Comparisons · October 17, 2026 · Updated October 26, 2026 · 9 min read
Skittles vs M&M's: Which Has More Dyes? Both Use the Same 5
Skittles Original and M&M's Milk Chocolate both list Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1 and Blue 2. Skittles packs 45 g sugar per 2.17 oz; M&M's 31 g per 1.69 oz.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 26, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Yes, Skittles and M&M'S are made by the same company: both are Mars brands. Skittles Original (2.17 oz pack, 61.5 g serving) and M&M'S Milk Chocolate (1.69 oz pack, 47.9 g serving) list the same five certified FD&C dyes on their current labels, with no Red No. 3 or titanium dioxide in those lists. The main label differences are sugar per pack, the milk and soy declared on M&M'S, and the absence of an allergen statement on Skittles.
Key takeaways
- Current labels for both packs list Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1 and Blue 2 as dyes and aluminum lakes, with no Red No. 3 or titanium dioxide in the current lists.
- Older Skittles packs may still show titanium dioxide, as one Open Food Facts record for the same barcode does, so check the pack in hand.
- Skittles declare no major allergen. M&M'S Milk Chocolate declare milk and soy, and the 5.3 oz bag carries a may-contain-peanuts trace statement.
- Per pack, Skittles list 45 g added sugar and M&M'S list 29 g. These figures come from different pack weights (61.5 g vs 47.9 g), so they are not like-for-like. Per 100 g, total sugar is roughly 73 g for Skittles versus 65 g for M&M'S.
- In April 2025, HHS and the FDA said they would work with industry to eliminate six synthetic dyes, including all five on these labels. EFSA concluded in 2021 that titanium dioxide can no longer be considered safe as a food additive.
Skittles vs M&M's at a Glance: Which Label Lists What?
The table compares the standard dye-containing packs only. Each column uses the serving size printed on that label.
| Label item | Skittles Original, 2.17 oz (serving 61.5 g) | M&M'S Milk Chocolate, 1.69 oz (serving 47.9 g) |
|---|---|---|
| Certified dyes listed | Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1, Blue 2, as dyes and lakes | Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1, Blue 2, as dyes and lakes |
| Red No. 3 | Not listed | Not listed |
| Titanium dioxide | Not in current list | Not listed |
| Milk | Not listed | Milk chocolate, skim milk, lactose, milkfat |
| Soy | Not listed | Soy lecithin |
| Calories | 250 | 230 |
| Total fat | 2.5 g | 9 g |
| Total sugars | 45 g (45 g added) | 31 g (29 g added) |
| Sodium | 10 mg | 35 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 56 g | 35 g |
| Protein | 0 g | 2 g |
The nutrition figures are per pack, since each pack is one serving. Formulations and packaging can change, so the Nutrition Facts panel on the package in hand is the reference for that product.
Do Skittles or M&M's Contain Titanium Dioxide on the Current Label?
The current Skittles Original ingredient list on skittles.com contains no titanium dioxide. The Open Food Facts record for M&M'S Milk Chocolate, barcode 040000000310 (Open Food Facts), is marked updated 2026-07 and also lists none.
Skittles.com states that the listed ingredients reflect the current formulation, that the brand is updating its packaging, and that previous packaging with former formulations may still be found on shelves. That matters because an Open Food Facts record for the same 2.17 oz pack, barcode 040000001607 (Open Food Facts), still shows titanium dioxide among the colors. The date Skittles removed titanium dioxide in the US is not disclosed.
Do Skittles still have titanium dioxide?
On the current formulation listed by skittles.com, titanium dioxide does not appear. Older packs may still show it, so the printed ingredient list on the bag in hand is the most direct check.
Which Dyes Are in Skittles vs M&M's, and What Is the Red 3 Deadline?
Both current lists name the same five certified FD&C dyes, each as a dye and as an aluminum lake: Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1 and Blue 2. Neither list includes Red No. 3.
Which has more food dye, Skittles or M&M's?
The labels do not disclose milligram amounts of each dye in either candy, so the ingredient lists cannot show which pack contains more dye. They show the same colors, not the quantities.
What dyes are in M&M's?
The Open Food Facts record lists Blue 1 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Red 40, Blue 1, Blue 2 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake and Blue 2 under coloring. Blue 1 appears on both current lists, and its own profile is covered in Is Blue 1 (Brilliant Blue FCF, E133) Safe? Uses and Labels.
FDA has revoked Red No. 3 for food, and manufacturers have until January 15, 2027 to reformulate, according to FDA's Red No. 3 page. Neither candy's current list includes Red No. 3, so the deadline does not change the dye list on these two labels.
On April 22, 2025, HHS and the FDA announced they would work with industry to eliminate six synthetic dyes from the food supply 'by the end of next year' (FDA press announcement). The six are FD&C Green No. 3, Red No. 40, Yellow No. 5, Yellow No. 6, Blue No. 1 and Blue No. 2. The announcement is not a ban. Each listed dye remains subject to batch certification under 21 CFR Part 74, according to FDA's color additive inventory.
A 2007 randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial enrolled 153 three-year-olds and 144 eight- and nine-year-olds. Drinks containing artificial food color mixes plus sodium benzoate increased hyperactivity scores. That trial tested mixes rather than any single dye, so it cannot be used to attribute an effect to Red 40 or any other color in these candies.
How Much Sugar Is in Skittles vs M&M's Per Pack and Per 100 g?
Skittles list 45 g of total sugars per 61.5 g pack, all of it added sugar. M&M'S Milk Chocolate list 31 g of total sugars per 47.9 g pack, including 29 g added sugar.
Per pack, Skittles show more sugar. Because the packs differ in weight, the per-100 g comparison narrows the gap: roughly 73 g of sugar per 100 g for Skittles versus roughly 65 g for M&M'S. These are calculations from the per-pack figures, not separately printed values.
Skittles vs M&M's sugar: which label shows more?
The Skittles label shows 45 g of added sugar per pack, listed as 90% of the Daily Value. The M&M'S record does not list a Daily Value percentage for sugar, so that percentage comparison cannot be made from the available data.
Do Skittles or M&M's Contain Milk, Soy or Other Allergens?
M&M'S Milk Chocolate declare milk and soy. Skittles Original declare no major allergen, and its ingredient list contains no milk, egg, peanut, soy or gelatin.
The M&M'S milk chocolate contains skim milk, lactose, milkfat and soy lecithin. The Open Food Facts record for the 5.3 oz bag, barcode 040000017318, carries a may-contain-peanuts trace statement.
Are Skittles dairy free?
The Skittles Original ingredient list contains no milk ingredient. A dairy-free claim, shared-equipment information and any cross-contact statement are not disclosed for this pack.
Label checks for readers managing allergies:
- Read the allergen statement on the pack in hand, since the Skittles listing has none.
- Look for 'may contain' trace statements, such as the one on the 5.3 oz M&M'S bag.
- Read the full ingredient list, including the 'less than 2%' section.
- Remember that formulations and packaging can change between production runs.
This article cannot assess how any individual responds to a given ingredient, so people with milk, soy or peanut allergies should rely on the current package and their own clinicians.
Why Do US and EU Regulators Disagree on Titanium Dioxide in Candy Coatings?
EFSA concluded on May 6, 2021 that titanium dioxide (E171) 'can no longer be considered safe as a food additive' because genotoxicity concerns could not be excluded (EFSA news release). That statement is the regulator position behind the EU's restrictive stance. It is a conclusion about the available evidence, not a finding that the additive has caused harm in people.
In the US, a Color Additive Petition filed on April 14, 2023 asks the FDA to repeal the food listing for titanium dioxide. The petition has been filed and the FDA is currently reviewing it. The agency's titanium dioxide color additive page is the place to check the listing status. For a recent lab study on digested titanium dioxide, see Digested Titanium Dioxide Damaged Gut Cells in a Lab Study.
What Are the Fat Sources and Calorie Differences in Skittles vs M&M's?
Skittles Original list 250 calories and 2.5 g total fat per 61.5 g pack. The fat source is listed as hydrogenated palm kernel oil. M&M'S Milk Chocolate list 230 calories, 9 g total fat and 6 g saturated fat per 47.9 g pack. The fat in M&M'S comes from its milk chocolate ingredients, which include milkfat.
Saturated fat is 2.5 g on the Skittles panel, shown as 13% of the Daily Value. Skittles list 10 mg sodium, 56 g total carbohydrate and 0 g protein. M&M'S list 35 mg sodium, 35 g total carbohydrate, 1 g fiber and 2 g protein. No fiber figure is given for Skittles.
Because the packs differ in weight, per-pack figures are not a per-gram comparison. The Nutrition Facts panel on the package in hand is the authoritative version for that product.
Are Dye-Free or Naturally Colored Versions of Skittles and M&M's Available?
Yes, Mars sells versions of Skittles and M&M's made without FD&C colors. This comparison covers only the standard dye-containing packs, and the ingredients of those versions are not described here.
Aurascan's coverage of these launches is in Mars Skittles and M&M's Without FD&C Colors.
What Remains Unverified or Changing for Skittles vs M&M's?
The FDA's April 2025 plan to phase out six petroleum-based dyes is not a ban, and those dyes remain listed for use. The FDA's review of the titanium dioxide petition remains open. Skittles says its packaging is being updated, so packs on shelves may differ from the listings described here.
Not disclosed: the milligram amount of each dye in either candy, the date Skittles removed titanium dioxide in the US, whether Skittles are certified vegan (sugar processing is not disclosed), and the ingredient lists of Mars' dye-free versions.
The evidence has clear limits. It cannot show how any individual responds to these dyes or additives. The 2007 trial tested color mixes in children, not these candies or adults eating them. Research on the particle form of titanium dioxide is still open, and no effect from the amounts in one pack is established here.
Labels change, so the most useful step is to read the pack you are holding, or scan it with the Aurascan app to see each ingredient explained one by one with cited evidence.
Related reading: Does Fruity Pebbles Have Red 40? Fruity Pebbles vs Lucky Charms.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Which has more food dye, Skittles or M&M's?
- Both current ingredient lists name the same five certified FD&C dyes: Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1 and Blue 2. Milligram amounts of each dye are not disclosed for either candy, so the labels cannot show which pack contains more dye.
- Do Skittles still contain titanium dioxide?
- The current Skittles Original ingredient list on skittles.com contains no titanium dioxide. An Open Food Facts record for the same 2.17 oz pack, barcode 040000001607, still shows it, so older packs may list it. The date Skittles removed it in the US is not disclosed.
- What dyes are in M&M's Milk Chocolate?
- The Open Food Facts record for the 1.69 oz pack lists Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1 and Blue 2 as dyes and aluminum lakes under coloring. Red No. 3 and titanium dioxide are not listed.
- Are Skittles dairy free?
- The Skittles Original ingredient list contains no milk ingredient, and the pack declares no major allergen. A dairy-free claim, shared-equipment information and cross-contact details are not disclosed.
- How much sugar is in a pack of Skittles vs M&M's?
- A 61.5 g Skittles pack lists 45 g total sugars, all added. A 47.9 g M&M'S Milk Chocolate pack lists 31 g total sugars, including 29 g added. Because the pack weights differ, per 100 g the figures are roughly 73 g and 65 g.
- What is the Red 3 deadline for food?
- FDA revoked Red No. 3 for food, and manufacturers have until January 15, 2027 to reformulate. Neither candy's current list includes Red No. 3.
- Are Skittles and M&M's made by the same company?
- Yes. Mars lists both Skittles and M&M'S among its snacking brands. The two candies still have different ingredient lists: M&M'S Milk Chocolate declares milk and soy, while Skittles Original declares no major allergen.
Sources
- Skittles Original Fruity Candy Single Pack 2.17 oz (skittles.com)
- M&M'S Milk Chocolate, Open Food Facts label record, barcode 040000000310 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Skittles Original Single Pack, Open Food Facts label record, barcode 040000001607 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- HHS and FDA Announce Plan to Phase Out Petroleum-Based Synthetic Dyes (fda.gov)
- Summary of Color Additives for Use in the United States in Foods, Drugs, Cosmetics, and Medical Devices (fda.gov)
- Titanium Dioxide as a Color Additive in Foods (fda.gov)
- Titanium Dioxide (E171) No Longer Considered Safe When Used as a Food Additive (efsa.europa.eu)
In this series
Guide
Color Added vs Named Colors: 6 Scanned Labels Without FD&C DyesGuide
Sunset Yellow in Pregnancy: New Rat Study Finds Few EffectsGuide
Fanta Orange vs Friendly's Orange Cream: Two Yellow 6 LabelsGuide
Gatorade Recall: 122,021 Cases Had Undeclared Yellow DyesGuide
Doritos Nacho Cheese vs Pringles Hot Honey: Label CheckGuide
Unlisted Dyes and Sulfites Trigger Three FDA Recalls
Related guides
Comparisons
Which Has More Sodium, Lance or Austin? Both 330 mgLance Toast Chee and Austin peanut butter cheese crackers both list 330mg sodium and Yellow 6. Label numbers, pack sizes and the additive only Austin lists.
Comparisons
Does Fruit by the Foot Have Red 40? Roll-Ups ComparedFruit by the Foot Berry Tie-Dye colors with spirulina and vegetable juice, but the Starburst flavor lists Red 40. Roll-Ups vary by flavor too. 9 g vs 7 g added sugar.
Comparisons
Do Totino's Pizza Rolls Have Red 40? No - Nor Bagel BitesNeither label lists Red 40. Totino's pepperoni rolls list BHA, BHT, TBHQ and imitation mozzarella; Bagel Bites list real part-skim mozzarella. Sodium per serving inside.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy