Aurascan

Comparisons · October 25, 2026 · 7 min read

Which Has More Sodium, French's or Grey Poupon? 55 vs 115 mg

Per 1 tsp (5 g), French's Classic Yellow Mustard lists 55 mg sodium and Grey Poupon Dijon lists 115 mg. Ingredients compared: turmeric and paprika vs white wine.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 25, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of a squeeze mustard bottle beside a stoneware crock of mustard seeds

Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard lists more sodium than French's Classic Yellow Mustard: 115 mg versus 55 mg per 1 tsp (5 g). The two labels also differ in ingredients, with French's listing turmeric and paprika and Grey Poupon listing white wine, while both show very few calories per teaspoon (0 kcal and 5 kcal). The side-by-side label facts below are meant to help you compare the two products on your own terms.

Key takeaways:

  • Per 1 tsp (5 g), French's Classic Yellow Mustard lists 55 mg of sodium, and Grey Poupon Dijon lists 115 mg.
  • French's ingredients include turmeric and paprika, while Grey Poupon's listed ingredients include white wine.
  • Calories per 1 tsp are 0 kcal for French's (Open Food Facts) and 5 kcal for Grey Poupon (Whole Foods Market and Open Food Facts).
  • Federal labeling rules allow some spices that also act as colors to be declared as "spice and coloring" unless named by their common name.
  • Several details are not disclosed for either mustard, so checking the package you buy is useful.

Which Has More Sodium, French's or Grey Poupon? 55 mg vs 115 mg per 1 tsp

Grey Poupon Dijon has more sodium: 115 mg per 1 tsp (5 g), compared with 55 mg per 1 tsp (5 g) for French's Classic Yellow Mustard. That is a difference of 60 mg per teaspoon, so the Grey Poupon figure is roughly double the French's figure.

The French's figure comes from the Open Food Facts entry for barcode 0041500000251, which lists 55 mg of sodium per serving and 1.1 g of sodium per 100 g. The Grey Poupon figure comes from the Whole Foods Market listing for the 8 oz jar, which shows 115 mg per 1 tsp (5 g) serving across 45 servings per container.

Sodium can vary between package sizes and label versions, so the Nutrition Facts panel on your own jar is the final reference. Readers who track sodium may find it useful to compare the per-teaspoon figure with the total they plan for the day, and the Hidden Valley vs Ken's Ranch: Both Have MSG, 130 vs 140 Calories comparison shows how another pair of condiment labels presents additives and calories side by side.

Does Grey Poupon Dijon Have Wine in It? White Wine on the Label

Yes, white wine is listed in the ingredients of Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard on both the Whole Foods Market listing and the Open Food Facts entry. The Whole Foods version lists WATER, VINEGAR, MUSTARD SEED, SALT, WHITE WINE, FRUIT PECTIN, CITRIC ACID, TARTARIC ACID, SUGAR, SPICE.

The Open Food Facts version lists Distilled White Vinegar first, followed by mustard seed, water, salt, white wine, citric acid, tartaric acid, fruit pectin, sugar, and spices. The order differs between the two listings, which suggests that label versions may vary over time or by retailer.

The label listing does not disclose whether any sulfites or alcohol remain in the finished product after the white wine is used. Readers who avoid alcohol or sulfites for personal or medical reasons should not treat the ingredient list alone as an answer to that question.

Why Is French's Mustard Yellow? Turmeric and Paprika on the Label

French's Classic Yellow Mustard lists turmeric and paprika among its ingredients, both on the McCormick product page and in the Open Food Facts entry. Turmeric and paprika are both spices that can contribute color, but the label does not describe the exact role each one plays in this product.

Federal rules address this kind of ingredient directly. Under 21 CFR 101.22, paprika, turmeric, and saffron or other spices that are also colors are declared as "spice and coloring" unless they are declared by their common or usual name. That means a label may use a general term rather than naming each spice, which is one reason the ingredient list can be harder to read than it first appears.

The McCormick page states that the product has no artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives, and that it is gluten free and Kosher. Those claims describe the product as presented by the manufacturer and do not explain the color on their own.

What's the Difference Between Yellow Mustard and Dijon? Side-by-Side Ingredients

The main ingredient-list difference is that French's lists turmeric and paprika, while Grey Poupon lists white wine, and both lists include mustard seed, vinegar, water, salt, and spice. Each product also includes ingredients the other does not.

Label item (per 1 tsp, 5 g)French's Classic Yellow MustardGrey Poupon Dijon Mustard
Sodium55 mg (Open Food Facts)115 mg (Whole Foods Market)
Calories0 kcal (Open Food Facts)5 kcal (Whole Foods Market, Open Food Facts)
Total fatZero fat (McCormick page)0 g (Whole Foods Market)
Sugars0 g (Open Food Facts)0 g (Whole Foods Market)
Turmeric and paprikaListedNot listed
White wineNot listedListed
Gluten free and KosherStated on McCormick pageKosher listed (Whole Foods Market)

French's ingredient list also includes garlic powder, natural flavor, and spice. Grey Poupon's listed ingredients include fruit pectin, citric acid, tartaric acid, and sugar. The label facts do not explain the functional role of each ingredient in either product.

How Many Calories Are in French's and Grey Poupon per 1 tsp? 0 kcal vs 5 kcal

French's Classic Yellow Mustard lists 0 kcal per 1 tsp (5 g) on Open Food Facts, and Grey Poupon Dijon lists 5 kcal per 1 tsp (5 g) on both Whole Foods Market and Open Food Facts. Both figures are small on a per-teaspoon basis.

The McCormick page for French's also states zero fat and zero calories. The Whole Foods Market panel for Grey Poupon shows total fat 0 g, total carbohydrate 0 g, sugars 0 g, added sugars 0 g, and protein 0 g per serving.

The Grey Poupon ingredient list includes sugar, while the Whole Foods panel shows 0 g sugars and 0 g added sugars. The listing does not explain that difference, so the panel on the package itself is the best place to check it. For a different condiment pair with a calorie comparison, see Miracle Whip vs Hellmann's: Is It Mayo? 35 vs 90 Calories.

How Much Sodium Is That? Reading the Sodium Numbers Against FDA Daily Value Guidance

Under FDA guidance, the Daily Value for sodium is less than 2,300 mg per day, and a food with 5% DV or less per serving is considered low, while 20% DV or more is considered high. Grey Poupon's 115 mg per 1 tsp is about 5% of 2,300 mg, which sits at the low threshold. French's 55 mg per 1 tsp is about 2% of 2,300 mg by the same arithmetic.

The percentage for French's is a calculation from the milligram figure, not a printed label value. French's printed %DV for sodium is not shown in the sources used here, so the milligram figure is the number to compare.

Daily Values are reference amounts for an overall diet, not individual targets. People with conditions that call for lower sodium intake, or who follow a clinician's guidance on sodium, may want to add up all the sodium they consume across foods rather than look at one condiment alone.

How Do the Labels Differ? Spice and Coloring Declarations and Label Versions

The two labels differ in how ingredients are named and ordered, and the Grey Poupon ingredient order differs between the Whole Foods Market and Open Food Facts entries. Those differences are small, but they show why one listing may not match another.

French's uses the terms "spice" and "natural flavor" in its ingredient list, and Grey Poupon uses "spice" as well. Neither listing says which specific spices those general terms cover. Under the federal coloring rule discussed above, a label can name a spice that also functions as a color as "spice and coloring" rather than by its common name.

Package sizes also vary in the listings. The French's label facts here refer to the 8 oz McCormick product, the Grey Poupon Whole Foods listing refers to an 8 oz container, and the Open Food Facts Grey Poupon entry lists 227 g. Checking the jar in hand against the panel is the most reliable way to match the numbers in this article.

What Facts Are Not Disclosed for Either Mustard?

These sources do not disclose several details that matter for a full comparison:

  • The %DV for sodium printed on the French's label, since Open Food Facts gives only milligrams.
  • Whether the white wine in Grey Poupon leaves any sulfites or alcohol in the finished product.
  • The mustard seed variety (brown or yellow) for either product.
  • Which specific spices the terms "spice" and "spices" cover in either ingredient list.
  • Grey Poupon nutrition or ingredient data on the brand's own site.

Because these details are missing, the most useful step is to read the current package, since label versions vary.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Which has more sodium, French's or Grey Poupon?
Grey Poupon Dijon has more sodium: 115 mg per 1 tsp (5 g), compared with 55 mg per 1 tsp (5 g) for French's Classic Yellow Mustard, according to the Whole Foods Market listing and Open Food Facts.
Does Grey Poupon Dijon have wine in it?
Yes, white wine is listed in the ingredients on the Whole Foods Market listing and the Open Food Facts entry. The label information does not disclose whether sulfites or alcohol remain in the finished product.
Why is French's mustard yellow?
French's lists turmeric and paprika among its ingredients. The label facts do not describe the exact role each spice plays in the color, and federal rules allow some spices that also act as colors to be declared as spice and coloring unless named by their common name.
How many calories are in French's and Grey Poupon per 1 tsp?
French's lists 0 kcal per 1 tsp (5 g) on Open Food Facts. Grey Poupon lists 5 kcal per 1 tsp (5 g) on Whole Foods Market and Open Food Facts.
Is 115 mg of sodium per teaspoon high according to FDA?
FDA considers 5% DV or less per serving low and 20% DV or more high. Against the Daily Value of less than 2,300 mg per day, 115 mg is about 5% by calculation, which sits at the low threshold.
What is the %DV for sodium on the French's label?
The %DV for French's sodium is not shown in the sources used here, since Open Food Facts gives only milligrams. A calculation from 55 mg against 2,300 mg is about 2%, but that is not a printed label value.
Does French's mustard have artificial colors?
McCormick's product page says French's Classic Yellow Mustard has no artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives. Its ingredient list names turmeric and paprika and no certified color additives.

Sources

  1. Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
  2. French's Classic Yellow Mustard, 8 oz (mccormick.com)
  3. French's Classic Yellow Mustard (barcode 0041500000251) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  4. Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard 8 oz (wholefoodsmarket.com)
  5. Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard 227 g (barcode 0054400000245) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  6. 21 CFR 101.22 Foods; labeling of spices, flavorings, colorings and chemical preservatives (ecfr.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy