Aurascan

Comparisons · October 25, 2026 · 7 min read

Quest vs ONE Protein Bars: Which Is Better? 14 g vs 7 g Fiber

Both list 1 g sugar and about 20 g protein. Quest Cookie Dough has 14 g fiber and 3 g sat fat; ONE Birthday Cake has 7 g fiber and 5 g sat fat.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 26, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of Two protein bars on a plate, one chocolate chip studded, one sprinkled

Neither bar leads on every line: per 60 g bar, Quest Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough lists 14 g fiber and 3 g saturated fat, ONE Birthday Cake lists 7 g fiber and 5 g saturated fat, and both list 1 g sugar with 21 g and 20 g of protein. The numbers come from each brand's page or a retailer's Nutrition Facts panel, and packaging can change.

Key takeaways

  • Per 60 g bar, Quest lists 21 g protein, 14 g fiber and 3 g saturated fat. ONE lists 20 g protein, 7 g fiber and 5 g saturated fat.
  • Quest's sweeteners are erythritol, stevia and sucralose. ONE's are maltitol, sucralose and sugar, which appears in its ingredient list at 2% or less. Quest declares erythritol at 3 g per bar, while ONE's maltitol has no gram amount on the panel, so the sweetener amounts are not directly comparable.
  • ONE's panel shows no sugar-alcohol line, so the amount of maltitol in ONE was not disclosed.
  • Packaging can change, so check the Nutrition Facts panel and ingredient list on the bar you are holding before relying on these numbers.

How Do Quest and ONE Compare at a Glance?

Quest and ONE are close on calories and protein but differ on fiber, saturated fat and sweeteners. The table lists per-bar values from each product's page, label or retailer listing.

Per 1 bar (60 g)Quest Chocolate Chip Cookie DoughONE Birthday Cake
Calories200220
Total fat9 g (12% DV)6 g (8%)
Saturated fat3 g (15% DV)5 g (25% DV)
Cholesterol5 mg10 mg
Sodium200 mg (9% DV)135 mg (6%)
Total carbohydrate21 g25 g
Dietary fiber14 g (50% DV)7 g (25% DV)
Total sugars1 g (0 g added sugars)1 g (added sugar 0%)
Protein21 g (42% DV)20 g
Calcium120 mg (10% DV)120 mg (10% DV)
Sweeteners in ingredientsErythritol 3 g; stevia sweetener and sucralose (under 2%)Maltitol (amount not disclosed), sucralose, sugar (2% or less)
Listed allergensMilk, almondsMilk, soy (source: retailer listing)

Quest's values come from its Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough product page. ONE's panel values come from a GIANT Food Stores retailer listing, while its brand page separately states 20 g of protein and 1 g of sugar.

How Much Protein Does Each Bar Provide?

Quest provides 21 g of protein per 60 g bar (42% DV), and ONE provides 20 g per bar. The FDA Daily Value for protein is 50 g, which is the basis for Quest's percentage.

Which bar has more protein per bar?

Quest has 1 g more protein per bar than ONE, at 21 g compared with 20 g for a 60 g serving. ONE's brand page also states 20 g of protein per bar, matching the retailer listing for the same product.

The protein sources also differ. Quest's protein blend is milk protein isolate and whey protein isolate, while ONE lists milk protein isolate, whey protein isolate, whey protein concentrate, milk protein concentrate and hydrolyzed whey protein isolate. The panel grams show how much protein a bar contains, but they do not describe protein quality.

How Much Fiber Is in Quest vs ONE?

Quest lists 14 g of dietary fiber per 60 g bar (50% DV), and ONE lists 7 g (25% DV). Whether the fiber ingredients in either bar appear on FDA's list was not disclosed for either product. The FDA Daily Value for fiber is 28 g.

Both bars list soluble corn fiber. ONE also lists isomalto-oligosaccharides and dextrin. The FDA's fiber questions and answers page says polydextrose and resistant maltodextrin or dextrin are among fibers the agency intends to propose adding to the dietary-fiber definition, and that manufacturers may count them under enforcement discretion in the meantime. The page does not name soluble corn fiber or isomalto-oligosaccharides, so whether either is on FDA's list was not disclosed.

ONE's label says dextrin but does not say whether it is the resistant form. That is a gap in the disclosure, not a finding about the ingredient.

Note on net carbs: 'Net carbs' is not an FDA-defined term, and neither brand page gives one, so this comparison does not offer a net carb figure.

Which Sweeteners Are Used: Erythritol vs Maltitol?

Quest declares 3 g of erythritol per 60 g bar, while ONE lists maltitol with no gram amount disclosed. Quest also lists stevia sweetener and sucralose under 2%, and ONE lists sucralose and sugar at 2% or less.

Does one bar have maltitol?

Yes, ONE's ingredient list includes maltitol, but the amount per bar was not disclosed. The cited panel shows no sugar-alcohol line.

The FDA's sweetener guidance states that sucralose is about 600 times sweeter than table sugar and steviol glycosides are 200 to 400 times sweeter. It describes sugar alcohols such as erythritol as 25% to 100% as sweet as sugar, slightly lower in calories than sugar, and not a cause of a sudden increase in blood glucose. Those statements describe sugar alcohols as a group and do not give a per-bar amount for either product.

For a broader look at sweeteners in other bars, see Barebells vs KIND: Which Protein Bar Has the Cleaner Label?.

How Much Saturated Fat Is in Each Bar?

ONE lists 5 g of saturated fat per 60 g bar, which is 25% of the Daily Value, while Quest lists 3 g, which is 15%. The FDA Daily Value for saturated fat is 20 g.

Total fat is 9 g in Quest (12% DV) and 6 g in ONE (8%). Cholesterol is 5 mg in Quest and 10 mg in ONE. ONE's ingredient list includes vegetable oil made from palm kernel oil and palm oil, and Quest's list shows no palm oil.

A single bar's saturated fat is one part of a day's total intake, so the panel percentage is most useful when compared with the other items you eat that day.

What Is the Full Ingredient Order in Quest vs ONE?

Quest lists its protein blend first and erythritol sixth, while ONE lists milk protein isolate first and maltitol sixth. Ingredients appear in descending order by weight, and Quest's protein blend counts as one entry.

  • Quest: protein blend (milk protein isolate, whey protein isolate), soluble corn fiber, almonds, water, unsweetened chocolate, erythritol, natural flavors, cocoa butter. Contains less than 2% of: sea salt, sunflower lecithin, stevia sweetener, sucralose.
  • ONE: milk protein isolate, soluble corn fiber, isomalto-oligosaccharides, whey protein isolate (milk), glycerin, maltitol, water, vegetable oil (palm kernel oil, palm oil), whey protein concentrate (milk), milk protein concentrate, cocoa butter, hydrolyzed whey protein isolate (milk). Contains 2% or less of: lecithin (soy), natural flavor, tapioca starch, cornstarch, salt, skim milk, sucralose, sugar, fruit and vegetable juice concentrates (color), dextrin, spirulina extract (color), confectioner's glaze, annatto extract (color), turmeric extract (color), carnauba wax, baking soda.

Quest's almonds appear third, while ONE's glycerin appears fifth. Water is fourth in Quest and seventh in ONE.

How Do the Colors and Allergens Differ?

ONE's colors come from fruit and vegetable juice concentrates, spirulina extract, annatto extract and turmeric extract, which the label marks as color. Quest's ingredient list shows no color additive.

Both bars contain milk. Quest also lists almonds, which are a tree nut, and ONE lists soy. The retailer listing describes ONE as gluten free. Quest's gluten-free status and any cross-contact statements were not disclosed in the available product information.

How Can You Check These Numbers on Your Own Bar?

Use the Nutrition Facts panel and ingredient list on the package you are holding, since older recipes can still appear in some databases. Look for:

  • Serving size, which is 1 bar (60 g) for both products in this comparison
  • Protein in grams and percent Daily Value
  • Dietary fiber in grams and percent Daily Value
  • Saturated fat and total fat, compared against the FDA Daily Value of 20 g for saturated fat
  • Total sugars and added sugars
  • A sugar-alcohol line, if one is printed
  • The ingredient order and the 'less than 2%' or '2% or less' group
  • The allergen statement and any color ingredients in parentheses

For a closer look at how a single product is read, see Is the Barebells Chocolate Dough Bar Clean? Scanned.

Aurascan is a food-label scanner app for iPhone with a free tier.

Related reading: for a higher-protein bar label, see Which Has More Protein, David or Barebells?

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Are Quest bars healthier than ONE bars?
The label facts in this comparison do not establish that either bar is healthier. Quest lists more fiber (14 g vs 7 g) and less saturated fat (3 g vs 5 g) per 60 g bar, while ONE lists 20 g of protein and maltitol, so the panels differ without a single overall ranking.
Are Quest protein bars actually good for you?
The available evidence does not include a health verdict for Quest bars. The Quest panel lists 200 calories, 21 g protein, 14 g fiber and 1 g total sugar with 0 g added sugars per 60 g bar, and the Nutrition Facts panel is the place to check those values.
Is Quest protein good for weight loss?
The label facts do not address weight loss for Quest or any other bar. The panel lists 200 calories and 21 g of protein per 60 g bar, and whether that fits any goal depends on the rest of a person's intake and needs.
Why are Quest protein bars so chewy?
The available evidence does not explain Quest's texture. The ingredient list includes protein blend, soluble corn fiber, almonds, water and cocoa butter, but no source describes how these combine to create the chew.
Are ONE bars healthy?
The available evidence does not include a health verdict for ONE bars. The ONE Birthday Cake panel lists 220 calories, 20 g protein, 7 g fiber and 5 g saturated fat per 60 g bar, and the amount of maltitol per bar was not disclosed.
Does one bar have maltitol?
Yes, the ONE Birthday Cake bar lists maltitol in its ingredients, but the gram amount per bar was not disclosed. Quest's bar lists erythritol, not maltitol, and declares 3 g of erythritol per bar.

Sources

  1. Quest Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Protein Bar (questnutrition.com)
  2. ONE Birthday Cake Flavored Protein Bar, 2.12 oz (one1brands.com)
  3. ONE Gluten Free Birthday Cake 20g Protein Bar, 2.12 oz Bar (giantfoodstores.com)
  4. Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)
  5. Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
  6. Questions and Answers on Dietary Fiber (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy