Comparisons · October 14, 2026 · 10 min read
C4 Energy vs Celsius Caffeine: 200 mg in 16 oz vs 200 mg in 12 oz
C4 Performance Energy and Celsius both list 200 mg caffeine per can, in 16 vs 12 fl oz. C4 adds beta-alanine, betaine and ace-K; Celsius uses sucralose only.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 14, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Neither has more per can: C4 Performance Energy and Celsius each list 200 mg of caffeine, but C4 spreads it over 16 fl oz (12.5 mg per fl oz) and Celsius over 12 fl oz (about 16.7 mg per fl oz).
C4 Performance Energy Strawberry Watermelon Ice and Celsius Sparkling Orange each list 200 mg of caffeine per can, but the cans differ in size: 16 fl oz for C4 and 12 fl oz for Celsius. Per fluid ounce, that works out to 12.5 mg for C4 and about 16.7 mg for Celsius. The labels also differ on sweeteners, sodium, calories and ingredients such as beta-alanine, betaine, guarana seed extract and green tea extract. This article puts those label facts side by side.
Key takeaways
- Both cans list 200 mg of caffeine, but per fluid ounce C4 lists 12.5 mg and Celsius Sparkling Orange lists about 16.7 mg.
- C4 lists sucralose and acesulfame potassium as sweeteners. Celsius Sparkling Orange lists sucralose only. Both panels show 0 g sugar.
- C4 Strawberry Watermelon Ice lists 45 mg of sodium per can, and Celsius Sparkling Orange lists 5 mg.
- The C4 label does not state beta-alanine or betaine amounts, and the Celsius label does not state guarana or green tea extract amounts.
- Both labels carry warnings about children, pregnancy, nursing and caffeine sensitivity, and the Celsius side panel adds a two-servings-per-day limit.
Read the Labels Side by Side, Not Just the Headline Caffeine Number
The two cans match on total caffeine, so the sweetener, sodium and non-caffeine ingredient lines are what separate them. Caffeine is one line on a label. Sweeteners, sodium, calories, non-caffeine ingredients and warning statements all differ, and the can size changes what the caffeine number means per ounce.
This comparison uses brand label figures for one flavor of each product: C4 Strawberry Watermelon Ice in a 16 fl oz (473 mL) can, and Celsius Sparkling Orange in a 12 fl oz (355 mL) can. Other C4 flavors, including newer reformulated cans, may differ slightly in sodium and potassium. The Celsius figures are for Sparkling Orange only.
When you compare two cans yourself, check these label lines first:
- Serving size, and whether the panel reports one can or a fraction of one
- Caffeine per serving, and whether a per-ounce figure is given
- Total sugars and added sugars
- Sweeteners named in the ingredient list
- Sodium and potassium amounts
- Warning statements about children, pregnancy, nursing and caffeine sensitivity
At-a-Glance Table: Caffeine, Calories, Sweeteners, Sodium and Key Ingredients
The table below uses one can of each product as the serving size: 16 fl oz for C4 and 12 fl oz for Celsius Sparkling Orange.
| Item | C4 Strawberry Watermelon Ice (16 fl oz can) | Celsius Sparkling Orange (12 fl oz can) |
|---|---|---|
| Caffeine per can | 200 mg | 200 mg |
| Caffeine per fl oz | 12.5 mg | About 16.7 mg |
| Calories per can | 5 | 10 |
| Total sugars | 0 g | 0 g |
| Sweeteners | Sucralose, acesulfame potassium | Sucralose |
| Sodium per can | 45 mg (2% DV) | 5 mg |
| Potassium per can | 90 mg (2% DV) | Not listed on the panel reviewed for this article |
| Preservative | Potassium sorbate | None listed in the ingredient list |
| Vitamin B12 | 6 mcg (250% DV) | 6 mcg (250% DV) |
| Beta-alanine | Listed, amount not disclosed | Not listed |
| Betaine | BetaPower betaine anhydrous, amount not disclosed | Not listed |
| Guarana, green tea | Not listed | Guarana seed extract and green tea extract listed, amounts not disclosed |
| Taurine | Not listed | Listed, amount not disclosed |
Caffeine per Can vs per Ounce: Why the 16 oz and 12 oz Sizes Change the Math
Which has more caffeine, C4 or Celsius?
Per can, both list 200 mg, with the C4 can at 16 fl oz and the Celsius Sparkling Orange can at 12 fl oz.
Per fluid ounce, the difference is clear. Dividing 200 mg by 16 fl oz gives 12.5 mg per fl oz for C4. Dividing 200 mg by 12 fl oz gives about 16.7 mg per fl oz for Celsius Sparkling Orange. A shopper who compares only the can totals will miss this, and a shopper who compares only per-ounce figures will miss the fact that the larger C4 can still contains the same total.
For context, the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) consumer update on caffeine, dated as current as of 08/28/2024, cites 400 mg a day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects for most adults. The same page notes wide variation in how sensitive people are to caffeine and how quickly they clear it. By simple arithmetic, 400 mg equals two cans of either product. That is a math comparison, not a recommendation. The FDA page also estimates that toxic effects such as seizures may follow rapid consumption of around 1,200 mg of caffeine.
For a different Celsius comparison, see Celsius vs Red Bull Caffeine: 200 mg vs 80 mg, Compared.
Sweeteners: Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium vs Sucralose Alone on the Labels
Does C4 Energy have sucralose?
Yes. The C4 Strawberry Watermelon Ice ingredient list includes sucralose and acesulfame potassium. The Celsius Sparkling Orange ingredient list includes sucralose and no other sweetener.
The FDA says both sweeteners are approved for use in food. Its sweetener overview describes sucralose as about 600 times sweeter than table sugar and acesulfame potassium as about 200 times sweeter. The acceptable daily intakes on that page are 5 mg per kg of body weight per day for sucralose and 15 mg per kg of body weight per day for acesulfame potassium. Neither brand discloses how much sucralose or acesulfame potassium is in a can, so the label alone cannot show the per-can dose. For Celsius against a three-sweetener can, see Celsius vs Prime Energy Caffeine: 200 mg vs 200 mg per Can.
Is C4 Energy sugar free?
The C4 Strawberry Watermelon Ice panel lists 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars per 16 fl oz can, and the can carries a zero sugar claim. The Celsius Sparkling Orange panel lists 0 g sugar per 12 fl oz can. Both labels therefore show no sugar, but the sweetener systems differ.
Sodium and Potassium: What the Nutrition Facts Panels Show Per Can
How much sodium is in a C4 can?
A 16 fl oz C4 Strawberry Watermelon Ice can lists 45 mg of sodium, or 2% of the Daily Value. The Celsius Sparkling Orange can lists 5 mg of sodium per 12 fl oz.
The C4 panel also lists 90 mg of potassium (2% DV). The Celsius panel reviewed for this article does not list potassium. An Open Food Facts record for barcode 0889392000313 lists 10 mg of sodium, but this article uses the brand label figures instead. Another C4 flavor, Strawberry Blast, shows 0 mg sodium and 130 mg potassium on a different label image, which is why flavor and can version matter when reading panels.
Beta-Alanine and Betaine in C4 vs Guarana and Green Tea Extract in Celsius
What is beta-alanine in C4?
C4 Strawberry Watermelon Ice lists CarnoSyn beta-alanine in its ingredient list, and the label does not state how much is in a can. Beta-alanine is an amino acid that the body uses to form carnosine, a compound found in muscle (ISSN position stand). The C4 label also lists BetaPower betaine anhydrous, and its amount is not disclosed.
What are guarana and green tea extract in Celsius?
Celsius Sparkling Orange lists guarana seed extract and green tea extract among its caffeine-containing ingredients, alongside caffeine itself. The label gives only the 200 mg total and does not say how that total splits by source. Celsius states on its website that it uses guarana seeds rather than roots.
The Celsius label also lists taurine, glucuronolactone and ginger root extract. None of those amounts are disclosed on the label.
How Much Beta-Alanine Is in a C4 Can, and How It Compares to Studied Doses
The C4 label does not state its beta-alanine dose, so the amount per can cannot be confirmed from the label.
The International Society of Sports Nutrition (ISSN) position stand on beta-alanine (J Int Soc Sports Nutr 2015;12:30, full text) reports that 4 weeks of beta-alanine supplementation at 4 to 6 g daily significantly augments muscle carnosine concentrations. Disclosure: one listed author of that position stand has an affiliation with Nutrabolt International, the maker of C4. The same position stand says beta-alanine currently appears to be safe in healthy populations at recommended doses. The only reported side effect is paresthesia, or tingling, which the authors note can be reduced with divided lower doses or a sustained-release formula.
Research on muscle carnosine does not show what a single energy drink does in a given person, and the label does not allow a reader to compare a can's dose with the studied doses.
Vitamins, Preservatives and Other Label Differences Worth Noticing
Both panels list vitamin B12 at 6 mcg, which is 250% of the Daily Value. The Celsius panel also lists vitamin C at 60 mg (70% DV), riboflavin at 1.7 mg (130% DV), niacin at 20 mg (130% DV), vitamin B6 at 2 mg (120% DV), biotin at 300 mcg (1000% DV), pantothenic acid at 10 mg (200% DV), chromium at 50 mcg (140% DV) and calcium at 50 mg (4% DV). The percentages describe the label's reference values, not a recommendation for any reader.
The C4 ingredient list includes potassium sorbate as a preservative. The Celsius ingredient list does not include a benzoate or sorbate preservative. Each label's ingredients are listed in the order of predominance, so readers can see which items appear earlier in each list.
What Each Brand's Label Says About Age, Pregnancy and Caffeine Sensitivity
A newer C4 can image on the same brand page, for the Strawberry Blast flavor, reads: 'NOT INTENDED FOR CHILDREN OR ANYONE UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE. Do not consume this product if you are pregnant or nursing. Do not use if sensitive to caffeine.' The Strawberry Watermelon Ice panel used for the numbers in this article is a different image, so readers should check the warning text on the can they hold.
The Celsius Sparkling Orange side panel reads: 'NOT RECOMMENDED FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE CAFFEINE SENSITIVE, CHILDREN UNDER 18, OR WOMEN PREGNANT OR NURSING.' It also says 'DO NOT EXCEED (2) SERVINGS PER DAY.'
The FDA's caffeine page quotes the American Academy of Pediatrics, which advises against energy drinks for children and teens because of their sugar and caffeine levels. Sensitivity to caffeine varies widely, and the labels cannot predict how any one person will respond.
Where the Celsius Comparison Is Incomplete and What the Labels Do Not Establish
Several details are not disclosed on these labels, so this comparison cannot fill them in:
- The amount of beta-alanine and betaine in a C4 can
- The amounts of taurine, guarana seed extract, green tea extract, ginger root extract and glucuronolactone in a Celsius can
- How the 200 mg of Celsius caffeine splits among caffeine, guarana and green tea
- The sucralose and acesulfame potassium amounts in either can
- Sodium and potassium figures for flavors other than those named here
- Figures for other Celsius flavors
- Whether the NSF Certified for Sport claim on the C4 page applies to this flavor. That claim is the brand's statement, and readers can look up the certification themselves.
The evidence has clear limits. Some Celsius lines may not match the current can, so check the label you hold. Label figures can also change with reformulation, the research cited here does not test these two drinks against each other, and individual responses to caffeine and beta-alanine vary.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Which has more caffeine, C4 Performance Energy or Celsius?
- Per can, both list 200 mg. Per fluid ounce, the 16 fl oz C4 Strawberry Watermelon Ice can works out to 12.5 mg per fl oz, while the 12 fl oz Celsius Sparkling Orange can works out to about 16.7 mg per fl oz.
- Is C4 Performance Energy sugar free?
- The C4 Strawberry Watermelon Ice panel lists 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars per 16 fl oz can, and the can carries a zero sugar claim. The Celsius Sparkling Orange panel lists 0 g sugar per 12 fl oz can.
- Does C4 Energy have sucralose?
- Yes. The C4 Strawberry Watermelon Ice ingredient list includes sucralose and acesulfame potassium. The Celsius Sparkling Orange ingredient list includes sucralose only.
- How many calories are in C4 vs Celsius?
- The C4 Strawberry Watermelon Ice label lists 5 calories per 16 fl oz can. The Celsius Sparkling Orange label lists 10 calories per 12 fl oz can.
- How much beta-alanine is in a C4 can?
- The C4 label does not state the beta-alanine amount, so the per-can dose cannot be confirmed from the label. The ISSN position stand studied daily doses of 4 to 6 g over 4 weeks, which is a different context from a single can.
- Are C4 and Celsius labeled as not for children?
- Yes. A C4 can image says it is not intended for children or anyone under 18. The Celsius side panel says it is not recommended for children under 18, people who are caffeine sensitive, or women who are pregnant or nursing, and it advises not exceeding 2 servings per day.
Sources
- C4 Energy Carbonated, Cellucor product page (cellucor.com)
- Open Food Facts record for barcode 0889392000313 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: Beta-Alanine (pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)
- Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine Is Too Much? (fda.gov)
- Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Bloom vs Celsius Caffeine: 180 mg vs 200 mg per 12 oz CanGuide
Alani Nu vs Red Bull Caffeine: 200 mg vs 114 mg per 12 ozGuide
Reign vs Monster Caffeine: 300 mg vs 160 mg per 16 oz CanGuide
Monster Zero Ultra vs Red Bull Sugarfree: 150 vs 80 mg CaffeineGuide
Celsius vs Ghost Energy: Caffeine (200 vs 200 mg), SweetenersGuide
Celsius vs Alani Nu: Caffeine, Sweeteners and Ingredients
Related guides
Comparisons
Does Prego Have Added Sugar? Yes, 4 g vs Ragú's <1 gPrego Traditional lists 4 g added sugar per 1/2 cup; Ragú Old World Style Traditional lists under 1 g. Sodium, oil and ingredient order compared.
Comparisons
Do Stauffer's Animal Crackers Have HFCS? Barnum's Don'tStauffer's Original Animal Crackers list high fructose corn syrup; Barnum's list sugar, dextrose and fructose. Both carry 7g added sugars per serving.
Comparisons
Are Teddy Grahams Healthier Than Bunny Grahams? 7g vs 6gHoney Teddy Grahams list 7g added sugar and 90mg sodium per 24 pieces; Annie's Honey Bunny Grahams list 6g and 120mg per 31 cookies. Labels compared.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy