Aurascan

Comparisons · October 24, 2026 · 8 min read

Breyers vs Blue Bell: Is Breyers Real Ice Cream?

Breyers Homemade and Natural Vanilla are labeled ice cream; some Breyers flavors say frozen dairy dessert. Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla, label by label.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 24, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of Two vanilla ice cream scoops in bowls beside a spoon

Under 21 CFR 135.110, a carton can use the name ice cream only when the product meets federal minimums for milkfat, nonfat milk solids, total solids and weight per gallon. Breyers Homemade Vanilla and Breyers Natural Vanilla carry the ice cream name, and Blue Bell sells Homemade Vanilla as ice cream, but at least one Breyers carton, Oreo Cookies & Cream, uses the frozen dairy dessert name instead. This side-by-side guide puts the carton names, ingredient lists and per-2/3-cup figures next to each other so you can compare them yourself.

Key takeaways

  • Under 21 CFR 135.110, ice cream must contain not less than 10 percent milkfat and not less than 10 percent nonfat milk solids, plus at least 1.6 pounds of total solids and 4.5 pounds of weight per gallon.
  • The name printed on the carton is the clearest label signal: Breyers Oreo Cookies & Cream reads FROZEN DAIRY DESSERT, while Breyers Homemade Vanilla reads ICE CREAM.
  • Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla is sold as ice cream, and its label lists 240 calories, 12 g fat, 95 mg sodium and 19 g added sugars per 2/3 cup (118 g).
  • The same 2/3 cup weighs 118 g on the Blue Bell label but 85-88 g on the Breyers vanilla entries, so check the serving size line on each carton before comparing numbers.

What does 21 CFR 135.110 require before a carton can say ice cream?

Under 21 CFR 135.110, ice cream must contain not less than 10 percent milkfat and not less than 10 percent nonfat milk solids, following a sliding scale that links the two. The rule also requires at least 1.6 pounds of total solids per gallon, a weight of at least 4.5 pounds per gallon, and sweetening with safe and suitable sweeteners.

The FDA describes standards of identity as rules that set out what a food must contain and what is optional, so that products match what consumers expect. These standards have been established since 1939, and there are more than 250 of them. The ice cream standard is one of them, which is why the word ice cream on a carton carries a defined meaning.

Label reading has limits here. No carton in this comparison states its actual milkfat percentage, so a shopper cannot confirm the 10 percent figure from the front or back panel. The federal text defines ice cream only.

What is a frozen dairy dessert, and why do some Breyers cartons use that name?

The federal text at 21 CFR 135.110 defines ice cream only and does not set out a milkfat threshold for frozen dairy dessert, so the two names should not be assumed to share the same minimums. Breyers Oreo Cookies & Cream carries FROZEN DAIRY DESSERT on its front and lists 130 calories per 1/2 cup.

Why Breyers uses the frozen dairy dessert name on that carton was not disclosed in the information available, so this guide does not offer a reason. For a cookie-flavor comparison from another brand, see Blue Bell vs Tillamook Cookies & Cream: 240 vs 230 Calories.

Is Breyers real ice cream? Homemade and Natural Vanilla labels compared

Breyers Natural Vanilla is sold as ice cream. Its ingredients read milk, cream, sugar, skim milk, tara gum and natural flavor, and its serving is 2/3 cup (88 g). Its calorie count was not disclosed on the entry available here, so the Nutrition Facts panel on the carton is the place to confirm it.

Breyers Homemade Vanilla carries ICE CREAM on its carton front. Per 2/3 cup its front panel shows 180 calories, 6 g saturated fat, 80 mg sodium and 18 g total sugars, and its Open Food Facts entry lists the 2/3 cup as 85 g with 9 g fat, 12 g added sugars and 3 g protein. Its list is longer than Natural Vanilla's: it adds corn syrup, whey, egg yolks, mono and diglycerides, salt, vanilla extract, annatto (for color), carob bean gum and guar gum alongside tara gum. The category on the carton, not the flavor name, determines whether a product carries the ice cream name.

Is Blue Bell real ice cream? Homemade and Natural Vanilla Bean labels compared

Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla is sold as ice cream, and its label lists 240 calories per 2/3 cup (118 g). Its ingredients begin with milk, cream, sugar and skim milk, followed by high fructose corn syrup, then a group listed as contains 1% or less of: natural and artificial flavor, cellulose gum, guar gum, carrageenan, carob bean gum, annatto extract (for color) and salt. The label also carries a contains milk statement.

Blue Bell Natural Vanilla Bean lists milk, cream, sugar and skim milk, followed by 1% or less of vanilla extract, guar gum, carob bean gum and ground vanilla beans. Nutrition figures for this flavor were not part of the information used here. Whether any Blue Bell flavor is labeled frozen dairy dessert was not disclosed.

Breyers vs Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla: what are the ingredients side by side?

Breyers Homemade Vanilla lists milk, cream, sugar, corn syrup, whey, egg yolks, carob bean gum, mono and diglycerides, salt, natural flavor, vanilla extract, annatto (for color), guar gum and tara gum. Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla lists milk, cream, sugar, skim milk and high fructose corn syrup, followed by its 1% or less group.

  • Egg yolks and whey appear in the Breyers list and do not appear in the Blue Bell list.
  • Mono and diglycerides, which are emulsifiers, appear in the Breyers list only.
  • Carrageenan and cellulose gum appear in the Blue Bell 1% group, while the Breyers list names tara gum.
  • Both lists include annatto for color, guar gum and carob bean gum.

Neither ingredient list gives the milkfat percentage, so the ingredient order alone does not show how much milk fat is present. Milk allergy readers should note that the Blue Bell label carries a contains milk statement, and the Breyers list names egg yolks, so allergen statements should be read on each carton.

Does Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla contain high fructose corn syrup, and where?

Yes. High fructose corn syrup appears in the Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla ingredient statement directly after skim milk, which places it among the main ingredients and ahead of the 1% or less group. Breyers Homemade Vanilla lists corn syrup, not high fructose corn syrup. Breyers Oreo Cookies & Cream lists high fructose corn syrup after cream and before whey.

U.S. labels list ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight. Readers who limit added sugars can check the added sugars line on the panel, which for Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla reads 19 g per 2/3 cup, or 38% Daily Value.

Breyers vs Blue Bell vanilla per 2/3 cup: calories, fat, sugar and sodium

Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla lists 240 calories, 12 g fat, 7 g saturated fat, 95 mg sodium and 19 g added sugars per 2/3 cup (118 g), while the Breyers Homemade Vanilla carton front shows 180 calories, 6 g saturated fat, 80 mg sodium and 18 g total sugars per 2/3 cup.

Carton (serving)Name on cartonCaloriesFatSaturated fatSodiumSugar
Breyers Homemade Vanilla (2/3 cup)ICE CREAM (front)1809 g (OFF entry, 85 g serving)6 g80 mg18 g total (front); 12 g added (OFF entry)
Breyers Natural Vanilla (2/3 cup, 88 g)Ice creamNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla (2/3 cup, 118 g)Sold as ice cream24012 g7 g95 mg27 g total; 19 g added
Blue Bell Natural Vanilla BeanNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed

Why does the serving weight difference (85-88 g vs 118 g) matter?

The same 2/3 cup measure weighs 118 g on the Blue Bell label but 85 to 88 g on the Breyers vanilla entries. A per-cup number is therefore not measured on the same weight basis across the two brands. Air and density affect how much product fits in a cup, and overrun or air content figures were not disclosed for either brand, so the weight gap cannot be explained from the labels alone.

Practical steps when comparing cartons:

  • Find the serving size line and the gram weight printed on each carton.
  • Note the servings per container, since the Blue Bell half-gallon lists 12 servings.
  • Compare calories and sugars using the same serving description on both cartons.
  • Treat database entries as secondary and confirm figures against the carton.

These label figures describe specific products and pack sizes. They cannot show how any individual responds to a food, and they do not establish outcomes for any group of people.

Which Breyers flavors are frozen dairy dessert, and how to spot it?

One Breyers carton in this comparison carries the frozen dairy dessert name: Oreo Cookies & Cream (2023 Open Food Facts entry). Breyers Homemade Vanilla carries ICE CREAM on its front. A full current list of Breyers flavors with the frozen dairy dessert name was not disclosed, so a flavor name alone does not tell you the category.

A label checklist:

  • Read the wording printed near the product name on the front panel.
  • Check the ingredient list for vegetable gums such as guar, carob bean and tara. The Oreo list includes them, along with vitamin A palmitate.
  • Compare calories and fat using the same serving size.
  • Confirm the gram weight, since the same cup can weigh different amounts.

For more label examples from the ice cream aisle, see 5 Ice Creams Scanned: Five Ingredients vs Twenty.

Breyers and Blue Bell both sell vanilla as ice cream, but the gums, sweeteners and serving weights on their labels differ. To see what each ingredient on the carton in your freezer does, scan its barcode with the Aurascan app.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Is Breyers real ice cream?
Breyers Homemade Vanilla carries ICE CREAM on its front, and Breyers Natural Vanilla is sold as ice cream. Some Breyers cartons, such as Oreo Cookies & Cream, are labeled frozen dairy dessert instead.
What is frozen dairy dessert under federal rules?
The federal text at 21 CFR 135.110 defines ice cream only. It does not set out a milkfat threshold for frozen dairy dessert, so the carton name is what separates the two categories.
Is Blue Bell real ice cream?
Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla is sold as ice cream. Its label lists 240 calories, 12 g fat and 19 g added sugars per 2/3 cup (118 g).
Does Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla have high fructose corn syrup?
Yes. High fructose corn syrup appears in its ingredient statement directly after skim milk, before the 1% or less group.
Why is the serving weight different between these cartons?
The Blue Bell label lists 2/3 cup as 118 g, while the Breyers vanilla entries list 85 to 88 g. Compare the serving size line on each carton before comparing numbers.
Which Breyers flavors are frozen dairy dessert?
Oreo Cookies & Cream is labeled frozen dairy dessert in the sources used here. A full current list was not disclosed.

Sources

  1. 21 CFR 135.110 Ice cream and frozen custard (ecfr.gov)
  2. Standards of Identity for Food (fda.gov)
  3. Breyers Homemade Vanilla (Open Food Facts) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  4. Breyers Natural Vanilla Ice Cream (Open Food Facts) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  5. Breyers Oreo Cookies & Cream (Open Food Facts) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  6. Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla (bluebell.com)
  7. Blue Bell Natural Vanilla Bean (bluebell.com)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy