Aurascan

Comparisons · November 2, 2026 · 8 min read

Is Annie's Healthier Than Welch's Fruit Snacks? 7g vs 8g

Per pouch, Annie's Berry Patch lists 7 g added sugar and 3 g fiber; Welch's Mixed Fruit lists 8 g added sugar and gelatin. Neither uses Red 40.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · November 2, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two piles of bunny-shaped fruit gummies side by side on a table

Neither label makes one clearly healthier. Per 1-pouch serving, Annie's Organic Berry Patch Bunny lists 7 g added sugar and 3 g fiber, while Welch's Mixed Fruit lists 8 g added sugar, no significant fiber and gelatin, and neither ingredient list names Red 40 or another certified synthetic color.

Annie's Organic Berry Patch Bunny and Welch's Mixed Fruit fruit snacks differ on several listed items, including added sugar, sodium, fiber, gelatin, colors, and vitamins. This comparison sets each line of the Nutrition Facts panel and ingredient list side by side. Figures are per 1-pouch serving as listed on the Annie's Berry Patch Bunny product page and the Welch's Mixed Fruit product page, and packages can change.

Key takeaways

  • Per 1-pouch serving, Annie's lists 7 g added sugar and 3 g fiber, while Welch's lists 8 g added sugar and is not a significant fiber source.
  • Welch's ingredient list includes gelatin and "natural and artificial flavors"; Annie's lists pectin, no gelatin, and organic natural flavor only.
  • Both list fruit puree first, but Welch's second ingredient is corn syrup and Annie's is organic cane sugar.
  • Welch's panel lists vitamins A, C, and E, while Annie's panel lists vitamin C only, with vitamin D, calcium, iron, and potassium at 0.
  • Neither ingredient list names a certified synthetic color: Annie's uses organic vegetable and fruit juice, and Welch's uses annatto, turmeric, and fruit and vegetable juice.

Annie's vs Welch's Fruit Snacks at a Glance: Side-by-Side Label Table

Per one pouch, Annie's Organic Berry Patch Bunny lists 60 calories and 7 g added sugar, while Welch's Mixed Fruit lists 70 calories and 8 g added sugar. The table below puts the main panel and ingredient items in one place.

Label item (1 pouch)Annie's Organic Berry Patch BunnyWelch's Mixed Fruit
Serving size1 pouch (weight not disclosed)1 pouch (22.7 g, 0.8 oz)
Calories6070
Total carbohydrate16 g (6% DV)17 g (6% DV)
Total sugars8 g10 g
Added sugars7 g (15% DV)8 g (16% DV)
Dietary fiber3 g (10% DV)Not a significant source
Sodium45 mg (2% DV)0 mg (0% DV)
Protein0 g1 g
Total fat0 g (DV not given)0 g (0% DV)
Gelatin in ingredientsNot listedListed
Pectin in ingredientsListedNot listed
Colors named in ingredientsOrganic vegetable and fruit juiceAnnatto, turmeric, fruit and vegetable juice
Vitamins on panelVitamin C 37 mg (40% DV); vitamin D, calcium, iron, and potassium at 0Vitamin A 230 mcg (25% DV), vitamin C 23 mg (25% DV), vitamin E 3.8 mg (25% DV); not a significant source of vitamin D, calcium, iron, or potassium

Annie's pouch weight is not disclosed on its product page, so this comparison does not make a per-gram claim.

Are Annie's Fruit Snacks Healthier Than Welch's?

The label facts do not establish that either product is healthier. Per 1-pouch serving, Annie's lists 7 g added sugar, 3 g fiber, and 45 mg sodium, while Welch's lists 8 g added sugar, no significant fiber, and 0 mg sodium.

Each product is higher on some listed items than the other, so the right reading depends on which items matter to you. A single label cannot rank the two products on overall health.

Which Fruit Snacks Have More Added Sugar: Annie's 7 g vs Welch's 8 g per Pouch?

Annie's lists 7 g added sugars per 1-pouch serving (15% DV), and Welch's lists 8 g per 22.7 g pouch (16% DV). The FDA Daily Value for added sugars is 50 grams per day, per FDA's added sugars page, so both percentages are shown against that reference.

FDA defines added sugars to include sugars from syrups and honey, and sugars from concentrated fruit or vegetable juices. Annie's ingredients include organic cane sugar, organic rice syrup, and organic tapioca syrup solids. Welch's ingredients include corn syrup, sugar, and grape juice concentrate. The Nutrition Facts panel shows one added sugars total for each product, not a breakdown by ingredient.

Total sugars are 8 g for Annie's and 10 g for Welch's. Parents comparing snacks for children may find the How Much Added Sugar Should Kids Have a Day? By Age, in Grams guide useful as a reference point.

What Are the First Ingredients in Annie's Bunny Fruit Snacks vs Welch's Mixed Fruit?

Both labels list fruit puree first, and the second ingredient differs: corn syrup for Welch's and organic cane sugar for Annie's. Ingredients below are shown in the order printed on each brand page.

Annie's first five ingredients:

  • Organic Pear Puree
  • Organic Cane Sugar
  • Organic Rice Syrup
  • Organic Soluble Tapioca Fiber
  • Organic Tapioca Syrup Solids

Welch's first five ingredients:

  • Whole fruit puree (grape, peach, orange, strawberry and raspberry)
  • Corn syrup
  • Sugar
  • Modified corn starch
  • Gelatin

Annie's brand copy says its "#1 ingredient in these fruit flavored snacks is real fruit (made with organic pear puree ... not intended to replace fruit in the diet)." Welch's brand copy says the product is made with whole fruit. Ingredient order does not show exact amounts, so it cannot by itself show how much of each ingredient a pouch contains. Check the order on the package you have, because packaging can change.

Do Annie's Organic Berry Patch Bunny vs Welch's Mixed Fruit Contain Gelatin?

Welch's Mixed Fruit lists gelatin in its ingredients, while Annie's Organic Berry Patch Bunny does not, and Annie's brand copy describes the product as gelatin free. Annie's instead lists pectin.

Does Welch's fruit snacks have gelatin?

Yes, the Welch's Mixed Fruit ingredient list includes gelatin. The page does not state what animal the gelatin comes from, so readers who avoid specific animal-derived ingredients or follow halal or kosher rules cannot confirm the source from the label alone.

How Much Fiber Is in Annie's Organic Berry Patch Bunny vs Welch's Mixed Fruit?

Annie's lists 3 g dietary fiber per 1-pouch serving (10% DV), while Welch's label says it is not a significant source of dietary fiber. Annie's fiber appears in the ingredient list as organic soluble tapioca fiber, and its brand copy calls the product a good fiber source.

The Welch's label gives no gram amount for fiber, only the "not a significant source" statement, so the exact amount cannot be stated from the label. For a comparison of fiber in a different product category, see Which Has More Fiber, Metamucil or Benefiber? 6 g Each. Fiber needs vary by person, and a fruit snack is only one small part of daily intake.

What Colors Are Used in Annie's Organic Berry Patch Bunny vs Welch's Mixed Fruit?

Annie's colors are organic vegetable and fruit juice, while Welch's colors are annatto, turmeric, and fruit and vegetable juice. Neither ingredient list names a certified synthetic color.

FDA classifies pigments from natural sources, such as annatto extract, as exempt from certification. Certified colors are synthetic, such as FD&C Blue No. 1, and must be named on the label, according to FDA's color additive questions and answers. Welch's lists "natural and artificial flavors" as flavors, which is a separate category from colors.

Brand claims: Annie's says its product has no artificial flavors, synthetic colors, or high fructose corn syrup. Welch's says its Fruit Snacks line is made without artificial dyes such as Red 40 and Blue 1 and uses colors from natural sources.

Which Vitamins Are on Annie's Organic Berry Patch Bunny vs Welch's Mixed Fruit Labels?

Welch's lists vitamin A (230 mcg, 25% DV), vitamin C (23 mg, 25% DV), and vitamin E (3.8 mg, 25% DV) on its panel, and says it is not a significant source of vitamin D, calcium, iron, or potassium. Annie's lists vitamin C (37 mg, 40% DV) and shows 0 for vitamin D, calcium, iron, and potassium.

The Welch's ingredient list names ascorbic acid, alpha tocopherol acetate (vitamin E), and vitamin A palmitate as vitamin sources. Annie's ingredient list names ascorbic acid as its vitamin C source.

People tracking vitamin intake from all foods may compare the % Daily Value figures rather than only checking whether a vitamin is named. Annie's brand copy also states that the product is not intended to replace fruit in the diet.

How Do You Check Annie's vs Welch's Fruit Snacks Labels Yourself?

Start with the serving size, then compare added sugars, the first two ingredients, gelatin or pectin, color names, and vitamin % DV on the package you have. Current packages may differ from the brand pages cited here.

  • Confirm the serving size and pouch weight, since Annie's product page does not list a pouch weight.
  • Read added sugars in grams and % DV, and remember the FDA Daily Value is 50 grams per day.
  • Compare the first two ingredients on each package.
  • Look for gelatin or pectin in the ingredient list, and check the brand's source information if it matters to you.
  • Check whether colors are named as certified synthetic colors or as natural sources such as annatto, turmeric, or vegetable juice.
  • Compare vitamin amounts and % DV, not only whether a vitamin is named.

FDA's guide to reading the label is at How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label.

These label facts cannot show how any individual body absorbs or uses sugar, fiber, gelatin, colors, or vitamins, and the evidence here does not test these two brands against each other in any study.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Are Annie's fruit snacks healthy?
The label does not settle whether Annie's Organic Berry Patch Bunny Fruit Snacks are healthy, but a 1-pouch serving lists 60 calories, 7 g added sugar, 3 g fiber, and 45 mg sodium. Those numbers can be compared with other products, and the decision depends on your own needs.
Are Annie's fruit snacks vegan?
The brand describes Annie's Organic Berry Patch Bunny Fruit Snacks as vegan, gelatin free, and gluten free. Its ingredient list shows pectin and no gelatin, but the vegan claim itself is the brand's statement on its product page.
Are Annies fruit snacks dye free?
The brand says the product has no artificial flavors or synthetic colors. Its listed colors are organic vegetable and fruit juice, and the package should be checked because labels can change.
Are Annie's organic fruit snacks healthy?
Organic labeling describes how ingredients are grown or processed, not the sugar, fiber, or vitamin content on the Nutrition Facts panel. The panel shows 7 g added sugar and 3 g fiber per 1-pouch serving.
Does Welch's fruit snacks have gelatin?
Yes, the Welch's Mixed Fruit ingredient list includes gelatin. The page does not state the animal source of the gelatin.
Are Annie's fruit snacks healthier than Welch's?
The label facts do not establish that either product is healthier. Annie's lists less added sugar (7 g vs 8 g per pouch) and more fiber (3 g vs no significant amount), while Welch's lists no sodium and vitamins A, C, and E.

Sources

  1. Organic Berry Patch Bunny Fruit Snacks (annies.com)
  2. Welch's Fruit Snacks Mixed Fruit (welchsfruitsnacks.com)
  3. Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  4. Color Additives: Questions and Answers for Consumers (fda.gov)
  5. How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy