Aurascan

Comparisons · October 25, 2026 · Updated October 29, 2026 · 9 min read

Tyson vs Perdue Dino Nuggets: Which Is Healthier? 13 g vs 9 g Protein

Tyson Dino Nuggets list 13 g protein per 4 pieces (87 g) to Perdue's 9 g (76 g); both have 12 g fat, with 430 mg vs 400 mg sodium.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 29, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of Two small plates of dinosaur-shaped chicken nuggets side by side

Per 4 pieces, Tyson Dino Nuggets list 13 g protein, 210 calories and 430 mg sodium, and Perdue Dino-Shaped Chicken Breast Nuggets list 9 g protein, 190 calories and 400 mg sodium; both list 12 g fat.

Tyson Dino Nuggets and Perdue Dino-Shaped Chicken Breast Nuggets print different numbers on their Nutrition Facts panels. Per 4-piece serving, Tyson (87 g) lists 210 calories, 13 g protein and 430 mg sodium, while Perdue (76 g) lists 190 calories, 9 g protein and 400 mg sodium. Because the serving weights differ, per-100-gram figures are needed for a fair reading, and this guide sets both labels side by side without declaring a healthier winner.

Key takeaways

  • Per 4 pieces: Tyson lists 210 calories, 13 g protein and 430 mg sodium; Perdue lists 190 calories, 9 g protein and 400 mg sodium.
  • Per 100 g (calculated from the panels): about 241 vs 250 kcal, 14.9 vs 11.8 g protein and 494 vs 526 mg sodium.
  • The ingredient lists differ: Tyson leads with white meat chicken and whole wheat flour, while Perdue leads with boneless chicken breast with rib meat and also lists dextrose, leavening and guar gum.
  • FDA sets the sodium Daily Value at less than 2,300 mg per day and says recommended limits for children under 14 are even lower.

How do Tyson and Perdue dino nuggets compare at a glance per 4-piece serving?

Per 4 pieces, Tyson lists 13 g protein and 1 g fiber; Perdue lists 9 g protein and 0 g fiber. The table below shows both Nutrition Facts panels as printed on each brand's product page.

Nutrient (per 4 pieces)Tyson Dino Nuggets (87 g)Perdue Dino-Shaped Chicken Breast Nuggets (76 g)
Calories210190
Total fat12 g (15% DV)12 g (15% DV)
Saturated fat3 g2.5 g (13% DV)
Trans fat0 gNot disclosed
Cholesterol40 mg35 mg
Sodium430 mg (19% DV)400 mg (17% DV)
Total carbohydrate11 g11 g
Dietary fiber1 g0 g
Total sugars0 g1 g (total sugars only; added sugars not disclosed)
Added sugars0 gNot disclosed
Protein13 g (26% DV)9 g (17% DV)
Iron1 mg (% DV not listed)6% DV (mg not listed)
Potassium230 mgNot disclosed

Tyson's bag is a 29 oz package with about 9 servings per container (UPC 00023700014528). Recipes and panels can change, so check the label on the package you buy before relying on any number here.

Which has more protein per 4-piece serving, Tyson or Perdue dino nuggets?

Tyson Dino Nuggets have more protein per 4-piece serving, with 13 g (26% DV) compared with 9 g (17% DV) for Perdue Dino-Shaped Chicken Breast Nuggets. Part of that gap reflects serving size, since Tyson's 4 pieces weigh 87 g and Perdue's weigh 76 g. Per 100 grams, the calculated figures are 14.9 g of protein for Tyson and 11.8 g for Perdue.

FDA's how-to guide for the Nutrition Facts label describes 20% DV or more per serving as a high amount of a nutrient, and 5% DV or less as a low amount. Tyson's panel shows 26% DV for protein and Perdue's shows 17%. These percentages are a labeling reference, not a recommendation for how much protein a child should eat.

For another nugget comparison, see Are MorningStar Chik'n Nuggets Vegan? Yes, and So Is Gardein.

How much sodium is in each nugget, and how does it compare to FDA limits?

Tyson lists 430 mg (19% DV) and Perdue lists 400 mg (17% DV) per 4 pieces, both below FDA's 2,300 mg Daily Value reference, as described in FDA's guidance on sodium in your diet. Per 100 grams the order reverses, with about 494 mg for Tyson and about 526 mg for Perdue, because Perdue's 4 pieces weigh less.

FDA also says recommended limits for children under age 14 are even lower than the adult reference. FDA's page does not give a child-specific milligram figure. Both products sit between the 5% DV low mark and the 20% DV high mark, so neither panel shows a sodium figure in the low range.

When you add up sodium across a meal, the serving size on the panel is the starting point. If a child eats more or fewer than 4 pieces, the per-piece totals change in proportion. Reading the mg figure on the actual package is more reliable than estimating from memory.

How many calories and grams of fat are in Tyson vs Perdue dino nuggets?

Tyson lists 210 calories and 12 g of total fat per 4 pieces; Perdue lists 190 calories and 12 g of total fat. Both labels show 15% DV for total fat. Tyson lists 3 g of saturated fat, and Perdue lists 2.5 g (13% DV). Tyson's panel shows 0 g trans fat, while Perdue's trans fat figure is not disclosed on the panel data used here.

Cholesterol is 40 mg for Tyson and 35 mg for Perdue. Per 100 grams, the calculated calorie values are about 241 kcal for Tyson and 250 kcal for Perdue. Calculated from the panels, total fat is 13.8 g per 100 g for Tyson (12 g / 87 g x 100) and 15.8 g per 100 g for Perdue (12 g / 76 g x 100). These per-100-gram fat values are calculations, not figures printed by either brand, and they rely on the serving weights shown on the Tyson product page and the Perdue product page.

For a saturated fat comparison between two other packaged foods, see Impossible vs Beyond Burger: 6 g vs 2 g Saturated Fat.

What is in the full ingredient list of Tyson vs Perdue dino nuggets?

Tyson's ingredients begin with white meat chicken, water, whole wheat flour and wheat flour, followed by a group of ingredients listed as 2% or less, including dried garlic, dried onion, dried yeast, extractives of paprika, food starch, natural flavoring, salt, spice, sugar and yellow corn flour. The label says the breading is set in vegetable oil, and the type of vegetable oil is not specified.

Perdue's ingredients begin with boneless chicken breast with rib meat, water, wheat flour and yellow corn flour. The next group, listed as 2% or less, includes vinegar, salt, sugar, dextrose, leavening (cream of tartar and sodium bicarbonate), spice, yeast, guar gum, garlic powder, extractives of paprika, natural flavor and black pepper extract.

The main differences are these:

  • Flour: Tyson's first flour is whole wheat flour. Perdue's first flour is plain wheat flour.
  • Sweeteners: Both list sugar, but Perdue also lists dextrose. Tyson's list does not include dextrose.
  • Leavening and thickeners: Perdue lists leavening and guar gum. Tyson's list includes neither.
  • Other seasonings: Tyson lists dried garlic and dried onion, while Perdue lists garlic powder, vinegar and black pepper extract.
  • Shared items: Both list wheat flour, yellow corn flour and extractives of paprika, and both list a natural flavor ingredient.

Both labels indicate wheat. Neither brand page used here makes a gluten-free or dairy-free claim.

Are Tyson Dino Nuggets real chicken, and are Perdue dino nuggets chicken breast?

Yes, Tyson lists white meat chicken as its first ingredient; Perdue lists boneless chicken breast with rib meat as its first ingredient. Tyson's product page says it is made with white meat chicken. In both cases chicken is the first ingredient, but neither panel states what percentage of the finished nugget is chicken, so the meat-to-breading ratio is not disclosed.

The panel protein figure is for the whole serving as printed (13 g for Tyson and 9 g for Perdue). Reading the ingredient list order and the protein line together gives a more complete picture than either one alone.

How do per-100-gram numbers change the Tyson and Perdue dino nugget comparison?

Per 100 grams, Tyson is about 241 kcal, 14.9 g protein and 494 mg sodium, while Perdue is about 250 kcal, 11.8 g protein and 526 mg sodium. These figures are calculated from each panel, and neither brand prints them.

The per-serving and per-100-gram views point in different directions. Per serving, Tyson has more calories and more sodium. Per 100 grams, Perdue has more calories and more sodium. Protein is higher for Tyson in both views. Because serving sizes are set by each manufacturer, a child's actual portion depends on how many pieces are served, not on the label's gram weight.

How can parents spot these differences on a frozen nugget label?

Start with the serving size in grams and pieces, then compare protein, sodium and sugars at the same serving size. Read the ingredient list from the top. Check whether chicken is named as white meat, chicken breast or another form, and read the allergen statement.

  • Serving size in grams and in pieces
  • Calories and total fat, plus saturated fat and its % DV
  • Sodium in mg and % DV, compared with FDA's 2,300 mg per day reference
  • Protein in grams and % DV
  • Total sugars and added sugars, noting when an added sugar figure is not printed
  • Sugar-type ingredients such as dextrose, and leavening or gum ingredients
  • Allergen statement (Perdue's page lists wheat, and both ingredient lists contain wheat flour)

Aurascan is a food-label scanner app for iPhone with a free tier.

Evidence limits: these figures describe two specific products as printed on brand pages and calculated from those panels. They do not show how an individual child will respond to sodium, sugar, fat or protein, they do not cover every package variant or region, and they do not measure how sodium or fat changes after air frying or oven baking. FDA describes lower sodium limits for children under 14 without giving a number, so this guide does not supply one. The label on your package is the most reliable source.

To see how each ingredient on these labels reads, scan the package yourself with the Aurascan food-label scanner app.

Related reading: for the fries next to the nuggets, see Ore-Ida vs McCain Extra Crispy Crinkles.

Related reading: for frozen fish sticks label to label, see Is Gorton's Healthier Than Van de Kamp's? Fillet vs Minced.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Are Tyson or Perdue chicken nuggets better?
The label figures do not name one as better, because the two products trade off against each other. Per 4 pieces, Tyson lists more protein (13 g vs 9 g) and more calories (210 vs 190), while Perdue lists less sodium (400 mg vs 430 mg).
Is Tyson or Perdue healthier?
This comparison does not rank the two products for health, and the numbers point in different directions depending on whether you read per serving or per 100 grams. Per 100 grams, Perdue has more calories and sodium, while Tyson has more protein.
Are Perdue dino nuggets healthy?
This guide does not give a health rating for Perdue Dino-Shaped Chicken Breast Nuggets. Per 4-piece serving (76 g), the label lists 190 calories, 9 g protein, 400 mg sodium and 1 g of total sugars, and how those fit a child's day depends on the rest of their meals.
Are Tyson dino nuggets real chicken?
Tyson's label lists white meat chicken as the first ingredient, and its product page says it is made with white meat chicken. The label does not disclose what percentage of the finished nugget is chicken.
Which frozen chicken nuggets are the healthiest?
The label facts in this guide do not establish a single healthiest frozen nugget, and they cover only Tyson Dino Nuggets and Perdue Dino-Shaped Chicken Breast Nuggets. Comparing the Nutrition Facts panels for each product you are considering is the most direct way to check.
Are both nuggets gluten free?
Both ingredient lists include wheat flour, and Perdue's page lists wheat as an allergen.

Sources

  1. Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
  2. How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  3. Dino Nuggets (tyson.com)
  4. PERDUE Dino-Shaped Chicken Breast Nuggets (perdue.com)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy