Comparisons · October 22, 2026 · 9 min read
Is BodyArmor Better Than Gatorade? 20 vs 160 mg Sodium
BodyArmor vs Gatorade Fruit Punch per 12 fl oz: 20 vs 160 mg sodium, 510 vs 50 mg potassium, 19 vs 21 g sugar, and Red 40 in only one.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 22, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Per 12 fl oz, BODYARMOR Fruit Punch lists 20 mg sodium and 510 mg potassium, while Gatorade Thirst Quencher Fruit Punch lists 160 mg sodium and 50 mg potassium. Both list 80 calories. Total sugars are 19 g and 21 g, added sugars are 17 g and 21 g, and the ingredient lists differ on color: Gatorade lists Red 40 and caramel color, while BODYARMOR lists fruit and vegetable juice. The numbers alone do not settle which drink fits a given person, so this page sets the label facts side by side.
Key takeaways
- Sodium and potassium show the widest gap: 20 mg vs 160 mg sodium and 510 mg vs 50 mg potassium per 12 fl oz.
- Added sugars are 17 g for BODYARMOR and 21 g for Gatorade per 12 fl oz, both compared with the 50 g FDA Daily Value.
- Gatorade Fruit Punch lists Red 40 and caramel color, while BODYARMOR lists no certified dye in its ingredients.
- Label values change with bottle size, so check the package in hand.
- FDA's dye-pledge tracker (content current as of 10/16/2026) lists Gatorade's commitment to remove FD&C colors from Fruit Punch in Fall 2026, status in progress.
Side-by-Side at a Glance: BodyArmor vs Gatorade Fruit Punch Per 12 fl oz
The table below uses the 12 fl oz serving for both drinks. BODYARMOR's serving is 355 mL and Gatorade's is 360 mL, a small difference that matters only for exact volume comparisons.
| Per 12 fl oz | BODYARMOR Fruit Punch | Gatorade Thirst Quencher Fruit Punch |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 80 | 80 |
| Total fat | 0 g | 0 g |
| Sodium | 20 mg | 160 mg |
| Potassium | 510 mg | 50 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 19 g | 22 g |
| Total sugars | 19 g | 21 g |
| Added sugars | 17 g | 21 g |
| Protein | 0 g | 0 g |
| Magnesium | 55 mg | Not disclosed |
| Zinc | 5.8 mg | Not disclosed |
| Color source | Fruit and vegetable juice | Red 40, caramel color |
| Caffeine in ingredients | Not listed | Not listed |
The table covers only the figures printed on the labels used here. Where a row says not disclosed, the source record did not provide that value.
Sodium: 20 mg vs 160 mg Per 12 fl oz, Measured Against the 2,300 mg Daily Value
Does BodyArmor have sodium?
Yes, BODYARMOR Fruit Punch lists 20 mg of sodium per 12 fl oz serving. The 16 fl oz bottle lists 25 mg sodium per bottle. For the 28 fl oz bottle, the brand's serving count is 2.5, and the container sodium total is listed as 50 mg.
Gatorade Thirst Quencher Fruit Punch lists 160 mg sodium per 12 fl oz. The FDA Daily Value for sodium is 2,300 mg for a 2,000-calorie diet. The 12 fl oz Gatorade serving provides 160 mg of that 2,300 mg Daily Value, while the BODYARMOR serving provides 20 mg of it.
The Gatorade ingredient list includes salt and sodium citrate, which are sodium sources. BODYARMOR's ingredient list does not list salt or a sodium-based ingredient, so the source of its 20 mg sodium was not disclosed. Its electrolyte blend includes dipotassium phosphate, magnesium oxide and zinc oxide. The brand page highlights 780 mg electrolytes, but the page does not break down that figure by bottle size, so it cannot be matched line by line to the 12 fl oz sodium or potassium values.
For readers who want to see how sodium appears in ingredient lists beyond table salt, Sodium Beyond Salt: 6 Scanned Labels With Sodium Additives explains that pattern in more detail.
Potassium: 510 mg vs 50 mg Per 12 fl oz, Measured Against the 4,700 mg Daily Value
BODYARMOR Fruit Punch lists 510 mg potassium per 12 fl oz. The 28 fl oz bottle lists 1,200 mg per container, and the 16 fl oz bottle lists 680 mg per bottle. Gatorade Thirst Quencher Fruit Punch lists 50 mg potassium per 12 fl oz.
The FDA Daily Value for potassium is 4,700 mg for a 2,000-calorie diet. On a per-serving basis, the BODYARMOR figure is 510 of 4,700 mg, and the Gatorade figure is 50 of 4,700 mg.
The potassium sources differ by listing. BODYARMOR's electrolyte blend includes dipotassium phosphate, and it also lists coconut water concentrate, but the amount of coconut water concentrate was not disclosed. Gatorade lists monopotassium phosphate. Neither label explains how much of the potassium comes from each ingredient.
The labels do not say whether either drink is suitable for people who need to limit potassium or sodium. That guidance was not disclosed in the information used for this article, so readers with a medical question should ask a clinician.
Sugar: 19 g Total and 17 g Added vs 21 g Total and 21 g Added Per 12 fl oz
Does BodyArmor have sugar?
Yes. BODYARMOR Fruit Punch lists 19 g total sugars and 17 g added sugars per 12 fl oz serving. The 28 fl oz bottle lists 44 g total sugars and 41 g added sugars per container.
The FDA Daily Value for added sugars is 50 g per day for a 2,000-calorie diet. A 12 fl oz serving of BODYARMOR supplies 17 g of added sugars against that 50 g Daily Value, and a 12 fl oz serving of Gatorade Fruit Punch supplies 21 g. FDA states that for most Americans the main sources of added sugars are sugar-sweetened beverages, baked goods, desserts and sweets, so a drink's added sugar is one part of a larger daily total.
The sweeteners are different. BODYARMOR lists cane sugar and steviol glycosides (stevia sweetener), and the amount of stevia was not disclosed. Gatorade lists sugar and dextrose. Readers comparing these drinks with other sports drinks can also review Gatorade vs Powerade: Sugar, Sodium and Electrolytes.
Dyes and Color: Red 40 and Caramel Color vs Fruit and Vegetable Juice
Does BodyArmor have Red 40?
No. The BODYARMOR Fruit Punch ingredient list does not include Red 40 or caramel color. Its color is listed as fruit and vegetable juice, and the brand page highlights no artificial dyes.
Does BodyArmor have dyes?
BODYARMOR's listed ingredients include no certified color additive. The color is listed as fruit and vegetable juice. Readers who want to understand how juice appears on labels can see Fruit on the Ingredient List: 5 Scanned Products, 5 Different Jobs.
Gatorade Fruit Punch's US label record lists Red 40 and caramel color. FD&C Red No. 40 is one of nine certified color additives FDA approves for food. FDA says certified colors must be batch-certified and that labels must name any FDA-certified color additive, such as Red 40.
FDA states that the totality of evidence indicates most children have no adverse effects from color additives, but some evidence suggests certain children may be sensitive to them. That statement describes a population pattern and does not predict how any one child will react.
Ingredients: Cane Sugar and Stevia vs Sugar and Dextrose, Plus Vitamins and Minerals
The full ingredient lists are printed below in the order each brand uses.
- BODYARMOR Fruit Punch: Filtered Water, Cane Sugar, Coconut Water Concentrate, Citric Acid, Electrolyte Blend (Dipotassium Phosphate, Magnesium Oxide, Zinc Oxide), Fruit and Vegetable Juice (Color), Vitamins (Ascorbic Acid, Calcium D-Pantothenate, Niacinamide, alpha-Tocopheryl Acetate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin A Palmitate, Folic Acid, Cyanocobalamin), Natural Fruit Punch Flavor with other Natural Flavors, Steviol Glycosides (Stevia Sweetener).
- Gatorade Fruit Punch (US label record on Open Food Facts): Water, sugar, dextrose, citric acid, salt, sodium citrate, monopotassium phosphate, modified food starch, natural flavor, glycerol ester of rosin, red 40, caramel color.
The BODYARMOR list is longer on vitamins, and it names its electrolyte salts and coconut water concentrate. The Gatorade list is shorter and includes modified food starch and glycerol ester of rosin. The record does not say what function either of those ingredients serves, and this page does not assign one. The BODYARMOR listing is the same on its 16 fl oz and 28 fl oz pages.
What the Labels Do Not Tell You: Vitamins, Magnesium, Zinc and Caffeine Status
BODYARMOR's 12 fl oz label lists vitamin A at 230 mcg, vitamin C at 47 mg, vitamin E at 3.8 mg, niacin at 12 mg, vitamin B6 at 1.28 mg, folate at 300 mcg DFE (180 mcg folic acid), vitamin B12 at 1.8 mcg, pantothenic acid at 3.8 mg, magnesium at 55 mg and zinc at 5.8 mg. The 16 fl oz bottle lists 75 mg magnesium and 7.7 mg zinc per bottle. Gatorade's magnesium and zinc values were not disclosed in the record used here, so no comparison is possible for those minerals.
Does BodyArmor have caffeine?
No caffeine is listed among BODYARMOR Fruit Punch's ingredients. Neither brand states a caffeine content, and caffeine is also absent from the Gatorade ingredient list. The absence of an ingredient on a list is not the same as a lab measurement, so readers who need a caffeine figure should check the manufacturer.
Is BodyArmor better than Gatorade for hydration?
The label facts do not establish that either drink hydrates better, because no clinical comparison of hydration performance between BODYARMOR and Gatorade was disclosed. The sodium, potassium and sugar numbers describe what is printed on each label, not how either drink performs in the body.
No source used here addresses whether either drink is recommended when sick, during breastfeeding or for children. Those questions remain open for this article.
Gatorade's Dye Pledge: Fall 2026, Status In Progress
FDA's industry pledge tracker (content dated 10/16/2026) lists PepsiCo's Gatorade commitment to remove FD&C colors from fruit punch, lemon lime and orange Gatorade Thirst Quencher and Gatorade Zero products in Fall 2026, with the status listed as in progress.
Does Gatorade Fruit Punch still have Red 40?
The US label record used here lists Red 40 and caramel color. Whether a reformulated dye-free Gatorade Fruit Punch is already on US shelves, and what color source it uses, was not disclosed. Bottles already on shelves may still list Red 40, so the label in hand is the best reference.
How to Read These Labels: Serving Size and Container Size
The same brand can show different numbers depending on bottle size, so start with the serving line on the Nutrition Facts panel. Use this checklist when comparing sports drinks:
- Check whether the serving is 12 fl oz, 355 mL, 360 mL, or a full bottle.
- Check the number of servings per container before multiplying values.
- Compare sodium and potassium in mg, and sugars in g, using the same serving size.
- Look for Red 40 or other named colors in the ingredient list, and check whether color is listed as juice.
Does BodyArmor have less sugar than Gatorade?
Per 12 fl oz, BODYARMOR lists 19 g total sugars and 17 g added sugars, while Gatorade Fruit Punch lists 21 g total sugars and 21 g added sugars. The two labels are close on total sugar and show a 4 g gap in added sugars at this serving size.
Scan the bottle you are holding with the Aurascan app to check the juice color, dyes, sweeteners and electrolytes one ingredient at a time.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does BODYARMOR Fruit Punch have more or less sodium than Gatorade Fruit Punch?
- Per 12 fl oz, BODYARMOR Fruit Punch lists 20 mg sodium and Gatorade Thirst Quencher Fruit Punch lists 160 mg sodium. Both labels are compared against the FDA Daily Value of 2,300 mg for a 2,000-calorie diet.
- Does BODYARMOR Fruit Punch contain Red 40?
- No. The BODYARMOR Fruit Punch ingredient list does not include Red 40 or caramel color, and its color is listed as fruit and vegetable juice. The Gatorade Fruit Punch US label record lists Red 40 and caramel color.
- Does BODYARMOR Fruit Punch have caffeine?
- No caffeine is listed among BODYARMOR Fruit Punch's ingredients, and neither brand states a caffeine content. Readers who need a caffeine figure should check with the manufacturer.
- How much sugar is in 12 fl oz of BODYARMOR Fruit Punch?
- A 12 fl oz serving of BODYARMOR Fruit Punch lists 19 g total sugars and 17 g added sugars. The FDA Daily Value for added sugars is 50 g per day for a 2,000-calorie diet.
- Is BODYARMOR better than Gatorade for hydration?
- The labels do not establish that either drink hydrates better, because no clinical comparison of hydration performance between the two products was disclosed. The labels show different sodium, potassium and sugar values.
- Is Red 40 banned in the United States?
- No. Red 40 is one of nine certified color additives FDA approves for food. The dye-removal pledges FDA tracks, including Gatorade's Fall 2026 Fruit Punch pledge, are company commitments.
- Are sports drinks like BODYARMOR and Gatorade safe for children?
- The sources used here do not address whether either drink is recommended for children. FDA states that most children have no adverse effects from color additives, but some evidence suggests certain children may be sensitive to them.
Sources
- Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Color Additives: Questions and Answers for Consumers (fda.gov)
- Tracking Food Industry Pledges to Remove Petroleum-Based Food Dyes (fda.gov)
- BODYARMOR Fruit Punch Sports Drink (drinkbodyarmor.com)
- Gatorade Thirst Quencher Fruit Punch (US barcode 0052000241211) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
In this series
Guide
Dave's Killer Bread vs Nature's Own: 6 g vs 3 g ProteinGuide
Is Annie's Healthier Than Kraft Mac? 640 mg vs 530 mg SodiumGuide
FDA Salt Substitute Rule: Look for Potassium Chloride on LabelsGuide
Gatorade vs Powerade: Sugar, Sodium and ElectrolytesGuide
Chobani vs Fage Greek Yogurt: Protein, Sugar and CulturesGuide
Sodium Beyond Salt: 6 Scanned Labels With Sodium Additives
Related guides
Comparisons
Is Gorton's Healthier Than Van de Kamp's? Fillet vs MincedGorton's crunchy sticks list Alaskan pollock fillets, 430 mg sodium per 4 sticks; Van de Kamp's list minced pollock, 440 mg per 6 sticks. Labels compared.
Comparisons
Is Ezekiel Bread Healthier Than Dave's Killer Bread?Per slice: Ezekiel 4:9 lists 0 g sugar, 75 mg sodium, 4 g protein; Dave's 21 Whole Grains lists 4 g sugar, 170 mg sodium, 6 g protein. Labels compared.
Comparisons
Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Tortillas: 17 g vs 12 g FiberMission Carb Balance vs Olé Xtreme Wellness: 17 g vs 12 g fiber per tortilla, steviol glycosides vs allulose, and the sulfite in Olé's list.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy