Aurascan

Comparisons · October 29, 2026 · 8 min read

Which Has More Protein, Siggi's or Icelandic Provisions?

Plain cups, 150 g each: Icelandic Provisions lists 17 g protein, Siggi's 16 g. In vanilla it flips, 16 g vs 15 g. Fat, added sugar and cultures compared.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 29, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of Two open single-serve tubs of thick creamy skyr beside wooden spoons

Siggi's and Icelandic Provisions both sell plain and vanilla skyr in 5.3 oz (150 g) cups, and their label numbers differ on several lines. Icelandic Provisions plain has more protein, fat and calcium than Siggi's plain, while Siggi's vanilla has more protein and less added sugar than Icelandic Provisions vanilla. This guide sets the label facts side by side so you can weigh them against your own needs.

Key takeaways

  • Plain cups: Siggi's has 16 g protein, 0 g fat, 150 mg calcium and 0 g added sugar. Icelandic Provisions has 17 g protein, 2.5 g fat, 190 mg calcium and 0 g added sugar (per 5.3 oz / 150 g).
  • Vanilla cups: Siggi's has 16 g protein, 0 g fat, 140 mg calcium and 5 g added sugar. Icelandic Provisions has 15 g protein, 2 g fat, 170 mg calcium and 6 g added sugar (per 5.3 oz / 150 g).
  • The ingredient lists differ. Siggi's plain names five live active cultures, while Icelandic Provisions plain names heirloom skyr cultures, L. bulgaricus and Bifidobacterium.

Which Has More Protein, Siggi's or Icelandic Provisions Skyr?

Icelandic Provisions plain skyr has more protein per 5.3 oz cup, 17 g compared with 16 g for Siggi's plain. In the vanilla flavor the order reverses, with Siggi's vanilla at 16 g and Icelandic Provisions vanilla at 15 g.

On the Nutrition Facts panels, the plain cups show 34% DV (Icelandic Provisions) and 32% DV (Siggi's). The vanilla cups show 32% DV (Siggi's) and 30% DV (Icelandic Provisions). The FDA uses 50 g as the Daily Value for protein, and these percentages are calculated from that reference amount.

A one-gram difference is small. The labels do not disclose protein quality or leucine content for either cup, so the gram totals do not describe how the protein may behave in the body. For another side-by-side protein comparison, see Vital Proteins vs Sports Research: 18 g vs 10 g Protein.

Does Icelandic Provisions Skyr Have Added Sugar, and How Much Is in Siggi's?

Icelandic Provisions vanilla skyr contains 6 g of added sugar per 5.3 oz cup, and its plain skyr lists 0 g added sugar. Siggi's vanilla contains 5 g of added sugar per 5.3 oz cup, and Siggi's plain lists 0 g.

The added sugar lines show 12% DV for Icelandic Provisions vanilla and 10% DV for Siggi's vanilla. The FDA Daily Value for added sugars is 50 grams per day on a 2,000 calorie diet. Both vanilla ingredient lists name cane sugar, and Siggi's vanilla also names Madagascar Bourbon vanilla and fruit pectin.

FDA states that added sugars do not include naturally occurring sugars found in milk. Total sugars are higher than added sugars because the total includes milk sugar. Siggi's plain shows 4 g total sugars with 0 g added, Icelandic Provisions plain shows 3 g with 0 g added, and both vanilla cups show 9 g total sugars. Readers comparing sugar may find the added sugar line more useful than the total sugar line alone. For another sugar comparison, see Eggo vs Kodiak Waffles: 4 g vs 12 g Protein, 4 g vs 6 g Sugar.

How Do the Fat Grams Compare in Plain and Vanilla Skyr Cups?

Both Siggi's cups list 0 g total fat per 5.3 oz, while Icelandic Provisions plain lists 2.5 g and its vanilla lists 2 g. Those Icelandic Provisions values are each 3% DV on the label.

Icelandic Provisions plain also lists 1.5 g saturated fat (8% DV), and its vanilla lists 1 g saturated fat (5% DV). The plain product page states 1.5% milk fat. Saturated fat for the Siggi's cups is not disclosed in the figures available for this comparison.

Under FDA's general guide, 5% DV or less per serving is considered low and 20% DV or more is considered high. By that guide, the 3% total fat values are in the low range, and the 8% saturated fat value sits between the two ranges. The ingredient lists reflect the difference in milk: Siggi's plain names cultured pasteurized skim milk, while Icelandic Provisions names pasteurized low-fat milk.

How Much Calcium Is in Siggi's vs Icelandic Provisions Skyr Cups?

Icelandic Provisions has more calcium in both flavors, with 190 mg (15% DV) in plain and 170 mg (15% DV) in vanilla per 5.3 oz. Siggi's plain lists 150 mg (10% DV) and Siggi's vanilla lists 140 mg (10% DV).

The FDA Daily Value for calcium is 1300 mg. Both brands' calcium percentages fall between 5% DV and 20% DV, which is the middle range of the FDA general guide.

The gap is 40 mg in the plain cups and 30 mg in the vanilla cups. Calcium absorption is not disclosed for either cup, so these numbers describe the amount listed on the label, not how much the body absorbs.

What Are the Ingredients and Live Cultures in Siggi's vs Icelandic Provisions Skyr?

Siggi's plain lists cultured pasteurized skim milk as its only ingredient and names five live active cultures. Icelandic Provisions plain lists skyr made from pasteurized low-fat milk with live and active cultures, and names heirloom skyr cultures, L. bulgaricus and Bifidobacterium.

Label checklist:

  • Siggi's plain: Cultured Pasteurized Skim Milk. Live active cultures: S. thermophilus, L. bulgaricus, Bifidobacterium, L. acidophilus, L. paracasei.
  • Icelandic Provisions plain: Skyr (Pasteurized Low-Fat Milk, Live and Active Cultures). Cultures: Heirloom Skyr Cultures (Streptococcus Thermophilus Islandicus), Lactobacillus Bulgaricus, Bifidobacterium.
  • Siggi's vanilla: Cultured Pasteurized Skim Milk, Cane Sugar, Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla (Vanilla Extract, Vanilla Bean Specks), Fruit Pectin.
  • Icelandic Provisions vanilla: Skyr (Pasteurized Low-Fat Milk, Live and Active Cultures), Cane Sugar, Vanilla Extract, Natural Flavors, Pectin, Carob Bean Gum, Vanilla Bean Seeds.

Icelandic Provisions vanilla includes natural flavors and carob bean gum, which do not appear in the Siggi's vanilla list.

Probiotic CFU counts per cup are not disclosed for either brand. Whether the milk is from grass-fed cows or is rBST-free is not stated on these product pages, and price per cup and the country where each cup is made are also not disclosed. Culture names describe what is listed on the label, not what any person will experience after eating the cup.

Is Siggi's Healthier Than Icelandic Provisions? The Labels Side by Side

The label numbers do not establish that either cup is healthier, because each brand is higher on some lines and lower on others. Which numbers matter depends on the reader, and a Nutrition Facts panel does not measure health outcomes.

Per 5.3 oz (150 g)Siggi's PlainIcelandic Provisions PlainSiggi's VanillaIcelandic Provisions Vanilla
Calories90120110130
Total fat0 g2.5 g0 g2 g
Saturated fatNot disclosed1.5 g (8% DV)Not disclosed1 g (5% DV)
Cholesterol10 mg (3% DV)10 mg (3% DV)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Sodium55 mg (2% DV)55 mg (2% DV)55 mg (2% DV)50 mg (2% DV)
Total carbohydrate6 g8 g11 g13 g
Total sugars4 g3 g9 g9 g
Added sugars0 g0 g5 g (10% DV)6 g (12% DV)
Protein16 g (32% DV)17 g (34% DV)16 g (32% DV)15 g (30% DV)
Calcium150 mg (10% DV)190 mg (15% DV)140 mg (10% DV)170 mg (15% DV)
Potassium190 mg (4% DV)240 mg (6% DV)Not disclosedNot disclosed

Read across a row to compare one measure. Icelandic Provisions plain is higher than Siggi's plain in calories, fat, carbohydrate, protein, calcium and potassium, and lower in total sugars. Icelandic Provisions vanilla is higher than Siggi's vanilla in calories, fat, carbohydrate, added sugar and calcium, and lower in protein and sodium.

The labels cannot show how either cup affects an individual.

How Do Carbohydrates, Sugars and Sodium Differ Across the Four 5.3 oz Cups?

Carbohydrates range from 6 g in Siggi's plain to 13 g in Icelandic Provisions vanilla, and sodium is 50 to 55 mg across all four cups. Sodium is 2% DV in each cup.

The vanilla cups carry more carbohydrate than the plain cups, and both vanilla cups list 9 g total sugars. The plain cups list 4 g (Siggi's) and 3 g (Icelandic Provisions) total sugars with no added sugar.

The FDA Daily Value for sodium is 2300 mg, so 50 to 55 mg is listed as 2% DV. Readers who track sodium will find nearly identical values in these cups. Cholesterol is 10 mg (3% DV) in both plain cups, and cholesterol for the vanilla cups is not disclosed.

What Do the FDA Daily Value Percentages Mean for These Skyr Cups?

A Daily Value is a reference amount on the label, and FDA's general guide treats 5% DV or less as low and 20% DV or more as high. By that guide, the protein values fall in the high range, the sodium values fall in the low range, and the vanilla cups' added sugar and all four calcium values fall between the two.

The FDA Daily Values used on these labels are 50 g for protein, 50 g for added sugars, 1300 mg for calcium and 2300 mg for sodium. For example, 16 g of protein against a 50 g reference equals 32% DV, and 6 g of added sugar against a 50 g reference equals 12% DV.

A Daily Value is not a personal target. Individual needs vary with age, body size, health conditions and the other foods a person eats. People who follow a clinician's guidance on sugar, sodium or protein should use that guidance rather than the label percentages alone.

How Can You Check the Cup You Buy?

Labels can change, so the Nutrition Facts panel and ingredient list on the cup in your hand are the final word. You can also scan it with the Aurascan app to read each ingredient one by one.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Is Siggi's or Icelandic Provisions better?
The label facts do not show that one brand is better, because each leads on different lines. Icelandic Provisions plain has more protein, fat and calcium than Siggi's plain per 5.3 oz, while Siggi's vanilla has more protein and less added sugar than Icelandic Provisions vanilla.
Is Siggi's or Icelandic Provisions healthier?
Label numbers alone do not establish that either cup is healthier. Per 5.3 oz, Icelandic Provisions plain has 120 calories and 2.5 g fat, while Siggi's plain has 90 calories and 0 g fat, and each brand is higher on different lines.
What are the Siggi's vs Icelandic Provisions nutrition facts?
For plain 5.3 oz (150 g) cups, Siggi's lists 90 calories, 0 g fat, 16 g protein, 150 mg calcium and 0 g added sugar, while Icelandic Provisions lists 120 calories, 2.5 g fat, 17 g protein, 190 mg calcium and 0 g added sugar. The full side-by-side table is in the nutrition section above.
Why is Icelandic yogurt better?
The label facts do not show that Icelandic-style skyr is better than other yogurt. Per 5.3 oz (150 g), Icelandic Provisions plain lists 17 g protein and 0 g added sugar and Siggi's plain lists 16 g protein and 0 g added sugar, so compare those lines with the Nutrition Facts panel of any other yogurt you are considering.
Does Icelandic Provisions have added sugar?
Yes, Icelandic Provisions vanilla skyr has 6 g added sugar per 5.3 oz cup, which is 12% DV. Its plain skyr lists 0 g added sugar.
How much protein is in Siggi's plain skyr?
Siggi's Plain 0% skyr has 16 g protein per 5.3 oz (150 g) cup, which is 32% DV.
Do these skyr cups contain live cultures?
Both brands list live cultures on their labels, but probiotic CFU counts per cup are not disclosed for either brand. Siggi's plain names five live active cultures, and Icelandic Provisions plain names heirloom skyr cultures, L. bulgaricus and Bifidobacterium.

Sources

  1. Plain Nonfat Skyr Yogurt 5.3oz - High Protein - siggi's (siggis.com)
  2. Vanilla Nonfat Skyr Yogurt 5.3oz - High Protein - siggi's (siggis.com)
  3. Icelandic Provisions Plain Skyr (icelandicprovisions.com)
  4. Icelandic Provisions Vanilla Skyr (icelandicprovisions.com)
  5. Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
  6. Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy