Comparisons · October 28, 2026 · 7 min read
Does Nutpods Have Carrageenan? No. Nutpods vs Califia
Neither lists carrageenan. Nutpods Original uses acacia and gellan gum; Califia Unsweetened Almond Creamer lists no gums or oils; Califia oat has sunflower oil.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 28, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Does Nutpods have carrageenan? No: Nutpods Original lists acacia gum and gellan gum, and neither Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond nor Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat creamer lists carrageenan either.
The three unsweetened creamers compared here differ most in what their ingredient lists name. Per 1 tablespoon, the labels show 10 calories and 0 mg sodium for Nutpods Original, 5 calories and 15 mg sodium for Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond, and 15 calories and 10 mg sodium for Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat. Gums and oils appear on some lists and not others, and carrageenan is absent from all three ingredient lists. This page sets the label facts side by side so you can weigh them yourself.
Key takeaways
- Per 1 tablespoon: Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond lists 5 calories and 15 mg sodium, Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat lists 15 calories and 10 mg sodium, and Nutpods Original lists 10 calories and 0 mg sodium.
- Gums: Nutpods Original lists acacia gum and gellan gum, Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond lists no gums, and Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat lists guar gum and gellan gum.
- Oils: Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat lists sunflower oil. Neither Nutpods Original nor Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond names an oil in its ingredient list.
- Carrageenan is not in any of the three ingredient lists.
Which Creamer Has Fewer Calories Per Tablespoon: Nutpods, Califia Almond, or Oat?
Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond Creamer lists 5 calories per 1 tablespoon (15 mL), the fewest of the three. Nutpods Original lists 10 calories and Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat Creamer lists 15 calories, both per the same 1 tablespoon serving.
The Nutpods carton Nutrition Facts panel shows the same 10 calories per 1 Tbsp serving, and the brand page lists about 63 servings in a 32 oz container. Calorie totals depend on how much you actually use, since a tablespoon is the labeled serving and not a standard pour.
| Label item | Nutpods Original (32 oz) | Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond | Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Serving size | 1 Tbsp (15 mL) | 1 tablespoon (15 mL) | 1 tablespoon (15 mL) |
| Servings per container | About 63 | 50 | Not disclosed |
| Calories | 10 | 5 | 15 |
| Total fat | 1 g | 0.5 g | 1 g |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 15 mg | 10 mg |
| Total sugars | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| Protein | 0 g | 0 g | Not disclosed |
| Gums listed | Acacia gum, gellan gum | None listed | Guar gum, gellan gum |
| Oils listed | None listed | None listed | Sunflower oil |
| Carrageenan listed | No | No | No |
| Dipotassium phosphate listed | Yes | No | No |
| Allergen statement | Contains almonds, coconuts | Contains almonds | Not disclosed |
Which Creamer Has More Sodium Per Tablespoon: Nutpods or Califia Unsweetened Almond?
Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond Creamer lists 15 mg of sodium per 1 tablespoon, while Nutpods Original lists 0 mg (0% Daily Value). Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat Creamer lists 10 mg per tablespoon, which falls between the other two.
All three ingredient lists include sea salt, which is one place sodium can come from in these products. For scale, FDA's Daily Value for sodium is less than 2,300 mg per day (FDA: Sodium in Your Diet). The panels report sodium only per tablespoon, so the amount you would consume in a day depends on how many tablespoons you use. People tracking sodium for medical or dietary reasons should read the panel on their own package. For a sodium comparison of a different pantry staple, see Pacific vs Swanson Chicken Broth: 530mg vs 860mg Sodium.
Do Nutpods Original and Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond Creamer Contain Gums?
Nutpods Original does contain gums, and its ingredient list names acacia gum and gellan gum. Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond Creamer lists no gums, and its product page carries the badge 'No Oils. No Gums.'
Acacia gum is described by federal rules as "the dried gummy exudate from stems and branches of trees of various species of the genus Acacia," and it is listed under 21 CFR 184.1330 as a direct food substance affirmed as GRAS. Gellan gum is listed under 21 CFR 172.665 and described as "a high molecular weight polysaccharide gum produced from Pseudomonas elodea by a pure culture fermentation process." Nutpods also lists sunflower lecithin.
For another label that raises the gum question, see Does Daisy Cottage Cheese Have Gums? No, Nor Does Good Culture.
Do Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat Creamer and Nutpods Contain Oils?
Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat Creamer lists sunflower oil; neither Nutpods Original nor Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond lists an oil. Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat's sunflower oil and the absence of any oil line on the other two labels are the only oil facts on these panels.
The labels do not explain why each oil or gum is used, so the ingredient list is the practical check for what each product contains.
Is Carrageenan in Nutpods or Califia Creamers?
Carrageenan is not in the ingredient lists for Nutpods Original, Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond, or Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat. Nutpods' thickeners are acacia gum and gellan gum, and the Califia oat creamer's are guar gum and gellan gum; the Califia almond creamer lists none.
What Is Dipotassium Phosphate in Nutpods Original Unsweetened, and Is It Safe?
Dipotassium phosphate appears in the Nutpods Original ingredient list and does not appear in either Califia creamer list. Under 21 CFR 182.6285, it is described as "generally recognized as safe when used in accordance with good manufacturing practice."
The Nutpods label does not state how much dipotassium phosphate a tablespoon contains, so the panel cannot show how much this ingredient adds.
What Is Gellan Gum and Acacia Gum Used for in Nutpods Original Unsweetened Creamer?
Gellan gum and acacia gum are both on the Nutpods Original ingredient list, and gellan gum also appears in Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat Creamer.
The regulations define what each ingredient is and where it is listed. They do not establish any health effect for either gum at the amounts in one tablespoon. What these gums do in the body, including any effect on digestion, is not addressed on this page.
The regulatory text for gellan gum is at 21 CFR 172.665, and the acacia listing is at 21 CFR 184.1330.
Is Califia Unsweetened Almond Creamer Free of Oils and Gums, and What Does That Mean?
Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond Creamer names no oil and no gum in its current ingredient list, and its product page carries the badge 'No Oils. No Gums.' The listed ingredients are almondmilk (water, almonds), natural flavor, baking soda and sea salt.
The badge describes the ingredients printed on that page. Whether the natural flavor contains allergens was not disclosed.
How Should You Read Serving Size and Allergen Statements on Creamer Labels?
Check that each panel uses the same serving basis before comparing numbers. In this comparison, all three products list 1 tablespoon (15 mL) as the serving.
- Servings per container: about 63 for the 32 oz Nutpods Original, 50 for Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond, and not disclosed for Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat.
- Allergen statements: Nutpods lists almonds and coconuts, Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond lists almonds, and no allergen statement for the oat creamer is included here. Tree nuts such as almonds are one of the major food allergens FDA requires labels to declare (FDA: Food Allergies).
- Storage: Nutpods says to refrigerate after opening and that it is best for 7-10 days once opened.
- Product versions: differences in the 11.2 oz shelf-stable Nutpods version were not disclosed, so this comparison covers the 32 oz product only.
Label figures can change between packages and over time, so the panel on your own container is the reference point for the calorie and sodium numbers shown above.
These label facts show what each brand lists, but they cannot show how any individual will respond to an ingredient. This information is educational and is not medical advice.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Nutpods have carrageenan?
- No, carrageenan is not in the Nutpods Original unsweetened ingredient list, which names acacia gum, dipotassium phosphate, sunflower lecithin and gellan gum.
- Does Nutpods have seed oils?
- Nutpods Original does not name an oil in its 32 oz ingredient list, though it does list sunflower lecithin. The term 'seed oils' does not appear on the label, so the ingredient list is the practical check.
- Does Califia creamer have seed oils?
- Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond Creamer names no oil and carries a 'No Oils' badge, while Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat Creamer lists sunflower oil in its ingredient list.
- Is Nutpods healthy?
- This comparison does not rate any product as healthy. Per 1 tablespoon, the Nutpods Original label shows 10 calories, 1 g total fat, 0 g total sugars and 0 mg sodium, and the full ingredient list is shown in the article for you to review.
- Is Califia creamer healthy?
- This comparison does not rate Califia creamers as healthy. Per 1 tablespoon, Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond lists 5 calories, 0 g sugars and 15 mg sodium, and Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat lists 15 calories, 1 g total fat, 0 g sugars and 10 mg sodium.
- Does Nutpods have sugar?
- No, Nutpods Original lists 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars per 1 Tbsp (15 mL) serving.
- Does Califia almond creamer have gums?
- No gums are listed for Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond Creamer, while Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat Creamer lists guar gum and gellan gum in its ingredient list.
Sources
- Nutpods Original 32oz product page (nutpods.com)
- Califia Farms Unsweetened Almond Creamer (califiafarms.com)
- Califia Farms Unsweetened Oat Creamer (califiafarms.com)
- 21 CFR 172.665 Gellan gum (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 184.1330 Acacia (gum arabic) (ecfr.gov)
- 21 CFR 182.6285 Dipotassium phosphate (ecfr.gov)
- Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
- Food Allergies (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Ore-Ida vs McCain Extra Crispy Crinkles: 160 vs 120 CalGuide
Is Frigo Healthier Than Sargento? 80 vs 90 Cal per StickGuide
Pacific vs Swanson Chicken Broth: 530mg vs 860mg SodiumGuide
Optimum Nutrition vs Premier Protein Powder: 24 g or 30 g?Guide
Which Has More Sodium, French's or Grey Poupon? 55 vs 115 mgGuide
Does Daisy Cottage Cheese Have Gums? No, Nor Does Good Culture
Related guides
Comparisons
Doctor's Best vs Nature Made Magnesium: Both 200 mgBoth list 200 mg magnesium (48% DV) per 2-unit serving. Doctor's Best uses a lysinate glycinate chelate; Nature Made lists bisglycinate. Labels compared.
Comparisons
Ore-Ida vs McCain Extra Crispy Crinkles: 160 vs 120 CalPer 3 oz, Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Crinkles list 160 calories and 420 mg sodium; McCain Extra Crispy Crinkle lists 120 and 310 mg. Coatings and oils compared.
Comparisons
Is Frigo Healthier Than Sargento? 80 vs 90 Cal per StickFrigo vs Sargento string cheese, label to label: same four basic ingredients, 80 vs 90 calories, 6 g vs 7 g protein and about 200 vs 190 mg sodium per stick.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy