Comparisons · October 14, 2026 · Updated October 27, 2026 · 8 min read
Halo Top vs Häagen-Dazs Vanilla Bean: 90 vs 350 Calories
Per 2/3 cup, Halo Top Vanilla Bean has 90 calories and Häagen-Dazs Vanilla Bean has 350. We compare sugar, fat, erythritol and 18 vs 6 ingredients.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 27, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Per 2/3 cup, Halo Top Vanilla Bean lists 90 calories and Häagen-Dazs Vanilla Bean lists 350, but that same 2/3 cup weighs 85 g on the Halo Top label and 129 g in the Häagen-Dazs record.
Key takeaways
- Per 2/3 cup the labels show 90 vs 350 calories, 2 g vs 23 g fat, and 8 g vs 28 g total sugars, but the Halo Top serving weighs 85 g and the Häagen-Dazs serving weighs 129 g.
- Halo Top's 18-item ingredient list includes sugar, erythritol, vegetable glycerine, soluble corn fiber, inulin and stevia leaf extract (Reb M). Erythritol and stevia leaf extract (Reb M) appear on Halo Top's label only. Häagen-Dazs lists six ingredients, with cane sugar as its only sweetener.
- Neither brand discloses its milkfat percentage, so the labels alone cannot show whether either meets the federal ice cream minimum of 10 percent milkfat.
Why the Same 2/3 Cup Serving Weighs 85 g on One Pint and 129 g on the Other
Both labels use a serving size of 2/3 cup, but the weights differ. The Halo Top Vanilla Bean serving weighs 85 g, and the Häagen-Dazs Vanilla Bean serving weighs 129 g according to the Open Food Facts record. That 44 g gap means a serving on one label is not the same amount of product as a serving on the other, so comparing only the per-serving figures can overstate or understate the differences.
Air content, known as overrun, affects how much a given volume of ice cream weighs. Overrun is not disclosed for either product, so the weight difference cannot be explained from the labels alone.
Container size also matters. Halo Top's container holds 3 servings according to the brand page, and the whole container is listed at 290 calories. The number of servings in the 14 fl oz Häagen-Dazs container is not listed in the available records, so its whole-container calories are not disclosed.
| Measure | Halo Top Vanilla Bean (per 2/3 cup) | Häagen-Dazs Vanilla Bean (per 2/3 cup) |
|---|---|---|
| Serving weight | 85 g | 129 g |
| Calories | 90 | 350 |
| Total fat | 2 g | 23 g |
| Saturated fat | 1 g | 14 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g | 1 g |
| Cholesterol | 10 mg | 115 mg |
| Sodium | 105 mg | 65 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 22 g | 29 g |
| Total sugars | 8 g | 28 g |
| Added sugars | 4 g | 22 g |
| Sugar alcohol | 6 g | Not disclosed |
| Dietary fiber | 6 g | Not disclosed |
| Protein | 5 g | 5 g |
| Ingredients (label order) | 18 | 6 |
Table note: The Häagen-Dazs cholesterol value comes from the Open Food Facts record. The Open Food Facts record for Häagen-Dazs did not list dietary fiber or sugar alcohol, so those cells read 'Not disclosed.'
Sources for the table: Halo Top values from the Halo Top Vanilla Bean nutrition page. Häagen-Dazs values from the Open Food Facts record, because the Häagen-Dazs product page shows its panel only as an image.
Calories and Fat per 2/3 Cup: 90 vs 350 Calories, 2 g vs 23 g Fat
How many calories are in a pint of Halo Top Vanilla Bean?
The Halo Top brand page lists 290 calories per container, which holds 3 servings of 2/3 cup (85 g) each, so each serving is 90 calories. The Open Food Facts record for barcode 0759089003050 matches the 290 kcal per-container figure and names the product 'Vanilla bean light ice cream.'
How many calories are in a Häagen-Dazs Vanilla Bean container?
The whole 14 fl oz container's calories are not disclosed; per 2/3 cup (129 g) it is 350 calories. The Open Food Facts record lists that per-serving figure, but servings per container are not in the available records, so a whole-container total cannot be calculated.
How much fat is in Halo Top vs Häagen-Dazs per 2/3 cup?
Per 2/3 cup, Halo Top lists 2 g total fat, 1 g saturated fat and 0 g trans fat, while Häagen-Dazs lists 23 g total fat, 14 g saturated fat and 1 g trans fat in the Open Food Facts record. Protein is 5 g in both, while sodium is 105 mg for Halo Top and 65 mg for Häagen-Dazs.
Scan preview

Haagen-Dazs
Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream, Vanilla Bean 14 Fl Oz
CREAM · SKIM MILK · CANE SUGAR
Analysis by Aurascan. The app shows the full breakdown and its sources.
Sugar Content: Total Sugars and Added Sugars Side by Side
How much sugar is in Halo Top vs Häagen-Dazs per 2/3 cup?
Per 2/3 cup, Halo Top Vanilla Bean lists 8 g total sugars and 4 g added sugars, while Häagen-Dazs Vanilla Bean lists 28 g total sugars and 22 g added sugars per 2/3 cup according to Open Food Facts. Across a Halo Top container of three servings, the label lists 25 g total sugars and 11 g added sugars.
FDA sets the Daily Value for added sugars at 50 grams per day based on a 2,000-calorie diet, as described on the FDA added sugars page. Added sugars do not include naturally occurring sugars in milk, so the total sugars line and the added sugars line measure different things. Reading both lines on the same serving basis gives a clearer comparison than reading either one alone.
Halo Top also declares 6 g of sugar alcohol per serving. Sugar alcohol is shown separately on that panel, so it should be read alongside the sugar lines rather than assumed to be included in them.
Sweeteners: What Erythritol, Stevia Leaf Extract and Cane Sugar Each Do on the Label
Halo Top's ingredient list places erythritol fourth, after ultrafiltered skim milk, skim milk and soluble corn fiber. The list also includes sugar, vegetable glycerine, inulin and stevia leaf extract (Reb M). Under the label convention, ingredients are listed in descending order by weight.
The grams of erythritol per serving are not disclosed. The panel declares only the total of 6 g sugar alcohol per serving, so that figure cannot be assigned to erythritol alone. Stevia leaf extract (Reb M) appears 16th on the list. FDA says it has no questions about GRAS conclusions for certain steviol glycosides from the stevia plant, as described on its sweeteners page.
Häagen-Dazs lists cane sugar as its only sweetener, third after cream and skim milk. Its ingredient list does not include erythritol, stevia leaf extract or any sugar alcohol. Halo Top's label lists both erythritol and stevia leaf extract (Reb M), so the sweetener lines on the two labels contain different ingredients.
Why Halo Top Lists 18 Ingredients and Häagen-Dazs Lists 6
Halo Top's list has 18 items, including ultrafiltered skim milk, soluble corn fiber, erythritol, vegetable glycerine, cellulose gel, cellulose gum, mono and diglycerides, inulin, annatto for color and vitamin A palmitate. Häagen-Dazs lists six: cream, skim milk, cane sugar, egg yolks, ground vanilla beans and vanilla extract.
The vanilla sources also differ on the labels. Halo Top lists ground vanilla beans and contains 1% or less of natural flavors. Häagen-Dazs lists ground vanilla beans and vanilla extract. Halo Top carries the statement 'CONTAINS BIOENGINEERED FOOD INGREDIENTS' and declares 'Contains Egg, Milk.' The Häagen-Dazs allergen statement is not in the available records.
Ingredient count alone does not describe what each ingredient does; the list order shows which ingredients weigh the most. For more on how ingredient counts vary across the category, see 5 Ice Creams Scanned: Five Ingredients vs Twenty. Other pairings are covered in Ben & Jerry's vs Häagen-Dazs: Vanilla Ingredients and Sugar and Tillamook vs Häagen-Dazs: 5 Ingredients Against 30.
What Ice Cream Standard of Identity Requires Both Products to Meet
Is Halo Top real ice cream?
Halo Top's Open Food Facts record names the product 'Vanilla bean light ice cream,' and its label places an asterisk after ultrafiltered skim milk with the footnote '*Not an ingredient in regular ice cream.' Under 21 CFR 130.10, a modified version of a standardized food, such as one carrying a nutrient content claim like 'light,' must mark ingredients not provided for by the standard in this way.
Under 21 CFR 135.110, ice cream contains not less than 10 percent milkfat, nor less than 10 percent nonfat milk solids, weighs not less than 4.5 pounds to the gallon, and has not less than 1.6 pounds of total solids per gallon. Häagen-Dazs is sold as ice cream, and Halo Top is sold as light ice cream, a modified version of the standardized food.
Neither brand discloses its milkfat percentage, so the labels cannot confirm on their own whether either product meets the milkfat minimum. Overrun and total solids per gallon are also not disclosed, so the weight-per-gallon requirement cannot be checked from these panels.
How to Read the Two Labels Yourself: Ingredient Order, Added Sugars and Serving Size
- Check the serving size and gram weight first, since 2/3 cup is 85 g on one label and 129 g on the other.
- Confirm servings per container before calculating totals for a whole pint.
- Compare total sugars and added sugars on the same serving basis.
- Read the sweetener line by line, noting where sugar, erythritol, stevia leaf extract and cane sugar appear in the order.
- Look for asterisk footnotes, allergen statements and bioengineered food disclosures.
Labels show what a product contains and what a regulator requires it to declare, but they cannot show how any individual body responds.
Related reading: for frozen fruit bars, see Is Outshine Healthier Than Popsicle?.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- How many calories are in Halo Top Vanilla Bean per 2/3 cup?
- The brand page lists 90 calories per 2/3 cup serving (85 g). The container holds 3 servings and is listed at 290 calories in total.
- How much sugar is in Halo Top vs Häagen-Dazs Vanilla Bean?
- Per 2/3 cup, Halo Top lists 8 g total sugars and 4 g added sugars. Häagen-Dazs lists 28 g total sugars and 22 g added sugars per 2/3 cup (129 g) according to Open Food Facts.
- How much erythritol is in Halo Top?
- Halo Top's label lists erythritol fourth among its ingredients but does not disclose how many grams a serving contains; the panel declares only 6 g of total sugar alcohol per 2/3 cup.
- Does Halo Top contain stevia?
- Yes, the ingredient list includes stevia leaf extract (Reb M), 16th of 18 ingredients. FDA says it has no questions about GRAS conclusions for certain steviol glycosides from the stevia plant.
- Why do the two Vanilla Bean serving weights differ?
- Both labels use a 2/3 cup serving, but Halo Top's serving weighs 85 g and Häagen-Dazs's serving weighs 129 g. Overrun, the air content of the product, is not disclosed for either, so the weight gap cannot be explained from the labels alone.
- How many ingredients are in Häagen-Dazs Vanilla Bean?
- The Open Food Facts record lists six ingredients: cream, skim milk, cane sugar, egg yolks, ground vanilla beans and vanilla extract.
- Is Halo Top real ice cream?
- Its Open Food Facts record names the product 'Vanilla bean light ice cream,' and its label carries an asterisk footnote on ultrafiltered skim milk. Federal rules for modified standardized foods require that footnote format, and the milkfat percentage is not disclosed.
Sources
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Vanilla Bean Light Ice Cream (Halo Top Vanilla Bean) (halotop.com)
- Open Food Facts record 074570650576 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Vanilla Bean Ice Cream (icecream.com)
- Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)
In this series
Related guides
Comparisons
Is Outshine Healthier Than Popsicle? 12g Sugar vs AspartameOutshine Strawberry lists 12 g added sugar per bar and no low-calorie sweeteners; Popsicle Orange Cherry Grape uses aspartame and ace-K, 0 g sugar.
Comparisons
Quest vs ONE Protein Bars: Which Is Better? 14 g vs 7 g FiberBoth list 1 g sugar and about 20 g protein. Quest Cookie Dough has 14 g fiber and 3 g sat fat; ONE Birthday Cake has 7 g fiber and 5 g sat fat.
Comparisons
Which Has More Sugar, Jell-O or Snack Pack? 17 g vs 12 gJell-O lists 17 g added sugar and artificial color per 110 g cup; Snack Pack Chocolate lists 12 g per 92 g cup and no added color.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy