced Dave's version lists 105 mg per 28 g slice. Two slices of each full-size loaf would total 150 mg for Ezekiel 4:9 and 340 mg for Dave's, based only on the labeled per-slice figures. Those totals are arithmetic on label numbers, not a serving recommendation.
People who manage sodium for medical reasons may want to review the full panel with their own clinician. Sodium differences between similar foods can be large, as shown in What's in Bush's vs B&M Baked Beans? 570 vs 390mg Sodium for a different category.
How Much Protein and Fiber Does Each Slice Provide?
Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds lists 6 g of protein and 4 g of fiber per 45 g slice, while Ezekiel 4:9 lists 4 g of protein and 3 g of fiber per 34 g slice. The Dave's front-of-package claims match the brand nutrition page for protein and fiber.
Because the slices differ in weight, per-gram comparisons can be fairer. Calculated from the per-slice figures, Ezekiel works out to roughly 12 g of protein and 9 g of fiber per 100 g, and Dave's to roughly 13 g of protein and 9 g of fiber per 100 g. These are calculations from the labels, not separate measurements.
The thin-sliced Dave's version lists 3 g of protein and 3 g of fiber per 28 g slice. Brand claims about protein quality are outside what this comparison can confirm, so the 4 g total protein figure on the Ezekiel panel is the number to compare.
How Many Calories per Slice Do Ezekiel 4:9 and Dave's Killer Bread Have?
One 34 g slice of Ezekiel 4:9 lists 80 calories, and one 45 g slice of Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds lists 110 calories. The 11 g difference in slice weight accounts for part of that gap, and the panels report what each slice contains.
Are the thin-sliced Dave's calories lower?
Yes, the thin-sliced version lists 60 calories per 28 g slice, according to the Dave's Killer Bread nutrition table. Per-slice calories depend on the slice weight printed on the specific package, so the product in hand is the reference.
The Nutrition Facts panel on the package you are holding is the most reliable reference for your purchase.
What Ingredients Are in Each Bread?
Ezekiel 4:9 lists sprouted grains and legumes with malted barley, wheat gluten, yeast and sea salt. Dave's lists whole wheat first, organic cane sugar third, and a long 21 Whole Grains and Seeds mix. Both lists include wheat gluten.
The Dave's ingredient list begins with organic whole wheat, water and organic cane sugar. It then includes organic wheat gluten, organic oat fiber, and an organic 21 Whole Grains and Seeds mix with flax, sunflower and pumpkin seeds, quinoa, oats, rye, barley, spelt, KAMUT khorasan wheat, buckwheat, amaranth and poppy seeds. Ingredients present at 2% or less include yeast, organic molasses, sea salt, organic cultured wheat flour, organic vinegar, organic acerola cherry powder and enzymes.
Allergen information in this comparison is limited to the Contains line. Ezekiel 4:9 lists Contains: Wheat, Soy, Sesame, so people avoiding soy or sesame should read that line. Dave's lists Contains: Wheat. Both products contain wheat gluten, which matters to readers who avoid wheat or gluten for health reasons.
Ezekiel's page lists USDA Organic, Non-GMO, Kosher, flourless and vegan claims. The word sprouted appears in Ezekiel's ingredient names but not in the Dave's list. This comparison does not establish any benefit or drawback of sprouting for digestibility or nutrient absorption.
How Do Front-of-Package Labels Affect Reading These Two Breads?
Front-of-package claims are marketing statements, so compare them with the panel. Dave's front claims 6 g protein, 4 g fiber, 130 mg ALA omega-3 and 22 g whole grains per slice, and the brand table shows the same protein, fiber, ALA and whole grain figures for the full-size slice.
- Check the serving size, since 34 g and 45 g slices are not equal.
- Read total sugars and added sugars as separate lines.
- Compare sodium against the FDA reference of less than 2,300 mg per day.
- Read the full allergen statement and ingredient list on the package in hand.
Where Else Is Dave's Killer Bread Compared?
Dave's Killer Bread is also compared with a conventional sandwich loaf in Dave's Killer Bread vs Nature's Own, using the same per-slice label lines. The steps carry over to any loaf: serving size first, then total and added sugars, sodium, protein, fiber and the Contains line.
This comparison covers labels only. It cannot show how either bread affects an individual's blood sugar, digestion or weight, because no glycemic index or blood-sugar response data for either bread was disclosed, and labels vary by package, slice size and retailer listing.
Scan the barcode on your own loaf with Aurascan and compare its panel with the figures here.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Is Ezekiel bread healthier than Dave's Killer Bread?
- The labels do not declare either bread the healthier one. Per slice, Ezekiel 4:9 (34 g) lists 80 calories, 0 g total sugars and 75 mg sodium, while Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds (45 g) lists 110 calories, 4 g sugars, 170 mg sodium, 4 g fiber and 6 g protein. Which profile fits depends on your own needs and overall diet.
- Is Ezekiel bread better than Dave's?
- Neither label establishes that one bread is better overall, because each panel leads on different lines. Ezekiel 4:9 shows less sugar and sodium per slice, and Dave's shows more protein and fiber per slice, with the slices differing in weight.
- Dave's Killer Bread vs Ezekiel bread blood sugar: which is better?
- No glycemic index or blood-sugar response data for either bread was disclosed, so this comparison cannot say which one affects blood sugar more. The labels show 0 g total sugars for Ezekiel 4:9 and 4 g for Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds per slice, which describes sugar content only.
- Dave's Killer Bread sprouted vs Ezekiel bread: what is the difference?
- The Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds ingredient list does not name a sprouted grain, while Ezekiel 4:9 lists sprouted wheat, barley, millet, lentils, soybeans and spelt. This comparison does not establish any benefit of sprouting for digestibility or nutrient absorption.
- Does Dave's Killer Bread have added sugar?
- According to the Open Food Facts entry for the 21 Whole Grains and Seeds loaf, yes: it lists 4 g of added sugars per 1 slice (45 g). The brand's own site does not disclose added sugar, and its ingredient list names organic cane sugar third.
- Do both breads contain wheat gluten?
- Yes, both ingredient lists include wheat gluten: organic wheat gluten in Ezekiel 4:9 and organic wheat gluten in Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds.
- Does Ezekiel 4:9 contain soy and sesame?
- Yes, the Ezekiel 4:9 Contains line lists wheat, soy and sesame. The Dave's 21 Whole Grains and Seeds Contains line lists wheat only.
Sources
- Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Whole Grain Bread (foodforlife.com)
- Dave's Killer Bread Nutrition (daveskillerbread.com)
- Dave's Killer Bread 21 Whole Grains and Seeds (barcode 0013764027053) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Is Gorton's Healthier Than Van de Kamp's? Fillet vs MincedGuide
Thorne or ON Creatine? Both 5 g; Thorne Is NSF CertifiedGuide
Yuka vs Bobby Approved: How Each App Grades FoodGuide
Which Has More Sodium, Frank's or Tabasco? 190 vs 35 mgGuide
Is Eggland's Best Pasture-Raised Like Vital Farms? Some AreGuide
What's in Bush's vs B&M Baked Beans? 570 vs 390mg Sodium
Related guides
Comparisons
Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Tortillas: 17 g vs 12 g FiberMission Carb Balance vs Olé Xtreme Wellness: 17 g vs 12 g fiber per tortilla, steviol glycosides vs allulose, and the sulfite in Olé's list.
Comparisons
Is Gorton's Healthier Than Van de Kamp's? Fillet vs MincedGorton's crunchy sticks list Alaskan pollock fillets, 430 mg sodium per 4 sticks; Van de Kamp's list minced pollock, 440 mg per 6 sticks. Labels compared.
Comparisons
Yuka vs Bobby Approved: How Each App Grades FoodYuka weighs nutrition 60%, additives 30%, organic 10%. Bobby Approved checks over 100 flagged ingredients. Here's how each app grades food, and how Aurascan differs.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy