Comparisons · October 13, 2026 · 8 min read
Reign vs Monster Caffeine: 300 mg vs 160 mg per 16 oz Can
Reign lists 300 mg caffeine per 16 oz can; original green Monster lists 160 mg. Reign has 0 g sugar and 10 calories, Monster 54 g sugar and 230.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 13, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Reign has more caffeine than Monster: a 16 fl oz can of Reign Total Body Fuel White Gummy Bear lists 300 mg, and a 16 fl oz can of Monster Energy Original Green lists 160 mg. That is 140 mg more per can, about 1.9 times as much. Monster, in turn, lists 230 calories and 54 g of sugar per can against Reign's 10 calories and 0 g.
The labels for a 16 fl oz can of Reign Total Body Fuel White Gummy Bear list 300 mg caffeine, 10 calories, 0 g sugar and 200 mg sodium. A 16 fl oz can of Monster Energy Original Green lists 160 mg caffeine, 230 calories, 54 g total sugars and 370 mg sodium. The two cans use different sweetener systems.
Key takeaways
- Both cans are 16 fl oz, so the per-can figures compare directly.
- Reign lists 300 mg caffeine, 10 calories, 0 g sugar and 200 mg sodium per can. Monster lists 160 mg caffeine, 230 calories, 54 g total sugars and 370 mg sodium per can.
- Reign uses sucralose and acesulfame potassium. Monster lists sugar and glucose alongside sucralose.
- Monster Beverage Corporation's website names Reign Total Body Fuel as one of the brands marketed by its subsidiaries.
- Check the Nutrition Facts panel on the can you are holding, because the Reign brand page does not show a nutrition panel in its text.
How do Reign White Gummy Bear and Monster Original Green compare at a glance?
Both cans are 16 fl oz, so every row compares one can of each. The figures come from each can's label record on Open Food Facts (Reign, Monster), and the per-ounce caffeine row divides the label amount by 16.
| Per 16 fl oz can | Reign Total Body Fuel White Gummy Bear | Monster Energy Original Green |
|---|---|---|
| Caffeine | 300 mg | 160 mg |
| Caffeine per fl oz (calculated) | 18.75 mg | 10 mg |
| Calories | 10 | 230 |
| Total sugars | 0 g | 54 g |
| Added sugars | 0 g (0% DV) | 54 g (108% DV) |
| Total carbohydrate | 3 g | 58 g |
| Sodium | 200 mg (9% DV) | 370 mg (16% DV) |
| Protein | 0 g | 0 g |
| Total fat | 0 g | 0 g |
| Sweeteners listed | Sucralose, acesulfame potassium | Sugar, glucose, sucralose |
| Taurine listed | No | Yes |
The table shows only figures printed on or derived from the labels. Amounts of individual amino acids, botanicals and sweeteners were not disclosed for either can.
Does Reign have more caffeine than Monster?
Yes. The Reign can lists 300 mg of caffeine per 16 fl oz can, and the Monster Original Green can lists 160 mg per 16 fl oz can. The Reign brand page states 300MG of caffeine, and the Monster Original Green brand page states 160MG.
Does Reign have more caffeine than Monster Zero Sugar or Zero Ultra?
Yes. Reign lists 140 mg more caffeine than Monster Original Green and 140 mg more than Monster Zero Sugar, which is listed at 160 mg per 16 fl oz on its brand page. Reign also lists 150 mg more than Monster Zero Ultra, which is listed at 150 mg per 16 fl oz.
Per fluid ounce, that is 18.75 mg for Reign and 10 mg for Monster Original Green. The Reign label lists about 1.9 times the Monster Original Green amount. The Reign brand page describes the caffeine as 300 mg. Whether any of the 300 mg comes from sources other than added caffeine was not disclosed.
For context, the FDA's consumer update on caffeine describes 400 mg a day as an amount "not generally associated with negative effects" for most adults, and it notes wide variation in how much caffeine different people can tolerate. The update is at Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine Is Too Much?. One Reign can equals 75% of that figure, and two cans total 600 mg. One Monster Original Green can equals 40%, and two cans total 320 mg.
Related reading: Monster Zero Ultra vs Red Bull Sugarfree: 150 vs 80 mg Caffeine
How many calories and how much sugar are in each can?
Per 1 can (16 fl oz), the Reign label lists 10 calories and 0 g total sugars. The Monster Original Green label lists 230 calories and 54 g total sugars, all of it listed as added sugars.
The Reign brand page uses the term "ZERO SUGAR" for the product, and its label shows 0 g of both total and added sugars. The brand page is at Reign Total Body Fuel White Gummy Bear.
The FDA sets the Daily Value for added sugars at 50 g per day, based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so the 54 g in one Monster can equals 108% of that Daily Value. The FDA also notes that for most Americans, the main sources of added sugars are sugar-sweetened beverages, baked goods, desserts and sweets. The Dietary Guidelines recommend limiting calories from added sugars to less than 10 percent of total daily calories.
Total carbohydrate is 3 g for the Reign can and 58 g for the Monster can.
How does sodium compare between the two 16 oz cans?
The Reign can lists 200 mg sodium, or 9% of the Daily Value. The Monster Original Green can lists 370 mg sodium, or 16% of the Daily Value. The difference is 170 mg per can.
Monster's 370 mg figure comes from the Open Food Facts record for the 16 oz can, because the back-label photo is partly blurred; the 16% Daily Value printed on the label matches it.
Which sweeteners appear on each label: sucralose, acesulfame potassium, or sugar?
The Reign can lists sucralose and acesulfame potassium as sweeteners. The Monster Original Green can lists sugar, glucose and sucralose.
Does Reign have sugar?
No. The Reign label lists no sugar and 0 g total sugars per 1 can (16 fl oz). The Reign ingredient list does not include sugar. Monster's list includes both sugar and glucose, as well as sucralose.
Related reading: Monster vs Red Bull: Caffeine, Sweeteners and Preservatives
Acesulfame potassium is approved by the FDA as a sweetener and is about 200 times sweeter than table sugar. The FDA's acceptable daily intake for acesulfame potassium is 15 mg per kilogram of body weight per day. The amounts of sucralose or acesulfame potassium in either can were not disclosed, so a single can cannot be measured against those intake levels.
Does Reign have sucralose?
Yes. Sucralose appears in the Reign ingredient list, but the amounts of sucralose in the can were not disclosed. The FDA approved sucralose for 15 food categories in 1998 and as a general-purpose sweetener in 1999.
According to the FDA, sucralose is about 600 times sweeter than table sugar, and the FDA's acceptable daily intake for sucralose is 5 mg per kilogram of body weight per day. The page is at Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food.
What ingredients are listed on the Reign White Gummy Bear can?
The Reign label lists 18 ingredients, in this order: carbonated water, citric acid, sodium citrate, natural flavors, L-leucine, caffeine, L-isoleucine, L-valine, sucralose, sodium benzoate (preservative), potassium citrate, potassium sorbate (preservative), acesulfame potassium, niacinamide (vitamin B3), magnesium lactate, coenzyme Q-10, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6) and cyanocobalamin (vitamin B12).
The can's shoulder text reads "COENZYME Q10." The label does not disclose the amounts of the amino acids, coenzyme Q-10 or magnesium lactate.
Does Reign have taurine, creatine or beta-alanine?
No taurine, creatine or beta-alanine appears on the Reign ingredient list. The label lists L-leucine, L-isoleucine and L-valine instead.
What ingredients are listed on the Monster Original Green can?
The Monster label lists 23 ingredients, in this order: carbonated water, sugar, glucose, citric acid, natural flavors, taurine, sodium citrate, color added, Panax ginseng extract, L-carnitine L-tartrate, caffeine, sorbic acid (preservative), benzoic acid (preservative), niacinamide (vitamin B3), sucralose, salt, D-glucuronolactone, inositol, guarana extract, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin (vitamin B2), maltodextrin and cyanocobalamin (vitamin B12).
The ingredient panel does not show milligram amounts for taurine, ginseng, L-carnitine, glucuronolactone, inositol or guarana.
Are Reign and Monster the same company?
Monster Beverage Corporation's website names Reign Total Body Fuel as one of the brands marketed by its subsidiaries. The same list on the parent site also includes Monster Energy Ultra, Reign Storm, NOS and Bang Energy drinks.
The Reign website footer reads "2026 - REIGN BEVERAGE COMPANY LLC." The sites do not describe the ownership structure in further detail.
Who should be cautious with a 300 mg or 160 mg can?
The FDA's caffeine consumer update says medical experts advise against energy drinks for children and teens because of the levels of sugar and caffeine, citing the American Academy of Pediatrics. It also recommends that people who are pregnant, trying to become pregnant, or breastfeeding talk to their health care provider about whether they need to limit caffeine.
The same update notes wide variation in how sensitive people are to caffeine and how fast they eliminate it. No clinical study of these two specific cans was identified, so nothing here describes how either drink affects a particular person.
How can shoppers check these numbers on a can label themselves?
Start with the Nutrition Facts panel and the ingredient statement on the can in your hand. The FDA's guide to the Nutrition Facts label explains how each line is read.
A practical checklist for this comparison:
- Serving size and container: confirm the can size and that the figures refer to one can.
- Caffeine: look for a "caffeine from all sources" line on the label.
- Calories and sugars: read total sugars and added sugars separately, and compare the Daily Value percentage.
- Sodium: compare the milligram amount and the Daily Value percentage.
- Sweeteners: scan the ingredient list for sucralose, acesulfame potassium, sugar and glucose.
- Amino acids and botanicals: note whether amounts appear anywhere on the label, since many do not.
Aurascan is a food-label scanner app for iPhone with a free tier. It explains each ingredient one by one with cited evidence rather than a single score, and it shows per-ingredient verdicts of Clean, Mixed or Flagged. You can scan your next label with Aurascan and compare what the app shows against the numbers in this article.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Reign have more caffeine than Monster?
- Yes. Per 16 fl oz can, the Reign White Gummy Bear label lists 300 mg of caffeine and the Monster Energy Original Green label lists 160 mg, so Reign lists 140 mg more per can.
- How much sugar is in Reign vs Monster?
- Per 1 can (16 fl oz), the Reign White Gummy Bear label lists 0 g total sugars. The Monster Energy Original Green label lists 54 g total sugars, all of it listed as added sugars.
- Does Reign have taurine?
- No taurine appears on the Reign ingredient list. The Monster Original Green ingredient list does include taurine, but its milligram amount is not on the panel.
- Does Reign have sucralose?
- Yes. The Reign ingredient list includes sucralose and acesulfame potassium. The amounts of either sweetener in the can were not disclosed.
- Is Reign made by Monster?
- Monster Beverage Corporation's website names Reign Total Body Fuel as one of the brands marketed by its subsidiaries. The Reign website footer names REIGN BEVERAGE COMPANY LLC.
- How much sodium is in Reign vs Monster?
- Per 16 fl oz can, Reign lists 200 mg sodium (9% Daily Value) and Monster Energy Original Green lists 370 mg sodium (16% Daily Value).
- What does the FDA say about caffeine limits?
- The FDA describes 400 mg a day as an amount for most adults "not generally associated with negative effects." It also notes wide variation in how much caffeine different people can tolerate.
Sources
- How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine Is Too Much? (fda.gov)
- Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Reign Total Body Fuel White Gummy Bear (reignbodyfuel.com)
- Monster's Original Energy Drink (monsterenergy.com)
- Monster Energy Zero Sugar (monsterenergy.com)
- REIGN Total Body Fuel White Gummy Bear (UPC 0815154023269) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Monster Energy Original Green (UPC 0070847811169) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
In this series
Guide
Monster Zero Ultra vs Red Bull Sugarfree: 150 vs 80 mg CaffeineGuide
Celsius vs Ghost Energy: Caffeine (200 vs 200 mg), SweetenersGuide
Celsius vs Alani Nu: Caffeine, Sweeteners and IngredientsGuide
England Bans Energy Drinks for Under-16s. US Labels Hide CaffeineGuide
Monster vs Red Bull: Caffeine, Sweeteners and PreservativesGuide
Celsius vs Red Bull Caffeine: 200 mg vs 80 mg, Compared
Related guides
Comparisons
Monster Zero Ultra vs Red Bull Sugarfree: 150 vs 80 mg CaffeineMonster Zero Ultra lists 150 mg caffeine per 16 oz; Red Bull Sugarfree 80 mg per 8.4 oz, nearly the same per ounce. Both use sucralose and acesulfame K.
Comparisons
Celsius vs Ghost Energy: Caffeine (200 vs 200 mg), SweetenersBoth cans list 200 mg caffeine, but Celsius packs it into 12 fl oz and Ghost into 16 fl oz. Celsius uses sucralose; Ghost adds acesulfame K.
Comparisons
Bloom vs Celsius Caffeine: 180 mg vs 200 mg per 12 oz CanCelsius lists 200 mg caffeine per 12 oz can and Bloom lists 180 mg. Both list 10 calories, and both use sucralose as their only sweetener.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy