Comparisons · October 14, 2026 · 8 min read
Blue Bell vs Tillamook Cookies & Cream: 240 vs 230 Calories
Per 2/3 cup, Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream has 240 calories and Tillamook Cookies & Cream has 230. Only Blue Bell lists high fructose corn syrup. Labels compared.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 14, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Per 2/3 cup, Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream lists 240 calories and 18 g of added sugar, while Tillamook Cookies & Cream lists 230 calories and 19 g of added sugar. Only Blue Bell lists high fructose corn syrup.
Key takeaways
- Per 2/3 cup, Blue Bell lists 240 calories and 18 g added sugar; Tillamook lists 230 calories and 19 g added sugar. The Blue Bell figures here come from Open Food Facts record 0071899037316, and the Tillamook figures come from the brand page.
- Blue Bell lists high fructose corn syrup and corn syrup; Tillamook lists sugar and invert sugar with no corn syrup.
- Carrageenan and cellulose gum appear only in the Blue Bell ingredients; both products list guar gum and a locust or carob bean gum.
- Only Tillamook lists pasteurized egg yolks, and both labels list milk, soy and wheat as allergens.
Blue Bell vs Tillamook at a Glance: Calories, Fat, Sugar and Protein Per 2/3 Cup
The Tillamook figures below match the Tillamook Cookies & Cream product page and Open Food Facts record 072830081054, which lists a serving of 95 g. The Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream page shows nutrition only as an image, so the Blue Bell figures come from Open Food Facts record 0071899037316. In that record the serving field is missing a fraction slash and reads '23 cup (99 g)', and it is read here as 2/3 cup. Both products are compared on 2/3 cup. The container size for the Blue Bell record is not disclosed.
| Per 2/3 cup | Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream | Tillamook Cookies & Cream |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 240 | 230 |
| Total fat | 12 g | 13 g |
| Saturated fat | 7 g | 8 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g | 0 g |
| Cholesterol | 35 mg | 40 mg |
| Sodium | 110 mg | 100 mg |
| Total carbohydrates | 28 g | 27 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g |
| Total sugars | 23 g | 23 g |
| Added sugars | 18 g (% DV not disclosed) | 19 g (38% DV) |
| Protein | 5 g | 4 g |
Tillamook's container holds 1.5 quarts and lists 9 servings per container. Blue Bell's container size is not disclosed in the record used here.
Calories: Is 240 vs 230 per 2/3 Cup a Meaningful Difference?
Blue Bell vs Tillamook calories: how far apart are they?
Blue Bell lists 240 calories per 2/3 cup and Tillamook lists 230 calories per 2/3 cup, a 10-calorie gap on the figures used here. The two products also differ in other nutrients, which are set out in the table above.
The Tillamook numbers come from its brand page, while the Blue Bell numbers come from an Open Food Facts record because the Blue Bell site shows its panel only as an image, so check the Nutrition Facts panel on the package you are holding.
Does serving size change the calorie comparison?
Both products are compared at 2/3 cup: the Tillamook label uses 2/3 cup as its serving, and the Blue Bell record uses the same reference after the missing fraction slash is corrected. Calories only compare fairly when the serving matches. A scoop may be larger or smaller than 2/3 cup, so compare the serving size line on each package before comparing numbers.
Scan preview

Tillamook
Tillamook Cookies And Cream Ice Cream, 48fl-oz
CREAM · SKIM MILK · MILK
Standout ingredient: RIBOFLAVIN
Analysis by Aurascan. The app shows the full breakdown and its sources.
Added Sugar: Do 18 g and 19 g Per 2/3 Cup Differ in Practice?
How much added sugar is in Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream?
Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream lists 18 g of added sugars per 2/3 cup, out of 23 g of total sugars, according to Open Food Facts record 0071899037316. Added sugars are the sugars put into the food during processing, while total sugars also include sugars that occur naturally in ingredients such as milk.
A second Open Food Facts record for Blue Bell, 0071899051176, uses a different serving of 0.667 cup (97 g). It is not used for the comparison in this article, so the figures here reflect only the 2/3 cup record.
Does Tillamook Cookies & Cream list more added sugar?
Yes, by one gram. Tillamook lists 19 g of added sugars per 2/3 cup, which its label shows as 38% of the Daily Value, compared with Blue Bell's 18 g. The FDA Daily Value for added sugars is 50 grams per day based on a 2,000-calorie diet. Total sugars are identical at 23 g per serving for both products.
For another pair of brands compared on sugar and vanilla ingredients, the Ben & Jerry's vs Häagen-Dazs: Vanilla Ingredients and Sugar comparison offers a separate look at how sweeteners line up.
Corn Syrup: Which Tub Lists It, and Where in the Ingredient Order?
Does Blue Bell ice cream have high fructose corn syrup?
Yes. Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream lists high fructose corn syrup in the main ingredient list, fifth after milk, cream, sugar and skim milk, and before wheat flour and palm oil. Corn syrup also appears in the label's 'contains 2% or less of' section.
Does Tillamook Cookies & Cream contain corn syrup?
No. The Tillamook ingredient list names sugar and invert sugar as its sweeteners and does not list corn syrup.
The practical difference is in the sweetener names. Blue Bell's list names two corn-based sweeteners, while Tillamook's list names sugar and invert sugar. Check both the main ingredient list and the 'contains 2% or less of' section on any label, because sweeteners can appear in either place.
Gums and Stabilizers: What Blue Bell Lists Versus What Tillamook Lists
Blue Bell lists cellulose gum, guar gum, carrageenan and carob bean gum. Tillamook lists guar gum, tara gum, xanthan gum and locust bean gum. Carob bean gum and locust bean gum are two names for the same ingredient, so both products contain guar gum and that bean gum.
Gums and stabilizers are added to ice cream to help control texture and how the product holds together. Carrageenan and cellulose gum appear only on the Blue Bell label, while tara gum and xanthan gum appear only on the Tillamook label. The label entries do not describe the source or processing of each gum, so those details are not disclosed here.
For readers who want to see another pair of premium ice creams compared on the same kind of gum and stabilizer list, the Tillamook vs Häagen-Dazs: 5 Ingredients Against 30 comparison offers a parallel view.
Full Ingredient Lists Side by Side: Order, Dairy Base and Added Ingredients
Is Blue Bell real ice cream?
Blue Bell describes its product on its brand page as a creamy vanilla-flavored ice cream and states that it was the first to create the cookies 'n cream flavor. Its label lists milk and cream as the first two ingredients.
In the United States, 21 CFR 135.110 requires ice cream to contain not less than 10 percent milkfat and 10 percent nonfat milk solids. When bulky flavors are used, milkfat may be as low as 8 percent and total milk solids as low as 16 percent of the finished food. Neither brand discloses its milkfat percentage on the label details used here, so the standard cannot be checked from the label alone.
What are the full Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream ingredients?
In label order, the Blue Bell list is:
- Milk, cream, sugar, skim milk, high fructose corn syrup, wheat flour, palm oil
- Contains 2% or less of: corn syrup, cocoa (processed with alkali), natural and artificial flavor, soy lecithin, salt, baking soda, cellulose gum, guar gum, carrageenan, carob bean gum, annatto extract (for color)
The brand page also carries the statement 'Contains Bioengineered Food Ingredients'. The composition of the 'natural and artificial flavor' is not disclosed.
What are the full Tillamook Cookies & Cream ingredients?
In label order, the Tillamook list is:
- Cream, skim milk, milk, sugar, enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), pasteurized egg yolks, palm oil, wheat flour, water
- Cocoa (processed with alkali), salt, vanilla extract, soy lecithin, baking soda, invert sugar, palm kernel oil, guar gum, tara gum, natural flavor, citric acid, annatto (color), xanthan gum, locust bean gum
The composition of the 'natural flavor' is not disclosed. The share of cookie pieces by weight is not disclosed for either product.
The two lists differ in order at the top. Blue Bell lists milk first and cream second, while Tillamook lists cream first. Tillamook's list also places pasteurized egg yolks and vanilla extract in the ingredients, while Blue Bell lists natural and artificial flavor.
Allergens, Egg Yolks and Who Should Check Labels Closely
Both labels list milk, soy and wheat as allergens. Tillamook also lists egg, because its ingredient list includes pasteurized egg yolks. Blue Bell's label does not list egg.
People with milk, egg, soy or wheat allergies, or with sensitivities to these foods, should read the full label on the package they buy, because formulations and labels can change. Cross-contact or precautionary statements are not part of the details listed here, so check the package for them.
How to Compare Ice Cream Labels Like These on Your Own
Use this checklist on any pair of labels:
- Confirm the serving size first, then compare calories and sugars for that same serving.
- Read added sugars separately from total sugars, and note whether the label gives a % Daily Value.
- Scan the main ingredient list and the 'contains 2% or less of' section for sweeteners such as sugar, invert sugar, corn syrup and high fructose corn syrup.
- Note each gum or stabilizer by name, including any listed as carob bean gum or locust bean gum.
- Check the allergen statement and any bioengineered disclosure.
- Look for a milkfat figure on the package. If it is missing, the standard in 21 CFR 135.110 cannot be checked from the label.
For a wider look at how ice cream labels stack up, the 5 Ice Creams Scanned: Five Ingredients vs Twenty guide walks through several labels side by side.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- How many calories are in Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream vs Tillamook Cookies & Cream per 2/3 cup?
- Blue Bell lists 240 calories per 2/3 cup, based on Open Food Facts record 0071899037316, and Tillamook lists 230 calories per 2/3 cup, matching the Tillamook brand page.
- Does Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream have high fructose corn syrup?
- Yes. The Blue Bell ingredient list names high fructose corn syrup in the main list, fifth after milk, cream, sugar and skim milk, and it also lists corn syrup in the 'contains 2% or less of' section.
- How much added sugar is in Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream per 2/3 cup?
- Blue Bell lists 18 g of added sugars per 2/3 cup in Open Food Facts record 0071899037316, with 23 g of total sugars. The label's % Daily Value for Blue Bell is not disclosed in that record.
- Does Tillamook Cookies & Cream contain corn syrup?
- No. The Tillamook ingredient list names sugar and invert sugar as its sweeteners and does not list corn syrup. Tillamook lists 19 g of added sugars per 2/3 cup, which its label shows as 38% of the Daily Value.
- Does Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream contain carrageenan?
- Yes. Blue Bell lists carrageenan in its 'contains 2% or less of' section, along with cellulose gum, guar gum and carob bean gum. Tillamook's ingredient list does not include carrageenan.
- Do Blue Bell and Tillamook Cookies & Cream both contain milk, soy and wheat?
- Yes. Both labels list milk, soy and wheat as allergens. Tillamook also lists egg, because its ingredient list includes pasteurized egg yolks.
- Is Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream real ice cream?
- Blue Bell describes its product as a creamy vanilla-flavored ice cream, and 21 CFR 135.110 sets milkfat and milk solids minimums for ice cream. Neither brand discloses its milkfat percentage, so the standard cannot be checked from the label alone.
Sources
- Cookies 'n Cream (bluebell.com)
- Blue Bell Cookies 'n Cream Ice Cream Open Food Facts record 0071899037316 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Cookies and Cream Ice Cream (tillamook.com)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
In this series
Related guides
Comparisons
Is Outshine Healthier Than Popsicle? 12g Sugar vs AspartameOutshine Strawberry lists 12 g added sugar per bar and no low-calorie sweeteners; Popsicle Orange Cherry Grape uses aspartame and ace-K, 0 g sugar.
Comparisons
Does Fruit by the Foot Have Red 40? Roll-Ups ComparedFruit by the Foot Berry Tie-Dye colors with spirulina and vegetable juice, but the Starburst flavor lists Red 40. Roll-Ups vary by flavor too. 9 g vs 7 g added sugar.
Comparisons
Nutri-Grain vs Nature's Bakery: Both 14 g Added SugarNutri-Grain Apple Cinnamon (44g) and Nature's Bakery Apple Cinnamon Fig Bar (57g) both list 14g added sugars, 28% DV. Calories, fiber, sodium and ingredients compared.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy