Comparisons · October 25, 2026 · 9 min read
Does Fruity Pebbles Have Red 40? Fruity Pebbles vs Lucky Charms
Fruity Pebbles' current label still lists Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 and Blue 1. General Mills says Lucky Charms is now made without certified colors.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 25, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

The Fruity Pebbles brand page lists Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1 and BHT, while the Lucky Charms Jumbo Rainbow limited edition lists natural colors and vitamin E instead, and both cereals show 12g of added sugars per 1 cup (36g).
Key takeaways
- Fruity Pebbles' brand page lists Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1 and BHT in its ingredient list.
- The Lucky Charms Jumbo Rainbow limited edition lists 'Color (vegetable and fruit juice, carmine, spirulina extract, turmeric oleoresin, paprika oleoresin and other color added)' instead of the four certified dyes. The core box was not disclosed on the labels cited here.
- Both cereals show 140 calories and 12g added sugars per 1 cup (36g) on the labels cited.
- On August 26, 2026, General Mills said its US cereals are now made without certified colors and that 90% of its US retail portfolio has shed certified colors. The company is on track to remove them from all US retail products by the end of 2027.
- The older 38 oz Fruity Pebbles label on Open Food Facts listed BHT and BHA, while the current brand page lists BHT only. The box in hand is the best check.
Fruity Pebbles vs Lucky Charms at a Glance: Dyes, Sugar, and BHT in One Table
The table lists the figures printed on the labels cited in this article. Where a label did not disclose a value, the table says so instead of filling the gap.
| Factor | Fruity Pebbles (brand page) | Lucky Charms pre-reformulation (OFF) | Lucky Charms Jumbo Rainbow (limited edition) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Red 40 | Listed | Listed | Not listed |
| Yellow 5 | Listed | Listed | Not listed |
| Yellow 6 | Listed | Listed | Not listed |
| Blue 1 | Listed | Listed | Not listed |
| Other colors | Turmeric oleoresin (color) | Not separately listed | Vegetable and fruit juice, carmine, spirulina extract, turmeric oleoresin, paprika oleoresin |
| BHT | Listed (added to preserve freshness) | Not listed on cited label | Not listed on cited label |
| Other preservative | Not stated separately | Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) added to preserve freshness | Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) added to preserve freshness |
| Calories per 1 cup (36g) | 140 | 140 | 140 |
| Total fat | 1.5g | 1.5g | Not disclosed |
| Total carbohydrates | 31g | 30g | Not disclosed |
| Dietary fiber | 0g | 2g | Not disclosed |
| Total sugars | 12g | 12g | Not disclosed |
| Added sugars | 12g (25% DV) | 12g | Not disclosed |
| Protein | 1g | 3g | Not disclosed |
| Sodium | 190mg (8% DV) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
The pre-reformulation Lucky Charms column comes from an Open Food Facts entry (0016000123991). The Jumbo Rainbow column comes from the limited edition product page. Those are different packages, so read the two Lucky Charms columns as separate examples rather than as one product.
Which Dyes Are Listed on Fruity Pebbles and Lucky Charms Labels Today?
Yes, Fruity Pebbles still lists Red 40. The current brand page places Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 and Blue 1 under 'Contains 1% or less of,' alongside natural and artificial flavor, turmeric oleoresin (color) and BHT.
The pre-reformulation Lucky Charms label cited here is an Open Food Facts entry (0016000123991). It lists Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Red 40 and Blue 1 in its ingredient list. The Jumbo Rainbow limited edition on the brand site does not list those four certified dyes. Its color line reads 'Color (vegetable and fruit juice, carmine, spirulina extract, turmeric oleoresin, paprika oleoresin and other color added).' General Mills has not published the reformulated core-box ingredient list on its site, so the older Open Food Facts list should be read as the pre-reformulation label, not as what a new box says. Which natural color each marshmallow uses was not disclosed either.
What the Color Wording Means on a Label
FDA says certified color additives must be listed by name on labels, such as FD&C Blue No. 1 or Blue 1. Exempt colors can be grouped under wording such as 'color added,' with the exception of carmine and cochineal extract, which must be named because of potential allergic reactions. A label that says 'color added' therefore does not tell you which source was used, and a named FD&C dye does tell you that a certified color is present. FDA also says FD&C Red No. 40 is approved for use in cereal, and that most children have no adverse effects from color additives, though some evidence suggests certain children may be sensitive to them.
What Did General Mills Say About Removing Certified Colors?
General Mills said on August 26, 2026 (Food Business News) that it is now producing all of its US cereals, including Lucky Charms and Trix, without certified (FD&C) colors. The company said 90% of its US retail portfolio has shed certified colors and that it remains on track to remove them from all US retail products, including fruit snacks and baking items, by the end of 2027.
For Lucky Charms, the replacement visible on the brand site is the color line in the Jumbo Rainbow limited edition. That edition shows 140 calories per 1 cup and 11 servings per container. It is a limited edition, not the core box, so it should not be read as a description of every Lucky Charms package.
How Much Added Sugar Is in Fruity Pebbles vs Lucky Charms per 1 Cup (36g)?
Both cereals list 12g of added sugars per 1 cup (36g) on the labels cited here. Both labels also show 140 calories for that serving. The Fruity Pebbles label lists 12g of total sugars, all of it added, and marks that amount as 25% of the Daily Value. The cited Lucky Charms label lists 12g of total sugars and 12g of added sugars.
FDA sets the Daily Value for added sugars at 50 grams per day based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Because the two labels use the same 36g serving, the comparison is direct on the printed numbers. Serving sizes are set by each label, and a bowl may hold more or less than 1 cup, so the Nutrition Facts panel on your box is the reference for your own pour.
For the ingredient lists on the cited labels, Fruity Pebbles lists rice first and sugar second, and the cited Lucky Charms label lists whole grain oats first and sugar second. For a related comparison of sugar and dyes in another cereal pair, see Frosted Flakes vs Froot Loops: Same 12 g Sugar, 4 Dyes vs 0.
Does Fruity Pebbles Contain BHT, and Is Lucky Charms Listing BHT Today?
Yes, the current Fruity Pebbles brand page lists BHT only, described on the label as 'added to preserve freshness.' The older 38 oz Fruity Pebbles label on Open Food Facts listed BHT and BHA. The amount of BHT in Fruity Pebbles was not disclosed.
Federal rules set a ceiling. Under 21 CFR 172.115, BHT alone or combined with BHA in dry breakfast cereals is limited to 50 ppm total. That is the legal limit, not a measured level in any specific box.
The Lucky Charms labels cited here do not list BHT. The pre-reformulation label lists vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) added to preserve freshness, and the Jumbo Rainbow edition lists the same preservative. Whether the core Lucky Charms box lists BHT today was not disclosed on the labels cited here, so the printed ingredient list on that box is the most reliable check.
What Has FDA Said About Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 and Blue 1?
On April 22, 2025, HHS and FDA announced measures to phase out petroleum-based synthetic dyes, including working with industry to eliminate FD&C Red No. 40, Yellow No. 5, Yellow No. 6 and Blue No. 1 from the food supply by the end of 2026, along with Green No. 3 and Blue No. 2.
Company commitments vary. The CSPI synthetic dyes corporate commitment tracker, dated August 10, 2026, lists Post Holdings, which includes the PEBBLES brand, as 'No plan' for phasing out synthetic dyes. For General Mills, the tracker lists all products, with cereals by summer 2026 and all products by the end of 2027. No Post or Pebbles dye removal date was disclosed.
Who Should Read These Labels Most Closely, and What Was Not Disclosed?
Readers who check dye listings for their family, who follow ingredient lists for personal reasons, or who want to compare packages across brands may find these details useful. The main differences on the cited labels are the named dyes, the preservative line and the naming of colors.
The following details were not disclosed on the labels or pages cited in this article:
- The exact ingredient list and sodium content of the reformulated core Lucky Charms box.
- Which natural colors each Lucky Charms marshmallow now uses.
- Sodium for Lucky Charms, since the Open Food Facts values are inconsistent.
- Any Post or Pebbles dye removal date.
- Whether older Lucky Charms boxes with FD&C dyes are still on shelves.
- The amount of BHT in Fruity Pebbles.
How to Check the Dye and Preservative Listing on Your Own Cereal Box
The quickest way to compare is to read the ingredient list on the box in front of you. Use this checklist:
- Find the 'Contains 1% or less of' line. Dyes and BHT often appear there on Fruity Pebbles.
- Look for named dyes such as 'Red 40' or 'FD&C Red No. 40' versus general wording such as 'color added' or a list of natural sources.
- Check the preservative phrase for BHT, BHA or mixed tocopherols.
- Confirm the product name and size. Limited editions may list different colors from the core box.
- Compare the serving size on the Nutrition Facts panel with the bowl you pour, and read the added sugars line and its Daily Value.
- Note the package date and variety, since older labels may still be in stores.
For more on how color wording works, see Color Added vs Named Colors: 6 Scanned Labels Without FD&C Dyes.
If you want to check a box yourself, you can scan its label with the Aurascan app, which explains each ingredient one by one with cited evidence rather than a single score.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Fruity Pebbles have Red 40?
- Yes. The current Fruity Pebbles brand page lists Red 40, along with Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1 and BHT, under 'Contains 1% or less of.'
- Does Lucky Charms still have Red 40?
- The pre-reformulation Lucky Charms label cited here lists Red 40, but the Jumbo Rainbow limited edition does not list the four certified dyes. The core box ingredient list was not disclosed on the labels cited here, so check the box in hand.
- Which has more sugar, Fruity Pebbles or Lucky Charms?
- The labels cited here both show 12g of added sugars per 1 cup (36g) and 140 calories for that serving, so the printed added sugar figure is the same.
- Is Fruity Pebbles getting rid of artificial dyes?
- The CSPI tracker lists Post Holdings, which includes the PEBBLES brand, as 'No plan' for phasing out synthetic dyes. No Post or Pebbles dye removal date was disclosed.
- Does Lucky Charms contain BHT?
- The Lucky Charms labels cited here do not list BHT and instead list vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) as the preservative. Whether the core box lists BHT today was not disclosed on the labels cited here.
- What has FDA said about synthetic dyes in food?
- On April 22, 2025, HHS and FDA announced they would work with industry to eliminate Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1, Blue 2 and Green 3 from the food supply by the end of 2026.
- What is the legal limit for BHT in breakfast cereal?
- Under [21 CFR 172.115](https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/section-172.115), BHT alone or combined with BHA in dry breakfast cereals is limited to 50 ppm total. That is a legal ceiling, not a measured level in any specific box.
Sources
- Color Additives Questions and Answers for Consumers (fda.gov)
- HHS and FDA Announce Measures to Phase Out Petroleum-Based Synthetic Dyes (fda.gov)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- 21 CFR 172.115 Butylated hydroxyanisole and butylated hydroxytoluene (ecfr.gov)
- Fruity Pebbles Cereal Product Page (pebblescereal.com)
- Lucky Charms Jumbo Rainbow Limited Edition (luckycharms.com)
- Lucky Charms Cereal Label (Open Food Facts) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Fruity Pebbles 38 oz Label (Open Food Facts) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- General Mills Removes Artificial Colors From All US Cereals (foodbusinessnews.net)
- CSPI Synthetic Dyes Corporate Commitment Tracker (August 10, 2026) (cspi.org)
In this series
Guide
Do Welch's or Mott's Fruit Snacks Have Red 40? 8 g vs 9 g Added SugarGuide
Frosted Flakes vs Froot Loops: Same 12 g Sugar, 4 Dyes vs 0Guide
Kraft Singles vs Velveeta Slices: 230 mg vs 260 mg SodiumGuide
Skittles vs M&M's: Which Has More Dyes? Both Use the Same 5Guide
Color Added vs Named Colors: 6 Scanned Labels Without FD&C DyesGuide
Sunset Yellow in Pregnancy: New Rat Study Finds Few Effects
Related guides
Comparisons
Does Fruit by the Foot Have Red 40? Roll-Ups ComparedFruit by the Foot Berry Tie-Dye colors with spirulina and vegetable juice, but the Starburst flavor lists Red 40. Roll-Ups vary by flavor too. 9 g vs 7 g added sugar.
Comparisons
Which Has More Sodium, Lance or Austin? Both 330 mgLance Toast Chee and Austin peanut butter cheese crackers both list 330mg sodium and Yellow 6. Label numbers, pack sizes and the additive only Austin lists.
Comparisons
Do Totino's Pizza Rolls Have Red 40? No - Nor Bagel BitesNeither label lists Red 40. Totino's pepperoni rolls list BHA, BHT, TBHQ and imitation mozzarella; Bagel Bites list real part-skim mozzarella. Sodium per serving inside.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy