Aurascan

Comparisons · October 17, 2026 · Updated October 25, 2026 · 9 min read

Oatly vs Silk Oat Milk: Why Both List 7 g Added Sugar

Oatly and Silk Original oat milks each list 7 g added sugar per cup with no sugar ingredient: FDA counts sugars made by enzymes breaking down oat starch as added.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 25, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two plain milk cartons beside a heap of rolled oats on a table

Oatly Original Oatmilk and Silk Original Oatmilk each declare 7 g added sugars per 1 cup (240 mL), and neither ingredient list names sugar. FDA guidance treats sugars created during processing, including sugars formed when enzymes or controlled hydrolysis break down oat starch, as added sugars. The two cartons differ on oil, gums, protein, calcium and some vitamins, so the facts below are set side by side for you to compare.

Key takeaways

  • Both Oatly Original and Silk Original declare 7 g added sugars per 1 cup (240 mL), and neither ingredient list names sugar.
  • FDA guidance treats sugars created through controlled hydrolysis of starch as added sugars, and Oatly's brand page quotes that guidance directly.
  • The cartons differ on oil (low erucic acid rapeseed vs sunflower), gums (none in Oatly vs gellan and locust bean gum in Silk), protein (3 g vs 1 g) and calcium (350 mg vs 470 mg).
  • Both brands state gluten-free status; Oatly shows a GFCO logo, while Silk's certifier is not disclosed.
  • Ingredient lists and certifications can change, so check the carton in your hand.

Why does Oatly Original Oatmilk declare 7 g added sugar when no sugar is listed?

Oatly Original Oatmilk declares 7 g of added sugars per 1 cup (240 mL). Its ingredient list shows an oat base of water and oats, plus 2% or less of other ingredients, and none of those is a sweetener such as cane sugar.

The Oatly brand page explains that its oatmilks, aside from Chocolate, contain no added sweeteners like cane sugar. Instead, enzymes break oat starch into smaller components, including maltose. The page quotes FDA guidance stating that 'any sugar created during a product's production process should be categorized as added.' That is the connection between the production step and the 7 g on the Nutrition Facts panel.

The brand page lists total sugars at 7 g and added sugars at 7 g (14% DV) per cup. The specific sugar profile, such as the split between maltose and glucose, is not disclosed, so the panel figure is the only sugar number available for this product.

Why does Silk Original Oatmilk also declare 7 g added sugar with no sugar listed?

Silk Original Oatmilk also declares 7 g added sugars per 1 cup (240 mL), and its ingredient list does not include sugar, syrup or another sweetener. The listed ingredients are oatmilk (water, oat concentrate), plus 2% or less of sunflower oil, a vitamin and mineral blend, dipotassium phosphate, sea salt, gellan gum, locust bean gum, ascorbic acid and natural flavor.

Silk's product page does not explain where its 7 g of added sugars comes from. Given the FDA rule covered below, sugar formed from oat starch during production is the likely route, but that is an inference rather than a disclosed fact. Neither the enzyme process nor the sugar profile is stated on Silk's brand page.

For readers comparing the two, this is the key point: the sugar figure appears on both panels even though neither ingredient list names a sugar.

What is the FDA hydrolysis rule, and how does it apply to oat starch?

FDA's guidance, 'Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels: Questions and Answers Related to the Compliance Date, Added Sugars, and Declaration of Quantitative Amounts of Vitamins and Minerals' (issued November 2018, revised December 2019), addresses this situation in Question 15. It says sugars created through controlled hydrolysis of starch in plant-based beverages, such as beverages made from oats and rice, must be declared as added sugars because they add empty calories to the diet.

The regulatory definition of added sugars appears in 21 CFR 101.9(c)(6)(iii). The added sugars Daily Value is 50 g per day, so 7 g equals 14% DV. For the many other names sugar can take on an ingredient list, see this guide to added sugar names on labels.

The guidance addresses the label, not the ingredient list. That is why a carton can show added sugars even when no sugar ingredient appears, and why the number on the panel is the place to look.

How do Oatly and Silk compare at a glance per 1 cup (240 mL)?

Nutrient or item (per 1 cup, 240 mL)Oatly OriginalSilk Original
Calories120 kcal100 kcal
Total fat5 g (6% DV)4.5 g (6% DV)
Saturated fat0.5 g0.5 g (3% DV)
Trans fat0 g0 g
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg
Sodium100 mg (4% DV)105 mg (5% DV)
Total carbohydrate16 g15 g
Dietary fiber2 g (soluble fiber 1 g)2 g
Total sugars7 g7 g
Added sugars7 g (14% DV)7 g (14% DV)
Protein3 g1 g
Vitamin D3.6 mcg (20% DV)4 mcg (20% DV)
Calcium350 mg (25% DV)470 mg (35% DV)
Potassium390 mg200 mg
Iron0.3 mg0.4 mg
Vitamin A160 mcg150 mcg
Vitamin B120.4 mcg (15% DV) on the 32 oz carton; 1.2 mcg (50% DV) on the chilled 64 oz1.1 mcg

The figures above come from each brand's page. Silk's panel is based on about 8 servings per 59 oz half gallon, and Oatly's B12 value differs by carton size. The Nutrition Facts panel on the carton you buy is the reference for your purchase.

Which oils do Oatly Original and Silk Original use, and how do they differ?

Oatly Original lists low erucic acid rapeseed oil, which is a canola-type oil. Silk Original lists sunflower oil. Both appear under the 'contains 2% or less' heading on their ingredient lists, so each oil is present at 2% or less of the product.

The oil source is the main difference in this category. Silk's brand page does not give further detail on the oil beyond sunflower oil. Fat totals differ slightly: 5 g total fat for Oatly Original and 4.5 g for Silk Original per cup, and Silk's panel lists 3.5 g of monounsaturated fat. Oatly's monounsaturated fat amount is not given in the information on its page.

Do Oatly Original and Silk Original contain gums, and what are they for?

Oatly Original's verified ingredient list contains no gums. Silk Original lists two: gellan gum and locust bean gum. Gellan gum is a permitted food additive under 21 CFR 172.665, and locust bean gum is affirmed as generally recognized as safe (GRAS) under 21 CFR 184.1343.

Silk's page does not explain the specific role these gums play in its formula. Silk also states that its product is free from carrageenan, a different gum that some readers avoid. Oatly and Silk both list dipotassium phosphate, which is GRAS under 21 CFR 182.6285.

How much protein and calcium does each carton provide, and how do the labels differ?

Oatly Original provides 3 g of protein per cup, while Silk Original provides 1 g. On calcium, Oatly lists 350 mg (25% DV) and Silk lists 470 mg (35% DV). Both cartons are fortified with calcium carbonate, and Oatly also lists tricalcium phosphate and dicalcium phosphate in its ingredients.

Vitamin D is 3.6 mcg (20% DV) on Oatly and 4 mcg (20% DV) on Silk. Oatly's vitamin B12 value depends on carton size, at 0.4 mcg (15% DV) on the 32 oz and 1.2 mcg (50% DV) on the chilled 64 oz. Silk lists 1.1 mcg of vitamin B12 per cup. Silk also lists 4 mg of vitamin E and 10 mg of magnesium, which the Oatly panel does not list in the information reviewed here.

These figures describe the product labels only. They do not show how well the body absorbs any of these nutrients, and they do not establish how these oatmilks compare with other foods in a diet.

Are Oatly Original and Silk Original gluten-free, and what do the certifications say?

Oatly's US pages show a GFCO Gluten Free certification logo. The chilled product page describes the product as 'made fresh from 100% gluten-free oats' and states 'No dairy, no soy, no nuts, no gluten.' Silk's page lists Gluten-Free and Non-GMO Project Verified, and states the product is 'Free from dairy, gluten, carrageenan, cholesterol, and artificial colors & flavors.' Silk's certifying body for its oats is not disclosed.

FDA's gluten-free labeling rule sets a threshold of less than 20 ppm gluten for foods that carry a gluten-free claim, and that threshold applies to oat products too. Recent recalls involving gluten-free labeling also show that a label claim and the product inside can differ, as covered in gluten-free plantain flour recall over wheat gluten.

Who should read these labels more closely, such as people with celiac disease?

Readers with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity may want to read gluten claims, certifications and 'contains' statements closely on every carton, including after a recipe or packaging change.

Readers managing other allergies should also read the full label. Oatly's chilled page states no dairy, no soy and no nuts, while Silk's page states it is free from dairy. Undeclared allergens are a separate labeling risk, as shown in the Oliva to Go baba ghanouj and hummus recall for undeclared sesame.

The evidence reviewed here cannot establish how any individual will respond to a given product. It also cannot cover every packaging variant, international carton or population that has not been studied in relation to these specific oatmilks.

How can you check the current Oatly or Silk label on your carton?

Use the carton in front of you, since ingredient lists and certifications can change. A simple checklist helps:

  • Find the 'Added Sugars' line directly under Total Sugars and check the amount and %DV.
  • Scan the ingredient list for sugar, syrup or sweetener names, and remember that hydrolysis sugars may not appear as ingredients.
  • Compare the oil name: low erucic acid rapeseed oil (Oatly) or sunflower oil (Silk).
  • Check for gums such as gellan gum and locust bean gum.
  • Confirm the carton size, since Oatly's vitamin B12 value differs between the 32 oz and 64 oz versions.
  • Look for a gluten-free statement and any certification logo, and note the certifier's name when it is printed.

Open Food Facts product data for these products is available at the Oatly product record on Open Food Facts, but the carton label remains the reference.

Which other label terms should you know before comparing oatmilks?

Several terms appear on these labels and are easy to confuse. 'Total sugars' includes naturally occurring sugars, while 'Added sugars' includes sugars created during processing. '% DV' shows how a nutrient compares with a daily reference amount, and it is not a health rating. 'Gluten-free' is a regulated claim, while 'no gluten' statements on a package are not the same as a certification. 'Contains 2% or less of' groups ingredients present in small amounts. 'Natural flavor' and 'Non-GMO Project Verified' are separate label terms that describe different things.

If you want to check any carton yourself, scan your next label with Aurascan. Aurascan explains each ingredient one by one with cited evidence.

Related reading: Does Silk Almond Milk Have Carrageenan? Silk vs Almond Breeze.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Does Oatly Original Oatmilk have added sugar?
Oatly Original Oatmilk declares 7 g of added sugars per 1 cup (240 mL), or 14% DV. Its ingredient list does not name sugar, and the brand page says sugars formed from oat starch during production are categorized as added under FDA guidance.
Why does oat milk have added sugar if no sugar is listed?
FDA guidance says sugars created through controlled hydrolysis of starch in plant-based beverages, such as oat beverages, must be declared as added sugars. The sugar is formed during processing, so it can appear on the Nutrition Facts panel without a sugar ingredient.
Does Silk Original Oatmilk have added sugar?
Silk Original Oatmilk declares 7 g of added sugars per 1 cup (240 mL), or 14% DV. Its ingredient list does not include sugar, and Silk's page does not explain the source of the added sugars.
Is Oatly gluten free?
Oatly's US pages show a GFCO Gluten Free certification logo, and the chilled product page says it is made from 100% gluten-free oats and states 'no gluten.' Readers with celiac disease should still check the current carton, since labels can change.
What oil is in Oatly oatmilk?
Oatly Original Oatmilk lists low erucic acid rapeseed oil, a canola-type oil, within its 2% or less ingredients. Silk Original lists sunflower oil in the same category.
Which has more protein, Oatly or Silk oatmilk?
Oatly Original provides 3 g of protein per 1 cup (240 mL), compared with 1 g in Silk Original. Readers should check the Nutrition Facts panel on the carton they buy, since label values can change.

Sources

  1. Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels: Questions and Answers (Added Sugars, Compliance Date, Vitamins and Minerals) (fda.gov)
  2. Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  3. 21 CFR 101.9 Nutrition labeling of food (ecfr.gov)
  4. Questions and Answers on the Gluten-Free Food Labeling Final Rule (fda.gov)
  5. Oatly Original Oatmilk 32 oz product page (oatly.com)
  6. Original Oatmilk - Silk (silk.com)
  7. Oatly Original Oatmilk product record (world.openfoodfacts.org)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy