Aurascan

Comparisons · October 27, 2026 · 7 min read

Do Totino's Pizza Rolls Have Red 40? No - Nor Bagel Bites

Neither label lists Red 40. Totino's pepperoni rolls list BHA, BHT, TBHQ and imitation mozzarella; Bagel Bites list real part-skim mozzarella. Sodium per serving inside.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 27, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of a pizza roll beside a mini bagel bite on a plate

Do Totino's Pizza Rolls have Red 40? No: neither the Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls nor the Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni ingredient list on the brand pages names Red 40 or any other certified color.

Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls lists BHA, BHT, and TBHQ, while the Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni brand page text does not show them, although an older Open Food Facts entry for the same barcode does. Per listed serving, Totino's shows 350 mg sodium for 6 rolls and Bagel Bites shows 420 mg for 4 pieces, but the serving sizes differ, so the figures cannot be compared directly.

Key takeaways

  • Neither product's ingredient text shows Red 40 or another certified color.
  • Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls (6 rolls) lists BHA, BHT, and TBHQ. The Bagel Bites brand page does not show BHA, BHT, or TBHQ in its pepperoni list, but that list appears cut off, so the page may be incomplete.
  • The Totino's pepperoni topping is listed as a sub-ingredient in brackets within the pizza topping, and the preservatives appear in that bracketed text.
  • Totino's pizza topping uses imitation mozzarella cheese. Bagel Bites uses part-skim mozzarella cheese with modified food starch and skim milk.
  • Sodium is 350 mg per 6 rolls (15% DV) for Totino's and 420 mg per 4 pieces (18% DV) for Bagel Bites.

Do Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls and Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni Contain Red 40?

Neither product's ingredient statement, as shown on the brand pages, lists Red 40 or any other certified color. Certified colors such as FD&C Red No. 40 are declared by name in the ingredient statement under the federal rules for color additives in foods, which you can read in 21 CFR 101.22.

Do Totino's pizza rolls have red 40?

The Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls brand page lists no Red 40 or other certified color for a serving of 6 rolls. The page is at Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls. The available evidence does not confirm the printing on every current package.

Do Bagel Bites have red 40?

The Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni brand page lists no Red 40 for a serving of 4 pieces (88 g). That text is on the Kraft Heinz product page. The Open Food Facts entry for the same barcode also shows no Red 40, although its ingredient list is an older, different version.

FDA's general information on color additives says certified colors are synthetically produced and describes warning letters and recalls involving undeclared FD&C Red No. 40. That is FDA's general statement about color additives, not a finding about these two products. See FDA's color additives information for consumers.

The ingredient statement is where a named certified color would appear, so comparing that section across packages is the most direct way to check.

Which Preservatives Appear on Each Label: BHA, BHT, and TBHQ?

Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls (6 rolls) lists BHA, BHT, and TBHQ in its ingredient statement. The Bagel Bites brand page does not show BHA, BHT, or TBHQ in the pepperoni text shown there, but that list appears cut off, so the page may be incomplete.

Where do BHA and BHT appear on the Totino's label?

BHA and BHT appear within the bracketed pepperoni sub-list and within the pizza topping list. The label does not disclose how much of either preservative is used.

Does Bagel Bites list BHA or BHT?

The Bagel Bites brand page does not show BHA or BHT in its pepperoni ingredients, but that bracketed list never closes, so the page may be incomplete. The older Open Food Facts entry for the same barcode lists BHA and BHT in its pepperoni. The available evidence does not confirm whether the current pepperoni contains them.

Where is TBHQ on the Totino's label?

The Totino's ingredient statement lists 'TBHQ (preservative)' in its less-than-2% section. The label does not disclose the amount used, and no TBHQ appears in the Bagel Bites text shown on its brand page.

Is Imitation Cheese in Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls or Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni?

Totino's pizza topping includes imitation mozzarella cheese, while Bagel Bites uses a part-skim mozzarella cheese product. The allergen lines also differ. The Totino's allergen line reads 'wheat, milk and soy', while the Bagel Bites allergen line lists wheat and milk.

Do Totino's pizza rolls have real cheese?

The label lists Imitation Mozzarella Cheese, not real mozzarella, as a pizza topping ingredient. That imitation mozzarella is made with water, vegetable oil, modified food starch, and rennet casein, among other ingredients. A separate Rehydrated Mozzarella Cheese, made with water, part skim milk, salt, cultures, and enzymes, appears among the ingredients making up less than 2%.

Do Bagel Bites have real cheese?

Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni lists Part-Skim Milk Mozzarella Cheese with Modified Food Starch and Skim Milk. Its mozzarella component is made from pasteurized part-skim milk, cultures, salt, and enzymes, with modified food starch and skim milk added. The cheese terms on each package are the most direct reference for what the product contains.

How Much Sodium Is in One Serving of Each Product?

One serving of Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls (6 rolls) lists 350 mg sodium, or 15% DV. One serving of Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni (4 pieces, 88 g) lists 420 mg sodium, or 18% DV. The serving sizes differ, and the gram weight of 6 Totino's rolls is not disclosed, so a per-piece or per-gram comparison cannot be made from these figures.

How much sodium is in a Totino's pizza roll?

The label does not disclose sodium per roll; it lists 350 mg per 6 rolls (15% DV). Dividing that figure evenly across the six rolls would produce an estimate, not a value printed on the label.

How Do Totino's and Bagel Bites Compare on Calories, Fat, Protein, and Fiber?

Per listed serving, Totino's shows 200 calories, 7 g fat, and 5 g protein for 6 rolls. Bagel Bites shows 190 calories, 6 g fat, and 7 g protein for 4 pieces (88 g).

NutrientTotino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls (6 rolls)Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni (4 pieces, 88 g)
Calories200190
Total fat7 g (9% DV)6 g (7% DV)
Saturated fat2.5 g (13% DV)2.5 g (12% DV)
Trans fat0 g0 g
Cholesterol5 mg (2% DV)10 mg (4% DV)
Sodium350 mg (15% DV)420 mg (18% DV)
Total carbohydrate31 g (11% DV)27 g (10% DV)
Dietary fiber1 g (5% DV)1 g (4% DV)
Total sugars2 g, including under 1 g added (1% DV)2 g, including 1 g added (2% DV)
Protein5 g7 g
Calcium0 mg (0% DV)70 mg (6% DV)
Iron2 mg (10% DV)1.7 mg (10% DV)
Potassium160 mg (4% DV)130 mg (2% DV)

Fiber is 1 g per listed serving for both products. The label figures show different profiles across these nutrients, but they do not establish which product is better for any particular person. The Nutrition Facts panel on the package is the reference for your own reading.

How Can You Spot These Additives and Imitation Cheese on a Pizza Snack Label?

The ingredient statement, not the front of the box, is where these additives and cheese terms appear. Check the following on any pizza snack package:

  • Certified colors: look for Red 40 or FD&C Red No. 40 by name in the ingredient list.
  • Preservatives: look for BHA, BHT, and TBHQ, which can appear inside a bracketed sub-ingredient list such as the pepperoni in Totino's.
  • Cheese terms: words such as imitation mozzarella, rehydrated mozzarella, part-skim mozzarella, and pasteurized part-skim milk each describe a different ingredient.
  • Allergens: Totino's lists wheat, milk and soy, while Bagel Bites lists wheat and milk.
  • Sodium: compare mg and %DV per listed serving, and check the serving size first.
  • Completeness: if a bracket never closes, the list may be incomplete, so compare the current package with another source.

Product formulas can change, so the barcode and the printed package are the most reliable references for the version you hold.

Where Can You Compare Other Snack Labels?

Related comparisons apply the same approach of reading ingredient statements and per-serving figures side by side. For an explainer on how colors are named on labels, see Color Added vs Named Colors: 6 Scanned Labels Without FD&C Dyes. For another cheese-product sodium comparison, see Kraft Singles vs Velveeta Slices: 230 mg vs 260 mg Sodium. For a dye-count comparison of two cereals, see Frosted Flakes vs Froot Loops: Same 12 g Sugar, 4 Dyes vs 0.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Are Bagel Bites healthier than pizza rolls?
The label figures do not establish that either product is healthier, because the serving sizes differ and the labels list different nutrients. Per listed serving, Bagel Bites shows 190 calories and 420 mg sodium for 4 pieces, while Totino's shows 200 calories and 350 mg sodium for 6 rolls.
Do Totino's pizza rolls have real cheese?
The label lists imitation mozzarella cheese, not real mozzarella, as a pizza topping ingredient. That imitation mozzarella is made with water, vegetable oil, modified food starch, and rennet casein, and a rehydrated mozzarella cheese made with part skim milk also appears among ingredients making up less than 2%.
Do Bagel Bites have real cheese?
The Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni ingredient statement lists part-skim mozzarella cheese made from pasteurized part-skim milk, cultures, salt, and enzymes. Modified food starch and skim milk are listed alongside that cheese.
Are pizza rolls bad for you?
The label facts alone cannot determine whether a food is good or bad for any individual. Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls lists 200 calories, 7 g fat, 350 mg sodium, and 5 g protein per 6 rolls, and the Nutrition Facts panel on the package is the best reference for your own needs.
Do Bagel Bites have red 40?
The Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni brand page lists no Red 40 in its ingredients for a 4-piece (88 g) serving. The Open Food Facts entry for the same barcode also shows no Red 40.
Do Totino's pizza rolls have red 40?
The Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls brand page lists no Red 40 or other certified color for a 6-roll serving.
How much sodium is in Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni?
One serving of Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni, which is 4 pieces (88 g), lists 420 mg sodium, or 18% DV. Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls lists 350 mg for 6 rolls, so the serving sizes differ.

Sources

  1. Color Additives in Foods (fda.gov)
  2. 21 CFR 101.22 Foods; color additives (ecfr.gov)
  3. Totino's Pepperoni Pizza Rolls (totinos.com)
  4. Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni Mini Pizza Bagel (kraftheinz.com)
  5. Bagel Bites Cheese & Pepperoni Mini Pizza Bagel (Open Food Facts) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  6. Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
  7. Tert-Butylhydroquinone (pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy