Comparisons · October 28, 2026 · 8 min read
Which Has More Sodium, Lance or Austin? Both 330 mg
Lance Toast Chee and Austin peanut butter cheese crackers both list 330mg sodium and Yellow 6. Label numbers, pack sizes and the additive only Austin lists.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 28, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Which has more sodium, Lance or Austin? Per pack, neither: Lance Toast Chee Peanut Butter and Austin Peanut Butter on Cheese sandwich crackers both show 330 mg of sodium (14% DV), and both list Yellow 6. The labels differ on added sugar, protein, calories, pack weight and TBHQ. The figures below come from the label photos on Open Food Facts for Lance Toast Chee and Austin Peanut Butter on Cheese, so check the package in hand.
Key takeaways
- Both labels list Yellow 6 (FD&C Yellow No. 6 in the ingredient statement), per the Open Food Facts label photos for a 43 g Lance pack and a 39 g Austin pack.
- Per pack, both show 330 mg sodium (14% DV), with serving sizes of 43 g for Lance and 39 g for Austin.
- Lance lists 3 g added sugars and 5 g protein per 43 g pack. Austin lists 4 g added sugars and 4 g protein per 39 g pack.
- Lance's label shows 220 calories per 43 g serving and Austin's shows 190 calories per 39 g serving.
- Only Austin lists TBHQ, inside its oil: 'soybean oil (with tbhq for freshness).' Lance's label lists no TBHQ.
- FDA approves Yellow No. 6 as a certified color additive, and in April 2025 said it is working with industry to eliminate it and five other synthetic dyes from the food supply.
| Factor | Lance Toast Chee (43 g pack) | Austin Peanut Butter on Cheese (39 g pack) |
|---|---|---|
| Calories per pack | 220 | 190 |
| Sodium per pack | 330 mg (14% DV) | 330 mg (14% DV) |
| Added sugars per pack | 3 g (6% DV) | 4 g (8% DV) |
| Protein per pack | 5 g | 4 g |
| Yellow 6 | Listed | Listed |
| TBHQ | None listed | Listed: soybean oil (with tbhq for freshness) |
| Sodium per 100 g (calculated here) | about 767 mg | about 846 mg |
| Added sugars per 100 g (calculated here) | about 7.0 g | about 10.3 g |
| Calories per 100 g (calculated here) | about 512 | about 487 |
| Protein per 100 g (calculated here) | about 11.6 g | about 10.3 g |
Per-100 g figures are calculated here by dividing per-pack values by pack weight. The labels do not print them.
Which Has Yellow 6 on the Label: Lance or Austin?
Both labels list Yellow 6 (FD&C Yellow No. 6 in the ingredient statement), per the Open Food Facts label photos for a 43 g Lance pack and a 39 g Austin pack. The photos may not match the package on the shelf today, so read the current ingredient statement before deciding anything.
On Lance's label, 'YELLOW 6' sits in the group marked 'contains 2% or less of,' between cheddar cheese and soy lecithin. On Austin's label, 'yellow 6' also sits in the 2% or less group, after whey and before malt powder. Neither label states how much Yellow 6 is used, so the amount is not disclosed.
FDA lists Yellow No. 6 as one of nine certified color additives approved for food, and lists its uses as 'cereals, snack foods, baked goods, gelatins, beverages, dessert powders, crackers, and sauces.' Synthetic colors must pass batch certification by FDA, per the FDA's color additives Q&A.
Why Are Austin Crackers Orange?
Yellow 6, a certified color additive listed in Austin's ingredient statement, is the colorant named on the label. Lance's label names it too. The label does not establish what causes the orange color beyond that ingredient name, and it does not disclose how much Yellow 6 is used, so the color level in either cracker is not known from the label.
For a broader look at how color-added and named-color labels differ, see how color-added and named-color labels compare in scanned products.
Does Lance Toast Chee Peanut Butter Sandwich Crackers Contain TBHQ, and Does Austin?
Lance's label lists no TBHQ. Its oil is listed as 'vegetable oils (soybean, palm and/or canola)' with no TBHQ named.
Austin's label lists 'soybean oil (with tbhq for freshness)' as its second ingredient, so TBHQ is the antioxidant added to that oil. The label does not state how much is used.
TBHQ, or tertiary butylhydroquinone, is an antioxidant that FDA allows in food under 21 CFR 172.185 to slow spoilage in fats and oils. Where it appears, TBHQ is listed inside the oil wording rather than as a separate ingredient.
How Much Sodium Is in Each Pack and Per 100 g of Lance vs Austin Crackers?
Per pack, neither has more: both show 330 mg (14% DV), with serving sizes of 43 g for Lance and 39 g for Austin. The per-pack numbers match, but the packs weigh different amounts.
Dividing per-pack sodium by pack weight gives about 767 mg per 100 g for Lance and about 846 mg per 100 g for Austin. These per-100 g figures are calculated here from the label values and are not printed on either package.
Which Has More Sodium, Lance or Austin Crackers?
Per pack, neither has more, since both show 330 mg. Per 100 g, calculated here, Austin has more, about 846 mg compared with about 767 mg for Lance, because its pack is 4 g lighter.
FDA's Daily Value for sodium is less than 2,300 mg per day. FDA's low and high sodium thresholds are set per serving: 5% DV or less per serving is low, and 20% DV or more per serving is high. At 14% DV per serving, each pack falls between those two benchmarks. The FDA guidance on sodium in the diet explains these figures, and the Nutrition Facts panel on any package gives the exact number to compare.
How Much Added Sugar Is in Lance Toast Chee vs Austin Crackers Per Pack?
Lance lists 3 g of added sugars per 43 g pack, which is 6% DV. Austin lists 4 g per 39 g pack, which is 8% DV. Lance's total sugars are 5 g, and Austin's total sugars are 4 g.
The ingredient lists name sugar, dextrose and, for Lance, corn syrup. Calculated here per 100 g, Lance is about 7.0 g of added sugars and Austin is about 10.3 g.
Open Food Facts' typed field lists 2 g of added sugars for Lance, but the label photo on the same page shows 3 g. This comparison uses 3 g.
How Many Calories and Grams of Protein Does Each Pack Provide: Lance vs Austin?
Lance's pack provides 220 calories and 5 g of protein per 43 g pack. Austin's pack provides 190 calories and 4 g of protein per 39 g package. Calculated here per 100 g, Lance is about 512 calories and 11.6 g of protein, and Austin is about 487 calories and 10.3 g of protein.
Other per-pack figures differ as well. Lance lists 11 g total fat (15% DV), 2.5 g saturated fat (13% DV) and under 1 g fiber (3% DV). Austin lists 9 g total fat (12% DV), 1.5 g saturated fat (8% DV) and 1 g fiber (4% DV).
Both labels list wheat, peanuts, milk and soy as allergens. Neither label's allergen statement is a substitute for reading the package you buy.
Why Do Lance and Austin List Yellow No. 6, and What Has FDA Said?
In an April 22, 2025 announcement, FDA and HHS said FDA is working with industry to eliminate six remaining synthetic dyes, including Yellow No. 6, from the food supply by the end of next year. The FDA announcement is the primary reference for this, and FDA still lists Yellow No. 6 as an approved certified color.
Neither label shows how either cracker affects an individual, and whether either brand has changed its Yellow 6 use has not been disclosed. For a second Yellow 6 label example, see the Fanta Orange and Friendly's Orange Cream label comparison.
What Does FDA Allow for TBHQ in Austin Crackers?
FDA allows TBHQ as an antioxidant in food under 21 CFR 172.185. The eCFR text of 21 CFR 172.185 states that the total antioxidant content of a food containing it will not exceed 0.02 percent of the oil or fat content of the food.
The Austin label does not state the TBHQ amount, so the cap is a regulatory ceiling and the actual amount in the cracker is not disclosed.
How Do You Check the Yellow 6 and TBHQ Status on Your Own Cracker Pack?
Read the ingredient statement on the exact package, because both additives appear by name in the ingredient text. Yellow 6 may appear as 'yellow 6' or 'FD&C Yellow No. 6,' and TBHQ appears in parentheses after an oil.
- Find the ingredient statement, which is printed on the package and separate from the Nutrition Facts panel.
- Look for 'yellow 6' or 'FD&C Yellow No. 6' in the list.
- Look for 'TBHQ' or 'tertiary butylhydroquinone' in the oil wording.
- Compare the serving size and calories with the Nutrition Facts panel on that pack.
- Note the pack weight, because per-100 g comparisons depend on it.
- Check the allergen and bioengineered statements on the same package.
Label versions change, so the pack in your hand is the reference, not a photo online. Taste reviews and price comparisons are opinions and are not covered here.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Why are Austin crackers orange?
- Yellow 6, a certified color additive listed in Austin's ingredient statement, is the colorant named on the label. Lance's label lists Yellow 6 too. The label does not establish what causes the orange color beyond that ingredient name, and it does not disclose how much Yellow 6 is used.
- Are Austin peanut butter crackers healthy?
- The label does not classify them as healthy or unhealthy. The Austin pack lists 190 calories, 330 mg sodium (14% DV), 4 g added sugars (8% DV) and 4 g protein per 39 g package, and whether that fits a person's needs depends on that person and their overall diet.
- Are Lance crackers bad for you?
- The label facts do not classify Lance Toast Chee as bad for you. The Lance pack lists 220 calories, 330 mg sodium (14% DV), 3 g added sugars (6% DV) and 5 g protein per 43 g pack, and its ingredient statement includes Yellow 6.
- Do Austin peanut butter crackers have gluten?
- The Austin label lists enriched wheat flour and carries a wheat allergen statement, so its listed ingredients are not gluten-free. The label does not state a gluten content.
- Which has more sodium, Lance or Austin crackers?
- Per pack, they are equal at 330 mg (14% DV). Per 100 g, calculated here from the pack weights, Austin is about 846 mg and Lance is about 767 mg, because Austin's pack weighs 39 g and Lance's weighs 43 g.
- Is TBHQ allowed in U.S. food?
- Yes. FDA allows TBHQ as an antioxidant under 21 CFR 172.185, capped at 0.02% of the food's oil or fat content, and the amount used in a specific cracker is not disclosed on the label.
Sources
- LANCE Toast Chee Peanut Butter Sandwich Crackers, Open Food Facts label (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- AUSTIN Peanut Butter on Cheese Sandwich Crackers, Open Food Facts label (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Color Additives: Questions and Answers for Consumers (fda.gov)
- HHS and FDA Announce Phase-Out of Petroleum-Based Synthetic Dyes (fda.gov)
- 21 CFR 172.185 Tertiary-butylhydroquinone (TBHQ) (ecfr.gov)
- Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Do Totino's Pizza Rolls Have Red 40? No - Nor Bagel BitesGuide
What's the Difference Between Claussen and Vlasic? Salt, BenzoateGuide
Does Fruity Pebbles Have Red 40? Fruity Pebbles vs Lucky CharmsGuide
Do Welch's or Mott's Fruit Snacks Have Red 40? 8 g vs 9 g Added SugarGuide
Frosted Flakes vs Froot Loops: Same 12 g Sugar, 4 Dyes vs 0Guide
Kraft Singles vs Velveeta Slices: 230 mg vs 260 mg Sodium
Related guides
Comparisons
Does Fruit by the Foot Have Red 40? Roll-Ups ComparedFruit by the Foot Berry Tie-Dye colors with spirulina and vegetable juice, but the Starburst flavor lists Red 40. Roll-Ups vary by flavor too. 9 g vs 7 g added sugar.
Comparisons
Do Totino's Pizza Rolls Have Red 40? No - Nor Bagel BitesNeither label lists Red 40. Totino's pepperoni rolls list BHA, BHT, TBHQ and imitation mozzarella; Bagel Bites list real part-skim mozzarella. Sodium per serving inside.
Comparisons
Does Prego Have Added Sugar? Yes, 4 g vs Ragú's <1 gPrego Traditional lists 4 g added sugar per 1/2 cup; Ragú Old World Style Traditional lists under 1 g. Sodium, oil and ingredient order compared.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy