Aurascan

Comparisons · October 14, 2026 · 10 min read

Celsius vs Prime Energy Caffeine: 200 mg vs 200 mg per Can

Both list 200 mg caffeine, but Celsius fits it in 12 fl oz and Prime Energy in 16 fl oz. Celsius uses sucralose; Prime adds erythritol and ace-K.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 14, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of Two slim energy drink cans beside a clear measuring jug on a table

No: Celsius and Prime Energy each list 200 mg of caffeine per can, but Celsius fits it into a 12 fl oz can and Prime into a 16 fl oz can, so Celsius is about a third more concentrated per ounce.

Celsius Sparkling Orange is a 12 fl oz can, and Prime Energy Original is a 16 fl oz can. Caffeine works out to about 16.7 mg per fl oz for Celsius and about 12.5 mg per fl oz for Prime. The two products also differ on sodium (5 mg vs 140 mg per can), sweetener systems and preservatives. This comparison lays out each brand's own label without naming a preferred product.

Key takeaways

  • Both labels list 200 mg of caffeine per can. Because the cans differ in size, caffeine per fluid ounce is about 16.7 mg for Celsius and about 12.5 mg for Prime.
  • Prime's brand label lists 140 mg of sodium per can. Celsius's brand label lists 5 mg.
  • Celsius lists sucralose as its only sweetener. Prime lists erythritol, sucralose and acesulfame potassium, plus potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate preservatives.
  • Each label carries its own age, pregnancy and caffeine-sensitivity cautions, worded differently. Read the full statements on the can.

Celsius vs Prime Energy at a Glance: Caffeine, Calories, Sodium and Sweeteners

The table below uses only figures printed on each brand's label for the Celsius Sparkling Orange 12 fl oz can and the current 16 fl oz Prime Energy Original can. Per-ounce figures are simple division of the labeled caffeine by the labeled can size.

FactorCelsius Sparkling Orange (12 fl oz can)Prime Energy Original (16 fl oz can)
Caffeine per can200 mg200 mg
Caffeine per fl oz (calculated)About 16.7 mgAbout 12.5 mg
Calories1010
Sodium5 mg140 mg (4% DV)
Total sugars0 g0 g
Total carbohydrate0 g4 g
Sugar alcoholNot listed1 g
SweetenersSucralose onlyErythritol, sucralose, acesulfame potassium
PreservativesNone listedPotassium sorbate, sodium benzoate
Label caffeine statement'Caffeine Content: 200mg''CONTAINS: 200mg OF CAFFEINE PER 16 FL OZ SERVING'

The per-can numbers look similar on caffeine and calories. The differences show up once you read the sodium, carbohydrate, sweetener and preservative rows.

Caffeine Per Can vs Per Ounce: Why the 12 oz and 16 oz Sizes Change the Math

Does Prime Energy have more caffeine than Celsius?

No, not per can. Both brand labels list 200 mg of caffeine per can, with Celsius on a 12 fl oz can and Prime on a 16 fl oz can. The difference appears only when you measure per ounce.

How much caffeine is in each ounce of Celsius and Prime Energy?

Dividing the labeled 200 mg by the labeled can size gives about 16.7 mg per fl oz for Celsius Sparkling Orange (200 divided by 12) and about 12.5 mg per fl oz for Prime Energy Original (200 divided by 16). On this math, Celsius is about one-third more concentrated per ounce. Per-ounce figures are lower for the 16 fl oz can because the same 200 mg is spread over more liquid.

Where does Celsius's caffeine come from?

The Celsius label does not split its 200 mg by source. Its ingredient list names guarana seed extract, caffeine and green tea extract, which are all caffeine-bearing ingredients, but the label gives only the total. The celsius.com product information says Celsius 'uses the seeds (instead of the roots)' of guarana. How much caffeine each source contributes is not disclosed.

Sweeteners Compared: Sucralose Only vs Erythritol, Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium

What sweetener is in Prime Energy?

Prime Energy Original's label lists erythritol, sucralose and acesulfame potassium. The nutrition panel shows 1 g of sugar alcohol per can. The amounts of sucralose, acesulfame potassium and erythritol beyond that 1 g figure are not disclosed.

What sweetener is in Celsius Sparkling Orange?

Celsius Sparkling Orange lists sucralose as its only sweetener. The amount of sweetener per can is not disclosed. For other Celsius matchups, see Red Bull vs Celsius and Celsius vs Alani Nu.

Are these sweeteners approved in the U.S.?

The FDA states that sucralose 'is approved for use in food as a sweetener' and is 'about 600 times sweeter than table sugar.' For acesulfame potassium, the FDA states it 'is approved for use in food as a sweetener' and is 'about 200 times sweeter than table sugar.' On its sweetener page, the FDA lists an acceptable daily intake of 5 mg/kg bw/d for sucralose and 15 mg/kg bw/d for acesulfame potassium.

On erythritol, the FDA says sugar alcohols 'are slightly lower in calories than sugar and do not promote tooth decay or cause a sudden increase in blood glucose.' The agency also reports that in 2023 it 'reviewed a scientific paper about possible cardiovascular effects related to consuming erythritol' and 'determined that the observational studies cited in the paper did not establish a causal link.'

Sodium Per Can: 140 mg (Prime) vs 5 mg (Celsius) on the Brand Labels

How much sodium is in Prime Energy vs Celsius?

Prime Energy Original lists 140 mg of sodium per 16 fl oz can (4% DV), while Celsius Sparkling Orange lists 5 mg per 12 fl oz can. This comparison uses those brand label figures.

Why do sodium numbers differ between sources?

The Open Food Facts record for Celsius Sparkling Orange lists 10 mg of sodium, while the brand label lists 5 mg. This article uses the brand label figure. Because the Celsius figure comes from the brand label, checking the Nutrition Facts panel on the can you hold is the most direct way to confirm it.

Where does Prime's sodium come from?

Sodium citrate is one ingredient on Prime's list that contributes sodium, alongside potassium citrate, calcium lactate and trimagnesium citrate. The label does not itemize how the 140 mg splits among those ingredients. The brand page text reads 'Electrolytes' and '355 mg' without itemization. Beyond the panel values of sodium 140 mg, potassium 160 mg, calcium 40 mg and magnesium 40 mg, the amounts of each electrolyte salt are not disclosed.

Calories and Sugar: What the Two Nutrition Facts Panels Actually Show

Is Prime Energy sugar free?

The Prime brand page uses the phrase 'Zero Sugar,' and its can panel shows 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars. The same panel lists 4 g of total carbohydrate and 1 g of sugar alcohol per can, so the drink is not carbohydrate-free even though sugars are listed as zero. Celsius Sparkling Orange lists 0 g of total carbohydrate on its panel.

Are the calories the same?

Yes on the labels. Both list 10 calories per can. Calories alone do not show the sweetener or electrolyte differences, so the carbohydrate and sugar alcohol lines are worth reading alongside them.

Full Ingredient Lists From Each Brand's Own Label, Side by Side

Each list below follows the order printed on the label. Prime's can prints its list in capitals; both lists below use sentence-style capitals while keeping the label's order and wording.

What is on the Celsius Sparkling Orange ingredient list?

The Celsius label lists, in order: Carbonated Filtered Water, Citric Acid, Taurine, Guarana Seed Extract, Caffeine, Green Tea Extract, Sucralose, Calcium Carbonate, Ascorbic Acid, Glucuronolactone, Ginger Root Extract, Calcium Pantothenate, Niacinamide, Natural Flavor, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Chromium Chelate, Biotin, Beta-Carotene (color) and Cyanocobalamin.

What is on the Prime Energy Original ingredient list?

The Prime label lists, in order: Carbonated Water, Citric Acid, Erythritol, Sodium Citrate, Potassium Citrate, Calcium Lactate, Trimagnesium Citrate, Natural Flavors, Caffeine, Sucralose, Potassium Sorbate (preservative), Sodium Benzoate (preservative), L-Theanine, Acesulfame Potassium, Inositol, Glucuronolactone, Taurine, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (vitamin B6) and Cyanocobalamin (vitamin B12). The Open Food Facts record for this product lists cyanocobalamin as 'VITAMIN B2,' a typo, since the brand label says B12.

Which ingredients appear on both labels?

The shared ingredients are citric acid, taurine, caffeine, sucralose, glucuronolactone, pyridoxine hydrochloride (B6) and cyanocobalamin (B12). Only the Celsius label lists guarana seed extract, green tea extract, ginger root extract, chromium and biotin. Only the Prime label lists L-theanine, inositol, erythritol, acesulfame potassium, sodium citrate, potassium citrate, calcium lactate and trimagnesium citrate. Neither label discloses the amounts of taurine or glucuronolactone, nor the amounts of guarana, green tea or ginger extract in the Celsius can, or the amount of L-theanine in the Prime can.

Preservatives, Caffeine Sources and Vitamins: What Differs on Each Label

Does Celsius Sparkling Orange contain preservatives?

No benzoate or sorbate preservative appears in the Celsius ingredient list. Prime's ingredient list includes potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate, each labeled as a preservative.

What vitamins are on each label?

The Celsius panel lists vitamin C at 60 mg (70% DV), along with riboflavin, niacin, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, biotin, pantothenic acid and chromium. The Prime panel lists vitamin B6 (2.55 mg, 150% DV) and vitamin B12 (3.60 mcg, 150% DV), along with calcium, potassium and magnesium. Vitamin content is a label reading point only and does not describe how the body responds to these drinks.

Label Warnings and the FDA's Caffeine Figures: Who Should Be Cautious

This section does not give a verdict on either product. It lists what each label says about who should be cautious and what regulators have said about caffeine in general.

The Celsius label states: 'NOT RECOMMENDED FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE CAFFEINE SENSITIVE, CHILDREN UNDER 18, OR WOMEN PREGNANT OR NURSING,' and 'DO NOT EXCEED (2) SERVINGS PER DAY.' The Prime can states 'FOR AGES 18+' and 'NOT RECOMMENDED FOR CHILDREN UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE, PEOPLE SENSITIVE TO CAFFEINE, PREGNANT WOMEN OR WOMEN WHO ARE NURSING.' Prime's label also carries a gluten-free statement.

The FDA states that 'for most adults, the FDA has cited 400 milligrams a day' as an amount not generally associated with negative effects, and it adds that 'there is wide variation in both how sensitive people are to the effects of caffeine and how fast they eliminate it from the body.' By simple arithmetic, 400 mg equals two cans of either product, but that is a math note, not guidance on how much to drink. The FDA also estimates toxic effects such as seizures with 'rapid consumption of around 1,200 milligrams of caffeine.'

The FDA page also quotes the American Academy of Pediatrics: 'Medical experts advise against energy drinks for children and teens because of the levels of sugar and caffeine.' Readers who take medications, are pregnant or nursing, or have a health condition should speak with a licensed clinician about caffeine and energy drinks. No study cited here tested these two specific products in people.

Limitations: the evidence cannot establish how any individual will respond to 200 mg of caffeine, and it does not cover every population, such as people with certain heart conditions or those on specific medications. The amounts of several ingredients on these labels are not disclosed. The Celsius sodium figure is taken from the brand label, and a database entry lists a different value, so the physical can is the best place to confirm it.

How to Compare Any Energy Drink Label Yourself

You can apply the same method to any can:

  • Check the can size and the serving size on the panel, then calculate caffeine per fl oz.
  • Compare sodium in milligrams per serving and note whether the panel uses one can or a fraction of one.
  • Read total carbohydrate and sugar alcohol lines, not only total sugars.
  • Identify every sweetener on the ingredient list, including sugar alcohols.
  • Look for preservatives such as potassium sorbate or sodium benzoate.
  • Find every caffeine-bearing ingredient and whether the label splits the total by source.
  • Read the age, pregnancy, nursing and caffeine sensitivity statements exactly as printed.
  • Compare the brand label with third-party databases and treat any mismatch as a reason to check the physical can.

To check a can you have on hand, scan the label with Aurascan to see each ingredient explained with cited sources.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Does Prime Energy have more caffeine than Celsius?
Not per can. Celsius Sparkling Orange (12 fl oz can) and Prime Energy Original (16 fl oz can) each list 200 mg of caffeine per can. Per fluid ounce, Celsius is about 16.7 mg and Prime is about 12.5 mg, calculated by dividing the labeled caffeine by the labeled can size.
What sweetener is in Prime Energy?
The Prime Energy Original label lists erythritol, sucralose and acesulfame potassium. The panel shows 1 g of sugar alcohol per 16 fl oz can. The amounts of sucralose and acesulfame potassium are not disclosed.
How much sodium is in Prime Energy vs Celsius?
The Prime Energy Original brand panel lists 140 mg of sodium per 16 fl oz can (4% DV). The Celsius Sparkling Orange brand label lists 5 mg per 12 fl oz can. An Open Food Facts record lists 10 mg for Celsius, so the brand label figure is the one used here.
Is Prime Energy sugar free?
The Prime brand page says 'Zero Sugar,' and the can panel lists 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars. The same panel lists 4 g total carbohydrate and 1 g sugar alcohol per 16 fl oz can.
Does Celsius Sparkling Orange have preservatives?
No benzoate or sorbate preservative appears in the Celsius Sparkling Orange ingredient list. Prime Energy Original lists potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate as preservatives.
Who should not drink Celsius or Prime Energy according to the labels?
Both labels say the product is not recommended for people sensitive to caffeine, children under 18, or pregnant or nursing women. Prime also states 'For Ages 18+,' and Celsius states 'DO NOT EXCEED (2) SERVINGS PER DAY.'

Sources

  1. Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine Is Too Much? (fda.gov)
  2. Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)
  3. Celsius Sparkling Orange (celsius.com)
  4. Prime Energy Original (drinkprime.com)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy