Comparisons · October 26, 2026 · 7 min read
Does Banza Have Xanthan Gum? Yes; Barilla Chickpea Doesn't
Yes: Banza penne lists chickpeas, pea starch, tapioca and xanthan gum; Barilla Chickpea Penne is one ingredient. Protein, fiber and sodium compared.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 26, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Yes, Banza Chickpea Penne contains xanthan gum: its ingredient list reads chickpeas, pea starch, tapioca and xanthan gum, while Barilla Chickpea Penne's page says 'No Xanthan Gum' and lists chickpeas only. Per 2oz (56g) dry, both pastas list 190 calories, and the 3.5oz figures below come from brand page claims rather than nutrition panels.
Key takeaways
- Banza lists chickpeas, pea starch, tapioca and xanthan gum on Open Food Facts. Barilla's page lists chickpeas only and states 'No Gums Added.'
- Per 2oz (56g) dry, Banza's panel lists 11g protein and 11g fiber. Barilla's 12g protein and 8g fiber come from Open Food Facts (UPC 076808011272), not from a Barilla panel.
- Per 3.5oz, Barilla's page claims 21g protein and 15g fiber, and Banza's page claims 20g protein and 20g fiber.
- Banza says the xanthan gum in its pasta is corn-derived with no corn proteins present, and it advises people with a corn allergy to consult a doctor. The Non-GMO Project Verified claim describes Banza's xanthan gum, not the whole pasta.
Does Banza Contain Xanthan Gum?
Banza Chickpea Penne lists xanthan gum among its ingredients on Open Food Facts, and Banza's FAQ says it uses small amounts of Non-GMO Project Verified xanthan gum to bind its ingredients. The Non-GMO Project Verified status describes the xanthan gum, not the whole pasta.
Barilla's product page says 'No Xanthan Gum' and 'No Gums Added.' The Banza FAQ says its xanthan gum is derived from corn, though no corn proteins are present in the ingredient. The amount of xanthan gum in each box is not disclosed.
Is Banza Pasta Just Chickpeas?
No. Open Food Facts lists Banza Chickpea Penne as Chickpeas, Pea Starch, Tapioca, Xanthan Gum. Banza's product page does not print an ingredient list, so that list comes from Open Food Facts.
The label does not disclose how much of the pasta is chickpea compared with pea starch or tapioca.
What Are the Ingredients in Barilla Chickpea Penne?
Barilla Chickpea Penne lists one ingredient, chickpeas, according to its product page, which says 'Made with 1 ingredient: chickpeas' and 'No Gums Added.' Open Food Facts lists the ingredient for UPC 076808011272 as 'Chickpea flour.' Whether chickpea flour and chickpeas are processed differently is not disclosed.
The Barilla brand page also highlights:
- Certified Gluten Free
- Certified Vegan
- Non-GMO Project Verified
- Pack size of 8.8oz
Which Chickpea Penne Has More Protein, Banza or Barilla?
Per 2oz (56g) dry, Barilla's protein is 12g on Open Food Facts and Banza's is 11g on its panel. Per 3.5oz, Barilla's page claims 21g and Banza's page claims 20g. The per-2oz figures come from different sources.
Banza's panel lists 11g of protein per 2oz, which is 18% DV. Banza's page also claims '50% more protein' than average pasta, a comparison to a category rather than a named product. For another protein-per-serving label comparison, see Lean Cuisine vs Healthy Choice Alfredo: 19 g or 21 g Protein?.
How Much Fiber Is in Banza vs Barilla Chickpea Penne?
Banza's panel lists 11g of dietary fiber per 2oz (56g) dry, or 39% DV, split into 6g soluble and 5g insoluble fiber. Open Food Facts lists Barilla at 8g of fiber per 56g serving. That Barilla figure comes from Open Food Facts, not from a Barilla panel, because Barilla's product page does not disclose its full per-2oz Nutrition Facts panel.
Per 3.5oz, Banza's page claims 20g of fiber and Barilla's page claims 15g. Banza's page also claims 3x the fiber of average pasta, which is a claim about a category rather than a named product. Open Food Facts lists Banza at 7g of fiber, an unexplained conflict with the brand panel's 11g per 2oz. The source gives no reason for the difference, so the Banza panel figure is the one used in the comparison above.
A fiber number on a label does not show how any individual's digestion responds, and the digestive effects of either pasta are not covered by these facts.
How Do Banza and Barilla Compare on Calories, Fat, Sodium and Sugars?
Per 2oz (56g) dry, Banza's panel lists 190 calories, 3g total fat, 0g saturated fat, 10mg sodium, 1g total sugars and 0g added sugars. Open Food Facts lists Barilla at 190 calories, 3.5g total fat, 0.5g saturated fat, 0mg sodium, 2g total sugars and 0g added sugars. On these figures, Banza ranks lower on total fat and total sugars, and Barilla ranks lower on sodium.
FDA considers 5% DV or less of sodium per serving to be low, and both figures fall under that line (see FDA guidance on sodium in your diet). FDA's Daily Value for added sugars is 50 grams per day on a 2,000-calorie diet, so 0g added sugars is 0% DV for both (see FDA guidance on added sugars). Total carbohydrate is 31g for Banza and 34g for Barilla per 2oz. For a sugar-per-serving comparison in another category, see Eggo vs Kodiak Waffles: 4 g vs 12 g Protein, 4 g vs 6 g Sugar.
Banza vs Barilla Chickpea Penne: What Does the Label Show Side by Side?
The table places the label figures for each pasta side by side, with the serving basis shown. Barilla's per-2oz figures come from Open Food Facts because its brand page highlights only per-3.5oz protein and fiber.
| Label item | Banza Chickpea Penne | Barilla Chickpea Penne |
|---|---|---|
| Ingredients | Chickpeas, pea starch, tapioca, xanthan gum (Open Food Facts) | Chickpea flour (Open Food Facts); 'chickpeas only' (brand page) |
| Xanthan gum | Yes, corn-derived per Banza FAQ; amount not disclosed | 'No Xanthan Gum' per brand page |
| Serving basis | 2oz (56g) dry | 56g serving per Open Food Facts |
| Calories | 190 | 190 |
| Total fat / saturated fat | 3g / 0g | 3.5g / 0.5g |
| Sodium | 10mg (0% DV) | 0mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 31g | 34g |
| Dietary fiber | 11g (39% DV) | 8g |
| Total sugars / added sugars | 1g / 0g | 2g / 0g |
| Protein per 2oz | 11g (18% DV) | 12g |
| Protein per 3.5oz | 20g (brand page claim) | 21g (brand page claim) |
| Fiber per 3.5oz | 20g (brand page claim) | 15g (brand page claim) |
| Iron / potassium | 2.6mg / 530mg | Not disclosed |
| Certifications | Non-GMO Project Verified xanthan gum | Certified Gluten Free, Certified Vegan, Non-GMO Project Verified |
Should Someone with a Corn Allergy Check Banza's Xanthan Gum?
Banza's FAQ says its xanthan gum is derived from corn with no corn proteins present, and Banza recommends that people with a corn allergy consult a doctor. The label cannot show how those statements apply to any individual.
The Open Food Facts ingredient list names only 'Xanthan Gum,' so the corn source appears in the Banza FAQ rather than in the ingredient list itself. Barilla's listed ingredient is chickpeas only. Allergen statements beyond the listed certifications are not disclosed on Barilla's page.
What Is Tapioca and Pea Starch Doing in Banza Chickpea Penne?
The label does not disclose the function or amount of pea starch or tapioca in Banza Chickpea Penne. Both ingredients appear in Banza's ingredient list, and the label does not explain what role either one plays in the pasta.
Neither ingredient appears in Barilla's listed ingredients, which contain chickpeas or chickpea flour only.
How to Spot Xanthan Gum, Pea Starch or Tapioca on a Chickpea Pasta Label
Look for xanthan gum, pea starch and tapioca in the ingredient list, then read the serving size before comparing protein or fiber numbers. Front-of-package claims can use a different serving basis from the Nutrition Facts panel.
- Find the full ingredient list. Banza's list includes pea starch, tapioca and xanthan gum, while Barilla's brand page lists chickpeas only.
- Check the xanthan gum line. Banza states its xanthan gum is corn-derived, and Barilla's page states 'No Xanthan Gum.'
- Compare serving sizes first. Banza's panel uses 2oz (56g) dry, while the brand pages also make 3.5oz claims.
- Read the full panel for protein and fiber, since brand highlights may differ from the panel.
- Check added sugars against the 50g Daily Value and sodium against FDA's 5% DV low threshold.
- If corn is a concern, read the brand FAQ or allergen statement, since the corn source is not named on the ingredient list.
These label facts cannot show how either pasta affects an individual's digestion, blood sugar or allergies.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Banza Contain Xanthan Gum?
- Banza Chickpea Penne lists xanthan gum among its ingredients on Open Food Facts. Banza says it uses small amounts of Non-GMO Project Verified xanthan gum derived from corn, with no corn proteins present, and the amount per box is not disclosed.
- Is Banza high in protein?
- Banza's panel lists 11g of protein per 2oz (56g) dry serving, which is 18% DV, and its page lists 20g per 3.5oz. Whether that counts as high depends on your own needs, and the page's 50% more protein claim compares against average pasta rather than a named product.
- Is Banza pasta just chickpeas?
- No. Open Food Facts lists Banza Chickpea Penne as Chickpeas, Pea Starch, Tapioca, Xanthan Gum. The proportion of each ingredient is not disclosed.
- Which chickpea pasta has more protein, Banza or Barilla?
- Barilla's listed protein is 1g higher at both sizes shown: 12g versus 11g per 2oz (56g) dry, and 21g versus 20g per 3.5oz on the brand pages. The per-2oz Barilla figure comes from Open Food Facts.
- Does Barilla Chickpea Penne contain xanthan gum?
- No. Barilla's product page says 'No Xanthan Gum' and 'No Gums Added,' and its listed ingredient is chickpeas only.
- Should people with a corn allergy check Banza's xanthan gum?
- Banza recommends that people with a corn allergy consult a doctor, since its FAQ says the xanthan gum is corn-derived. The label cannot show how that applies to any individual.
Sources
- Banza FAQ: Does Banza Contain Xanthan Gum? (eatbanza.com)
- Banza Chickpea Penne Nutrition Facts (eatbanza.com)
- Banza Penne Made From Chickpeas (Open Food Facts) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Chickpea Penne Pasta (barilla.com)
- Barilla Chickpea Penne (Open Food Facts, UPC 076808011272) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Tyson vs Perdue Dino Nuggets: Which Is Healthier? 13 g vs 9 g ProteinGuide
Are MorningStar Chik'n Nuggets Vegan? Yes, and So Is GardeinGuide
Lean Cuisine vs Healthy Choice Alfredo: 19 g or 21 g Protein?Guide
Eggo vs Kodiak Waffles: 4 g vs 12 g Protein, 4 g vs 6 g SugarGuide
Impossible vs Beyond Burger: 6 g vs 2 g Saturated FatGuide
RYSE Loaded Protein vs Core Power: Powder vs Shake, Label by Label
Related guides
Comparisons
Which Has More Protein, Siggi's or Icelandic Provisions?Plain cups, 150 g each: Icelandic Provisions lists 17 g protein, Siggi's 16 g. In vanilla it flips, 16 g vs 15 g. Fat, added sugar and cultures compared.
Comparisons
Vital Proteins vs Sports Research: 18 g vs 10 g ProteinVital Proteins: 18 g protein, 20 g collagen per 3 Tbsp (21 g). Sports Research: 10 g protein, 11 g collagen per 1 scoop (11 g). Both list protein at 0% or <1% DV.
Comparisons
Tyson vs Perdue Dino Nuggets: Which Is Healthier? 13 g vs 9 g ProteinTyson Dino Nuggets list 13 g protein per 4 pieces (87 g) to Perdue's 9 g (76 g); both have 12 g fat, with 430 mg vs 400 mg sodium.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy