Comparisons · October 8, 2026 · 7 min read
Olipop vs Poppi: Fiber, Sugar and Sweeteners Compared
Olipop Vintage Cola lists 9g fiber and 5g sugar; Poppi Classic Cola lists 3g fiber and 5g sugar. Both use stevia and caffeine. Full labels and what FDA says.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 8, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Per can, Olipop Vintage Cola has more fiber (9g or 6g, depending on the formula) and less added sugar (2g), while Poppi Classic Cola has fewer calories (35) and no sodium; both use stevia and neither lists aspartame.
Key takeaways:
- Olipop Vintage Cola exists in two distinct recipes: a refrigerated 9g fiber line using inulin from chicory and Jerusalem artichoke, and a shelf-stable 6g fiber line using acacia and guar fiber.
- Poppi Classic Cola provides 3g of dietary fiber per can derived from cassava root fiber and organic agave inulin.
- Neither lists aspartame, sucralose or acesulfame potassium; both list stevia leaf extract, with 2g (Olipop) vs 3g (Poppi) added sugars per can.
- Olipop Vintage Cola delivers 50mg of caffeine from green tea extract, while Poppi Classic Cola provides 40mg of natural caffeine.
Olipop Vintage Cola vs Poppi Classic Cola: At-a-Glance Comparison
Much like comparing Coke Zero Sugar vs Diet Coke: Two Zero-Calorie Colas, examining declared facts side by side clarifies formulation differences. Olipop manufactures two separate formulations under the Vintage Cola name, whereas Poppi sells one standard Classic Cola recipe.
| Nutrient / Component | Olipop Vintage Cola (9g Line) | Olipop Vintage Cola (6g Line) | Poppi Classic Cola |
|---|---|---|---|
| Serving Size | 1 Can (355 mL) | 1 Can (355 mL) | 1 Can (355 mL listed via Open Food Facts) |
| Calories | 50 | 40 | 35 |
| Total Fat | 0g | Not listed | 0g |
| Sodium | 30mg (1% DV) | 30mg | 0mg |
| Total Carbohydrate | 17g (6% DV) | 14g (5% DV) | 9g (3% DV) |
| Dietary Fiber | 9g (32% DV) | 6g (21% DV) | 3g (11% DV) |
| Total Sugars | 5g | 4g | 5g |
| Added Sugars | 2g (4% DV) | 2g (4% DV) | 3g (6% DV) |
| Protein | 0g | 0g | 0g |
| Caffeine | 50mg (Green Tea) | 50mg (Green Tea) | 40mg (Natural Caffeine) |
| Juice Content | 5% Juice | Not stated on brand page | 3% Juice |
| Primary Sweeteners | Cassava syrup, apple juice, stevia | Cassava syrup, apple juice, stevia | Cane sugar, apple juice, stevia |
| Primary Fibers | Cassava, chicory inulin, artichoke | Cassava, acacia fiber, guar fiber | Cassava root fiber, agave inulin |
| Storage (brand page) | Refrigerated | Shelf-stable | Not stated |
For a deeper look at alternative non-caloric sweetening agents across modern drinks, you can also explore our comparison on Stevia vs Monk Fruit: Plant Sweetener Comparison.
Which is healthier, Olipop or Poppi?
Neither is healthier on every measure: Olipop has more fiber (9g or 6g vs 3g per can) and less added sugar (2g vs 3g), while Poppi has fewer calories (35 vs 40 to 50) and no sodium (0mg vs 30mg).
On fiber, Olipop provides more per can: 9g in its refrigerated formula (32% Daily Value) or 6g in its shelf-stable formula (21% Daily Value). In contrast, Poppi delivers 3g of fiber per can (11% Daily Value).
On calories and sodium, Poppi Classic Cola lists 35 calories and 0mg of sodium, compared with 40 to 50 calories and 30mg of sodium for Olipop Vintage Cola. Added sugars are 2g (Olipop) and 3g (Poppi) per can, and neither ingredient list includes caramel color.
How much fiber is in Olipop vs Poppi?
Olipop Vintage Cola contains either 9g or 6g of dietary fiber per can depending on the specific line, while Poppi Classic Cola contains 3g of dietary fiber per can.
Dietary fiber sources differ notably across these formulations. Olipop's refrigerated 9g line uses its OLISMART blend featuring cassava root fiber, chicory root inulin, and Jerusalem artichoke inulin. In contrast, Olipop's 6g shelf-stable line reformulates this fiber matrix by swapping out the inulins for acacia fiber and guar fiber alongside cassava root fiber. Poppi Classic Cola utilizes a combination of cassava root fiber and organic agave inulin to deliver its 3g total.
Under FDA labeling guidelines for dietary fiber, declarable fibers include intact plant components as well as added isolated or synthetic non-digestible carbohydrates that FDA has determined have beneficial physiological effects. Guar gum is on FDA's approved isolated fiber list, and FDA says it intends to allow inulin, inulin-type fructans and acacia (gum arabic) in the fiber declaration under enforcement discretion until it completes rulemaking. Cassava root fiber itself is not specifically detailed on the FDA isolated fiber evaluation page. Neither brand discloses the exact gram proportion of each individual fiber ingredient within its blend.
Does Olipop or Poppi have more sugar?
Poppi Classic Cola has slightly more added sugar at 3g per can, while Olipop Vintage Cola contains 2g of added sugar in both its 9g and 6g formulas.
When looking at total sugars, the products remain very close. Olipop's 9g fiber line lists 5g of total sugars, its 6g line lists 4g of total sugars, and Poppi Classic Cola lists 5g of total sugars.
The sources of sweetness also diverge between the two brands. Olipop relies on cassava root syrup and apple juice concentrate to supply caloric sweetness, supplemented by stevia leaf extract. Poppi utilizes organic cane sugar combined with apple juice concentrate and stevia leaf extract. Neither formulation includes high-fructose corn syrup.
Do Olipop or Poppi use artificial sweeteners or aspartame?
Neither Olipop nor Poppi lists aspartame, sucralose or acesulfame potassium; both list stevia leaf extract alongside caloric sweeteners.
On their ingredient lists (Olipop 9g, Olipop 6g, Poppi), Olipop lists "Stevia Leaf* *Extract" while Poppi declares "Stevia Leaf Extract." Neither brand lists artificial high-intensity sweeteners such as aspartame, sucralose, saccharin, or acesulfame potassium. The FDA says it has no questions about GRAS conclusions for high-purity (95% minimum) steviol glycosides from stevia leaves, which are reported to be 200 to 400 times sweeter than table sugar; stevia leaf and crude stevia extracts are not considered GRAS, and their import is not permitted for use as sweeteners. Neither brand page publicly specifies the exact steviol glycoside purity percentage or the milligram weight of stevia extract present per can.
Do Olipop and Poppi have caffeine?
Yes, both Olipop Vintage Cola and Poppi Classic Cola contain caffeine, delivering 50mg and 40mg per can respectively.
Olipop Vintage Cola explicitly attributes its 50mg of caffeine to green tea caffeine extract. Poppi Classic Cola lists "Natural Caffeine" in its ingredients and states 40mg per can, without naming a plant source. For context, the FDA has cited 400 milligrams a day, for most adults, as an amount not generally associated with negative effects.
Full Ingredient Lists: Olipop 9g, Olipop 6g, and Poppi
Reading full ingredient statements reveals recipe variations that the nutrition panel alone does not display, including botanical extracts and acids.
Olipop Vintage Cola (9g Fiber Line, Refrigerated):
- Carbonated Water
- OLISMART (Cassava Root Fiber, Chicory Root Inulin, Jerusalem Artichoke Inulin, Nopal Cactus Extract, Marshmallow Root Extract, Calendula Flower Extract, Kudzu Root Extract)
- Cassava Root Syrup
- Apple Juice Concentrate
- Natural Flavors
- Lime Juice Concentrate
- Stevia Leaf* *Extract
- Alpinia Galanga Root Extract
- Green Tea Caffeine* *Extract
- Himalayan Pink Salt
- Mushroom* *Extract
Olipop Vintage Cola (6g Fiber Line, Shelf-Stable):
- Carbonated Water
- OLISMART (Cassava Root Fiber, Acacia Fiber, Guar Fiber, Nopal Cactus Extract, Marshmallow Root Extract, Calendula Flower Extract, Kudzu Root Extract)
- Cassava Root Syrup
- Apple Juice Concentrate
- Natural Flavors
- Lime Juice Concentrate
- Stevia Leaf* *Extract
- Alpinia Galanga Root Extract
- Green Tea Caffeine* *Extract
- Himalayan Pink Salt
- Mushroom* *Extract
Poppi Classic Cola:
- Sparkling Water
- Organic Cane Sugar
- Cassava Root Fiber
- Natural Flavors
- Apple Juice Concentrate
- Organic Apple Cider Vinegar
- Organic Agave Inulin
- Stevia Leaf Extract
- Natural Tartaric Acid
- Natural Caffeine
Neither ingredient list includes caramel color or phosphoric acid.
Other Ingredients: Botanical Extracts vs Apple Cider Vinegar
Only Poppi lists organic apple cider vinegar and natural tartaric acid. Only Olipop lists botanical extracts (nopal cactus, marshmallow root, calendula flower, kudzu root, alpinia galanga root and mushroom), along with Himalayan pink salt and lime juice concentrate.
The FDA sources cited here do not establish a gut-health effect for these specific drinks, so this comparison sticks to what each label lists.
Storage and Shelf Stability: Refrigerated Cans vs Pantry Storage
Olipop's two Vintage Cola lines are stored differently:
- Olipop 9g Fiber Line: Olipop says this line "should be stored in the fridge."
- Olipop 6g Fiber Line: Olipop says it is shelf-stable and "can be stored anywhere cool and dry."
Because Olipop distributes two distinct formulations under the identical "Vintage Cola" banner, check the can to see whether it is the 9g refrigerated formula or the 6g shelf-stable version. To see every ingredient on whichever can you pick up, scan it with the Aurascan app.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Which is healthier, Olipop or Poppi?
- Neither is healthier on every measure. Per can, Olipop Vintage Cola has more fiber (9g or 6g vs 3g) and less added sugar (2g vs 3g); Poppi Classic Cola has fewer calories (35 vs 40 to 50) and no sodium (0mg vs 30mg).
- Does Olipop or Poppi have more sugar?
- Poppi Classic Cola has slightly more added sugar at 3g per can, whereas Olipop contains 2g of added sugar, though both brands keep total sugars low at 4g to 5g per can.
- How much fiber is in Olipop vs Poppi?
- Olipop Vintage Cola provides either 9g of fiber (refrigerated formula) or 6g of fiber (shelf-stable formula), while Poppi Classic Cola provides 3g of fiber per can.
- Do Olipop and Poppi have caffeine?
- Yes, Olipop Vintage Cola contains 50mg of green tea caffeine per can, and Poppi Classic Cola contains 40mg of natural caffeine per can.
- Do Olipop or Poppi use artificial sweeteners or aspartame?
- No, neither brand uses aspartame, sucralose, or other synthetic sweeteners; both brands use plant-derived stevia leaf extract to help sweeten their drinks.
- Why does Olipop have two different Vintage Cola formulas?
- Olipop sells a refrigerated 9g fiber line (with chicory root and Jerusalem artichoke inulin) and a shelf-stable 6g fiber line (with acacia and guar fiber) under the same Vintage Cola name.
Sources
- Olipop Vintage Cola Product Details (drinkolipop.com)
- Olipop Vintage Cola 6g Fiber Product Details (drinkolipop.com)
- Poppi Classic Cola Product Details (drinkpoppi.com)
- Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)
- Questions and Answers on Dietary Fiber (fda.gov)
- Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine is Too Much? (fda.gov)
In this series
Related guides
Comparisons
What's in Bush's vs B&M Baked Beans? 570 vs 390mg SodiumBush's Original lists brown sugar and cured bacon; B&M Original uses sugar, molasses and pork fat. Both 11g added sugar per 1/2 cup; sodium 570mg vs 390mg.
Comparisons
Does Banza Have Xanthan Gum? Yes; Barilla Chickpea Doesn'tYes: Banza penne lists chickpeas, pea starch, tapioca and xanthan gum; Barilla Chickpea Penne is one ingredient. Protein, fiber and sodium compared.
Comparisons
Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Tortillas: 17 g vs 12 g FiberMission Carb Balance vs Olé Xtreme Wellness: 17 g vs 12 g fiber per tortilla, steviol glycosides vs allulose, and the sulfite in Olé's list.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy