Aurascan

Comparisons · October 23, 2026 · 7 min read

Lean Cuisine vs Healthy Choice Alfredo: 19 g or 21 g Protein?

Two 10 oz chicken-broccoli Alfredo meals compared: Lean Cuisine 260 cal, 19 g protein, 750 mg sodium vs Healthy Choice 280 cal, 21 g protein, 580 mg.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 23, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two plated fettuccini dishes with broccoli florets and sliced chicken

Lean Cuisine Classic Alfredo Pasta with Chicken & Broccoli and Healthy Choice Café Steamers Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo with Broccoli are both 10 oz (283 g) frozen meals: 260 calories, 19 g protein and 750 mg sodium for Lean Cuisine versus 280 calories, 21 g protein and 580 mg sodium for Healthy Choice.

Key takeaways

  • Both meals are single 10 oz (283 g) servings. Lean Cuisine uses rigatoni, and Healthy Choice uses fettuccini.
  • Healthy Choice lists more protein (21 g vs 19 g) and less sodium (580 mg vs 750 mg). Lean Cuisine lists fewer calories (260 vs 280) and less total fat (3.5 g vs 8 g).
  • The ingredient lists differ. Only Lean Cuisine's includes maltodextrin, lactic acid, and annatto and turmeric color extracts. Only Healthy Choice's includes soybean oil, egg white, xanthan gum, and guar gum.
  • Only Healthy Choice lists egg. Both list wheat, milk, and soy.
  • Both lists include carrageenan, sodium phosphate, isolated soy protein, and a potassium salt.

These two frozen chicken and broccoli Alfredo meals are the same size, 10 oz (283 g) per package, so their printed label numbers compare directly. The table below sets the per-meal figures side by side.

Per whole meal (283 g)Lean Cuisine Classic AlfredoHealthy Choice Café Steamers Alfredo
Serving size283 g (1 package)283 g (1 meal)
Calories260280
Protein19 g21 g
Sodium750 mg580 mg
Total fat3.5 g8 g
Saturated fat1.5 g2.5 g
Carbohydrates39 g31 g
Fiber3 g4 g
Added sugars0 g1 g

Which Frozen Alfredo Meal Has More Protein?

How much protein is in Lean Cuisine alfredo?

Lean Cuisine Classic Alfredo Pasta with Chicken & Broccoli has 19 g per 1 package (283 g). The label prints protein at 33% Daily Value. The FDA Daily Value for protein is 50 g, so 19 g would calculate to 38%, as explained in the FDA Daily Value guidance. The reason for the printed 33% was not disclosed, and this article does not guess at it.

Healthy Choice Café Steamers Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo with Broccoli has more protein, at 21 g per 1 meal (283 g). The Healthy Choice brand page confirms the 21 g figure. The %DV for that protein figure is not disclosed on the brand page.

Neither brand discloses how many grams of chicken each meal contains, so the protein totals cannot be traced to a specific amount of meat. For a different protein-focused label comparison, see Eggo vs Kodiak Waffles: 4 g vs 12 g Protein, 4 g vs 6 g Sugar.

How Much Sodium Is in Lean Cuisine vs Healthy Choice Chicken Alfredo?

How much sodium is in Healthy Choice chicken fettuccini alfredo?

Healthy Choice Café Steamers Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo with Broccoli has 580 mg of sodium per 1 meal (283 g). The Healthy Choice brand page does not print a %DV for sodium, so the about 25% figure is Aurascan's calculation: 580 mg divided by the 2,300 mg reference.

Lean Cuisine lists 750 mg of sodium per 1 package (283 g), which the label prints as 33% DV. The FDA's Daily Value reference for sodium is less than 2,300 mg per day, and the FDA sodium guidance describes 20% DV or more per serving as high. Both meals are at or above that 20% DV high threshold: 750 mg is 33% DV as printed, and 580 mg is about 25% DV by Aurascan's calculation. The gap between the two packages is 170 mg.

Both ingredient lists include sodium phosphate and a potassium salt used in place of some sodium chloride. The Lean Cuisine transcription reads potassium salt, while Open Food Facts renders it as potassium chloride. The FDA reference is a general guide, and the sodium limit that fits any individual depends on health conditions and advice from a clinician, which a label cannot assess.

How Do Calories and Fat Compare in These Chicken Alfredo Meals?

How many calories are in Healthy Choice chicken alfredo?

Healthy Choice Café Steamers Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo with Broccoli lists 280 calories per 1 meal (283 g). Lean Cuisine Classic Alfredo Pasta with Chicken & Broccoli lists 260 calories per 1 package (283 g).

Lean Cuisine lists total fat at 3.5 g (4% DV), saturated fat at 1.5 g, and trans fat at 0 g per package. Healthy Choice lists total fat at 8 g and saturated fat at 2.5 g per meal. Healthy Choice's trans fat and cholesterol figures are not available in the label data behind this comparison. Lean Cuisine lists cholesterol at 35 mg.

The fat difference is 4.5 g in total fat and 1 g in saturated fat, with Healthy Choice higher on both.

What Carb, Fiber, and Sugar Numbers Show for Each Chicken Alfredo Meal?

Lean Cuisine lists 39 g of total carbohydrate, 3 g of fiber, and 4 g of total sugars per 1 package (283 g), with 0 g of added sugars. Healthy Choice lists 31 g of total carbohydrate, 4 g of fiber, and 2 g of total sugars per 1 meal (283 g), with 1 g of added sugars.

The two meals differ in pasta type as well. Lean Cuisine uses rigatoni, and Healthy Choice uses fettuccini, so the carbohydrate and fiber totals reflect different pasta and sauce formulations. Reading the added sugars line separately from total sugars shows which sugars were added during processing.

What Ingredients Set These Two Alfredo Meals Apart on the Label?

By an approximate count of named items, including sub-ingredients, both ingredient lists are roughly mid-40s in length. That count is an estimate, because sub-ingredients can be counted in different ways.

  • Lean Cuisine's transcribed list includes carrageenan, maltodextrin, lactic acid, calcium lactate, sodium citrate, and annatto and turmeric color extracts. It also lists whey protein concentrate and lipolyzed cream.
  • Healthy Choice's list includes soybean oil, egg white, modified corn starch, xanthan gum, guar gum, and dextrose in the chicken.
  • Both lists include carrageenan, sodium phosphate or sodium phosphates, isolated soy protein, and a potassium salt.

For another label-by-label comparison in a different category, see RYSE Loaded Protein vs Core Power: Powder vs Shake, Label by Label.

Does Lean Cuisine Classic Alfredo contain carrageenan?

Yes. The transcribed Lean Cuisine label lists carrageenan in the sauce (Open Food Facts label-photo transcription). The Healthy Choice label lists carrageenan within the isolated soy protein product in its cooked chicken. Carrageenan is a thickening and gelling ingredient.

Which Allergens Are Listed on Each Alfredo Meal Label?

The Lean Cuisine allergen statement reads: contains wheat, milk, soy. The Healthy Choice allergen statement reads: contains egg, milk, soy, wheat. Egg is the only allergen difference between the two. Readers with a food allergy should read the full ingredient list on the package they are holding, because formulations can change.

The pasta types also differ. Lean Cuisine's pasta is made from semolina wheat flour and wheat gluten. Healthy Choice's pasta is made from enriched wheat flour, including durum wheat semolina, with soybean oil and egg white. Cross-contact or facility statements were not available for either product in the label data behind this comparison.

How Can Shoppers Read These Frozen Meal Labels Side by Side?

A quick side-by-side check on the package can follow this order:

  • Confirm the serving size. Both are 1 package or meal, 283 g.
  • Compare sodium in mg and %DV against the 2,300 mg daily reference.
  • Compare protein in grams, noting that the FDA Daily Value for protein is 50 g.
  • Read added sugars on their own line, separate from total sugars.
  • Check the allergen statement and the full ingredient list on the package itself.
  • Compare fat and saturated fat, and note any line the label does not print, such as trans fat for Healthy Choice.

The FDA's Daily Value guide explains how to read these lines in more detail.

You can scan the label of either meal yourself with Aurascan, a food-label scanner app for iPhone with a free tier that explains each ingredient one by one with cited evidence.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

How much protein is in Lean Cuisine Classic Alfredo Pasta with Chicken & Broccoli?
The label lists 19 g of protein per 1 package (283 g). The label prints protein at 33% Daily Value, and the reason for that figure was not disclosed.
How much sodium is in Healthy Choice Café Steamers Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo with Broccoli?
The product lists 580 mg of sodium per 1 meal (283 g). The brand page does not print a %DV for sodium, and about 25% is a calculation against the 2,300 mg reference.
How many calories are in Lean Cuisine Classic Alfredo with chicken and broccoli?
The label lists 260 calories per 1 package (283 g).
Does Lean Cuisine chicken alfredo contain carrageenan?
Yes. The transcribed Lean Cuisine label lists carrageenan in the sauce (Open Food Facts label-photo transcription). Healthy Choice also lists carrageenan, within the isolated soy protein product in its chicken.
Do Lean Cuisine and Healthy Choice Alfredo meals contain egg?
Healthy Choice lists egg, as egg white in the pasta. The Lean Cuisine allergen statement lists wheat, milk, and soy, with no egg.
Which Alfredo meal has more fiber?
Healthy Choice lists 4 g of fiber per 1 meal (283 g), and Lean Cuisine lists 3 g per 1 package (283 g).
How much added sugar is in each Alfredo meal?
Lean Cuisine lists 0 g of added sugars per package, and Healthy Choice lists 1 g per meal.

Sources

  1. Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
  2. Daily Value and Percent Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
  3. Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo With Broccoli (healthychoice.com)
  4. Lean Cuisine Classic Alfredo Pasta with Chicken & Broccoli, UPC 0013800174192 (world.openfoodfacts.org)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy