Aurascan

Comparisons · October 23, 2026 · Updated October 29, 2026 · 9 min read

Do Welch's or Mott's Fruit Snacks Have Red 40? 8 g vs 9 g Added Sugar

Welch's says its fruit snacks dropped Red 40 and Blue 1 as of 2026; Mott's uses fruit and vegetable juice color. Fruit vs corn syrup first, sugar, gelatin compared.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 29, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of Two single-serve fruit snack pouches beside a small pile of gummy fruit shapes

Welch's Mixed Fruit and Mott's Assorted Fruit Flavored Snacks are both fruit-flavored gummy snacks sold in 0.8 oz single pouches, and their labels differ on first ingredient, gelatin, and the color sources listed.

This side-by-side comparison lays out what the printed labels of Welch's Mixed Fruit Fruit Snacks and Mott's Assorted Fruit Flavored Snacks say about calories, sugar, first ingredient, dyes, and gelatin. Per pouch, Welch's lists 70 calories and 8 g added sugars, while Mott's lists 80 calories, 9 g added sugars, and 35 mg sodium. The sections below present the facts for each product and leave the choice to you.

Key takeaways

  • The first ingredient differs: Welch's Mixed Fruit lists whole fruit puree, while Mott's Assorted lists corn syrup, with pear, apple, and carrot juice concentrates 4th to 6th.
  • Welch's Mixed Fruit contains pork or beef gelatin and is not vegetarian; the Mott's ingredient list shows no gelatin.
  • Welch's brand page and FAQ say no artificial dyes; an older Open Food Facts record for a Welch's box still lists Red 40 and Blue 1, so check the box in hand.
  • Per pouch, Welch's has 70 calories and 8 g added sugars; Mott's has 80 calories, 9 g added sugars, 35 mg sodium, and 54 mg vitamin C (60% DV).
  • In April 2025, HHS and FDA announced plans to phase out six synthetic dyes, including Red No. 40 and Blue No. 1, by the end of 2026.

Are Welch's Mixed Fruit and Mott's Assorted single pouches the same product type?

Yes, both are fruit-flavored gummy snacks sold in 0.8 oz single pouches, but their labels describe what goes into them in different ways. Welch's Mixed Fruit is made by PIM Brands under license and is sold in 0.8 oz pouches in 10, 22, 40, 66, and 90 count boxes, as well as in bags. Its brand page lists the flavors Strawberry, White Grape Raspberry, Orange, White Grape Peach, and Concord Grape.

Mott's Assorted Fruit Flavored Snacks is sold in 0.8 oz single pouches, according to the Open Food Facts record used for this comparison. The carton says the snacks 'are made with pear, apple, and carrot juice concentrates' and that they 'are not intended to replace fruit or vegetables in the diet.' The specific flavor breakdown of the Mott's pouch was not disclosed.

What are the calories, sugar, and vitamins in Welch's vs Mott's single pouches?

Per single pouch, Welch's Mixed Fruit lists 70 calories and 8 g added sugars (16% DV), while Mott's Assorted lists 80 calories and 9 g added sugars (18% DV). The serving sizes differ slightly, at 22.7 g for Welch's and 23 g for Mott's, so compare the per-pouch figures rather than assuming equal portions.

Per 1 pouchWelch's Mixed FruitMott's Assorted
Serving size22.7 g23 g
Calories7080
Total fat0 g0 g
Sodium0 mg35 mg
Total carbohydrate17 g19 g
Total sugars10 g9 g
Added sugars8 g (16% DV)9 g (18% DV)
Protein1 g0 g
Vitamin A230 mcg (25% DV)Not listed in the Mott's panel data
Vitamin C23 mg (25% DV)54 mg (60% DV)
Vitamin E3.8 mg (25% DV)Not listed in the Mott's panel data

The Welch's figures come from the nutrition panel image on the brand page. The Mott's figures come from package photos recorded on Open Food Facts, last updated in February 2025. Check the Nutrition Facts panel on your own package, since panels can change between production runs.

Welch's total sugars of 10 g include 8 g added sugars, which leaves 2 g of sugar that is not labeled as added. The label does not say whether that 2 g comes from the fruit puree. Mott's total sugars of 9 g are all labeled as added sugars. The FDA's added sugars definition includes 'sugars from concentrated fruit or vegetable juices,' and the Daily Value for added sugars is 50 g per day. Both products use juice concentrates, so both sets of added sugar figures include that category.

Which ingredient is first on Welch's vs Mott's labels, and why does it matter?

On the Welch's Mixed Fruit label, the first ingredient is whole fruit puree (grape, peach, orange, strawberry and raspberry). It is followed by corn syrup, sugar, modified corn starch, gelatin, and grape juice concentrate. On the Mott's Assorted label, the first ingredient is corn syrup, followed by sugar and modified corn starch. Pear juice concentrate, apple juice concentrate, and carrot juice concentrate appear 4th, 5th, and 6th.

Ingredient lists are generally arranged by predominance, so the order tells you which ingredients make up the largest share of the product. It does not reveal exact amounts. The percentage of fruit by weight in either snack was not disclosed, so the order alone cannot tell you how much of the product is fruit. Read the full ingredient list and the Nutrition Facts panel together.

Do Welch's Mixed Fruit and Mott's Assorted have artificial dyes on the label?

Welch's Mixed Fruit is described as made 'with Whole Fruit and no artificial dyes' on the brand page, and the Welch's FAQ says all of its Fruit Snacks products 'are now made with no artificial dyes and use colors from natural sources.' The brand's current ingredient list names annatto (color), turmeric (color), and fruit and vegetable juice (color). The Open Food Facts record for a 22-count box lists this newer ingredient set. Which specific fruit or vegetable juices color the Welch's snacks was not disclosed.

An older Open Food Facts record for a Welch's Mixed Fruit 10 x 0.8 oz box lists 'annatto (color), turmeric (color), Red 40, Blue 1' at the end of its ingredients. That suggests older boxes may still be on shelves, and the Welch's FAQ notes that 'availability may vary by location.' These two records are examples only and do not show which box size carries which ingredient list. Check the ingredient list on the box you are holding.

The Mott's label photo on Open Food Facts lists 'Vegetable and Fruit Juice added for Color' and no certified color names such as FD&C Red No. 40 or FD&C Blue No. 1.

The FDA's color additive questions and answers page explains that certified color additives are named on labels, such as 'FD&C Blue No. 1' or 'Blue 1.' Certified colors are synthetic and batch-certified. Vegetable juice is listed in federal regulations at 21 CFR 73.260 as a color additive exempt from certification. FD&C Red No. 40 is listed in 21 CFR 74.340. The absence of a certified color name on a label is therefore a label fact, not a statement about every ingredient's origin. For more on how these color listings work, see Color Added vs Named Colors: 6 Scanned Labels Without FD&C Dyes. Welch's also lists annatto and turmeric as colors.

Does Welch's Mixed Fruit contain gelatin?

Yes. Welch's Mixed Fruit lists gelatin in its ingredient list, and the Welch's FAQ states: 'We use either pork or beef gelatin in the production of Welch's Fruit Snacks.' That means the product is not vegetarian.

The Mott's Assorted ingredient list shows no gelatin. The label says the snacks are gelled with modified corn starch and fruit pectin. Some retail listings describe the product as gelatin-free, but a manufacturer statement making that claim was not disclosed, so the ingredient list is the basis for this point.

How do Welch's and Mott's single pouches compare on sodium, fat, and serving size?

Per pouch, Welch's Mixed Fruit lists 0 mg sodium and 0 g total fat. Mott's Assorted lists 35 mg sodium and 0 g total fat. The Mott's ingredient list includes sunflower and/or canola oil, and its label notes that this 'adds a trivial amount of fat.'

Serving size is one pouch on both labels, but the weights differ: 22.7 g for Welch's and 23 g for Mott's. Because both panels are written per pouch, comparing a single pouch from each product is the most direct check. If you eat more than one pouch, multiply the per-pouch numbers, and remember that the panel values are rounded.

How can you tell which dye and ingredient version is in your pouch or box?

Label facts have changed across production runs, and older online records may not match current packaging. Use this checklist on the package in front of you:

  • Look for the words 'no artificial dyes' on the front or side of the Welch's package.
  • Read the color entries in the ingredient list: 'annatto (color), turmeric (color), and fruit and vegetable juice (color)' matches the newer listing, while 'Red 40, Blue 1' matches the older one.
  • Find the Nutrition Facts panel and confirm the serving size, calories, and added sugars for that exact product.
  • Scan the ingredient list for gelatin, since Welch's lists it and Mott's does not.
  • For Mott's, look for certified color names such as 'FD&C' in the ingredient list, and note the 'Vegetable and Fruit Juice added for Color' entry.

If the package and an online record disagree, trust the package you hold and contact the manufacturer for clarification.

What does the FDA's synthetic dye phase-out mean for these two snacks?

In an April 22, 2025 announcement, HHS and FDA said they would work with industry to phase out six synthetic dyes, including FD&C Red No. 40 and Blue No. 1, from the food supply. The announcement gives the end of next year as the target, which is 2026 counting from April 2025. The FDA press release is the source for that timing.

Neither product's ingredient list names Red No. 3.

Regulatory announcements describe what agencies plan and what rules require. They do not establish what any individual will experience after eating a pouch. Read the label you have, not a summary of the rules.

To see how these facts sit alongside the rest of your label reading, scan the package in your hand with the Aurascan app and compare the result with the facts above.

Related reading: Which Has More Sugar, Smucker's or Welch's Grape Jelly? Both 9g Added.

Related reading: for fruit leather and Red 40 by flavor, see Does Fruit by the Foot Have Red 40? Roll-Ups Compared.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Do Welch's Fruit Snacks have Red 40?
The Welch's FAQ says all of its Fruit Snacks products are now made with no artificial dyes such as Red 40 and Blue 1. An older Open Food Facts record for a Welch's Mixed Fruit 10 x 0.8 oz box still lists Red 40 and Blue 1, so check the ingredient list on the box you have.
Do Mott's Assorted Fruit Flavored Snacks have artificial dyes?
The Mott's label photo lists 'Vegetable and Fruit Juice added for Color' and no certified FD&C color names such as Red No. 40 or Blue No. 1. Check the ingredient list on your package for the current wording.
Are Welch's Fruit Snacks made with real fruit?
Whole fruit puree is the first ingredient on the Welch's Mixed Fruit label, listed as grape, peach, orange, strawberry and raspberry. The percentage of fruit by weight was not disclosed.
Do Welch's Fruit Snacks have gelatin?
Yes. The Welch's FAQ says the company uses either pork or beef gelatin, so the product is not vegetarian.
How much sugar is in Welch's Fruit Snacks?
Per 22.7 g pouch, Welch's Mixed Fruit lists 10 g total sugars, including 8 g added sugars (16% DV). The label does not say whether the other 2 g come from the fruit puree.
Do Mott's Assorted fruit snacks have gelatin?
The Mott's ingredient list shows no gelatin. The label says the snacks are gelled with modified corn starch and fruit pectin. A manufacturer statement describing the product as gelatin-free was not disclosed.
How much sugar is in a Mott's Assorted fruit snack pouch?
Per 23 g pouch, Mott's Assorted lists 9 g total sugars, all of which are added sugars (18% DV). Its juice concentrates count toward added sugars under the FDA definition.

Sources

  1. Welch's Fruit Snacks Mixed Fruit (welchsfruitsnacks.com)
  2. Welch's Fruit Snacks FAQ (welchsfruitsnacks.com)
  3. Welch's Mixed Fruit 10 x 0.8 oz box (Open Food Facts) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  4. Mott's Assorted Fruit Flavored Snacks (Open Food Facts) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  5. Color Additives: Questions and Answers for Consumers (fda.gov)
  6. 21 CFR 73.260 Vegetable juice (ecfr.gov)
  7. HHS and FDA Announce Phase-Out of Petroleum-Based Synthetic Dyes (fda.gov)
  8. Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy