Comparisons · October 25, 2026 · 7 min read
Does Nutella Have Palm Oil? Nutella vs Nocciolata Ingredients
Nutella lists palm oil second; Nocciolata uses sunflower oil and is labeled palm oil free. Saturated fat: 4 g per 37 g vs 2 g per 34 g serving.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 25, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Nutella (US) and Rigoni di Asiago Nocciolata Classic differ in fat source, flavoring and saturated fat per labeled serving, and both list sugar first. Nutella lists palm oil and artificial vanillin, with 4 g saturated fat per 2 tablespoons (37 g). Nocciolata Classic lists sunflower oil and vanilla extract, with 2 g saturated fat per 2 tablespoons (34 g). This guide sets the label facts side by side and does not rank the two spreads.
Key takeaways
- Nutella (US) lists palm oil and artificial vanillin. Nocciolata Classic lists sunflower oil and vanilla extract. Sugar is the first ingredient in both.
- Saturated fat is 4 g per 2 tablespoons (37 g) for Nutella and 2 g per 2 tablespoons (34 g) for Nocciolata Classic.
- Nutella shows 19 g added sugars (38% DV). Nocciolata Classic lists 17 g total sugars, and its added sugar figure was not disclosed.
- Both spreads list hazelnut (a tree nut), milk and soy lecithin. The Dark Dairy Free Nocciolata lists hazelnuts and soy, with no milk in its ingredient line.
What are Nutella and Nocciolata made of, and what do the labels list?
Nutella (US) lists sugar, palm oil, hazelnuts, skim milk powder, fat-reduced cocoa, emulsifier, lecithin (soya) and artificial vanillin. The brand's ingredients page lists palm oil, cocoa, sugar, hazelnuts, milk, lecithin and vanillin.
The US retail listing for Nocciolata Classic (8.82 oz) shows the following ingredients, each marked as organic:
- Sugar
- Hazelnut paste
- Sunflower oil
- Skim milk powder
- Cocoa
- Cocoa butter
- Soy lecithin
- Vanilla extract
The same listing describes the product as USDA Organic, Non-GMO, Palm Oil Free, Gluten Free and Kosher Dairy, with no preservatives, colors, additives or artificial sweeteners.
How do Nutella and Nocciolata compare on palm oil vs sunflower oil and fat source?
The main fat difference on these labels is that Nutella lists palm oil, while Nocciolata Classic lists sunflower oil and cocoa butter.
Does Nutella have palm oil?
Yes. Palm oil is listed in the ingredients of US Nutella, as both the brand's ingredient page and its US FAQ state.
Is there a hazelnut spread without palm oil?
The US Nocciolata Classic listing describes the product as Palm Oil Free, and its ingredients list sunflower oil and cocoa butter as the fats. That is a label claim, and sourcing details for either product were not disclosed.
The FDA's saturated fat guidance names coconut, palm and palm kernel oils as tropical plant oils that are sources of saturated fat. It does not name sunflower oil in that list. Neither label states the fatty acid breakdown of its oil, so the labels alone do not show every difference in how the fats are blended. For how oils are named on labels in general, see Seed Oils on a Label: What It Tells You, What It Doesn't.
How do saturated fat levels compare at 4 g vs 2 g per serving?
Nutella lists 4 g of saturated fat per 2 tablespoons (37 g), which is 20% of the Daily Value. Nocciolata Classic lists 2 g per 2 tablespoons (34 g), which is 10% of the Daily Value. Both list 11 g total fat per serving, which is 14% DV.
FDA guidance sets the Daily Value for saturated fat at less than 20 g per day. It treats 20% DV or more per serving as high and 5% DV or less as low. Nutella's 20% sits at the high threshold, while Nocciolata's 10% falls between the low and high bands. The serving weights differ by 3 g, so a gram-to-gram comparison is only a rough guide. The Dark Dairy Free Nocciolata lists 2 g saturated fat per 2 tablespoons (34 g), the same as the Classic.
Is Nocciolata healthier than Nutella?
The labels do not settle that question. They show different saturated fat, sugar, sodium and flavoring entries per serving, and a single nutrition panel cannot establish overall health effects for any person.
How do sugar and added sugar compare per serving and by ingredient order?
Which has more sugar, Nutella or Nocciolata?
Per labeled serving, Nutella shows more total sugars (21 g per 37 g) than Nocciolata Classic (17 g per 34 g). Nutella's 21 g includes 19 g of added sugars, which is 38% DV based on the FDA Daily Value of 50 grams per day on a 2,000 calorie diet.
The added sugar figure for Nocciolata Classic was not disclosed, because the retail panel shows total sugars only. The Dark Dairy Free Nocciolata lists 18 g sugars per 2 tablespoons (34 g), and its added sugars were not disclosed in the listing.
Sugar is the first ingredient in both Nutella and Nocciolata Classic. Ingredient lists are ordered by weight, so this shows sugar is present in the largest amount, but it does not show the exact amount. For another spread from the same aisle, see Jif vs Skippy: Ingredients, Sugar and Oil Compared.
Is vanillin vs vanilla extract a meaningful difference on these labels?
Nutella's US ingredient list names vanillin, which the label marks as an artificial flavor, and its US FAQ calls it artificial vanillin. Nocciolata Classic lists vanilla extract. The two terms describe different ingredients on the label, which matters to readers who want to know how a flavor was produced.
Whether either term affects a particular person is not established by these sources.
What allergens do Nutella and Nocciolata share, and what do the labels list?
Both US spreads list hazelnut, a tree nut, and milk, and both list soy lecithin. The FDA names milk, tree nuts and soybeans among the nine major food allergens.
- Tree nuts: hazelnut or hazelnut paste appears in Nutella, Nocciolata Classic and Dark Dairy Free.
- Milk: skim milk or skim milk powder appears in Nutella and Nocciolata Classic. The Dark Dairy Free ingredient line does not list milk.
- Soy: lecithin (soya) appears in Nutella, and soy lecithin appears in Nocciolata Classic and Dark Dairy Free. More on that emulsifier: Is Soy Lecithin Safe? Uses, Allergy Facts, and Label Names.
- Gluten: all three are described as gluten free.
Shared-facility and cross-contact information was not disclosed for these products, so any may-contain statement on the jar matters. The European Nocciolata on Open Food Facts lists milk, nuts and soybeans as allergen tags.
People with food allergies or intolerances should read the current label on the jar they buy, since formulas can differ by batch and market, and should seek individual guidance from a clinician.
How do Nutella and Nocciolata compare at a glance in one table?
| Label item | Nutella (US) | Nocciolata Classic (US) |
|---|---|---|
| Serving | 2 Tbsp (37 g) | 2 tbsp (34 g) |
| Calories | 200 | 190 |
| Total fat | 11 g (14% DV) | 11 g (14% DV) |
| Saturated fat | 4 g (20% DV) | 2 g (10% DV) |
| Trans fat | 0 g | 0 g |
| Cholesterol | Less than 5 mg | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 15 mg | 20 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 22 g | 19 g |
| Fiber | 1 g | 1 g |
| Total sugars | 21 g | 17 g |
| Added sugars | 19 g (38% DV) | Not disclosed |
| Protein | 2 g | 3 g |
| Calcium | 40 mg | 60 mg |
| Iron | 1 mg | 0.6 mg |
| Fat source | Palm oil | Sunflower oil, cocoa butter |
| Flavoring | Vanillin (artificial flavor) | Vanilla extract |
| Milk | Skim milk | Skim milk powder |
| Soy | Lecithin (soya) | Soy lecithin |
| Gluten free | Yes (US FAQ) | Yes (retail listing) |
The table shows label values as printed. Serving sizes differ (37 g and 34 g), so the columns are not identical portions. Potassium and vitamin D appear on the Nutella panel but were not provided for Nocciolata Classic, so they are omitted.
How can you check these spread labels yourself when you shop?
- Match serving sizes before comparing grams or Daily Values. Here they are 37 g and 34 g.
- Read the ingredient order. Sugar leads both lists.
- Identify the fat named on the list, such as palm oil, sunflower oil or cocoa butter.
- Check whether added sugars is printed. Some panels show only total sugars.
- Compare flavor wording, such as artificial flavor, artificial vanillin or vanilla extract.
- Read the allergen statement and any may-contain line on the jar in hand.
- Check the country of sale and pack size, since European versions differ.
Aurascan is a food-label scanner app for iPhone with a free tier. It explains each ingredient one by one with cited evidence instead of a single black-box score, and it pulls product data from Open Food Facts, USDA and barcode databases. Aurascan has no sponsors. Scan the jar in front of you with the Aurascan app and read each ingredient's explanation for yourself.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Nutella have palm oil?
- Yes. US Nutella lists palm oil among its ingredients. Rigoni di Asiago Nocciolata Classic lists sunflower oil and cocoa butter instead, and its US retail listing describes the product as Palm Oil Free.
- Which has more sugar, Nutella or Nocciolata?
- Per labeled serving, Nutella shows 21 g total sugars per 2 tablespoons (37 g), including 19 g added sugars. Nocciolata Classic shows 17 g total sugars per 2 tablespoons (34 g). Its added sugar figure was not disclosed.
- How much saturated fat is in Nutella vs Nocciolata Classic?
- Nutella lists 4 g saturated fat per 2 tablespoons (37 g), which is 20% DV. Nocciolata Classic lists 2 g per 2 tablespoons (34 g), which is 10% DV. The serving sizes differ.
- Is Nocciolata healthier than Nutella?
- The labels do not settle that question. They show different saturated fat, sugar, sodium and flavoring entries per serving, and a label cannot establish overall health effects for any person.
- Does Nutella contain vanillin?
- Yes. The US ingredient list names vanillin, which the label marks as an artificial flavor, and the US FAQ calls it artificial vanillin. Nocciolata Classic lists vanilla extract.
- Do Nutella and Nocciolata contain hazelnuts and milk?
- Both list hazelnut, a tree nut. Both list milk in the form of skim milk or skim milk powder. The Nocciolata Dark Dairy Free ingredient line lists hazelnut and soy but no milk.
Sources
- Nutella Spread, US product page (nutella.com)
- Nutella ingredients (nutella.com)
- Rigoni di Asiago Nocciolata Classic, US retail listing (wholefoodsmarket.com)
- Nocciolata Dark Dairy Free, US retail listing (wholefoodsmarket.com)
- Nocciolata European 250 g product record (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Saturated Fat, Interactive Nutrition Facts Label (accessdata.fda.gov)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Food Allergies (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Hershey's vs Cadbury Milk Chocolate: Is US Cadbury Made by Hershey?Guide
FDA Cadmium Limits for Baby Food: 10 to 45 ppb ProposedGuide
Hidden Valley vs Ken's Ranch: Both Have MSG, 130 vs 140 CaloriesGuide
Miracle Whip vs Hellmann's: Is It Mayo? 35 vs 90 CaloriesGuide
Lidl Gelatelli Coffee & Vanilla Gelato Recalled for ListeriaGuide
Rao's vs Prego: Added Sugar 0 g vs 4 g per Half Cup
Related guides
Comparisons
Doctor's Best vs Nature Made Magnesium: Both 200 mgBoth list 200 mg magnesium (48% DV) per 2-unit serving. Doctor's Best uses a lysinate glycinate chelate; Nature Made lists bisglycinate. Labels compared.
Comparisons
Optimum Nutrition vs Premier Protein Powder: 24 g or 30 g?Premier Protein Chocolate Milkshake powder has 30 g protein per 41 g serving; ON Gold Standard Double Rich Chocolate has 24 g per 31 g scoop.
Comparisons
Does Nutpods Have Carrageenan? No. Nutpods vs CalifiaNeither lists carrageenan. Nutpods Original uses acacia and gellan gum; Califia Unsweetened Almond Creamer lists no gums or oils; Califia oat has sunflower oil.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy