Aurascan

Latest News · October 12, 2026 · 8 min read

Donutful Chocolate Dipped Donuts Recall Rated Class I: Milk

Donutful Chocolate Dipped Vanilla Cake Donuts (7.05 oz, lot 26078, best by 9/15/2026) may contain undeclared milk; FDA now rates the recall Class I. Refund details.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 12, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of a stack of cake donuts beside a tipped-over milk jug

FDA's Enforcement Report record for Event ID 99686 classifies The Better Bakehouse Snack Company's recall of certain Donutful Chocolate Dipped Vanilla Cake Donuts as Class I, with a Center Classification Date of October 6, 2026. The company announced the recall on August 24, 2026, because the product may contain undeclared milk. Shoppers should check lot 26078 with a best-by date of 9/15/2026 first, because the UPC printed in the company announcement and in FDA's record does not match.

Key takeaways

  • FDA's Enforcement Report record (Event ID 99686) classifies the recall as Class I, with a Center Classification Date of October 6, 2026.
  • FDA's Enforcement Report record gives a recall initiation date of August 17, 2026, one week before the company announcement on August 24, 2026.
  • FDA's Enforcement Report record lists 10,602 consumer units.
  • Lot 26078 with best-by date 9/15/2026 is the identifier to check first. The company announcement lists UPC 3 50041 39210 3, while FDA's Enforcement Report record lists UPC 850041392103. The sources do not explain the difference.
  • FDA's record lists the recall for the Enforcement Report dated October 14, 2026, with status 'Ongoing.'
  • According to the company, one allergic reaction was reported and the individual has fully recovered. People with a milk allergy or severe sensitivity face a risk of serious or life-threatening reactions.

What happened

On August 24, 2026, The Better Bakehouse Snack Company announced that it was recalling certain lots of Donutful Chocolate Dipped Vanilla Cake Donuts because the product may contain undeclared milk. FDA published the company announcement the same day. FDA's Enforcement Report record gives a recall initiation date of August 17, 2026, one week before the company announcement.

According to the company, the problem surfaced after one allergic reaction was reported in connection with the recalled product, and the individual has fully recovered. The company states that people who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk run a risk of a serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they eat this product.

According to the company, the contract manufacturer has identified the cause of the mislabeling and has taken corrective measures. The announcement does not name the contract manufacturer or describe the cause.

Do Donutful donuts contain milk?

The company says the product may contain undeclared milk, meaning milk is not declared on the label. The announcement does not say which milk ingredient is present. Shoppers with a milk allergy should treat any carton from the recalled lot as unsafe to eat, regardless of what the front of the package says.

What changed

The recall itself is not new. What changed on October 6, 2026 is the classification recorded by FDA. FDA's Enforcement Report record for Event ID 99686, Recall Number H-0011-2027, lists the recall as Class I, with a Center Classification Date of 10/06/2026. The record appears under 'New Recalls Added Since Last Weekly Enforcement Report' and lists the recall for the Enforcement Report dated 10/14/2026.

FDA's record also lists the product quantity as 10,602 consumer units and the distribution pattern as nationwide.

FDA defines a Class I recall as a situation in which there is a reasonable probability that the use of or exposure to a violative product will cause serious adverse health consequences or death.

FDA's enforcement report guidance also states that classification and posting in the Enforcement Report should not be seen as an expansion or change to a firm's voluntary public warning. For this product, the Class I classification changes how FDA categorizes the existing recall, not the lots named in the company announcement.

Who is affected

The company announcement limits the recall to lots manufactured and distributed in March 2026. The lot named in the sources is lot 26078, with a best-by date of 9/15/2026. The company says the product was distributed to retailers nationwide and through Amazon.com. The retailers were not disclosed.

The population at risk is defined by the warning itself: people with an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk. The announcement does not describe any other population in scope.

Which Donutful donuts are recalled?

The recall covers Donutful Chocolate Dipped Vanilla Cake Donuts. The company announcement describes the product as 10 mini donuts packaged in a 7.05 oz carton containing five 1.41 oz (40g) pouches. FDA's Enforcement Report record describes a 5-count carton, with six cartons per case and two donuts in each. The two descriptions use different units, and the sources do not reconcile them further. Neither the announcement nor FDA's record names other Donutful flavors or other lots.

What is the Donutful recall lot number?

The lot number is 26078, with best-by date 9/15/2026. FDA's record lists the code as 'Lot # 26078 BEST BY: 09/15/2026.' The company announcement and FDA's record both name this lot.

The two sources print different UPCs. The company announcement lists UPC 3 50041 39210 3, while FDA's Enforcement Report record lists UPC 850041392103. Neither the announcement nor FDA's record explains the difference, so lot 26078 and the best-by date are the identifiers to check first.

What it means for shoppers

For a carton on hand, the details below come from the sources named in each line:

  • Lot code: 26078, named in the company announcement and in FDA's record
  • Best-by date: 9/15/2026, named in the company announcement and in FDA's record
  • Company announcement packaging: 10 mini donuts in a 7.05 oz carton containing five 1.41 oz (40g) pouches
  • FDA record packaging: 5-count carton, six cartons per case, two donuts each
  • UPC: 3 50041 39210 3 in the company announcement, or 850041392103 in FDA's record

The best-by date has passed, but cartons may still be in pantries. A past date does not make a product safe for someone with a milk allergy. Anyone who finds a carton matching these details should follow the refund steps below rather than eat it.

What are the symptoms of a milk allergy reaction?

According to FDA, food allergy symptoms typically appear within a few minutes to a few hours after eating the food. FDA lists the following symptoms:

  • Hives
  • Flushed skin or rash
  • Tingling or itchy sensation in the mouth
  • Face, tongue, or lip swelling
  • Vomiting or diarrhea
  • Abdominal cramps
  • Coughing or wheezing
  • Dizziness or lightheadedness
  • Swelling of the throat and vocal cords
  • Difficulty breathing
  • Loss of consciousness

FDA states that a severe, life-threatening allergic reaction is called anaphylaxis. People with a known food allergy who begin experiencing any of these symptoms should stop eating the food immediately, evaluate the need for emergency medication such as epinephrine, and seek medical attention. This article is educational and does not offer medical advice.

What should shoppers do with recalled Donutful donuts?

The company says consumers can dispose of the affected product and obtain a refund from their point of purchase with a receipt, or return the product to their point of purchase for a refund. Consumers with questions may contact The Better Bakehouse Snack Company at 800-243-0335, Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. through 4:00 p.m. Eastern Time.

The background

FDA's food allergies guidance lists nine major food allergens: milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans, and sesame. FDA reports that milk is the most common cause of recalls due to undeclared allergens. FDA also reports that the five food types most often involved in allergen recalls are bakery products, snack foods, candy, dairy products, and dressings. Within candy, FDA has received many reports of undeclared milk in dark chocolate products.

FDA's recall definitions explain that the Enforcement Report includes recalls once they are classified, and that it may list a recall before classification when FDA determines that a firm's removal or correction of a marketed product meets the definition of a recall. That is why a company announcement in August and a classification in October can refer to the same event. FDA's recall background page defines a Class I recall as one with a reasonable probability of serious adverse health consequences or death.

Readers following other undeclared-allergen cases can compare this recall with an undeclared sesame recall involving Oliva to Go Baba Ghanouj and hummus. For context on how allergen information is moving into food service settings, see FDA's 2026 Food Code and its allergen disclosure changes for menus.

What to watch next

The next date in FDA's record is the Enforcement Report dated October 14, 2026, where the Donutful listing is shown. FDA's record lists the status as 'Ongoing,' so the entry may change as the recall progresses. Shoppers can monitor FDA's Event ID 99686 page for updates to the classification or status.

The company has not disclosed whether any additional allergic reactions were reported after August 24, 2026.

What the evidence can and cannot establish: the sources support the lot, the classification record, the company's instructions, and the warning about milk. They cannot establish how any individual will respond to a milk exposure, which milk ingredient is present, which retailers sold the product, or whether other Donutful flavors are affected. This account rests on FDA records and company statements.

If you want to check the label on a package in your own kitchen, you can scan your next label with Aurascan and read the per-ingredient explanations for yourself.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Which Donutful donuts are recalled?
The recall covers Donutful Chocolate Dipped Vanilla Cake Donuts. The company announcement describes 10 mini donuts in a 7.05 oz carton containing five 1.41 oz (40g) pouches. FDA's Enforcement Report record describes a 5-count carton, with six cartons per case and two donuts in each. The recall is limited to lots manufactured and distributed in March 2026, and the lot named in the sources is 26078.
What is the Donutful recall lot number?
The lot number is 26078, with a best-by date of 9/15/2026. Both the company announcement and FDA's Enforcement Report record name this lot.
Do Donutful donuts contain milk?
The company says the product may contain undeclared milk, which means milk is not declared on the label. The announcement does not say which milk ingredient is present.
What are the symptoms of a milk allergy reaction?
According to FDA, symptoms typically appear within a few minutes to a few hours after eating the food. FDA lists symptoms including hives, flushed skin or rash, tingling or itchy sensation in the mouth, face, tongue, or lip swelling, vomiting or diarrhea, coughing or wheezing, and difficulty breathing.
Why is the Donutful recall Class I?
FDA's Enforcement Report record for Event ID 99686 lists the recall as Class I, with a Center Classification Date of 10/06/2026. FDA defines a Class I recall as one where there is a reasonable probability that use of or exposure to the product will cause serious adverse health consequences or death.
Why do the Donutful UPC numbers differ?
The company announcement prints UPC 3 50041 39210 3, while FDA's Enforcement Report record prints 850041392103. The sources do not explain the difference, so lot 26078 and the best-by date 9/15/2026 are the identifiers to check first.

Sources

  1. The Better Bakehouse Snack Company is Recalling Certain Lots of Donutful Chocolate Dipped Vanilla Cake Donuts to Undeclared Milk Allergen (fda.gov)
  2. FDA Enforcement Report, Event ID 99686 (accessdata.fda.gov)
  3. Food Allergies (fda.gov)
  4. Recalls Background and Definitions (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy