Aurascan

Comparisons · October 25, 2026 · 8 min read

Are MorningStar Chik'n Nuggets Vegan? Yes, and So Is Gardein

MorningStar and Gardein plant-based nuggets are both labeled vegan and both contain soy and wheat. Compare protein, sodium, oils and full ingredient lists.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 25, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two breaded plant-based nuggets side by side on a round ceramic plate

MorningStar Farms Chik'n Nuggets and Gardein Ultimate Plant-Based Chick'n Nuggets are both labeled vegan, both list wheat and soy, and both show 200 calories per labeled serving. They differ in serving weight (86 g for MorningStar's 4 nuggets, 94 g for Gardein's 6 pieces), protein (12 g vs 14 g), sodium (460 mg vs 530 mg on the SmartLabel panels), and oil wording. This guide sets the label facts side by side so you can decide which details matter for you.

Key takeaways

  • Both are labeled vegan and both list wheat and soy, so anyone avoiding either allergen needs to read the package of the product they buy.
  • Protein is 12 g per 4 nuggets for MorningStar and 14 g per 6 pieces for Gardein, and the serving weights are different.
  • Sodium is 460 mg per serving for MorningStar (10.5 oz SmartLabel) and 530 mg for Gardein (SmartLabel). A MorningStar sodium figure for the 21 oz pack was not disclosed in the sources reviewed.
  • MorningStar lists vegetable oil (corn, canola and/or sunflower), while Gardein's current SmartLabel lists canola oil.
Label itemMorningStar Farms Chik'n NuggetsGardein Ultimate Plant-Based Chick'n Nuggets
Labeled serving4 nuggets (86 g), about 3.5 servings per 10.5 oz6 pieces (94 g), about 4.5 servings per 14.7 oz
Calories200200
Total fat10 g (13% DV)7 g (9% DV)
Saturated fat1.5 g (8% DV)0.5 g (3% DV)
Sodium460 mg (20% DV)530 mg (23% DV)
Carbohydrate18 g (7% DV)14 g (5% DV)
Fiber2 g (8% DV)Less than 1 g
Total sugars2 gLess than 1 g
Added sugars2 g (4% DV)0 g
Protein12 g14 g
Calcium40 mg (2% DV)290 mg (20% DV)
Iron1.8 mg (10% DV)2.6 mg (15% DV)
Potassium450 mg (8% DV)0 mg
Oil wordingVegetable oil (corn, canola and/or sunflower)Canola oil
Allergen statementContains wheat and soyContains soy and wheat
Vegan labeling'100% vegan' on brand page'Vegan' on brand page

Are MorningStar Farms and Gardein Ultimate Chick'n Nuggets Both Vegan?

Yes, both products carry vegan labeling on their brand pages. The MorningStar Farms product page describes its nuggets as '100% vegan' and shows the line 'KOSHER: KOSHER DAIRY, VEGAN.' The Gardein product page labels its nuggets 'Vegan' and 'No Dairy Ingredients.'

The two labels explain dairy status differently. MorningStar's certification pairs 'Kosher Dairy' with 'Vegan,' but the page does not explain why that Kosher designation applies. That reason was not disclosed in the sources reviewed. Gardein's SmartLabel ingredient list for the 14.7 oz pack does not name a milk ingredient.

A vegan claim describes a stated formula and certification. It does not describe every manufacturing practice. Neither source reviewed addresses shared equipment or may-contain statements, so readers with strict needs should read the full package panel rather than relying on the front of the box.

Do MorningStar Farms Chik'n Nuggets and Gardein Ultimate Nuggets Contain Wheat and Soy?

Yes, both list wheat and soy. The MorningStar package states 'CONTAINS WHEAT AND SOY INGREDIENTS.' The Gardein SmartLabel lists 'Contains Soy' and 'Contains Wheat.'

The FDA lists wheat and soybeans among the nine major food allergens, along with milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts and sesame. Because both products contain these two allergens, a plant-based label does not remove them from the allergen list. Soy appears in both as soy protein (isolate or concentrate), and wheat appears as wheat flour, wheat gluten and wheat starch.

Neither product is gluten-free. MorningStar lists wheat flour, wheat gluten and wheat starch. Gardein lists enriched wheat flour, vital wheat gluten and textured wheat protein. Shoppers who avoid gluten should not rely on the vegan label as a signal. For background, see What Is Gluten? Uses, Health Effects, and Labeling Explained.

How Much Protein Is in MorningStar Farms vs Gardein Ultimate Nuggets Per Serving?

MorningStar lists 12 g of protein per 4 nuggets (86 g), and Gardein lists 14 g per 6 pieces (94 g). Gardein's brand page also states '14 g protein per serving.' Both panels show 200 calories per serving, so the labeled protein gap is 2 g.

Serving weight matters here. The Gardein serving weighs 8 g more than MorningStar's serving, so the per-serving gap does not compare equal portions. To compare on the same weight basis, divide the grams of protein by the serving weight printed on each panel.

Protein quality, such as PDCAAS or amino acid profile, was not disclosed for either product in the sources reviewed. Grams of protein on a label do not describe how well the body uses that protein, so the numbers above describe quantity only. For another meat-alternative label comparison, see Impossible vs Beyond Burger: 6 g vs 2 g Saturated Fat.

How Much Sodium Is in MorningStar Farms vs Gardein Ultimate Nuggets Per Serving?

MorningStar's 10.5 oz SmartLabel lists 460 mg of sodium per 4 nuggets (20% DV). Gardein's SmartLabel lists 530 mg per 6 pieces (23% DV).

The FDA describes 20% DV or more of sodium per serving as high. Both products are at or above that threshold on the serving sizes printed on their panels.

The MorningStar sodium figure for the 21 oz pack was not disclosed in the sources reviewed, so this comparison covers only the 10.5 oz SmartLabel panel. Readers should check the sodium line on the package they hold. People who track sodium for health reasons should follow guidance from their own clinician, since this article does not set a target.

What Oils Are Used in MorningStar Farms vs Gardein Ultimate Chick'n Nuggets?

MorningStar's ingredient statement lists 'vegetable oil (corn, canola and/or sunflower).' The 'and/or' wording means the label does not specify which of those oils a given batch contains. Gardein's current SmartLabel lists canola oil only.

An older Open Food Facts entry for the same Gardein UPC lists sunflower oil and titanium dioxide (color). The current SmartLabel does not include titanium dioxide. The date Gardein stopped using it was not disclosed. Ingredient lists can change between packaging versions, so the package in your hand is the reliable source.

Fat totals also differ. MorningStar lists 10 g of total fat (13% DV) per serving, with 1.5 g saturated fat, 1.5 g polyunsaturated fat and 2.5 g monounsaturated fat. Gardein lists 7 g total fat (9% DV) with 0.5 g saturated fat. MorningStar's brand page carries a '31% less fat' claim whose footnote cites 9 g of fat per 86 g, while the current SmartLabel shows 10 g. Use the Nutrition Facts panel on your package for the current figure.

Why Do the Two Labels Use Different Serving Sizes, and How Do You Compare Them Fairly?

Each label uses its own serving. MorningStar's SmartLabel uses 4 nuggets (86 g), with about 3.5 servings per 10.5 oz pack. Gardein's uses 6 pieces (94 g), with about 4.5 servings per 14.7 oz pack. Because the weights differ, the per-serving numbers in the table reflect different amounts of food.

To compare more fairly, start with the grams printed on each panel rather than the piece count. Then check the total package weight and servings per container. Use the % Daily Value column for sodium and similar nutrients, since DV reflects a daily reference amount rather than a serving weight. Remember that MorningStar also sells a 21 oz pack, and its panel was not reviewed here.

  • Find the serving size in grams on each panel.
  • Compare the same nutrient per serving and per gram.
  • Note the pack size and servings per container.
  • Confirm the allergen line on the package you have.

Do the Ingredient Lists Differ in Ways That Matter, Such as Colors and Starches?

Both lists include methylcellulose as a binder, along with wheat and soy proteins. The clearest differences are in colors, starches and sugars.

For color, MorningStar lists paprika color, while Gardein lists paprika extractives [color]. Titanium dioxide appears only in the older Open Food Facts entry, not in the current Gardein SmartLabel or the MorningStar ingredient statement reviewed.

For starches, MorningStar lists potato starch, pea starch, wheat starch, rice flour and maltodextrin. Gardein lists tapioca starch and textured wheat protein made with wheat gluten and wheat starch. For sugars, MorningStar lists sugar and dextrose and shows 2 g of added sugars per serving. Gardein lists fructose and shows 0 g of added sugars.

For leavening, MorningStar uses sodium acid pyrophosphate and baking soda, while Gardein uses sodium acid pyrophosphate and sodium bicarbonate. Ingredient lists show what is present, not how much of each ingredient is used or how it is processed.

Labels change, and two packages with the same product name can differ. Scan the package you are holding with Aurascan, a food-label scanner app for iPhone with a free tier. It explains each ingredient one by one with cited evidence instead of a single black-box score.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Are MorningStar Farms Chik'n Nuggets vegan?
The MorningStar Farms brand page describes the nuggets as '100% vegan' and shows 'KOSHER: KOSHER DAIRY, VEGAN.' The page does not explain why the Kosher Dairy designation applies.
Do Gardein Ultimate chick'n nuggets have soy?
Yes. The Gardein SmartLabel lists 'Contains Soy' and includes soy protein isolate and pea protein concentrate in its ingredient list.
Which has more protein, MorningStar or Gardein nuggets?
Gardein lists 14 g of protein per 6 pieces (94 g), and MorningStar lists 12 g per 4 nuggets (86 g). Because the serving weights differ, compare the grams of protein against the serving weight on each panel.
Are Gardein chick'n nuggets gluten free?
No. The ingredient list includes enriched wheat flour, vital wheat gluten and textured wheat protein, so the product is not gluten-free.
How much sodium is in MorningStar chik'n nuggets?
The 10.5 oz SmartLabel lists 460 mg of sodium per 4 nuggets (86 g), which is 20% DV. A sodium figure for the 21 oz pack was not disclosed in the sources reviewed.
Do these nuggets contain titanium dioxide?
The current Gardein SmartLabel does not list titanium dioxide. An older Open Food Facts entry for the same UPC lists it. The date Gardein stopped using it was not disclosed.

Sources

  1. Food Allergies (fda.gov)
  2. Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
  3. Vegan Chicken Nuggets (morningstarfarms.com)
  4. MorningStar Farms Chik'n Nuggets SmartLabel (smartlabel.kelloggs.com)
  5. Gardein Ultimate Plant-Based Chick'n Nuggets (gardein.com)
  6. Gardein Ultimate Plant-Based Chick'n Nuggets SmartLabel (smartlabel.conagra.com)
  7. Gardein Ultimate Plant-Based Chick'n Nuggets (UPC 0842234002333) (world.openfoodfacts.org)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy