Comparisons · October 28, 2026 · 7 min read
Are Uncrustables Healthier Than Great Value? 210 vs 230 Cal
Uncrustables PB & grape: 210 calories, 6g protein in 58g. Great Value No Crust: 230 calories, 8g protein in 62g. Both list 8g added sugar; allergen warnings differ.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 28, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Is Uncrustables healthier than Great Value No Crust? The labels don't make either one clearly healthier: Smucker's Uncrustables Peanut Butter & Grape lists 210 calories and 6g protein per 58g sandwich, Great Value No Crust lists 230 calories and 8g protein per 62g sandwich, and both list 220mg sodium and 8g added sugars. The bigger differences are the oils and the 'may contain' allergen lines.
Key takeaways
- Uncrustables (58g): 210 calories, 6g protein, 8g added sugars, 9g total fat, 220mg sodium per sandwich.
- Great Value No Crust (62g): 230 calories, 8g protein, 8g added sugars, 10g total fat, 220mg sodium per sandwich.
- Both labels declare peanuts and wheat as ingredients.
- Oils: Uncrustables lists soybean oil in the bread and fully hydrogenated vegetable oils (rapeseed and soybean) in the peanut butter. Great Value lists canola oil and sunflower oil in the bread and palm oil and hydrogenated rapeseed and cottonseed oil in the peanut butter.
- Advisory statements differ: Uncrustables says 'may contain hazelnut and milk ingredients,' while Great Value's advisory names milk, eggs, almonds, coconut, hazelnuts, pecans, walnuts, and soy.
- Advisory allergen statements are not required by law.
How do Smucker's Uncrustables and Great Value No Crust compare at a glance?
Great Value lists 230 calories and 8g protein per 62g sandwich; Uncrustables lists 210 calories and 6g protein per 58g. The two sandwiches are close on sodium and added sugars, and they differ most on protein, calories, oil sources, and advisory allergen lists. The table uses the label figures for one sandwich of each brand, read from the label photos on Open Food Facts for Uncrustables and Great Value No Crust.
| Label item (per sandwich) | Uncrustables (58g) | Great Value No Crust (62g) |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 210 | 230 |
| Total fat | 9g | 10g (13% DV) |
| Saturated fat | 2g | 2g (10% DV) |
| Trans fat | 0g | 0g |
| Cholesterol | 0mg | 0mg (0% DV) |
| Sodium | 220mg | 220mg (10% DV) |
| Total carbohydrate | 28g | 26g (9% DV) |
| Dietary fiber | 2g | 2g (7% DV) |
| Total sugars | 10g (from label photo) | 9g |
| Added sugars | 8g | 8g (16% DV) |
| Protein | 6g | 8g (9% DV) |
| Calcium | 16mg | 20mg |
| Iron | Not listed on label photo | 1.4mg (8% DV) |
| Potassium | 131mg | 140mg (2% DV) |
| Vitamin D | Not listed on label photo | 0mcg (0% DV) |
The Uncrustables label photo is slightly blurry, so its % Daily Value figures could not be read reliably, and only gram and milligram amounts are shown for that product. Great Value's box is 8.8 oz with 4 sandwiches per container.
Which sandwich has more protein, and how do the label figures differ?
Great Value No Crust has 8g protein per 62g sandwich; Uncrustables has 6g per 58g. That is a 2g difference per labeled serving, and the Great Value sandwich is also 4g heavier.
The Great Value label prints 9% Daily Value for protein. The Uncrustables % Daily Value could not be read reliably from the label photo, so only the 6g figure is quoted here. Shoppers who track protein per meal will see that gap directly on the two labels.
How many calories does each sandwich contain per serving?
Uncrustables lists 210 calories per 58g sandwich, and Great Value No Crust lists 230 calories per 62g sandwich, so Great Value lists 20 more calories per serving.
The Great Value sandwich is also 4g heavier (62g vs 58g). Confirm either figure against the Nutrition Facts panel on the package you hold.
How much sugar is in each sandwich, and what do the added sugar figures show?
Both sandwiches list 8g of added sugars per serving. Total sugars are 10g for Uncrustables (from the label photo) and 9g for Great Value. Added sugars are sugars added during processing, while total sugars also includes naturally occurring sugars.
FDA's Daily Value for added sugars is 50 grams per day, so 8g is 16% of the Daily Value. Great Value's label prints that 16%. A readable Uncrustables added sugar percentage is not available from its label photo.
The ingredient lists show where the sugar comes from. Uncrustables' bread lists SUGAR, and its jelly lists SUGAR and GRAPE JUICE. Great Value's jelly lists SUGAR and GLUCOSE SYRUP. Because both list the same 8g of added sugars, the ingredient wording is where the two labels differ most.
What oils are used in each sandwich, and how are they listed on the label?
Uncrustables lists soybean oil in the bread and 'fully hydrogenated vegetable oils (rapeseed and soybean)' in the peanut butter. Great Value lists canola oil and sunflower oil in the bread and 'palm oil' and 'hydrogenated rapeseed and cottonseed oil' in the peanut butter.
- Uncrustables bread: soybean oil, listed as a separate bread ingredient
- Uncrustables peanut butter: fully hydrogenated vegetable oils (rapeseed and soybean)
- Great Value bread: canola oil, sunflower oil (within the dough conditioner)
- Great Value peanut butter: palm oil, hydrogenated rapeseed and cottonseed oil
Both labels list 0g trans fat and 2g saturated fat per sandwich. The hydrogenation wording differs, however. Uncrustables says 'fully hydrogenated,' while Great Value says 'hydrogenated' only, and the Great Value label does not state whether its hydrogenation is full or partial. This section reports label wording only.
Do the 'may contain' allergen statements differ between the two sandwiches?
Yes. Both labels declare peanuts and wheat as ingredients, but their advisory lists are different. Uncrustables' advisory reads 'may contain hazelnut and milk ingredients.' Great Value's advisory names milk, eggs, almonds, coconut, hazelnuts, pecans, walnuts, and soy.
FDA's list of major food allergens includes milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans, and sesame. A shopper can compare each advisory line against that list. Neither label explains how much of an allergen a 'may contain' line represents.
Are both sandwiches safe for people with peanut or wheat allergies?
Both labels declare peanuts and wheat as ingredients, so neither is suitable for people with peanut or wheat allergies. Those allergens are present by design, not as advisory cross-contact.
Advisory statements are a separate matter. FDA states that 'may contain' or 'produced in a facility' statements are not required by law and can address unavoidable cross-contact only when manufacturers have taken every precaution to avoid it. Neither label discloses shared-line information, cleaning practices, or cross-contact testing. People with allergies should follow guidance from their own clinicians.
What the labels cannot establish is whether any single package carries trace allergens beyond what the advisory lines state.
How should shoppers read a 'may contain' statement on a sandwich label?
A 'may contain' statement is an advisory note, not a complete ingredient list, and it does not state how much of an allergen is present. Advisory statements are not required by law, so an absent statement does not prove that cross-contact is absent, and a present one does not show a measurable amount of the allergen.
A practical reading order is the 'contains' line first, then the full ingredient list for allergen-derived items such as oils and flours, then the advisory line on its own. Compare the label you hold with the manufacturer or retailer page, since wording can change over time.
For a related example of allergen wording on another product category, see Does Bumble Bee Tuna Have Soy? Yes; StarKist Says No. For how regulators are treating allergen disclosure in restaurant settings, see FDA 2026 Food Code and Sesame: Allergen Disclosure Moves to Menus.
Where can shoppers find alternatives and check current nutrition panels?
The most reliable source for current nutrition panels is the package itself. The label photos used here are on the Open Food Facts pages for Uncrustables Peanut Butter & Grape and Great Value No Crust Peanut Butter & Grape.
Price per sandwich is not disclosed here, and prices vary by store and date, so this comparison does not rank cost.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Are Great Value Uncrustables good?
- Great Value does not make Smucker's Uncrustables; its No Crust Sandwiches are a separate product. The label figures do not rank either sandwich as better on quality, and taste is not covered here.
- Are Great Value Uncrustables healthy?
- The label figures do not establish that either sandwich is healthy or unhealthy. Per sandwich, Great Value lists 230 calories, 8g protein, 10g total fat, and 220mg sodium at 62g, while Uncrustables lists 210 calories, 6g protein, 9g total fat, and 220mg sodium at 58g.
- Are Uncrustables healthy for kids?
- The label figures do not include guidance for children, so they cannot establish whether Uncrustables is healthy for kids. The label lists 8g of added sugars per 58g sandwich, and FDA's Daily Value for added sugars is 50 grams per day. A pediatric clinician can advise on a child's diet and allergy needs.
- Are Uncrustables healthy for toddlers?
- Toddler-specific guidance is not part of the label figures, so they cannot answer this question. Both labels declare peanuts and wheat, which matters for families managing those allergens, and a pediatric clinician is the right source for individual decisions.
- Why are Uncrustables so expensive?
- Price per sandwich is not disclosed here, and the reasons for pricing are not established. Prices vary by store and date, so the shelf price or retailer listing is the best place to check.
- Which has more protein, Uncrustables or Great Value?
- Great Value No Crust has more protein, with 8g per 62g sandwich compared with 6g per 58g Uncrustables sandwich. The label figures describe one serving, so actual intake depends on how much you eat.
Sources
- Smucker's Uncrustables Peanut Butter & Grape Jelly Sandwich, Open Food Facts label photos (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Great Value No Crust Sandwiches Peanut Butter & Grape Jelly, Open Food Facts label photos (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Food Allergies (fda.gov)
- The Current Food Allergen Landscape (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Does Kikkoman Have Gluten? It Lists Wheat; La Choy Doesn'tGuide
Does Bumble Bee Tuna Have Soy? Yes; StarKist Says NoGuide
What's the Difference Between Wish-Bone and Newman's Own? CheeseGuide
WinCo Recalls Hoagie Rolls Over Undeclared Sesame: UPC, DatesGuide
Oatly vs Silk Oat Milk: Why Both List 7 g Added SugarGuide
Donutful Chocolate Dipped Donuts Recall Rated Class I: Milk
Related guides
Comparisons
Does Kikkoman Have Gluten? It Lists Wheat; La Choy Doesn'tKikkoman's ingredients include wheat; La Choy uses hydrolyzed soy protein and is labeled gluten free. Sodium per tbsp: 960 mg vs 1,330 mg. Full labels compared.
Comparisons
Does Bumble Bee Tuna Have Soy? Yes; StarKist Says NoYes: Bumble Bee chunk light in water lists soy on its allergen line; StarKist says its broth has no soy. Sodium, protein and FDA kid servings compared.
Comparisons
Does Fruit by the Foot Have Red 40? Roll-Ups ComparedFruit by the Foot Berry Tie-Dye colors with spirulina and vegetable juice, but the Starburst flavor lists Red 40. Roll-Ups vary by flavor too. 9 g vs 7 g added sugar.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy