Aurascan

Comparisons · October 19, 2026 · Updated October 26, 2026 · 8 min read

Kraft Singles vs Velveeta Slices: 230 mg vs 260 mg Sodium

Per 21 g slice, Kraft Singles list 230 mg sodium and 50 calories; Velveeta slices list 260 mg and 40. Both are colored with annatto plus paprika.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 26, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two stacks of square cheese slices beside paprika and annatto seeds

Kraft Singles American and Velveeta Original Slices are both pasteurized cheese products sold in 12 oz packs of 16 slices, but their labels differ in first ingredient, added oil and gelatin, and color sources. Per 21 g slice, the manufacturers list 50 calories and 230 mg sodium for Kraft Singles, and 40 calories and 260 mg sodium for Velveeta Original Slices. This comparison lays the printed label facts side by side so you can weigh them yourself.

Key takeaways

  • The first ingredient differs: cheddar cheese for Kraft Singles, whey for Velveeta Original Slices.
  • Velveeta Original Slices list canola oil and gelatin, which the Kraft Singles ingredient list does not.
  • The color sources differ: oleoresin paprika and annatto extract for Kraft Singles, paprika extract and annatto for Velveeta Original Slices.
  • Per 21 g slice, Kraft Singles list 3.5 g total fat and Velveeta Original Slices list 2 g.
  • Per 21 g slice, Kraft Singles list 230 mg sodium, compared with 260 mg for Velveeta Original Slices.

How do Kraft Singles American and Velveeta Original Slices compare at a glance?

Kraft Singles American lists 50 calories, 230 mg sodium and 3.5 g total fat per 21 g slice, while Velveeta Original Slices list 40 calories, 260 mg sodium and 2 g total fat for the same serving size. The table also includes the Velveeta Original loaf, which uses a 28 g serving, so its figures are not a slice-for-slice match. The 3.5 g fat figure for Kraft Singles is the one printed by the manufacturer, and a database discrepancy is covered in the sodium section below.

Label factKraft Singles American (1 slice, 21 g)Velveeta Original Slices (1 slice, 21 g)Velveeta Original loaf (1 oz, 28 g)
Calories504070
Total fat3.5 g2 g4 g
Saturated fat2 g0.5 g1 g
Cholesterol15 mg5 mg10 mg
Sodium230 mg (10% DV)260 mg (12% DV)390 mg (17% DV)
Total carbohydrates2 g3 g3 g
Fiber0 g0 gNot disclosed
Total sugars2 g2 g2 g
Added sugars0 g0 g0 g
Protein4 g3 g4 g
Calcium330 mg (25% DV)150 mg (10% DV)230 mg (20% DV)
Potassium60 mgNot disclosedNot disclosed
First ingredientCheddar cheeseWheySkim milk
Color listingsOleoresin paprika, annatto extractPaprika extract and annattoApocarotenal and annatto

The loaf is listed per 1 oz (28 g), and its ingredient list differs from the slices, so it is best read as a separate product.

Why do both labels say 'cheese product' instead of 'cheese'?

The labels do not explain why each company chose the 'cheese product' wording. The printed names are "Kraft Singles American Pasteurized Prepared Cheese Product" and "Velveeta Slices Original Pasteurized Recipe Cheese Product." The category words differ, with 'prepared' on the Kraft label and 'recipe' on the Velveeta label.

What the labels do show is that both slice products contain milk-derived ingredients, including whey and milk protein concentrate, and both declare CONTAINS: MILK. Treat the name as a category label, then read the ingredient list and Nutrition Facts panel for the specifics.

What is the first ingredient difference between the two slices?

Kraft Singles lists cheddar cheese first, while Velveeta Original Slices list whey first and do not include cheddar cheese in the printed ingredient list. Position on the list is a useful starting point for comparing formulas, though it does not show how much of each ingredient is present. Other differences are easy to scan:

  • Kraft Singles only: cheddar cheese (cultured milk, salt, enzymes) and skim milk listed near the top.
  • Velveeta Original Slices only: canola oil, sodium citrate, natural flavor and gelatin (contains less than 2%).
  • Both slices: whey, milkfat, milk protein concentrate, modified food starch, calcium phosphate, sodium phosphate, lactic acid, sorbic acid as a preservative, enzymes, cheese culture and vitamin A palmitate.

The Velveeta Original loaf starts with skim milk, lists canola oil and sodium alginate, and does not list gelatin. The labels do not show whether these differences reflect a deliberate formulation choice.

Which colors do the two slices use, and where do the names appear?

Kraft Singles uses oleoresin paprika and annatto extract, Velveeta Original Slices use paprika extract and annatto, and the Velveeta Original loaf uses apocarotenal and annatto. None of these three ingredient lists includes an FD&C certified dye such as Yellow 5 or Yellow 6.

The amount of any of these colors per slice is not disclosed on the labels, so the table shows which colors are listed, not how much of each is present. For background on annatto alone, see Annatto: The Seed Color in Cheese and Snacks. Apocarotenal appears only in the loaf's ingredient list among the three products compared here.

What is the regulatory status of annatto, paprika and apocarotenal?

FDA's summary of color additives lists annatto extract, beta-apo-8'-carotenal, paprika and paprika oleoresin among color additives exempt from batch certification. Exempt from batch certification does not mean exempt from approval. FDA's consumer questions and answers state that these colors must still be approved before they can be used in foods. Beta-apo-8'-carotenal is covered by 21 CFR 73.90.

FDA's consumer guidance says the totality of evidence indicates most children have no adverse effects from color additives, but some evidence suggests certain children may be sensitive.

How do the sodium and calorie numbers compare per slice?

Per 21 g slice, Kraft Singles lists 230 mg sodium (10% DV) and Velveeta Original Slices list 260 mg sodium (12% DV), a 30 mg difference as printed. Kraft Singles list 50 calories and 2 g saturated fat per slice, while Velveeta Original Slices list 40 calories and 0.5 g saturated fat. Cholesterol is 15 mg per slice for Kraft and 5 mg for Velveeta.

The Velveeta Original loaf lists 70 calories, 390 mg sodium (17% DV) and 1 g saturated fat per 1 oz (28 g). Because that serving is larger, it should not be read as directly comparable to a slice. Sodium is listed per serving, so your total depends on how many servings you eat.

The fat figure for Kraft Singles needs a note. Kraft's product page lists 3.5 g total fat per slice, while Open Food Facts lists 2 g for the same product. This article uses the manufacturer figure, and the package itself is the best check.

What has EFSA said about annatto, and what was not disclosed?

EFSA's food additives panel published a 2019 scientific opinion on annatto (E 160b). It concluded that annatto E does not raise concern for genotoxicity, applied the acceptable daily intakes set in 2016 (6 mg bixin and 0.3 mg norbixin per kg of body weight per day), and found that the estimated level of dietary exposure does not raise a health concern. The opinion assesses annatto as a food additive across the whole diet; it is not a study of cheese slices.

The labels do not disclose the amount of annatto, paprika or apocarotenal in one slice, the prevalence of annatto allergy or sensitivity, or whether slice and loaf formulas differ by region.

How can you spot these colors and the cheese product label on a package?

Start with the product name and the ingredient list, then check the Nutrition Facts panel. A simple checklist helps:

  • Compare the statement of identity: "Pasteurized Prepared Cheese Product" for Kraft Singles and "Pasteurized Recipe Cheese Product" for Velveeta Slices.
  • Look for "(COLOR)" after paprika, annatto or apocarotenal in the ingredient list.
  • Read the first ingredient: cheddar cheese, whey or skim milk.
  • Check for canola oil and gelatin, which appear in the Velveeta Original Slices list.
  • Match the serving size: 21 g for a slice, 28 g for the loaf.
  • Check for FD&C names such as Yellow 5 or Yellow 6, which do not appear in these three lists.

For a broader look at how color labels are written, see Color Added vs Named Colors: 6 Scanned Labels Without FD&C Dyes. Third-party databases can differ from the brand page, as the Kraft Singles total fat figure shows, so the package itself is the best reference.

Who should check these labels more closely, and what details were not disclosed?

People who track sodium, saturated fat or cholesterol may want to compare the per-serving figures above. Because both slice products declare milk, people with milk allergies should read the allergen statement on their own package, and the loaf package should be checked directly for its CONTAINS statement. Parents of young children may also want to note FDA's point about possible sensitivity in some children, though the evidence does not quantify it.

The following details are not disclosed on these labels: the reason for the 'cheese product' names, the amount of each color per slice, the prevalence of annatto allergy or sensitivity, and whether slice and loaf formulas differ by region. Product labels also change over time, so the package in your hands is the reliable source.

Scan the barcode on your own package with the Aurascan app to read each ingredient explained with its evidence.

Related reading: Does Shredded Cheese Have Cellulose? Sargento Yes, Tillamook No.

Related reading: for a dairy-free spread, see Is Kite Hill Real Cream Cheese? Kite Hill vs Philadelphia.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Is Kraft Singles real cheese?
The label reads "Kraft Singles American Pasteurized Prepared Cheese Product," and its first ingredient is cheddar cheese, followed by skim milk, whey and milkfat.
Is Velveeta real cheese?
The Velveeta Slices label reads "Pasteurized Recipe Cheese Product," and its first ingredient is whey, with no cheddar cheese in the printed list.
Is annatto in cheese bad for you?
EFSA's 2019 opinion concluded that annatto E does not raise concern for genotoxicity and that estimated dietary exposure does not raise a health concern. In the U.S., FDA lists annatto extract as a color additive exempt from batch certification that must still be approved before use in foods. Neither label discloses how much annatto one slice contains.
What is apocarotenal?
Apocarotenal is the color term in the Velveeta Original loaf ingredient list, and it does not appear in the Kraft Singles or Velveeta Original Slices lists. FDA's regulation at 21 CFR 73.90 covers beta-apo-8'-carotenal.
How much sodium is in one Kraft Singles slice?
One 21 g slice of Kraft Singles American lists 230 mg sodium, which is 10% DV, according to the manufacturer's listed serving.
Are annatto, paprika or apocarotenal banned in U.S. food?
No. FDA lists annatto extract, beta-apo-8'-carotenal, paprika and paprika oleoresin as approved color additives exempt from batch certification.
Do these cheese slices contain FD&C dyes like Yellow 5 or Yellow 6?
No FD&C certified dyes such as Yellow 5 or Yellow 6 appear in the printed ingredient lists for Kraft Singles American, Velveeta Original Slices or the Velveeta Original loaf.

Sources

  1. Kraft Singles American Cheese Slices product page (kraftheinz.com)
  2. Velveeta Slices Original product page (kraftheinz.com)
  3. Velveeta Original cheese loaf product page (kraftheinz.com)
  4. Open Food Facts: UPC 0021000604647 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  5. Summary of Color Additives for Use in the United States in Foods, Drugs, Cosmetics, and Medical Devices (fda.gov)
  6. Color Additives: Questions and Answers for Consumers (fda.gov)
  7. 21 CFR 73.90 - beta-Apo-8'-carotenal (law.cornell.edu)
  8. Safety of annatto E and the exposure to the annatto colouring principles bixin and norbixin (E 160b) when used as a food additive (PMC) (ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy