Aurascan

Comparisons · October 22, 2026 · Updated October 25, 2026 · 10 min read

Eggo vs Kodiak Waffles: 4 g vs 12 g Protein, 4 g vs 6 g Sugar

Eggo Homestyle has 4 g protein per 2 waffles; Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla Power Waffles have 12 g, but 6 g added sugar vs Eggo's 4 g. Full labels compared.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 25, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of a pair of contrasting waffles on a plate, one thin and one thick

Per 2-waffle serving, Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla Power Waffles list more protein and more added sugar than Eggo Homestyle, and Kodiak's No Sugar Added Homestyle lists 0 g added sugar.

The figures below come from the package labels and product pages cited in each section. The serving weights differ (70 g for Eggo and 76 g for Kodiak), so this comparison shows both per serving and per 100 g.

Key takeaways

  • Per 2-waffle serving, Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla lists 12 g protein and 6 g added sugar, versus 4 g protein and 4 g added sugar for Eggo Homestyle.
  • Kodiak No Sugar Added Homestyle lists 16 g protein and 0 g added sugar per 2 waffles (70 g).
  • The serving weights differ, so compare per gram as well as per serving.
  • Both products list wheat, milk, egg and soy as allergens. Eggo lists sugar and dextrose; Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla lists cane sugar.

How do Eggo Homestyle and Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla compare per 2-waffle serving?

Eggo Homestyle and Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla are both frozen toaster waffles, and both labels use a serving of 2 waffles. The serving weights differ: 70 g for Eggo and 76 g for Kodiak.

Per 2 wafflesEggo Homestyle (70 g)Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla (76 g)
Calories180250
Total fat5 g (6% DV)11 g (14% DV)
Saturated fat1 g (5% DV)2 g (10% DV)
Sodium330 mg (14% DV)390 mg (17% DV)
Total carbohydrate30 g (11% DV)26 g (9% DV)
Dietary fiberless than 1 g (3% DV)3 g (11% DV)
Total sugars4 g7 g
Added sugars4 g (8% DV)6 g (12% DV)
Protein4 g (no DV printed; 8% is calculated for this article)12 g (12% DV)
Calcium260 mg (20% DV)50 mg (4% DV)
Iron3.6 mg (20% DV)1.4 mg (8% DV)

The 8% figure for Eggo protein is a calculation for this article (4 g divided by the 50 g Daily Value), not a value printed on the label.

Per 100 g, calculated from the labels by dividing each figure by the serving weight and multiplying by 100, Eggo Homestyle has about 5.7 g protein (4 g ÷ 70 g × 100) and about 5.7 g added sugar (4 g ÷ 70 g × 100). Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla has about 15.8 g protein (12 g ÷ 76 g × 100) and about 7.9 g added sugar (6 g ÷ 76 g × 100). Gram-based figures help when a box uses a different serving size than the one you are used to.

The Eggo figures come from the 2025 package label as recorded on Open Food Facts. An older structured ingredient text on that same record, drawn from a 2020 photo, still lists beta-carotene for color and slightly different numbers. The 2025 label is the one used here. The Kodiak figures come from the Nutrition Facts panel image on Kodiak's product page.

How much protein does each waffle deliver per 2-waffle serving?

How much protein is in Eggo Homestyle waffles?

Eggo Homestyle lists 4 g protein per 2 waffles (70 g). Eggo's label does not print a protein percent Daily Value. The FDA Daily Value for protein is 50 g on a 2,000-calorie diet (FDA Daily Value guidance), so 4 g is about 8% of that reference. That 8% is a calculation for this article rather than a figure printed on the box.

How much protein is in Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla waffles?

Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla lists 12 g protein per 2 waffles (76 g), labeled 12% DV. That is three times the protein per serving on the Eggo label. Kodiak's ingredient list includes whole grain wheat flour, vital wheat gluten, eggs and whey protein isolate. Eggo's ingredient list includes whey and eggs in a list where salt is 2% or less, without a stated quantity for either.

For a related look at how protein figures appear on other packaged foods, see Chobani vs Fage Greek Yogurt: Protein, Sugar and Cultures.

How much added sugar is in Eggo Homestyle vs Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla per serving?

Do Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla waffles have added sugar?

Yes. Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla lists 6 g added sugars per 2 waffles (76 g), shown as 12% DV. Eggo Homestyle lists 4 g added sugars per 2 waffles (70 g), shown as 8% DV. In this pair, Kodiak has more added sugar per serving and per gram, at about 7.9 g versus about 5.7 g per 100 g.

FDA's added sugars guidance describes added sugars as sugars added during processing, such as sucrose or dextrose, and not naturally occurring sugars in milk, fruit or vegetables. Eggo's added sugars come from sugar and dextrose, while Kodiak's come from cane sugar.

FDA's Daily Value guidance reads 5% DV or less as low and 20% DV or more as high (FDA Daily Value guidance). The table reports 8% DV for Eggo and 12% DV for Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla on added sugars.

For a sugar comparison of two other packaged foods, see Oatly vs Silk Oat Milk: Why Both List 7 g Added Sugar.

Which ingredients differ between Eggo Homestyle and Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla?

The two ingredient lists start from different flours and use different sweeteners and fats. Here is how the main items compare:

  • Flour: Eggo lists enriched flour (wheat flour with niacin, reduced iron, thiamin, riboflavin and folic acid). Kodiak lists 100% whole grain wheat flour and 100% whole grain oat flour.
  • Sweeteners: Eggo lists sugar and dextrose. Kodiak lists cane sugar.
  • Fat: Eggo lists a vegetable oil blend of soybean, palm, canola and/or cottonseed oil. Kodiak lists canola oil.
  • Dairy and egg: Eggo lists whey, eggs and soy lecithin, with whey and eggs appearing in a list where salt is 2% or less. Kodiak lists whey protein isolate, buttermilk, eggs and soy lecithin.
  • Protein boosters: Kodiak adds vital wheat gluten and whey protein isolate. Eggo's list includes whey and eggs without a stated quantity for either, and does not list vital wheat gluten or whey protein isolate.
  • Leavening, salt and flavor: Eggo lists baking soda, sodium aluminum phosphate and monocalcium phosphate, along with salt, dextrose and spice. Kodiak lists sodium acid pyrophosphate, baking soda, sea salt, natural flavor and vanilla extract.
  • Fortification: Eggo lists calcium carbonate, iron, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin B6 and vitamin B12, and the front of the box says '9 vitamins & minerals.' Kodiak's panel shows calcium at 4% DV and iron at 8% DV.

Both labels list wheat, milk, egg and soy. Eggo's box also says it contains a bioengineered food ingredient. The source or type of that ingredient was not disclosed. The meaning of 'spice' and 'natural flavor' on either label was not disclosed either.

How do calories, fat and sodium differ between Eggo Homestyle and Kodiak Buttermilk?

Per 2 waffles, Eggo lists 180 calories, 5 g total fat, 1 g saturated fat and 330 mg sodium. Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla lists 250 calories, 11 g total fat, 2 g saturated fat and 390 mg sodium on its Nutrition Facts label image.

Kodiak has 6 g more total fat per serving, and the sodium difference is 60 mg. Calories also differ by 70 per serving.

Cholesterol is 0 mg on the Eggo label and 25 mg (8% DV) on the Kodiak label. Eggo lists 0 g trans fat, and Kodiak lists 0 g trans fat too.

What does Kodiak's No Sugar Added Homestyle waffle change in the comparison?

Kodiak Homestyle Power Waffles is a separate product from Buttermilk & Vanilla. It is labeled 'With no added sugar' and lists 0 g added sugars, 2 g total sugars and 16 g protein per 2 waffles (70 g), which is 16% DV. Its box also says 'Not a low calorie food' and lists 210 calories and 9 g total fat per serving.

At the same 70 g serving as Eggo Homestyle, the Kodiak Homestyle lists 16 g protein versus 4 g, 0 g added sugars versus 4 g, 17 g carbohydrate versus 30 g, and 310 mg sodium versus 330 mg. It lists more calories (210 versus 180) and more total fat (9 g versus 5 g).

The Kodiak Homestyle box holds 8 waffles (9.9 oz or 280 g), with 4 servings. Its UPC is 705599021008. The launch date was not disclosed. Its ingredient list starts with 100% whole grain wheat flour and includes wheat protein isolate, whey protein isolate, egg whites and date powder.

The allergen line says 'Contains egg, milk, soy, and wheat.' The ingredient list shows sunflower lecithin rather than soy lecithin. The label does not explain why soy appears in the allergen line.

Why do Kodiak's calorie figures differ between the product page and the label image?

Kodiak's product page shows two calorie figures. Its text summary lists 240 calories per serving, while the Nutrition Facts label image lists 250. This comparison uses the 250 from the label image, which is the panel quoted here. The label image also lists 11 g total fat per serving. Readers holding a box can compare its printed panel with the figures in this article.

How do protein claims like Protein-packed and 100% whole grains read on the box?

Kodiak's box uses 'Protein-packed,' '12g protein per serving,' 'Crafted with 100% whole grains' and 'Good source of fiber.' The panel lists 12 g protein per serving and 3 g dietary fiber, which is 11% DV. The ingredient list starts with a whole grain flour.

The Eggo box says '9 vitamins & minerals' on the front, and the panel shows 4 g protein per serving without a printed protein percent Daily Value.

For a whole-grain label read on a different product, see Dave's Killer Bread vs Nature's Own: 6 g vs 3 g Protein.

What regulatory rules shape the sugar and nutrition labels on these waffles?

The Nutrition Facts panel expresses nutrients as a percentage of a 2,000-calorie reference diet. The Daily Value for protein is 50 g and for added sugars is 50 g (FDA Daily Value guidance). The added sugars line is described in the FDA added sugars guidance. Eggo lists 4 g total sugars including 4 g added sugars, and Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla lists 7 g total sugars including 6 g added sugars.

Which label details were not disclosed, and what should shoppers check on the box?

Several details are not disclosed on the labels or pages cited. Eggo's protein percent Daily Value is not printed, and the 8% figure is a calculation. Neither brand's price per box or per serving is disclosed. The plant that makes current Kodiak Power Waffles is not disclosed, and it is not known whether production changed after a 2024 recall. The launch date of Kodiak Homestyle Power Waffles is not disclosed, nor is the reason its allergen line says soy when its lecithin is sunflower.

Kodiak posted on October 18, 2024, that TreeHouse Foods, Inc. had issued a voluntary recall of frozen waffle products, including specific batches of Kodiak Power Waffles because of potential Listeria monocytogenes contamination. The recall covered Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla Waffles 10 count (UPC 705599012211) with specific Use By dates and lot codes. Kodiak said Power Waffles bought at Costco were not affected. This was a 2024 event, not a current recall. This comparison does not cover Eggo recall history.

When you read a box, check these items:

  • The serving size in grams, since this pair uses 70 g and 76 g.
  • Protein and added sugars, with their percent Daily Values.
  • The ingredient order, which lists the largest ingredient first.
  • The allergen line, which for both products includes wheat, milk, egg and soy.
  • The lot code and Use By date, if you want to compare against a recall notice.

These figures describe the labels only. They cannot show how any person will respond to a product, whether the amounts suit a particular diet, or what effects may follow from eating these waffles over time. Research on those questions is outside the scope of this comparison, so satiety, glycemic and cooking-method effects are not covered. Readers with a medical reason to track sugar, sodium or protein should check the panel and talk with a clinician about their own targets.

Related reading: Does Mrs. Butterworth's Have HFCS? Yes; Log Cabin Uses Corn Syrup.

Related reading: Is Jimmy Dean Healthier Than Johnsonville? Sodium, MSG, BHA.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

How much protein is in Eggo Homestyle waffles?
Eggo Homestyle lists 4 g protein per 2 waffles (70 g) on its 2025 label. The label does not print a protein percent Daily Value; 4 g is about 8% of the 50 g Daily Value, a calculation rather than a printed figure.
How much protein is in Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla Power Waffles?
Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla lists 12 g protein per 2 waffles (76 g), labeled 12% DV on its Nutrition Facts panel image.
Do Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla waffles have added sugar?
Yes. Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla lists 6 g added sugars per 2 waffles (76 g), shown as 12% DV. Eggo Homestyle lists 4 g added sugars per 2 waffles (70 g), shown as 8% DV.
Is there a Kodiak waffle with no added sugar?
Kodiak's No Sugar Added Homestyle Power Waffles lists 0 g added sugars, 2 g total sugars and 16 g protein per 2 waffles (70 g), with 210 calories and 9 g total fat.
Why does Kodiak list 250 calories when its page also says 240?
Kodiak's product page shows 240 calories in its text summary and 250 on the Nutrition Facts label image. This comparison uses the label image panel, so you can check the printed panel on the box you have.
Was there a Kodiak waffle recall?
Yes. On October 18, 2024, Kodiak posted about a voluntary recall by TreeHouse Foods, Inc. that included Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla Waffles 10 count (UPC 705599012211) with specific Use By dates and lot codes. Kodiak said Power Waffles bought at Costco were not affected. This was a 2024 event, not a current recall.

Sources

  1. Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
  2. Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  3. Eggo Homestyle Waffles product record (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  4. Kodiak Buttermilk & Vanilla Power Waffles (kodiakcakes.com)
  5. Kodiak Homestyle Power Waffles (kodiakcakes.com)
  6. Kodiak Power Waffles recall information (kodiakcakes.com)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy