Aurascan

Comparisons · October 27, 2026 · 7 min read

Ore-Ida vs McCain Extra Crispy Crinkles: 160 vs 120 Cal

Per 3 oz, Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Crinkles list 160 calories and 420 mg sodium; McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle lists 120 and 310 mg. Coatings and oils compared.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 27, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two heaps of crinkle-cut fries side by side on a plain table

On the printed 3 oz labels, Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Crinkles show 160 calories, 7 g total fat and 420 mg sodium, while McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle Fries show 120 calories, 4.5 g total fat and 310 mg sodium. The two bags also differ in their oils, their coating starches and how each label describes the role of sodium acid pyrophosphate (SAPP). This page places those label facts side by side.

Key takeaways

  • Both bags list sodium acid pyrophosphate (SAPP). Ore-Ida's ingredient text names SAPP for leavening and to retain natural color, while McCain's label lists it only to maintain color.
  • Per 3 oz as printed on the Stop & Shop listings, Ore-Ida shows 160 calories, 7 g total fat and 420 mg sodium, and McCain shows 120 calories, 4.5 g total fat and 310 mg sodium.
  • The oils differ: Ore-Ida lists a soybean and cottonseed oil blend, while McCain lists one or more of canola, soybean, cottonseed, sunflower or corn oil.
  • Retailer figures vary, so confirm the numbers against the package you hold.

At a glance, per 3 oz serving (from the Stop & Shop label listings for Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Crinkles, McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle Fries and Ore-Ida Golden Crinkles)

NutrientOre-Ida Extra Crispy CrinklesMcCain Extra Crispy Crinkle FriesOre-Ida Golden Crinkles (uncoated, context)
Calories160120120
Total fat7 g (9% DV)4.5 g (6% DV)4.5 g (6% DV)
Saturated fat1 g (5% DV)0.5 g (3% DV)0.5 g (3% DV)
Trans fatNot disclosed0 gNot provided
Sodium420 mg (18% DV)310 mg (14% DV)310 mg (13% DV)
Total carbohydrates22 g (8% DV)20 g (7% DV)19 g (7% DV)
Dietary fiber1 g (5% DV)1 g (4% DV)1 g
Protein2 g1 g2 g
Potassium380 mg (8% DV)250 mg (6% DV)425 mg (10% DV)
Added sugar0% DV0% DVNot provided
Servings per container9911

What Are the Coating Ingredients in Ore-Ida vs McCain Extra Crispy Crinkles?

Ore-Ida's coating includes modified food starch, rice flour, dextrin and xanthan gum, while McCain's coating includes corn starch, rice flour, potato starch and rice starch. Both labels list leavening and sodium acid pyrophosphate. The labels do not explain why each coating uses the starches it does.

Ore-Ida's ingredient text includes salt (less than 2%), dextrose and annatto color, and it names SAPP for leavening and to retain natural color. McCain's ingredient text includes salt, dextrose and oleoresin paprika as a color ingredient, and it states "Contains 2% Or Less Of Dextrose." McCain's text names SAPP added to maintain color.

The main color difference is annatto on the Ore-Ida label and paprika oleoresin on the McCain label.

Are Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Crinkles gluten free?

Yes, Ore-Ida's package text for Extra Crispy Crinkles states "Gluten free." The McCain listing makes no gluten-free claim, and whether McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle Fries are gluten free is not disclosed. Rice flour and corn starch in an ingredient list do not establish gluten-free status on their own.

Which Oils Are Used in Ore-Ida vs McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle Fries?

Ore-Ida lists a soybean and cottonseed oil blend, while McCain lists one or more of canola, soybean, cottonseed, sunflower or corn oil. The McCain label does not say which of those oils is in a given bag, so the exact oil cannot be determined from the label.

The fat detail also differs. McCain's panel lists 2 g polyunsaturated fat, 2 g monounsaturated fat and 0 g trans fat per 3 oz. The Ore-Ida listing did not disclose trans fat or a polyunsaturated and monounsaturated breakdown.

How Many Calories and How Much Fat Per 3 oz in Ore-Ida vs McCain Crinkles?

Per 3 oz, Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Crinkles list 160 calories and 7 g total fat (9% DV), while McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle Fries list 120 calories and 4.5 g total fat (6% DV). That is a difference of 40 calories and 2.5 g of total fat per serving on these listings.

Saturated fat is 1 g (5% DV) for Ore-Ida and 0.5 g (3% DV) for McCain. Both labels show 0 mg cholesterol and 0% DV added sugar.

Whether these numbers apply to the fries as packaged or as prepared in an oven or air fryer is not disclosed on the listings. McCain's details describe the product as air fryer friendly, which is a listing claim, but no cooked values are given.

How Much Sodium Is in Ore-Ida vs McCain Extra Crispy Crinkles Per 3 oz?

Per 3 oz, Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Crinkles list 420 mg sodium (18% DV), and McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle Fries list 310 mg (14% DV), a difference of 110 mg per serving. The FDA states that the Daily Value for sodium is less than 2,300 milligrams (mg) per day.

The FDA describes 5% DV or less of sodium per serving as low and 20% DV or more as high. The printed 18% DV for Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Crinkles and the printed 14% DV for McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle Fries both fall between those two thresholds.

Which frozen fries have the least sodium?

McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle Fries and Ore-Ida Golden Crinkles both list 310 mg sodium per 3 oz, while Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Crinkles list 420 mg per 3 oz. This comparison covers only these three listings, not all frozen fries.

The 310 mg figure is printed as 14% DV on McCain's label and 13% DV on Ore-Ida Golden Crinkles. Those percentages are quoted as printed.

Retailer listings for these bags are not always consistent, so confirm the figures against the package you hold.

The labels do not break down how much of the sodium comes from SAPP, salt or other ingredients.

Why Do Both Fries List Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate on the Label?

Both labels list sodium acid pyrophosphate for color: Ore-Ida names it to retain natural color and as part of its leavening, and McCain names it to maintain color.

What is sodium acid pyrophosphate in french fries?

Sodium acid pyrophosphate is a phosphate-based additive that Ore-Ida's label gives both for leavening and to retain natural color, while McCain's label gives it as added to maintain color. Both bags list SAPP, and the color ingredients differ, with annatto on Ore-Ida and paprika oleoresin on McCain.

How Can Shoppers Compare the Ore-Ida and McCain Labels Side by Side?

To compare two frozen fries, read the serving size, the per-serving sodium and fat, and the full ingredient list, then confirm the figures on the package you hold. The FDA notes that serving sizes are standardized to make it easier to compare similar foods.

A practical checklist:

  • Confirm the serving size first, which is 3 oz for both products here.
  • Compare calories, total fat, saturated fat and sodium on the same serving basis.
  • Check %DV for saturated fat, sodium and added sugars, since the FDA says consumers can use these to choose foods lower in these nutrients.
  • Search the ingredient list for sodium acid pyrophosphate, and note whether it appears for leavening, color or both.
  • Read the oil line, since McCain's label says "one or more" of several oils.
  • Look for gluten-free wording on the package itself.
  • Note whether the panel is per package or per prepared serving, which the listings do not clarify.

For another sodium-focused side-by-side, see Pacific vs Swanson Chicken Broth: 530mg vs 860mg Sodium. You can also compare Which Has More Sodium, French's or Grey Poupon? 55 vs 115 mg to see how the same method applies to condiments.

How Do Extra Crispy Crinkles Compare with Ore-Ida Golden Crinkles?

Ore-Ida Golden Crinkles, the uncoated version, show 120 calories, 4.5 g total fat and 310 mg sodium (13% DV) per 3 oz. Its ingredient text names potatoes, vegetable oil (soybean and/or cottonseed), salt (less than 2%), annatto color, dextrose and sodium acid pyrophosphate.

Compared with Extra Crispy Crinkles, the Golden listing does not include modified food starch, rice flour, dextrin, corn starch or xanthan gum. Its potassium is 425 mg (10% DV) per 3 oz, compared with 380 mg for Extra Crispy Crinkles. The Golden package panel also states "Gluten free."

The Golden label lists 11 servings per container, while the Extra Crispy bag lists 9. The label does not explain the reason for the coating differences.

To check each ingredient on your own bag, Scan your next label with Aurascan and look for the SAPP entries on either Ore-Ida or McCain packaging.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Are Ore-Ida fries gluten free?
Ore-Ida's package text for Extra Crispy Crinkles states "Gluten free." Ore-Ida Golden Crinkles also list "Gluten free" on the package text.
Which frozen french fries are healthiest?
The labels compared here do not establish which frozen fries are healthiest, and this article does not rank them. The printed figures show differences in calories, fat and sodium per 3 oz that readers can compare against their own needs.
Which frozen fries have the least sodium?
McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle Fries and Ore-Ida Golden Crinkles both list 310 mg sodium per 3 oz, while Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Crinkles list 420 mg per 3 oz. Among these three listings, those are the two lowest figures, and retailer listings are not always consistent, so confirm against the package you hold.
What is sodium acid pyrophosphate in french fries?
Sodium acid pyrophosphate is a phosphate-based additive. Ore-Ida's label lists it for leavening and to retain natural color, while McCain's label lists it to maintain color.
Does McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle Fries say they are gluten free?
The McCain listing does not make a gluten-free claim, and whether the product is gluten free is not disclosed. Rice flour and corn starch in the ingredient list do not establish gluten-free status on their own.
Do the calorie and fat numbers change after cooking?
Whether the printed numbers apply as packaged or as prepared in an oven or air fryer is not disclosed on these listings. McCain describes its product as air fryer friendly as a listing claim, but no cooked values are given.

Sources

  1. Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Crinkles French Fried Potatoes, 26 oz Bag Nutrition and Ingredients (stopandshop.com)
  2. McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle Fries, 26 oz Bag Nutrition and Ingredients (stopandshop.com)
  3. Ore-Ida Golden Crinkles French Fried Potatoes, 32 oz Bag Nutrition and Ingredients (stopandshop.com)
  4. Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
  5. How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy