Aurascan

Comparisons · October 13, 2026 · 10 min read

Bloom vs Celsius Caffeine: 180 mg vs 200 mg per 12 oz Can

Celsius lists 200 mg caffeine per 12 oz can and Bloom lists 180 mg. Both list 10 calories, and both use sucralose as their only sweetener.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 13, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two slim energy drink cans beside sliced strawberry and watermelon wedges

Celsius has more caffeine than Bloom: a 12 fl oz can of Celsius Sparkling Orange lists 200 mg, and a 12 fl oz can of Bloom Sparkling Energy Strawberry Watermelon lists 180 mg, a 20 mg difference. Both cans list 10 calories, and both use sucralose as their only sweetener.

Key takeaways

  • Per 12 fl oz can, Bloom lists 10 calories, 0 mg sodium, 180 mg caffeine from green coffee bean extract, and 1 g dietary fiber on the panel photo.
  • Celsius Sparkling Orange lists 10 calories, 5 mg sodium and 200 mg caffeine per serving, with no fiber line.
  • Both cans list sucralose as their only sweetener. The printed ingredient list for Bloom names sucralose and no other sweetener.
  • Most non-caffeine actives in both cans are named without milligram amounts, so their doses cannot be compared.

The figures come from each brand's label: Bloom's panel from the can photo on Open Food Facts, and Celsius's from the label image on the Celsius Sparkling Orange page.

Bloom vs Celsius at a Glance: Per 12 oz Can Label Numbers

The table below places the label figures for each 12 fl oz can next to each other. The calculated caffeine-per-ounce row is derived from the printed caffeine amounts and is not printed on either label.

Label item (per 12 fl oz can)Bloom Sparkling Energy Strawberry WatermelonCelsius Sparkling Orange
Calories1010
Total sugars0 g (0 g added sugars)No sugar line (total carbohydrate printed as 0 mg)
Sodium0 mg5 mg
Caffeine180 mg, natural caffeine from green coffee bean extract200 mg per serving
Caffeine per fl oz (calculated)15 mgAbout 16.7 mg
SweetenerSucraloseSucralose
Dietary fiber1 g (4% DV), taken from the can photo on Open Food Facts, not from the brand pageNo fiber line on the label
BiotinNot listed300 mcg (1000% DV)
Vitamin B122.4 mcg (100% DV)6 mcg (250% DV)
Label cautionNot intended for children, recommended for adults only, do not consume if pregnant or nursingNot recommended for caffeine sensitive people, children under 18, or pregnant or nursing women. Do not exceed 2 servings per day
UPC842595135091889392000313

Both labels list the serving as one 12 fl oz (355 mL) can, so the per-can figures can be read side by side.

How Much Caffeine Is in Bloom vs Celsius Sparkling Orange Per 12 oz Can?

Bloom's label states 180 mg of caffeine per 12 fl oz can, described as natural caffeine from green coffee bean extract. Celsius Sparkling Orange states 200 mg per serving. The Celsius label does not say how much of that 200 mg comes from guarana seed extract and how much from other caffeine sources, because that split is not disclosed.

Does Bloom have more caffeine than Celsius?

No. Bloom lists 180 mg per 12 oz can and Celsius lists 200 mg, so Celsius has 20 mg more, about 11% more by calculation from the printed figures. For another Celsius comparison with a different energy drink, see Celsius vs Ghost Energy: Caffeine (200 vs 200 mg), Sweeteners.

Which has more caffeine per ounce, Bloom or Celsius?

Celsius, by calculation. Its 200 mg across 12 fl oz is about 16.7 mg per fl oz, compared with 15 mg per fl oz for Bloom's 12 oz can. Bloom also sells a 7.5 oz can with 100 mg of natural caffeine, which works out to about 13.3 mg per fl oz. These per-ounce figures are arithmetic on the label numbers, not statements printed on the cans.

Two 12 oz cans would total 400 mg of caffeine for Celsius and 360 mg for Bloom. The FDA has cited 400 mg a day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects for most adults, roughly two to three 12 fl oz cups of coffee. The same FDA consumer page notes wide variation in how sensitive people are to caffeine and how quickly they eliminate it.

How many calories are in Bloom vs Celsius?

Both cans list 10 calories per 12 fl oz can. Bloom's panel shows 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars, with 2 g total carbohydrate (less than 1% DV). Its brand page describes the drink as zero sugar and 10 calories per can.

The Celsius label lists Total Carbohydrate as 0 mg (unit as printed). Carbohydrate is normally expressed in grams, so this unit is non-standard and is not treated here as a measured value. A sugar line for Celsius is not disclosed in the label details available for this comparison.

Calorie and sugar lines are only part of a Nutrition Facts panel. Retail web pages can display numbers that differ from the printed can, so the panel on the can in hand is the reference. Neither label makes a weight-related claim in the facts available here, and this article does not make one. No clinical or weight-loss study of these specific cans is cited.

Sodium Content: 0 mg on Bloom and 5 mg on Celsius Sparkling Orange

Bloom's panel lists 0 mg sodium per can. The Celsius Sparkling Orange label image lists 5 mg. One food database lists the Celsius can at 10 mg, but this article uses the 5 mg printed on the brand label image. The difference is small, and it shows why the printed panel matters more than third-party entries.

  • Confirm the serving size: one 12 fl oz can for both drinks.
  • Compare the sodium line on the panel you are holding, not a web listing.
  • Note the servings per container: Celsius lists one serving per container.

Which Sweeteners Are in Each Can, and Does Bloom Contain Aspartame?

Neither can lists aspartame: both labels list sucralose as the only sweetener. The amount of sucralose in either can is not disclosed.

Does Bloom have aspartame or sucralose?

Bloom has sucralose and no aspartame. Its brand page says the drink contains no aspartame, and the printed ingredient list names sucralose and no other sweetener.

The FDA describes sucralose as approved for use in food as a sweetener and about 600 times sweeter than table sugar. The agency approved it for 15 food categories in 1998 and as a general-purpose sweetener in 1999, after reviewing more than 110 studies. The FDA's acceptable daily intake for sucralose is 5 mg per kg of body weight per day.

Biotin is not listed on the Bloom panel. The Celsius label lists biotin at 300 mcg, or 1000% DV. This article does not evaluate that amount.

Dietary Fiber Lines on Each Label

Bloom's panel photo lists dietary fiber at 1 g (4% DV) per can. The fiber is a galactomannan prebiotic fiber, sold under the trade name Sunfiber, a registered trademark of Taiyo International. The panel on the can in hand is the place to confirm this number.

The Celsius Sparkling Orange label image has no dietary fiber line, so no fiber amount is listed for that can. A missing line is not the same as a listed zero, and readers should not treat the two as equal.

  • Find the Dietary Fiber line and its % DV on the printed panel.
  • Compare any online listing against the can before relying on it.
  • Remember that prebiotic fiber amounts on a can describe that single serving only.

What Are the Other Actives in Bloom and Celsius?

What are the ingredients in Bloom vs Celsius?

Bloom's ingredients, in label order, include carbonated water, citric acid, galactomannan prebiotic fiber, taurine, natural flavors, L-theanine, natural caffeine from green coffee bean extract, potassium benzoate (a preservative), sucralose, potassium citrate, Asian ginseng root extract, a patented lychee fruit and green tea leaf extract, apple cider vinegar, niacinamide, pyridoxine HCl, riboflavin and cyanocobalamin. The lychee and green tea extract is sold under the trade name Oligonol, a registered trademark of Amino Up Co. Ltd.

Celsius's ingredients include carbonated filtered water, citric acid, taurine, guarana seed extract, caffeine, green tea extract, sucralose, calcium carbonate, ascorbic acid, glucuronolactone, ginger root extract, calcium pantothenate, niacinamide, natural flavor, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin, chromium chelate, biotin, beta-carotene (color) and cyanocobalamin.

Does Bloom have taurine?

Yes. Taurine is listed in Bloom's ingredients, and the milligram amount is not disclosed. Celsius also lists taurine, and its amount is not disclosed either.

The Bloom brand page says L-theanine and ginseng support cognitive function. This article does not cite a regulator statement on those ingredients, so it does not assess that claim. According to text on the Celsius product page at celsius.com, the company uses guarana seeds rather than roots and says its green tea extract contains a specific ratio of EGCG. That is a brand statement, not a label fact. Amounts of guarana, green tea extract, EGCG, ginger root extract and glucuronolactone are not disclosed on the label details available here.

Labels show which ingredients are present. They do not show how any one ingredient affects a given person, and the evidence on these actives combined in these exact cans is limited.

Pregnancy, Children and Caffeine Cautions on Each Label

The Bloom label says not to consume the product if pregnant or nursing, that it is not intended for children, and that it is recommended for adults only. The Celsius label says the drink is not recommended for people who are caffeine sensitive, children under 18, or women who are pregnant or nursing, and it says not to exceed 2 servings per day.

The FDA states that medical experts advise against energy drinks for children and teens because of their sugar and caffeine levels, citing the American Academy of Pediatrics. The FDA also advises people who are pregnant, trying to become pregnant or breastfeeding to talk with a health care provider about whether they need to limit caffeine. For broader context on children and energy drinks, see England Bans Energy Drinks for Under-16s. US Labels Hide Caffeine.

Label cautions cannot account for individual caffeine sensitivity, and this article does not give thresholds for any person. Evidence on how these specific cans affect pregnant people, children or caffeine-sensitive adults is not established here.

How to Read These Two Energy Drink Labels Yourself

The most reliable way to compare any two cans is to work through the same panel lines on each one.

  • Serving size and servings per container: one 12 fl oz (355 mL) can for both.
  • Caffeine: Bloom prints 180 mg per can, and Celsius prints 200 mg per serving. Check whether the label names the source as natural, from an extract, or as added caffeine.
  • Calories, total sugars and added sugars.
  • Sodium, and whether the amount is printed on the can or only on a web listing.
  • Dietary fiber, including whether the line is present at all.
  • Sweeteners, and whether a specific sweetener is named in the ingredients.
  • Ingredient order, plus any extract names and trademarks.
  • Warnings about pregnancy, nursing, children and caffeine sensitivity.

If an online listing and the can disagree, the can is the reference. The labels alone do not show which drink suits a particular goal such as weight management, performance or energy levels.

Bloom vs Celsius: Side-by-Side Facts

The two cans list the same calorie count (10 each) and the same sweetener type (sucralose only). Bloom's panel shows 0 g sugar. They differ on caffeine (180 mg vs 200 mg per 12 fl oz), sodium (0 mg vs 5 mg), and the fiber line (1 g on Bloom's panel photo, none on Celsius). The ingredient lists also differ: Bloom names L-theanine, ginseng, a lychee and green tea extract and a galactomannan fiber, while Celsius names guarana, green tea extract, ginger root extract, glucuronolactone and a beta-carotene color. Biotin appears only on the Celsius panel.

The labels do not disclose the milligram amounts of most non-caffeine actives, or how much of Celsius's caffeine comes from guarana.

You can scan either can yourself with Aurascan, a food-label scanner app for iPhone with a free tier. It explains each ingredient with cited evidence rather than giving a single black-box score, pulls product data from Open Food Facts, USDA and barcode databases, and has no sponsors. Its verdicts are per ingredient (Clean, Mixed or Flagged), so you can review each active on the label and decide for yourself.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Does Bloom have more caffeine than Celsius?
No. Bloom Sparkling Energy Strawberry Watermelon lists 180 mg per 12 fl oz can, and Celsius Sparkling Orange lists 200 mg per serving, so Celsius has 20 mg more.
How many calories are in Bloom vs Celsius?
Both cans list 10 calories per 12 fl oz (355 mL) can on their labels.
Does Bloom have aspartame or sucralose?
Bloom's only listed sweetener is sucralose, and its brand page says the drink contains no aspartame. The amount of sucralose in the can is not disclosed.
Does Bloom have taurine?
Yes, taurine is listed in Bloom's ingredients. The milligram amount is not disclosed on the label details available here.
Which has more dietary fiber, Bloom or Celsius?
Bloom's panel photo lists 1 g of dietary fiber (4% DV) per can, while the Celsius Sparkling Orange label has no fiber line.
Is sucralose approved for use in food in the US, and what intake limits apply?
Yes. The FDA approved sucralose for 15 food categories in 1998 and as a general-purpose sweetener in 1999, and it lists an acceptable daily intake of 5 mg per kg of body weight per day.

Sources

  1. Bloom Sparkling Energy product page (bloomnu.com)
  2. Celsius Sparkling Orange product page (celsius.com)
  3. Bloom Strawberry Watermelon product record (label photo and Nutrition Facts) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  4. Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine Is Too Much? (fda.gov)
  5. Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy