Comparisons · November 1, 2026 · 9 min read
Does Mott's Applesauce Have HFCS? Yes; GoGo squeeZ: No
Mott's original applesauce pouch lists high fructose corn syrup and 7 g added sugar per 90 g pouch; GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple lists 0 g added. Both labels compared.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · November 1, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

TL;DR: Per 90 g pouch, Mott's Applesauce Original lists 14 g total sugars and 7 g added sugars, while GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple lists 12 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars. Both pouches list 60 calories. Mott's ingredients include high fructose corn syrup, and GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple's listed ingredients do not.
Key takeaways
- Per 90 g pouch, Mott's Applesauce Original lists 60 calories, 14 g total sugars, and 7 g added sugars (14% DV).
- Mott's ingredients include high fructose corn syrup, listed second after apples.
- GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple lists 60 calories, 12 g total sugars, and 0 g added sugars per 90 g pouch.
- FDA says it is not aware of any evidence of a safety difference between foods containing HFCS 42 or HFCS 55 and foods containing similar amounts of other nutritive sweeteners with approximately equal glucose and fructose content, such as sucrose or honey (FDA High Fructose Corn Syrup Questions and Answers).
Does Mott's Applesauce pouch (original, 3.2 oz) have high fructose corn syrup?
Yes, the Mott's 3.2 oz pouch (1 pouch, 90 g) lists high fructose corn syrup second, after apples. The Price Rite Marketplace listing for the Mott's Applesauce 3.2 oz pouch (4 count) shows the ingredients as apples, high fructose corn syrup, and ascorbic acid (vitamin C), with a serving size of 1 pouch (90 g). The Open Food Facts record for the Mott's Applesauce Apple pouch (barcode 0014800001693) also lists apples first and high fructose corn syrup next.
Ingredients are listed in descending order of weight. The label does not state the percentage of each ingredient, so the amount of high fructose corn syrup in the pouch cannot be read from the label.
These Mott's figures come from the Price Rite listing and the Open Food Facts record; the printed pack in your hand is the reference point.
Does Mott's Applesauce pouch (original, 3.2 oz) have added sugar?
Yes. The listing shows 7 g of added sugars per 1 pouch (90 g), which is 14% of the Daily Value, and 14 g of total sugars for the same pouch.
The Daily Value for added sugars is 50 grams per day based on a 2,000 calorie diet, as described in FDA's added sugars guidance. Measured against that reference amount, 7 g is 14% of the Daily Value. The added sugar line reports how much of the 14 g total is sugar added during processing or packaging.
For more context on how added sugar limits differ by age, see How Much Added Sugar Should Kids Have a Day? By Age, in Grams.
Does GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple have high fructose corn syrup or added sugar?
No. The GoGo squeeZ brand page for Apple Apple lists the ingredients as APPLE, APPLE PUREE CONCENTRATE, LEMON JUICE CONCENTRATE. It also lists 0 g added sugars per 1 pouch (90 g), or 0% DV. No high fructose corn syrup appears in its ingredients.
The brand page describes the product as "a delicious mix of 100% fruit with no sugar added." Separately, the Fruit On The Go record on Open Food Facts (barcode 0890000001158) lists 0 g added sugars and 12 g sugars per 1 pouch (90 g). That is a third-party database record, not the brand's own label.
The 12 g of total sugars is not labeled as added sugar. Because the added sugar entry is 0 g, none of the 12 g is counted in the added sugar line.
Which has more sugar, Mott's or GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple per 90 g pouch?
Mott's Applesauce Original lists more: 14 g total sugars and 7 g added sugars, compared with 12 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars for GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple, both per 1 pouch (90 g). On these labels, the total sugar difference is 2 g and the added sugar difference is 7 g.
The added sugar difference is the larger of the two gaps. FDA's added sugars guidance distinguishes added sugars from total sugars, so the two lines are read together rather than the total alone.
For a second kids' pouch comparison using the same label method, see Is Honest Kids Healthier Than Capri Sun? 0 g vs 8 g Added Sugar.
What is the difference between total sugar and added sugar on these pouch labels?
Total sugars is the full amount of sugar listed on the Nutrition Facts panel. Added sugars is the part that FDA's added sugars guidance describes as sugar added during processing or packaging. Total sugars can include sugar that occurs naturally in fruit.
On the Mott's label, 14 g total sugars minus 7 g added sugars leaves 7 g that is not counted as added. The label does not say how that 7 g is split between the apples and the high fructose corn syrup.
On the GoGo squeeZ label, the 12 g total sugars sits entirely outside the added sugar line, since the added sugar entry is 0 g. For a plain-language walkthrough of the panel, see FDA's guide to reading the Nutrition Facts label.
What are the full ingredient lists for Mott's and GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple per 90 g pouch?
Mott's lists three ingredients: apples, high fructose corn syrup, and ascorbic acid (vitamin C). GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple also lists three ingredients, shown in full below as worded on the brand page.
- Mott's Applesauce Original: Apples, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
- GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple: APPLE, APPLE PUREE CONCENTRATE, LEMON JUICE CONCENTRATE.
The printed ingredient statement on your pouch is the version to compare with these lists.
How do the calories, carbohydrates, fiber, sodium, and vitamin C compare side by side?
Both pouches list 60 calories and 1 g of dietary fiber per 90 g pouch. Mott's lists 16 g of carbohydrate and 5 mg of sodium, while GoGo squeeZ lists 15 g of carbohydrate and 0 g of sodium. The table below puts the label values in one place.
| Label item (1 pouch, 90 g) | Mott's Applesauce Original (3.2 oz) | GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 60 | 60 |
| Total sugars | 14 g | 12 g |
| Added sugars | 7 g (14% DV) | 0 g (0% DV) |
| Total carbohydrate | 16 g (6% DV) | 15 g (5% DV) |
| Dietary fiber | 1 g (4% DV) | 1 g (4% DV) |
| Sodium | 5 mg | 0 g |
| Total fat | 0 g (Open Food Facts record) | 0 g (brand page) |
| Protein | 0 g (Open Food Facts record) | 0 g (brand page) |
| Potassium | 70 mg (2% DV) | Not disclosed on brand page |
| Vitamin C | 9 mg (10% DV) | Not disclosed on brand page |
| Ingredients | Apples, high fructose corn syrup, ascorbic acid | Apple, apple puree concentrate, lemon juice concentrate |
The vitamin C and potassium values for GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple are not disclosed on the brand page, so they are left blank rather than estimated.
Is high fructose corn syrup in Mott's Applesauce pouch safe, according to FDA?
FDA says it is not aware of any evidence of a safety difference between foods containing HFCS 42 or HFCS 55 and foods containing similar amounts of other nutritive sweeteners with approximately equal glucose and fructose content, such as sucrose or honey. This statement appears in FDA's High Fructose Corn Syrup Questions and Answers, which also describes the most common forms of HFCS as containing either 42 percent or 55 percent fructose.
The same FDA resource notes that HFCS 42 is mainly used in processed foods, cereals, baked goods, and some beverages. The Mott's listing does not say which form of high fructose corn syrup it uses, so that detail is not disclosed on the label.
FDA's Q&A cites 21 CFR 184.1866 as the regulation that covers high fructose corn syrup as a food ingredient.
Is GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple healthy for kids?
On the label facts alone, GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple lists 60 calories, 12 g total sugars, and 0 g added sugars per 1 pouch (90 g), with no high fructose corn syrup in its ingredients. Those figures do not by themselves establish whether a pouch fits a particular child's diet.
The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend limiting calories from added sugars to less than 10 percent of total calories per day. A pouch with 0 g of added sugars adds nothing to that added sugar total, but its 12 g of total sugars still appears on the label.
A child's overall eating pattern, growth, and activity all shape what a snack means across the day.
How much added sugar should kids have per day, and how do these pouches fit?
FDA's added sugars guidance gives a Daily Value of 50 grams of added sugars per day, based on a 2,000 calorie diet. The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend limiting calories from added sugars to less than 10 percent of total calories per day. Age-specific amounts are not part of the FDA statement quoted here.
Against the 50 g reference, the Mott's pouch's 7 g of added sugars equals the 14% DV on its label. The GoGo squeeZ pouch's 0 g of added sugars equals 0% DV. Other foods eaten in the same day also count toward added sugars, and the pouch labels do not show those.
For age-by-age gram amounts, see How Much Added Sugar Should Kids Have a Day? By Age, in Grams.
How can you check the current pack label before buying?
The Nutrition Facts panel and ingredient statement printed on the pack are the labels that apply at the shelf. Check them against the numbers in this article before relying on either figure.
- Confirm the serving size is 1 pouch (90 g) for the pack you are holding.
- Find the total sugars line, then the added sugars line with its % Daily Value.
- Read the ingredient statement in order and look for high fructose corn syrup or other sweeteners.
- Check the pack count, since GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple is sold in 4, 10, 12, 16, 20, 24, and 32 packs according to its brand page.
- Compare the vitamin C and potassium lines on the panel, since they are not disclosed for GoGo squeeZ on the brand page.
Limitations: the evidence here cannot establish how any individual child or adult responds to these pouches. It also does not cover long-term outcomes or populations not studied. Retailer and database figures may not match the current pack.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Mott's applesauce have added sugar?
- Yes. The Mott's Applesauce Original 3.2 oz pouch lists 7 g of added sugars per 1 pouch (90 g), or 14% Daily Value, on the Price Rite Marketplace listing, with 14 g of total sugars.
- Does Mott's applesauce have high fructose corn syrup?
- Yes. The listed ingredients are apples, high fructose corn syrup, and ascorbic acid (vitamin C), with high fructose corn syrup listed second after apples.
- Does GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple have high fructose corn syrup?
- No. The brand page ingredient list is APPLE, APPLE PUREE CONCENTRATE, LEMON JUICE CONCENTRATE, and it lists 0 g added sugars per 1 pouch (90 g).
- Is GoGo squeeZ healthy for kids?
- The label facts alone do not establish whether it fits a particular child's diet. The brand page lists 60 calories, 12 g total sugars, and 0 g added sugars per 1 pouch (90 g), with no high fructose corn syrup in its ingredients.
- GoGo squeeZ vs Mott's applesauce?
- Per 1 pouch (90 g), both list 60 calories. Mott's lists 14 g total sugars and 7 g added sugars, while GoGo squeeZ Apple Apple lists 12 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars.
- How much added sugar should kids have per day?
- FDA's added sugars guidance gives a Daily Value of 50 grams per day based on a 2,000 calorie diet. The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend limiting calories from added sugars to less than 10 percent of total calories per day. Age-specific amounts are covered in a separate guide.
Sources
- Mott's Applesauce Pouches, 4 count, 3.2 oz (Price Rite Marketplace listing) (priceritemarketplace.com)
- Mott's Applesauce Apple pouch (Open Food Facts, barcode 0014800001693) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Apple Apple Applesauce (GoGo squeeZ brand page) (gogosqueez.com)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- High Fructose Corn Syrup Questions and Answers (fda.gov)
- How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Which Has More Sugar, Liquid I.V. or Nuun? 11 g vs 1 gGuide
Which Has More Sugar, SmartyPants or OLLY Kids? 3 g vs 2 gGuide
Which Has More Sugar, Jell-O or Snack Pack? 17 g vs 12 gGuide
Does Prego Have Added Sugar? Yes, 4 g vs Ragú's <1 gGuide
Do Stauffer's Animal Crackers Have HFCS? Barnum's Don'tGuide
Which Has More Fiber, Metamucil or Benefiber? 6 g Each
Related guides
Comparisons
Is Annie's Healthier Than Welch's Fruit Snacks? 7g vs 8gPer pouch, Annie's Berry Patch lists 7 g added sugar and 3 g fiber; Welch's Mixed Fruit lists 8 g added sugar and gelatin. Neither uses Red 40.
Comparisons
Is Purely Elizabeth Healthier Than Nature Valley Granola?Purely Elizabeth Original: 6 g added sugar, 3.5 g sat fat per 1/3 cup. Nature Valley Oats 'n Honey: 7 g added sugar, 0.5 g sat fat per 1/4 cup.
Comparisons
Which Has More Sugar, Jell-O or Snack Pack? 17 g vs 12 gJell-O lists 17 g added sugar and artificial color per 110 g cup; Snack Pack Chocolate lists 12 g per 92 g cup and no added color.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy