Comparisons · October 8, 2026 · Updated October 29, 2026 · 7 min read
Does Pepsi Have More Sugar and Caffeine Than Coke? Yes
Yes: a 12 fl oz Pepsi has 41 g sugar and 38 mg caffeine; a 12 fl oz Coca-Cola has 39 g and 34 mg. Side-by-side ingredients, plus what FDA says.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 29, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

A standard 12 fl oz can of Coca-Cola Original contains 140 calories, 39 g of total sugar, and 34 mg of caffeine, whereas a 12 fl oz can of regular Pepsi contains 150 calories, 41 g of total sugar, and 38 mg of caffeine. Both beverages rely on high fructose corn syrup and phosphoric acid, but Pepsi additionally includes table sugar and citric acid on its ingredient list. Here is how their nutritional profiles, additive formulations, and FDA regulatory standings compare side by side.
Key Takeaways
- A 12 fl oz can of Pepsi has 4 mg more caffeine and 2 g more sugar than a 12 fl oz can of Coca-Cola Original.
- Coca-Cola Original lists high fructose corn syrup as its sole sweetener in the US, while Pepsi lists both high fructose corn syrup and sugar.
- Pepsi lists citric acid alongside phosphoric acid, whereas Coca-Cola Original uses only phosphoric acid.
- Both list caramel color, phosphoric acid and caffeine; FDA lists phosphoric acid, and caffeine in cola-type drinks, as Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS).
At-a-Glance Comparison: Coke vs Pepsi per 12 oz Can
The figures below come from Coca-Cola's product page and the Open Food Facts listing for a 12 fl oz Pepsi can.
| Nutrient / Metric | Coca-Cola Original (12 fl oz) | Pepsi (12 fl oz) |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 140 | 150 |
| Total Carbohydrate | Not stated for 12 oz | 41 g (15% DV) |
| Total Sugars | 39 g | 41 g |
| Added Sugars | 39 g | 41 g (83% DV) |
| Caffeine | 34 mg | 38 mg |
| Sodium | Not disclosed on brand page for 12 oz | 30 mg (1% DV) |
| Primary Sweetener | High Fructose Corn Syrup | High Fructose Corn Syrup and Sugar |
| Acidulants Listed | Phosphoric Acid | Phosphoric Acid, Citric Acid |
| Primary Colorant | Caramel Color | Caramel Color |
For the zero-sugar versions of both brands, see Coke Zero Sugar vs Diet Coke and Pepsi Zero Sugar vs Diet Pepsi.
Caffeine Content: 34 mg in Coke vs 38 mg in Pepsi
Does Pepsi have more caffeine than Coke? Yes, a 12 fl oz can of Pepsi contains 38 mg of caffeine compared to 34 mg of caffeine in a 12 fl oz can of Coca-Cola Original, representing a 4 mg difference per can.
Coca-Cola discloses this quantity in the product FAQ on its official US brand page, confirming that a standard 12 fl oz can provides 34 mg. For Pepsi, the caffeine disclosure appears directly on the package exterior; the can photo on Open Food Facts shows "CAFFEINE CONTENT: 38mg/12 fl oz" printed on the can. PepsiCo notes in its customer FAQ that when caffeine is added to its beverages, the specific amount is printed on the package label.
From a regulatory standpoint, caffeine in cola-type beverages is governed by the FDA under 21 CFR 182.1180. That regulation lists caffeine as Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) in cola-type beverages, with a tolerance of 0.02 percent. By simple arithmetic, 34 mg to 38 mg in a 355 mL can is roughly 0.01 percent.
For context, the FDA's consumer update "Spilling the Beans" says that for most adults, the FDA has cited 400 mg a day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects.
Sugar and Calories: 39 g vs 41 g per 12 oz Can
Does Pepsi have more sugar than Coke? Yes, a 12 fl oz can of Pepsi contains 41 g of total sugar, which is 2 g more than the 39 g of total sugar found in a 12 fl oz can of Coca-Cola Original.
Every gram of sugar in both formulas is categorized as added sugar. In Coca-Cola Original, the 39 g of sugar supplies 140 calories per 12 fl oz can. In Pepsi, the 41 g of sugar supplies 150 calories per 12 fl oz can (83 percent of the Daily Value for added sugars).
Ingredient Lists Compared: High Fructose Corn Syrup, Sugar, and Acidulants
What is the difference between Coke and Pepsi ingredients? The main ingredient differences are that Pepsi lists both high fructose corn syrup and sugar as sweeteners and adds citric acid, while Coca-Cola Original lists high fructose corn syrup as its sole sweetener in the US and contains only phosphoric acid as its acidulant.
According to the official Coca-Cola product page, the US ingredient statement for Coca-Cola Original is ordered as follows: carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, phosphoric acid, natural flavors, and caffeine. The US list includes no sugar; the same page lists Coca-Cola Mexico with cane sugar instead of high fructose corn syrup.
In contrast, the Open Food Facts listing for a 12 fl oz can of Pepsi documents the following ingredient declaration: carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, sugar, phosphoric acid, caffeine, citric acid, and natural flavor. How much of Pepsi's sweetener is sugar versus high fructose corn syrup is not disclosed.
The acidulant profiles also diverge. Coca-Cola lists only phosphoric acid; Pepsi lists phosphoric acid and citric acid. In addition, the relative position of caffeine differs between the two ingredient lists: Pepsi lists caffeine prior to citric acid and natural flavor, whereas Coca-Cola lists natural flavors ahead of caffeine. Neither list breaks down what is in its natural flavors.
Additive Context: FDA Status for Caramel Color, Phosphoric Acid, and Caffeine
Is caramel color in Coke and Pepsi safe? The FDA states that based on current science, it has no reason to believe there are any immediate or short-term health risks presented by 4-MEI at the levels expected in foods colored with caramel color.
Both colas list caramel color. According to the FDA's 4-MEI Q&A, a compound called 4-methylimidazole (4-MEI) can form during the manufacturing process of Class III and Class IV caramel colorings. Neither Coca-Cola nor Pepsi discloses which specific class of caramel color (such as Class III or Class IV) is utilized in its recipe.
Phosphoric acid is regulated under 21 CFR 182.1073. It is classified as Generally Recognized as Safe when used in accordance with good manufacturing practice.
Regarding sweetening agents, the FDA says HFCS 55 is used primarily in soft drinks and that the most common forms of HFCS contain either 42 or 55 percent fructose; neither brand states which it uses. The FDA says it is not aware of any evidence indicating a difference in safety between foods containing HFCS 42 or HFCS 55 and foods containing equivalent amounts of other nutritive sweeteners with similar fructose-to-glucose ratios, such as sucrose (table sugar). Concurrently, the Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend that all consumers limit their intake of all added sugars, regardless of whether those sugars derive from high fructose corn syrup or sucrose.
Sodium and Serving Size Transparency Across Can and Bottle Labels
On its official product page, Coca-Cola provides a full Nutrition Facts panel for its 20 fl oz bottle rather than its 12 fl oz can. That 20 fl oz bottle panel lists 240 calories, 75 mg of sodium (3% DV), and 65 g of total added sugars (130% DV). While the page FAQ outlines calories, sugar, and caffeine for the 12 fl oz can, it does not state a 12 fl oz sodium figure for regular caffeinated Coca-Cola Original.
Pepsi's can label photo on Open Food Facts shows explicit nutritional information for the single 12 fl oz container, documenting 30 mg of sodium (1% DV). Because Coca-Cola does not publish a 12 fl oz sodium metric for its regular caffeinated formula on its brand portal, direct sodium comparisons at that exact serving volume cannot be confirmed using solely verified official source materials.
Coca-Cola's page lists Original in sizes from 7.5 fl oz to 2 liters, so check the serving size on the container you buy.
Labels do not show taste, carbonation or the makeup of natural flavors. To see every ingredient on the can or bottle you pick up, scan it with the Aurascan app.
For more cola labels side by side, see Dr Pepper vs Coke and Diet Coke vs Diet Dr Pepper.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Pepsi have more caffeine than Coke?
- Yes, a 12 fl oz can of Pepsi contains 38 mg of caffeine, whereas a 12 fl oz can of Coca-Cola Original contains 34 mg.
- Does Pepsi have more sugar than Coke?
- Yes, a standard 12 fl oz can of Pepsi has 41 g of total added sugars, while a 12 fl oz can of Coca-Cola Original has 39 g.
- How many calories are in a can of Coke vs Pepsi?
- A 12 fl oz can of Coca-Cola Original contains 140 calories, while a 12 fl oz can of Pepsi contains 150 calories.
- What is the difference between Coke and Pepsi ingredients?
- Pepsi lists both high fructose corn syrup and sugar, and includes citric acid alongside phosphoric acid. Coca-Cola Original lists high fructose corn syrup as its sole sweetener in the US and lists only phosphoric acid.
- Is caramel color in Coke and Pepsi safe according to the FDA?
- The FDA states that based on current science, it has no reason to believe there are immediate or short-term health risks from 4-MEI at the levels expected in foods containing caramel color.
- How much sodium is in Coke vs Pepsi?
- A 12 fl oz can of Pepsi contains 30 mg of sodium according to its label photo on Open Food Facts. Coca-Cola's official brand page does not state a sodium figure for its 12 fl oz can of caffeinated Original, though its 20 fl oz bottle lists 75 mg.
Sources
- Coca-Cola Original Product Details (coca-cola.com)
- Open Food Facts: Pepsi Cola 12 Fl Oz (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Pepsi 12 Fl Oz Can Label Photo (images.openfoodfacts.org)
- 21 CFR 182.1180 - Caffeine (ecfr.gov)
- High Fructose Corn Syrup Questions and Answers (fda.gov)
- Questions and Answers About 4-MEI (fda.gov)
- Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine Is Too Much? (fda.gov)
In this series
Related guides
Comparisons
Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Tortillas: 17 g vs 12 g FiberMission Carb Balance vs Olé Xtreme Wellness: 17 g vs 12 g fiber per tortilla, steviol glycosides vs allulose, and the sulfite in Olé's list.
Comparisons
Is Ezekiel Bread Healthier Than Dave's Killer Bread?Per slice: Ezekiel 4:9 lists 0 g sugar, 75 mg sodium, 4 g protein; Dave's 21 Whole Grains lists 4 g sugar, 170 mg sodium, 6 g protein. Labels compared.
Comparisons
Does Prego Have Added Sugar? Yes, 4 g vs Ragú's <1 gPrego Traditional lists 4 g added sugar per 1/2 cup; Ragú Old World Style Traditional lists under 1 g. Sodium, oil and ingredient order compared.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy