Aurascan

Comparisons · October 25, 2026 · 7 min read

Does Silk Almond Milk Have Carrageenan? Silk vs Almond Breeze

Neither Silk Unsweet nor Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original lists carrageenan; both use gellan gum. Silk adds sunflower oil; sodium is 140 mg vs 170 mg.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 25, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two glass tumblers of almond milk beside a pile of almonds

Neither Silk Unsweet Almondmilk nor Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original lists carrageenan in its ingredient text on the brand pages, and both list gellan gum. The largest label differences are in the oil and vitamin lines: Silk lists sunflower oil and vitamin B12, while Almond Breeze lists sunflower lecithin and potassium citrate. This page sets those facts side by side so you can weigh them against your own label priorities.

Key takeaways

  • Neither refrigerated carton lists carrageenan among its ingredients, and both list gellan gum.
  • Silk lists sunflower oil; Almond Breeze lists sunflower lecithin.
  • Per 1 cup (240 mL): sodium 140 mg (Silk) vs 170 mg (Almond Breeze); calcium 470 mg vs 460 mg.
  • Shelf-stable and older labels differ from the refrigerated versions, so check the carton in hand.

Silk Unsweet vs Almond Breeze at a Glance: Ingredients and Nutrition Table

Both products are unsweetened almondmilks listing 0 g total sugars and 1 g total carbohydrate per cup on their brand pages. Silk's ingredient statement reads almondmilk (water, almonds), followed by a vitamin and mineral blend, sea salt, gellan gum, sunflower oil, ascorbic acid and natural flavor. Almond Breeze lists almondmilk (water, almonds), followed by calcium carbonate, sea salt, potassium citrate, gellan gum, natural flavors, sunflower lecithin, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D2 and d-alpha-tocopherol (natural vitamin E). Both statements place the non-almond ingredients in the 2% or less group, and neither brand page discloses the almond percentage.

Per 1 cup (240 mL), about 8 servingsSilk UnsweetAlmond Breeze Unsweetened Original (refrigerated)
Calories3025
Total fat3 g2 g
Sodium140 mg (6% DV)170 mg (7% DV)
Total carbohydrate1 g1 g
Total sugars (added)0 g (0 g)0 g (0 g)
Protein1 g1 g
Fiber0 gLess than 1 g
Calcium470 mg (35% DV)460 mg (35% DV)
Vitamin D4 mcg (20% DV)5 mcg (25% DV)
Vitamin E4 mg (25% DV)7.5 mg (50% DV)
Vitamin A150 mcg (15% DV)150 mcg (15% DV)
Vitamin B121.1 mcg (45% DV)Not listed on brand page
Potassium0 mg160 mg (4% DV)
Magnesium10 mg15 mg
Carrageenan in ingredient listNot listed; page states carrageenan-freeNot in listed ingredients
Gellan gumListedListed
Sunflower oil / sunflower lecithinSunflower oil listedSunflower lecithin listed

Is There Carrageenan in Silk Unsweet or Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original?

Neither product's listed ingredients include carrageenan. Silk's page states that Silk Unsweet is free from carrageenan, along with dairy, gluten, cholesterol, and artificial colors and flavors. The Almond Breeze brand page does not show a carrageenan-free statement, and its ingredient list does not name carrageenan.

Under 21 CFR 172.620, carrageenan is a refined hydrocolloid extracted from red seaweed, used as an emulsifier, stabilizer or thickener, and it must be labeled by name. That rule is why carrageenan is easy to spot: if it were an ingredient, it would appear in the ingredient statement under its name. Label wording can change over time, so the carton in hand is the final reference. For more on the additive itself, see Is Carrageenan Safe? Uses, Safety, and Regulatory Status.

Gellan Gum: What It Is, How It Is Made, and Why Both Labels List It

Both products list gellan gum. Under 21 CFR 172.665, gellan gum is a polysaccharide gum produced by fermentation of Pseudomonas elodea. Silk lists it among its 2% or less ingredients, and Almond Breeze lists it in the same group.

The labels do not state the function of gellan gum in these drinks, and the amount used is not disclosed.

Sunflower Oil and Sunflower Lecithin: Where the Two Ingredient Lists Diverge

Silk Unsweet's ingredient statement lists sunflower oil, which is pressed from sunflower seeds. Almond Breeze does not list sunflower oil; it lists sunflower lecithin instead. Both appear in the 2% or less group, and neither label discloses the amount.

Sunflower oil and sunflower lecithin are different ingredients with different labeled functions, so a label reader should not treat them as interchangeable. The regulatory status of sunflower oil was not assessed for this article, so no safety statement is made about it or about sunflower lecithin. For how seed oils show up on labels in general, see Seed Oils on a Label: What It Tells You, What It Doesn't.

Sodium: 140 mg vs 170 mg Per Cup and What the Potassium Citrate Line Adds

Silk Unsweet lists 140 mg of sodium per 1 cup (6% DV), while Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original lists 170 mg (7% DV). Both list sea salt in the 2% or less group.

Almond Breeze also lists potassium citrate, and its nutrition panel shows 160 mg potassium (4% DV) per cup. Silk lists 0 mg potassium. The amount of potassium citrate is not disclosed on either label. Sodium can also appear in ingredients other than salt, as covered in Sodium Beyond Salt: 6 Scanned Labels With Sodium Additives.

People who track sodium or potassium for medical reasons may need individualized guidance from a clinician rather than a per-cup label comparison.

Calcium and Vitamins: Silk's B12 Versus Almond Breeze's Higher Vitamin E and Potassium

Silk Unsweet lists 470 mg of calcium per cup, and Almond Breeze lists 460 mg. Both show 35% DV, so the calcium difference is 10 mg on the brand pages.

The vitamin lines differ more. Silk lists 4 mcg vitamin D (20% DV), 4 mg vitamin E (25% DV) and 1.1 mcg vitamin B12 (45% DV). Almond Breeze lists 5 mcg vitamin D (25% DV), 7.5 mg vitamin E (50% DV) and 150 mcg vitamin A (15% DV), the same vitamin A figure as Silk. Almond Breeze's brand page does not list vitamin B12. Both vitamin D lines name vitamin D2 as the source.

These figures are label values per cup. They do not show how much any person absorbs or needs, and the sources here do not evaluate vitamin status in individuals.

Why Refrigerated and Shelf-Stable Almond Breeze Labels Can Differ

The shelf-stable Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original (aseptic) listed on Open Food Facts shows 30 calories, 2.5 g fat, 170 mg sodium and 450 mg calcium per cup. The refrigerated carton discussed above lists 25 calories, 2 g fat, 170 mg sodium and 460 mg calcium. Calorie, fat and calcium figures differ, so the two formats should be compared separately.

An older Silk Unsweetened label on Open Food Facts lists filtered water, almonds, sea salt, natural flavor, locust bean gum, sunflower lecithin, gellan gum and additional items. Silk's current ingredient statement does not list locust bean gum, and the date of the recipe change was not disclosed. Readers comparing older photos or listings should confirm the ingredients on the carton they hold. For an oat-based pair, see Oatly vs Silk Oat Milk: Why Both List 7 g Added Sugar.

How to Read the Ingredient Panel on Any Almondmilk Carton

  • Find the Contains 2% or less of line and compare what follows it on each carton.
  • Look for carrageenan by name, since it must be labeled under 21 CFR 172.620.
  • Compare oil versus lecithin entries, such as sunflower oil or sunflower lecithin.
  • Compare sodium and potassium per cup on the Nutrition Facts panel, not just the front label.
  • Check calcium and vitamin percentages against the Daily Value on the same panel.
  • Confirm whether the carton is refrigerated or shelf-stable, since the formulas can differ.

Tree nuts are one of the nine major food allergens in the U.S., and both products contain almond. Silk's label states CONTAINS ALMOND. The allergen statement wording for Almond Breeze was not disclosed on the brand page.

The FDA's draft guidance on plant-based milk alternatives (docket FDA-2023-D-0451) recommends voluntary nutrient statements, such as Contains lower amounts of [nutrient name(s)] than milk. The guidance notes that the Dietary Guidelines do not include almond milks in the dairy group because their overall nutritional content is not similar to dairy milk. The FDA also advises checking the nutrition label because nutrient content varies among plant-based milk alternatives.

This comparison cannot establish almond percentage, individual responses, or how either product fits a particular diet. Those questions remain open for many readers.

Aurascan is a food-label scanner app for iPhone with a free tier. It explains each ingredient one at a time with cited evidence instead of a single score, and it pulls product data from Open Food Facts, USDA and barcode databases. Scan the carton you have in hand and review its ingredient list yourself: Scan your next label with Aurascan.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Does Silk Unsweet almond milk have carrageenan?
No carrageenan is listed in Silk Unsweet's ingredient statement, and Silk's page states that the product is free from carrageenan. Carrageenan must be named on labels under 21 CFR 172.620.
Does Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original have carrageenan?
Carrageenan is not in the refrigerated Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original ingredient list on the brand page. That list includes gellan gum, sunflower lecithin and potassium citrate, among other items.
Which unsweetened almond milk has more calcium, Silk or Almond Breeze?
Silk Unsweet lists 470 mg calcium per 1 cup (240 mL), and Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original lists 460 mg. Both show 35% of the Daily Value.
Does Silk almond milk have seed oil?
Silk Unsweet lists sunflower oil in its ingredient statement, which is pressed from sunflower seeds. Almond Breeze lists sunflower lecithin instead of sunflower oil.
What is gellan gum made from?
Under 21 CFR 172.665, gellan gum is a polysaccharide gum produced by fermentation of Pseudomonas elodea.
Why do Almond Breeze labels differ between refrigerated and shelf-stable cartons?
Open Food Facts lists the shelf-stable aseptic Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original at 30 calories, 2.5 g fat and 450 mg calcium per cup, compared with 25 calories, 2 g fat and 460 mg calcium for the refrigerated carton. Check the carton in hand.

Sources

  1. Silk Unsweet Almondmilk product page (silk.com)
  2. Almond Breeze Unsweetened Original (refrigerated) product page (bluediamond.com)
  3. Open Food Facts product record 0025293002494 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  4. Open Food Facts product record 0041570054130 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  5. 21 CFR 172.620 Carrageenan (ecfr.gov)
  6. 21 CFR 172.665 Gellan gum (ecfr.gov)
  7. Draft Guidance for Industry: Labeling of Plant-Based Milk Alternatives and Voluntary Nutrient Statements (fda.gov)
  8. Milk and Plant-Based Milk Alternatives: Know the Nutrient Difference (fda.gov)
  9. Food Allergies (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy